• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat In future public postings on court cases will be considered criminal!

crazyMod

K Sham Mickey mouse law again.

SINGAPORE: A new Bill that seeks to provide greater clarity on what constitutes contempt of court was tabled in Parliament by Senior Minister of State for Law Indranee Rajah on Monday (Jul 11).

The Administration of Justice (Protection) Bill will consolidate the key elements of the law of contempt into statute. Currently, the law of contempt of court is based on previous court rulings.

The Ministry of Law said the Bill would ensure court orders are obeyed, individuals have the right to a fair trial and high levels of trust in Singapore’s legal system are preserved.

Those who are found guilty of court contempt at the High Court or Court of Appeal may be fined up to S$100,000 or jailed up to three years, or both. For other courts, the penalty may be up to a S$20,000 fine or imprisonment up to 12 months, or both.

LAW HELPS THE COMMON MAN: SHANMUGAM

The law exists to strengthen the legal process and protect the common man, said Law Minister K Shanmugam.

"You want an independent party, the judge, to decide on guilt and innocence," he said. "You don't want, as it were, a trial by the public. The public can have a view, but that view on guilt and innocence should not be expressed in a way that say influences the proceedings against you. So in a sense the common man is helped because the judicial system is strengthened."

Mr Shanmugam also said that while the Bill clarifies and crystallises processes, the law remains broadly the same. He listed out three ways more clarity will be provided.

Firstly, the Bill will set out the common law of contempt in writing. Secondly, the Bill provides a range of penalties applicable. Currently, penalties are decided on by the judge. Thirdly, the Bill gives specific powers on how court orders can be enforced.

"In terms of enforcement of court orders - and this is particuarly relevant I think - in the context of matrimonial orders or maintenance orders, the Bill gives specific powers on how they can be further enforced," said Mr Shanmugam. "Courts already have powers to enforce, but I think this gives a better framework."

BILL CLARIFIES WHAT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE CONTEMPT

Under the Bill, there are three main types of conduct which constitute contempt of court. These are disobeying court orders, such as refusing to pay a sum of money ordered by the court, publishing material that interferes with on-going proceedings and making allegations of bias against the judges.

The Bill also clarifies what does not constitute contempt of court. For example, fair and accurate reporting of court proceedings is not contempt, neither is disobeying a court order due to an honest and reasonable failure to understand the obligations under the court order.

Mr Shanmugam also said that the Attorney-General will act with discretion for the law.

Said the Law Minister: "Let's say your son has been killed by someone, or you believe your son has been killed by someone. That person is facing charges. You say in anguish that 'This person is a murderer, and that he has killed my son and he ought to hang.' Now strictly speaking. that's contempt, but I think it will be unlikely that any attorney-general will prosecute such a person. People will give some latitude."

"At the same time, let's say a national newspaper or somebody with a broad reach starts a campaign to say that so and so should be found guilty, and he should hang, and mobilises public opinion in a significant way. You can see that there is a difference between the two. I'm sure the attorney-general will act in the second case," he added.

"But that's not leave and licence for people connected to the proceedings to go and say whatever they like. One has got to exercise discretion, and the attorney-general may well advise such a person 'Look you really ought not to be saying these things'. Maybe, they may advise."

The Law Ministry has consulted various stakeholders including the Judiciary, the Law Society of Singapore, the media industry and lawyers in drafting of the Bill.

A survey conducted by Government feedback portal REACH from June to July this year found that 9 in 10 Singaporeans of the 1,000 polled believe there is a need for effective enforcement of court orders. More than 8 in 10 Singaporeans are in favour of keeping outside influence from affecting on-going court proceedings.

- CNA

Pretty rich coming from the PAP when its own 2 MPs showed contempt of court only last week and of all people the Chief Justice. How about showing leadership by making these 2 apologise for their conduct.

There is no need for them to turn up. We believe the courts will serve out due justice to the accused.

Rumpole

Finally, the unproductive MiniSTAR of Law (not Justice) has produced a bill on the contempt of court. Time to take out by my research material which has sitting around idle for like three years.

As expected, unlike in real democracies, this Bill tightens instead of loosen the screws.

For example:

(1) Any person who
(a) scandalises the court by intentionally publishing any matter or doing any act that
(i) imputes improper motives to or impugns the integrity, propriety or impartiality of any court; and
(ii) poses a risk that public confidence in the administration of justice would be undermined;

commits a contempt of court.

(2) Where any person publishes any matter or does any act referred to in subsection (1)(a), that person is guilty of contempt of court even if he or she did not intend to scandalise the court.

https://www.parliament.gov.sg/sites...on of Justice (Protection) Bil l 23-2016.pdf

In truly First World countries, the Law Society will come out and condemn the MiniSTAR for bringing Sinkieland back to the stone age, but in Sinkieland, the Law SuckSaiTea will praise this Lightning inspired law!

[video=youtube;d2hW7j18kow]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2hW7j18kow[/video]

Shanmugam is like Jayakumar. Both began actively fiddling with the laws when the entered cabinets. This by now you have guessed is the direct result of the Benjamin Lim and TOC episode.

Finally, the unproductive MiniSTAR of Law (not Justice) has produced a bill on the contempt of court. Time to take out by my research material which has sitting around idle for like three years.

As expected, unlike in real democracies, this Bill tightens instead of loosen the screws.

For example:

In truly First World countries, the Law Society will come out and condemn the MiniSTAR for bringing Sinkieland back to the stone age, but in Sinkieland, the Law SuckSaiTea will praise this Lightning inspired law!

[video=youtube;d2hW7j18kow]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2hW7j18kow[/video]

dr.wailing

If we say, Familee and PAP is the Law in Sinkieland can kena contempt of court or not?

In the first place have you kena sue by Familee in a kangaroo court or not? You must first be kena sued by Familee in court.

Don't ask why but the kangaroo court will always side with Familee and order you to stop saying or posting on internet that Familee is the Law in Sinkieland. If you persist then you're in contempt of kangaroos

dr.wailing

More than 8 in 10 Singaporeans are in favour of keeping outside influence from affecting on-going court proceedings.

I've a question for you guys.

Your Prime Ministar and his wife Buy-High-Sell-Low met up with some people after the Little India riots and pronounced categorically that consumption of alcohol was to blame for the riots. At that time a committee of inquiry had been set up and court proceedings were still ongoing.

Had Chief Natural Aristocrat been in contempt of court proceedings? If not, why?

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2010/05/prejudicing-a-fair-trial-the-yong-vui-kong-case/

who should have known better?

In response to the Law Minister’s statements, Mr Ravi declared that those statements had caused the Appellant’s fate to be “‘poisoned’ with ‘biasedness’”.[note: 2] Mr Ravi’s comments were reported in the 15 May 2010 edition of TODAY, which also elaborated on the Law Minister’s statements and a press statement released by the Ministry of Law in respect of those statements (“the MinLaw press statement”), as follows:[note: 3]

Convict’s last chance to escape death … President to hear clemency plea; lawyer takes issue with minister’s remarks

05:55 AM May 15, 2010

by Teo Xuanwei

SINGAPORE – His first clemency plea was unsuccessful and now convicted drug mule Yong Vui Kong’s [viz, the Appellant’s] last chance to escape death lies in the President’s hands, after the highest court in the land dismissed his appeal.

But [the Appellant]’s lawyer, Mr M Ravi, told reporters he plans to file for a judicial review before the Court of Appeal over Law Minister K Shanmugam’s remarks relating to his client’s case during a residents’ dialogue session last Sunday in Joo Chiat.

The resident had asked if [the Appellant]’s case would affect Singapore’s laws on the mandatory death penalty.

Mr Shanmugam replied: “[The Appellant] (who was sentenced to hang for trafficking in 47g of heroin) is young. But if we say, ‘We let you go’, what’s the signal we’re sending?

“We’re sending a signal to all drug barons out there: Just make sure you choose a victim who’s young or a mother of a young child and use them as the people to carry drugs into Singapore.”

With the sympathy generated after these people are caught, he added, there will be “a whole unstoppable stream of people coming through as long as we say we won’t enforce our laws”.

As [the Appellant]’s case was subjudice, or still under judgment, Mr Ravi said his client’s fate had been “poisoned” with “biasedness”.

In reply to media queries, the Ministry of Law said: “The Government has made clear its policy and philosophy on having the mandatory death penalty for a number of offences, such as drug trafficking.

“Minister Shanmugam, in response to a specific question … reiterated the policy and philosophy behind the death penalty and why Singapore adopted a tough stance.”

http://www.singaporelaw.sg/sglaw/la...-yong-vui-kong-v-attorney-general-2011-sgca-9

The opposition have scandalized the court and shown contempt from time to time. Better watch what you say now.

shittypore

The opposition have scandalized the court and shown contempt from time to time. Better watch what you say now.

Not only wat you say, but also got to watch ur arse!

Pls lah! There are more impt issues the Govt or Ministars shld be looking into right now rather than tis rubbish issue on contempt of court for anyone outside court, what happens if the US chap in US pass a remark on an on going case, how?

"At the same time, let's say a national newspaper or somebody with a broad reach starts a campaign to say that so and so should be found guilty, and he should hang, and mobilises public opinion in a significant way. You can see that there is a difference between the two. I'm sure the attorney-general will act in the second case," he added.

This bill is directed at SBF. We are almost pointing out the incompetence of the judges. Judges buay tahan ...called Shanmu for help and he and his team of scholars came out for this useless bill.

hugs

It is more than just that. The law and politics are more than just being interested in a sex forum in this case. They are after something bigger. They are after a whole generation. They are planning ahead before the teens grow up and about to vote. They can see the change when they saw Amos Yee and they are getting ahead of everybody else. Afterall, they have a think tank. They are controlling online and mass influence of anyone with “a broad reach" say from youtube, twitter, instagram or even church leaders etc, from "committing a contempt of court".

This bill is directed at SBF. We are almost pointing out the incompetence of the judges. Judges buay tahan ...called Shanmu for help and he and his team of scholars came out for this useless bill.