• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat $500Kplus to do Medicine in Australia

Depends. GP probably about 200-300k? Specialist a lot more. But this is after all the training which can take up to 10 years for specialists. GP have to build up the practice and competition in stiff. Also rental is high. So actual take home may be much lower.

But what is a million dollars in Singapore? What can it buy you? A house? A condo?

Not to mention high costs of living eats into disposable income. So in the end the savings maybe $50k a year?

I think to retire need about $3million at age 65 to be able to see out for husband and wife till death. Need to work 30-50 years. Possible but it will be tiring.

Bankers on the other hand make hundreds of thousands in BONUSES! Yes on top of their already high salaries. So suddenly got $200k in Bonus go straight to savings/investment account. Every year......

I had a banker patient before. He said doctor work very hard eh? I said yeah. He said pay is not much huh? I said yeah but at least it is slow and steady and stable. He said yeah that is good if you want to work till you die. The idea is want to earn as much quickly then retire young and enjoy life. Banking is the best. Banker know when times will be bad cos they control the lending anyway. The don't lend = economy will fall. They liquidate all their assets high then cut lending then assets drop - they buy back. Buy low sell high. They have their finger on the pulse of economy and always come out ahead.

So smart bankers who don't blow their big bonuses on doodads and invest wisely (dun forget banker also easier to get mortgage and other loans to invest from the bank they work for) will retire by age 50 latest.

Has anyone ever met a poor banker?

actually u are wrong bro,i have to refute u.if u google the highest paying jobs in america,u will find that 12 out of the 20 top jobs are medical related.finance or IT dont even come close.those investment bankers or stockbrokers that make 200k plus a year are like mythical unicorns from narnia,or they are the cfo or something or a commodities or market analyst really really bright guys that graduated from Insead or LSE or something.u only read or hear about them in books or movies about wall street.if u think of getting a investment banking job at goldman sachs or jp morgan or something dream on,its even harder than getting into harvard.everyyear 300,000 people apply to goldman sachs and only 9000 are accepted.and i bet in order to get into the final round of interviews,u have to like survive a hunger games or battle royale fight to the death last man standing against all the other semi finalists.they wont let u in unless u have bashed 9 people's skulls in with a rock and scream in the rain "NOTHING!!!!NOTHING IS EVER OVER!!!!WAR IS NEVER OVER!!!!!"

http://www.businessinsider.sg/highest-paying-jobs-in-america-for-2016-2016-1/21/#tjvyv9LchGB5xpa7.97

nayr69sg

Staff member
actually u are wrong bro,i have to refute u.if u google the highest paying jobs in america,u will find that 12 out of the 20 top jobs are medical related.finance or IT dont even come close.those investment bankers or stockbrokers that make 200k plus a year are like mythical unicorns from narnia,or they are the cfo or something or a commodities or market analyst really really bright guys that graduated from Insead or LSE or something.u only read or hear about them in books or movies about wall street.if u think of getting a investment banking job at goldman sachs or jp morgan or something dream on,its even harder than getting into harvard.everyyear 300,000 people apply to goldman sachs and only 9000 are accepted.and i bet in order to get into the final round of interviews,u have to like survive a hunger games or battle royale fight to the death last man standing against all the other semi finalists.

http://www.businessinsider.sg/highest-paying-jobs-in-america-for-2016-2016-1/21/#tjvyv9LchGB5xpa7.97

I wasn't talking about the rest of the world. For example in Canada if you are a banker in Calgary the earnings are not much. Cos Calgary is not a financial hub. I was talking about Singapore. Which is a financial hub. The bankers in Singapore are the fat cats. We all have classmates who got into investment banking. They are smart but they are not THAT smart. Seriously. Of course not every Tom Dick or Harry will be able to go into banking lah.

Depends. GP probably about 200-300k? Specialist a lot more. But this is after all the training which can take up to 10 years for specialists. GP have to build up the practice and competition in stiff. Also rental is high. So actual take home may be much lower.

But what is a million dollars in Singapore? What can it buy you? A house? A condo?

Not to mention high costs of living eats into disposable income. So in the end the savings maybe $50k a year?

I think to retire need about $3million at age 65 to be able to see out for husband and wife till death. Need to work 30-50 years. Possible but it will be tiring.

Bankers on the other hand make hundreds of thousands in BONUSES! Yes on top of their already high salaries. So suddenly got $200k in Bonus go straight to savings/investment account. Every year......

I had a banker patient before. He said doctor work very hard eh? I said yeah. He said pay is not much huh? I said yeah but at least it is slow and steady and stable. He said yeah that is good if you want to work till you die. The idea is want to earn as much quickly then retire young and enjoy life. Banking is the best. Banker know when times will be bad cos they control the lending anyway. The don't lend = economy will fall. They liquidate all their assets high then cut lending then assets drop - they buy back. Buy low sell high. They have their finger on the pulse of economy and always come out ahead.

So smart bankers who don't blow their big bonuses on doodads and invest wisely (dun forget banker also easier to get mortgage and other loans to invest from the bank they work for) will retire by age 50 latest.

Has anyone ever met a poor banker?

Stop your bloody whining. I don't care how little or how much a Dr makes, but every doctor I know have investment specialist coming out of their ying yang. Very easy for them to qualify for bank loans and many invest in properties and stocks. Some buy the building they have their office in, rent simi? They make tons of money from all these non medical income, as well as they do botox and other shits. Some of them, the income from cosmetic practice is as much as from their core medical practice. My family doctor has an investment property in London, as well as several ones here. before you come here and fake out people about how hard Dr. work, and how little they earn, why don't you tell them the whole picture. If you are not one of those doctors that are engaging in these other investment opportunities, maybe you should start?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Stop your bloody whining. I don't care how little or how much a Dr makes, but every doctor I know have investment specialist coming out of their ying yang. Very easy for them to qualify for bank loans and many invest in properties and stocks. Some buy the building they have their office in, rent simi? They make tons of money from all these non medical income, as well as they do botox and other shits. Some of them, the income from cosmetic practice is as much as from their core medical practice. My family doctor has an investment property in London, as well as several ones here. before you come here and fake out people about how hard Dr. work, and how little they earn, why don't you tell them the whole picture. If you are not one of those doctors that are engaging in these other investment opportunities, maybe you should start?

Yup you are correct. Some doctors like myself are so fucking lousy we earn so little lor. That's the truth lor. Lousy then earn low lor.

yes I will stop whining now.

I'm talking about SAVINGS. Not net earnings. SAVINGS. Remember how much to pay for mortgage? Car loan? Kids tuition classes? Power bill? Internet bill? Food? Entertainment? Parking? CPF? COE? Medishield Life premiums? Insurance? Condo conservancy fees? Garden management fees? Town Council Fees? Cosmetics? Clothes? Petrol? Road tax? Maid?

Oh ok savings possible. That depends on lifestyle.

The family in this case can very well afford the fees. They are wealthy . The daughter is keen to do medicine and therefore the they are prepared to to send her overseas. They are also not the type of take up scholarship to avoid getting tied down. Gone are the days that kids return back to Singapore if they can carve out a future overseas.

More importantly is the fact that the rich can afford to send their kids to fulfil their dreams. The other point is that is that we have so high standards for our young but then we let foreigners thru the backdoor from unheard of universities.

nayr69sg

Staff member
The family in this case can very well afford the fees. They are wealthy . The daughter is keen to do medicine and therefore the they are prepared to to send her overseas. They are also not the type of take up scholarship to avoid getting tied down. Gone are the days that kids return back to Singapore if they can carve out a future overseas.

More importantly is the fact that the rich can afford to send their kids to fulfil their dreams. The other point is that is that we have so high standards for our young but then we let foreigners thru the backdoor from unheard of universities.

So these unheard of university doctor grads will all be making millions and own investment properties in London and have investment specialists coming their way. It is great for the economy don't you think? Doctors earning millions. More investment specialists. More jobs for everyone. New economy driver? LOL!

Why 500k? Just send to cheap Myanmar or India University then come in backdoor. Singapore loves foreigners. I tell all the Indian and Pakistani and Middle Eastern doctors who cannot get residency in Canada to try Singapore. I tell them Singapore wants them more than local Singapore doctors and will treat them better also. And the upside is amazing. Can make 1 million a year as a GP.

So you will have more of these doctors coming your way Singaporeans!

nayr69sg

Staff member
US and UK are much higher.

Medicine in North America is a post grad course. So you have to do an undergrad course first THEN go to medical school. Then residency.

UK is undergrad. Aus undergrad. Singapore undergrad (but residency system want to follow US cos of Duke's)

So these unheard of university doctor grads will all be making millions and own investment properties in London and have investment specialists coming their way. It is great for the economy don't you think? Doctors earning millions. More investment specialists. More jobs for everyone. New economy driver? LOL!

Why 500k? Just send to cheap Myanmar or India University then come in backdoor. Singapore loves foreigners. I tell all the Indian and Pakistani and Middle Eastern doctors who cannot get residency in Canada to try Singapore. I tell them Singapore wants them more than local Singapore doctors and will treat them better also. And the upside is amazing. Can make 1 million a year as a GP.

So you will have more of these doctors coming your way Singaporeans!

Lol yeah why Sporean parents don't send to Russia? l see Malaysia got students go to Russia to study medicine. Only cost Rm 122k. So cheap so nice so easy to become doctor. Moscow medical university surely beat the Myanmar and India standard.

http://afterschool.my/news/7-things-to-know-when-planning-to-study-medicine-in-russia/

A*Star / NUS Prof who fabricated much of his research papers during a a 8 year period in one of the worst cases in the world had his degree from Russia. Would you even consider visiting one as a patient.

Lol yeah why Sporean parents don't send to Russia? l see Malaysia got students go to Russia to study medicine. Only cost Rm 122k. So cheap so nice so easy to become doctor. Moscow medical university surely beat the Myanmar and India standard.

http://afterschool.my/news/7-things-to-know-when-planning-to-study-medicine-in-russia/

A*Star / NUS Prof who fabricated much of his research papers during a a 8 year period in one of the worst cases in the world had his degree from Russia. Would you even consider visiting one as a patient.

That bad? What happened to Russia? I remember dealing with them last time and they were all very detailed in their work. Compared to the lousy sinkie staff I inherited who messed up all the past records, the Russians had the whole pile of records in detail about two feel tall. Impressive!

Russia opened its medical schools to 3rd world countries to buy influence during the cold war period just as China is doing now. Admission criteria was reduced significantly. There is also no robust scrutiny system on competency. That is why the qualifications are still not recognised by SMC. The NUS Prof entered thru the back door with a Masters and PHD and subsequently rose thru the ranks.

That bad? What happened to Russia? I remember dealing with them last time and they were all very detailed in their work. Compared to the lousy sinkie staff I inherited who messed up all the past records, the Russians had the whole pile of records in detail about two feel tall. Impressive!

Russia opened its medical schools to 3rd world countries to buy influence during the cold war period just as China is doing now. Admission criteria was reduced significantly. There is also no robust scrutiny system on competency. That is why the qualifications are still not recognised by SMC. The NUS Prof entered thru the back door with a Masters and PHD and subsequently rose thru the ranks.

Very dangerous for Sporeans to visit Malaysia clinic and hospitals then as Russian medical degrees are recognised by Malaysia according to this website.

Ash007

Oic so they can slowly return. Are the fees also cheaper compared to international students since my mother's friend whole family migrated there? The daughter basically already finished university in Spore in another faculty and re studied all over again to become doctor there.

Yes, and you would be able to pay it back once you start earning. Most pple don't even bother paying back in 1 lump sum as the interest is just that low.
As for comparing with international students, I think they should be "cheaper". Basically, under the scheme you pay like a $500 student body fee a year with the rest under the loan. There are talks of privatising it like the international student.

I heard the International student's placement process may be twited and easier for internship placement there. How? I don't have full details yet.

No idea, I don't look at these info all the time.

About 3 to 4 years ago the future projections indicated that there will be insufficient internship positions right across OZ. Priority will go to local students and then International. In the past all students were guaranteed a place. The International students will have to apply for internships outside of Australia. I understand that 2017 graduating batch will be the first impacted.

I heard the International student's placement process may be twited and easier for internship placement there. How? I don't have full details yet.

I am aware. Just a slight correction. Australians universities are in the midst of converting to the Post Grad formula akin to the US. Sydney and Melbourne Universities have already converted about 5 to 6 years ago. Post Grad 4 years and Undergrad 6 years. Some Singaporeans have gone as international students into Sydney and Melbourne post grad programme with undergrad qualifications from Singapore, Australia and elsewhere.

Medicine in North America is a post grad course. So you have to do an undergrad course first THEN go to medical school. Then residency.

UK is undergrad. Aus undergrad. Singapore undergrad (but residency system want to follow US cos of Duke's)

Malaysia has recognised Indian medical degrees even from crap colleges from day 1 because of MIC connections. So recognising Russians qualification would not be far from the norm. Even their own medical degrees are substandard. Affluent Malaysians prefer UK, Australian and Singapore medical degrees. In fact their best Bumi candidates get their medical degrees from the UK and Australia paid by the state. Some Singapore trained Malaysian doctors have gone back to Malaysia to practice after serving their bond here when the medical centres began developing.

Very dangerous for Sporeans to visit Malaysia clinic and hospitals then as Russian medical degrees are recognised by Malaysia according to this website.

cocobobo

This is where i have the great foresight to have a myanmar wife. If kids want to do medicine, all licenses, smc, sma, sbc, sbs, smrt all sorted.