• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat S'poreans lack critical thinking

I recall that Goh Keng Swee was appalled by the lack of critical thinking amongst civil servants when he read their reports. He introduced critical thinking and new textbooks called Contact series for the English subject in schools. Subsequently General Paper for A levels. You can see it being played out in regard to the train debacle.

Imagine all the Govt did was explain that the bolster had hairline crack and the contractors will pay for it. Any person with a normal IQ will ask why send the whole train back and why must take 4 months just to fix a small modular piece. There are also reports of new car bodies that will be installed.

So far no breakdown of defects. Why the need for new car bodies? Why the whole train must be sent back? Why 4 months? When did the first train go back? What is exactly the contractors paying for? Are they covering the opportunity cost when the trains are taken away from operational use? No explanation why 22 ordered in 2009 are more expensive than 22 ordered much later. Why our trains are more expensive than those sold to HK?

There are most questions and all these need coherent answers. Not some graphics that fooled couple of morons.

If Sinkies were capable of critical thinking, the PAP would have been voted out a long time ago.

Satyr

I recall that Goh Keng Swee was appalled by the lack of critical thinking amongst civil servants when he read their reports. He introduced critical thinking and new textbooks called Contact series for the English subject in schools. Subsequently General Paper for A levels. You can see it being played out in regard to the train debacle.

Imagine all the Govt did was explain that the bolster had hairline crack and the contractors will pay for it. Any person with a normal IQ will ask why send the whole train back and why must take 4 months just to fix a small modular piece. There are also reports of new car bodies that will be installed.

So far no breakdown of defects. Why the need for new car bodies? Why the whole train must be sent back? Why 4 months? When did the first train go back? What is exactly the contractors paying for? Are they covering the opportunity cost when the trains are taken away from operational use? No explanation why 22 ordered in 2009 are more expensive than 22 ordered much later. Why our trains are more expensive than those sold to HK?

There are most questions and all these need coherent answers. Not some graphics that fooled couple of morons.

At least Dr. Goh was interested in critical thinking. I don't think he minded being asked to explain himself. The current crop take umbrage at being questioned. Their attitude is, once you vote us in , trust us completely. This has led to an absence good questions but a profusion or querulous murmuring (which need not be taken seriously). This has led to a dumbing down of the country (in which our so-called journalists are complicit), and a lower standards all around. The civil service like-wise will deteriorate because they can get away with more.

I have been reading the online comments on the LTA trains on the various blogs including the state controlled press blogs and quite a number seem to be satisfied with what has been said by the authorities. Thankfully some are critical. And of course you also get some who make baseless and senseless comments.

I remember the rats eating stocked breads at the NTUC supermarkets and some actually had no issues with NTUC's initial response.

At least Dr. Goh was interested in critical thinking. I don't think he minded being asked to explain himself. The current crop take umbrage at being questioned. Their attitude is, once you vote us in , trust us completely. This has led to an absence good questions but a profusion or querulous murmuring (which need not be taken seriously). This has led to a dumbing down of the country (in which our so-called journalists are complicit), and a lower standards all around. The civil service like-wise will deteriorate because they can get away with more.

garlic

The fact that many parents believe that creative thinking, intelligence and critical thinking can be bought from enrichment classes, tuition centers and imparted to their kids within the confines of 4 walls and a door will give you a very clear picture of what the average Singaporean is capable of.

That's not to say that all are like that, but look around you and perhaps 69% of those belong to this group.

I know where you are coming from. Have seen it with some honours grads who struggle to point out the material details from the immaterial details. Parents just don't know where to turn to and enrol in the ones that seem to impress the most. Look at Adam Khoo who became a millionaire at 26 feeding on this frenzy.

The fact that many parents believe that creative thinking, intelligence and critical thinking can be bought from enrichment classes, tuition centers and imparted to their kids within the confines of 4 walls and a door will give you a very clear picture of what the average Singaporean is capable of.

That's not to say that all are like that, but look around you and perhaps 69% of those belong to this group.

Excellent piece of critical thinking laced in the form of sarcasm and humour. Basically the explanations are hopeless and worthless.

https://www.facebook.com/lynnl/posts/10153555454042554Lynn Lee
3 hrs ·
Oh look, investigative journalism, CNA-style:
- The trains are safe because thousands of brackets were not used to secure the underframe. Who say one? LTA! Who confirm one? Kawasaki-Sifang, the consortium making the trains!
- The consortium responsible for the defective trains got new contracts to make more trains. Why? Because having made defective trains, they now know how to correct defects in defective trains, which is actually a very big advantage over companies that have not supplied us with defective trains. So folks remember - next time you bid for a government project, it is important to screw up and deliver shoddy goods. This will make you an even better candidate for future tenders!

Here is another person showing critical thinking having heard LTA's explanation for the awarding the second and third contract. Read the comment where he questions how supplier of defective trains ended up with the highest score and wants to see the criteria and scoring.

https://www.facebook.com/geraldgiam.sgGerald Giam 严燕松
5 hrs ·
When asked why subsequent train contracts were awarded to the same consortium, LTA said that "in assessing the contractors, it looked at 'the overall quality that the contractor can deliver.' LTA said: 'We also considered that the contractor was able to quickly identify the cause of the defects, take responsibility and carry out the necessary action promptly to rectify the fault.'"

This is astonishing. So the vendor's dismal track record can become a point in their favour? And they can even end up with the "highest quality score"? Let us see the full details of that score sheet and the criteria used, please.

... - The consortium responsible for the defective trains got new contracts to make more trains. Why? Because having made defective trains, they now know how to correct defects in defective trains, which is actually a very big advantage over companies that have not supplied us with defective trains. So folks remember - next time you bid for a government project, it is important to screw up and deliver shoddy goods. This will make you an even better candidate for future tenders!
goes 2 show gahmen is kind n generous ... coys can get rewarded wif taxpayers moni 2 learn n improve by taking on gahmen jobs ...

Semaj2357

Excellent piece of critical thinking laced in the form of sarcasm and humour. Basically the explanations are hopeless and worthless.
https://www.facebook.com/lynnl/posts/10153555454042554Lynn Lee
3 hrs ·
Oh look, investigative journalism, CNA-style:
- The trains are safe because thousands of brackets were not used to secure the underframe. Who say one? LTA! Who confirm one? Kawasaki-Sifang, the consortium making the trains!
- The consortium responsible for the defective trains got new contracts to make more trains. Why? Because having made defective trains, they now know how to correct defects in defective trains, which is actually a very big advantage over companies that have not supplied us with defective trains. So folks remember - next time you bid for a government project, it is important to screw up and deliver shoddy goods. This will make you an even better candidate for future tenders!

well, pinkie did tell the young 'uns not to be afraid of making mistakes in his youth day message the other day...what he didn't know was that making mistakes are inherent in sinkie genes and he gave them a carte blanche to soldier on in life.

garlic

People who are critical thinkers, can analyse and then ask questions that will lead them to the right answers. Those who can't or are weaker in this aspect usually needs prompting, or in worse case, have to ask you for multiple choice options and make a best-guess estimate. Eventually both will arrive at the right answer or as near to the right answer, but the path that both took shows the gulf in analytical mind.

Oh wait, you are talking about the same Goh keng Swee, the same critical thinker that wanted to transform Chartered Industries weapons and ammo factories to make locks for HDB flats? The same Goh Keng Swee who so fucked up the Ministry of Education and education policies in singapore including having only 2 unis and then down to one uni for the entire country? That Goh Keng Swee? My good man, he is a fucking idiot totally lacking in critical thinking.

why do u need critical thinking when this country,Singapore has shown u for the past 15 years that the path of least resistance and critical thinking leads to great success and prosperity?too much critical thinking or seditious or dangerous thoughts can lead u to the center for reeducation or house arrest or worse being dumped on the streets looking like a mad dog god meng seng.have u ever of a dystopian utopia ever needing critical thinking?thats insane!!!thats dangerous thinking!!!!70 percent has potential in our country,but there is a handful with the greatest potential of all,those with high levels of critical thinking,but yet on a subconscious level managed to turn it off,or thru sheer will and dedication to lick their master's balls using their high intellect managed to convince themselves what they are doing is right,these people display high levels of cognitive dissonance.people like john tan or tharman shamugan.i suspect john tan is a high level government employee,he could be in charge of CPF,finding ways to drain our CPFs dry while appearing to be looking out for Singaporeans' healthcare and housing and retirement needs.

crazyMod

Dun think too hard. It makes you unhappy and crazy.

Happy go lucky is the way to go.

Wisdom and knowledge is a dick.

Blend in with the crowd and happily get ready to be slaughtered is the way to go.

sinkies oni apply their critical thinking skills on benefits dat dey can gain from ... like which 1 wil enhance their asset value mor wif upgrading, covered wokway, etc ...