• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Unbelievable - Myanmar "Doctor" accepted by SMC without verification.

When so many kids qualified after their A level results in the 80s and 90s to do medicine the Govt insisted to keep the intact to about 200plus each year. Those who wanted to go abroad to study medicine were told that their qualifications from established 1st world countries would not be recognised except for a select few. In circa 1990s, suddenly we could not handle the demand and we let in foreign doctors. I remember a Filipino doctor was sent back within the first year after the patient died due to medical negligence.

The govt did a U turn and began recognising qualifications from overseas. Now we have hundreds of kids joining first world Universities every year to study medicine but the good ones do not not return.

cocobobo

This is scary, isn't it? Imagine getting admitted into the Govt hospital and you get your case doctor who hailed from burma, pinoyland or ah neh land and you just need to pray you will leave the hospital alive.

to be fair the docs from genuine india med schools are alright. They see a wider range of diseases in their internship.

In the 60s when we became independent, we actually asked doctors who qualified from University of Rangoon and University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka to join us. They proved very capable. Graduates from India were not recognised because of the rampant corruption in both admission and examinations. Malaysia accepted Indian medial degrees because Barisan and UMNO needed MIC for Indian votes.

In essence an Indian doctor from India might be very good but there is a chance there he might be bad in view of their system.

to be fair the docs from genuine india med schools are alright. They see a wider range of diseases in their internship.

Satyr

When so many kids qualified after their A level results in the 80s and 90s to do medicine the Govt insisted to keep the intact to about 200plus each year. Those who wanted to go abroad to study medicine were told that their qualifications from established 1st world countries would not be recognised except for a select few. In circa 1990s, suddenly we could not handle the demand and we let in foreign doctors. I remember a Filipino doctor was sent back within the first year after the patient died due to medical negligence.

The govt did a U turn and began recognising qualifications from overseas. Now we have hundreds of kids joining first world Universities every year to study medicine but the good ones do not not return.

This was one of the more ridiculous policies of that era. The other was the restriction on the law intake. If I am not wrong, they felt too many bright students were opting for medicine leading to a brain drain from other disciplines. At least that was what was said. For law, they felt too many lawyers would produce a very litigious society, the US was cited as an example. Not very convincing. But, guess what, not a few doctors and practising lawyers supported these moves. This decision is of the same calibre as restricting birthrate in the 70's and 80's. Sometimes, I feel Singapore has been lucky we didn't have even more asinine policies implemented. After all , who could stop the "Old Man" when he made up his mind.

Peasants get treated by fake Drs. from unrecognized universities from Myanmar, and other 3rd world doctors from India, China, etc. as well as nurses from Pinoyland who threaten to kill sinkies. But PAP MIWs and Familee don't even smell these shit medical professionals. They will be seen by local or angmor doctors trained in the best medical schools in the UK and US. As SOP, you die, your business, but they are in safe hands.

One cuntry two systems?

Back then those from these med schools can direct practice in UK as theie degrees were recognized in UK but not Sg....I saluted Sg as being super strict then and erring on the side of caution.
Now the opposite is happening in Sg.....pap traitors have sold out the country.

It caused a lot of families their dreams. I know of senior civil servant who had 3 bright kids, all son. First went to Law school. The second and 3rd applied for Medicine did not get in. The father got him admitted to Medicine in the UK but found out that the Govt would not recognise it. This was in the 80s. Father withdrew the son and he went to local law school. All now lawyers.

Yes, they also restricted admissions to lawyers and now we have foreigners all over. And these arseholes never will admit they made a mistake.

This was one of the more ridiculous policies of that era. The other was the restriction on the law intake. If I am not wrong, they felt too many bright students were opting for medicine leading to a brain drain from other disciplines. At least that was what was said. For law, they felt too many lawyers would produce a very litigious society, the US was cited as an example. Not very convincing. But, guess what, not a few doctors and practising lawyers supported these moves. This decision is of the same calibre as restricting birthrate in the 70's and 80's. Sometimes, I feel Singapore has been lucky we didn't have even more asinine policies implemented. After all , who could stop the "Old Man" when he made up his mind.

Kuailan

This is the bloody problem with the papaya gahmen everything they want to outsource for cheaper alternative!! Bluntantly importation of Foreign trash!!

Rejects doctors who can not make in their own cuntry, Eastern Europe, India , PRC, Pinoyland fake paper, now Myanmar, stinkapoor gahmen except them!! even with fake degree also can!! e.g. Ah neh lady with fake MBA from Southern pacific University also can work in MDA!!

Hello wake ok?? everything must purchase cheap thru tender!! e.g. MRT replacement parts, OEM also can that's why every time break down!

Parking warden also outsource, the outsource company than employ jiu hu keling kia behave like gangsters, after mid night they go terrorizing motorists at Upper Serangoon Rd!!

numero uno

This is the bloody problem with the papaya gahmen everything they want to outsource for cheaper alternative!! Bluntantly importation of Foreign trash!!

Rejects doctors who can not make in their own cuntry, Eastern Europe, India , PRC, Pinoyland fake paper, now Myanmar, stinkapoor gahmen except them!! even with fake degree also can!! e.g. Ah neh lady with fake MBA from Southern pacific University also can work in MDA!!

Hello wake ok?? everything must purchase cheap thru tender!! e.g. MRT replacement parts, OEM also can that's why every time break down!

Parking warden also outsource, the outsource company than employ jiu hu keling kia behave like gangsters, after mid night they go terrorizing motorists at Upper Serangoon Rd!!

you are right. not only rejects but fakes!!!
india and phillipines are famous for their fake doctors who bull sit alot.
99% of indian doctors are suspect in my view.
see report for reuters. even thier own government admits taht almost 50% of all doctors in india are fake and substandard.
and one out of every six of the country’s 398 medical schools has been accused of cheating, according to Indian government records and court filings.
"government of India authorised body set up under the Right to information Act (RTI), has directed the Union Health ministry to stop institutes from giving out fake MBBS degrees..."
even their own government doctor says "“The next generation of doctors is being taught to cheat and deceive before they even enter the classroom.” Blardy cheats and killers...
see reference below!!!!
Dr. Anand Rai, who exposed an entrance exam cheating ring in 2013"
http://www.ibtimes.co.in/fake-mbbs-...on-directs-health-ministry-take-action-668160
http://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/india-medicine-education/

numero uno

We pay the govt tax to do their job to govern and make sure the doctors working in Singapore especially public hospitals are properly qualified. Only in third world country with no rules than the patients have to look out for themselves. Stupid govt not doing their job then please take third world salary and not ask for millions that are exceeding even first world salary standards. Don't blame the patients for being lazy stupid etc, only stupid people will push the responsibility to patients to ensure the doctors hired in public and private hospitals in Spore are qualified.

well you precisely just shoot your own foot. Who votes in the garmen? 70% of these lazy buggers. the point I am making is that majority of these pateints asked for it ie karma. they are lazy and expect everything to go their way and expect somebody else to do thei dirty work. precisely 70% expect the garmen to upgrade their estate and expect oother wards to vote for oppo to check the system. basicallv extremely selfish idiots. so the majority suffers and rightfully so because they literally vote for it. that's the beauty of the democratic system. don't complain if you are in the minority.

PAP was responsible for many ridiculous policies.

They even imposed an age restriction on who could become hawkers. They wanted the young of Spore to work in the sweat shops of the MNC's & not to have their own hawking business.

In the past the hawkers of Spore made a decent living. You could see them driving Mercedes, owning landed property, .....

The PAP started the latch key generation where couples were encouraged to go to work, leaving their children at home without parents. This is probably why today Sporean couples are so dependant on maids as surrogate parents for their children.

Pinkieslut

well you precisely just shoot your own foot. Who votes in the garmen? 70% of these lazy buggers. the point I am making is that majority of these pateints asked for it ie karma. they are lazy and expect everything to go their way and expect somebody else to do thei dirty work. precisely 70% expect the garmen to upgrade their estate and expect oother wards to vote for oppo to check the system. basicallv extremely selfish idiots. so the majority suffers and rightfully so because they literally vote for it. that's the beauty of the democratic system. don't complain if you are in the minority.

I already say that PAP is not some aliens implanted in Singapore. They are born out from the very Sinkie race who elected them.

Don't waste your breath hoping things will change. Not try to be a downer. Looking at this cuntry, everything from its lousy copycat entrepreneurs, physically unattractive, stiff and unsexy populace, supposedly IVY league PAP ministers who cannot even present in proper English (or Mandarin), opposition parties who mostly clueless about issues and going through the motions. Kiasu kiasi Ai pi Ai ci mindset. Courage, culture, logic is zero.

i am quite glad all these middle class career types who are traditional PAP policy supporters (I will get high salary, the rest can be squeezed dry mindset) are getting screwed.

Just focus on saving your own self, make the money and go off like the Burmese who is running this forum lol.

'First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.'

Well said whatever hope I had left gone after 2011 GE. Lucky if not GE 2016 I'll kena heart attack. Save yourself and you family. Try to save your friends too if you can. The others 70% they can die for all I care.
Once everything is in place just make the move.....never a day too soon

Now, ask yourself why the WP never bring this up in Parliament and on their website? AFter all, they are the sole voice of the "oppo". this is a perfect excuse for them to play up this whole shit mess and make points from this. But deafening silence once again. Fucking fake oppo.

My retina detachment review was at the hand of a filipina maid look alike eye doctor at snec. She address me as sir from start till end. I'm impressed !

Pinkieslut

Now, ask yourself why the WP never bring this up in Parliament and on their website? AFter all, they are the sole voice of the "oppo". this is a perfect excuse for them to play up this whole shit mess and make points from this. But deafening silence once again. Fucking fake oppo.

Faked or not does not matter. WP members are after all Sinkies too. Nothing more can be expected from these race.

My retina detachment review was at the hand of a filipina maid look alike eye doctor at snec. She address me as sir from start till end. I'm impressed !

U are impressed just because a pinay eye doctor, who is so poorly qualified that she could not get a job in the US or UK, addressed you as sir? Are you blind now? Your standard is too low.

steffychun

Looks like it is not just lifts, or Indians with fake degrees doing IT. Now a foreign doctor that SMC admitted without verification. Just yesterday a dental clinic with 2 outlets reported to the Police for lodging false claims for reimbursement.

Singapore going to the dogs?

http://theindependent.sg/smc-issuin...ors-with-unaccredited-degree-to-work-here/SMC issuing “temporary” license to foreign doctors with unaccredited degree to work here
By The Independent - June 23, 2016 0 1000
Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter

By: Forever Vagabond

It was reported in ST today that a doctor from Myanmar has been cleared of producing fake medical certificates to SMC (http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/judge-yangon-doctors-papers-may-not-be-fake).
The judge said that just because Dr Hnin Wai Hlaing was not on the Myanmar Medical Council’s (MMC) registration list did not mean her certificates from MMC were fake. The prosecution’s witness, an official from MMC, had earlier conceded in court that it was difficult to determine if Dr Hnin’s registration certificate was false because the MMC has many versions of the registration card.

The judge agreed with the defence that there could have been an administrative lapse on the part of MMC.

Dr Hnin accepted by SMC to work in Singapore
ST reported that Dr Hnin graduated from the University of Medicine in Yangon and worked as a doctor in Myanmar before moving to Singapore.
3To practise medicine in Singapore, all doctors need to be approved by the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), a government statutory board in-charge of medical licensing.

Apparently, SMC did not do any verification with MMC and went ahead to register Dr Hnin. She then went to work at the National Cancer Centre in SGH.

It was SGH which did a verification check with MMC. At the time, MMC replied to SGH that it did not issue a registration certificate to Dr Hnin. Subsequently, SGH terminated her contract and informed SMC in 2014.

SMC then decided to charge her for producing 2 “fake” MMC certificates to SMC for registration but as events turned out, the judge ruled otherwise. The judge felt that reasonable doubt had been raised by the defence as to the accuracy of the MMC’s manual register.

Loophole for doctors from unaccredited medical schools to practise in Singapore?

According to SMC’s own website (http://www.healthprofessionals.gov....eddoctor/international_medical_graduates.html), for doctors with foreign medical degree, only those who graduated from any of the below approved list of medical schools are recognised by SMC:

http://www.healthprofessionals.gov.... Registrable Basic Medical Qualifications.pdf

University of Yangon is not in the list. SMC specifically stated in red on its website:

“The Singapore Medical Council (SMC) would like to highlight that International Medical Graduates who do not hold qualifications which are recognised by the SMC, will not be eligible to apply for medical registration to practise in Singapore. This applies to all applicants.”

Then on the last line comes the caveat. SMC also said:

“Doctors who do not meet the criteria for conditional registration may apply for temporary registration, subject to existing criteria for temporary registration.”

Indeed, a search in SMC’s registry shows that a number of doctors from Myanmar armed only with a medical degree from University of Yangon were given “temporary registration” by SMC. For example, these 2 doctors from Myanmar were given “temporary registration” to work as medical practitioners in Ng Teng Fong General Hospital in Jurong:
4It seems like in order to satisfy the demand for doctors in coping with the explosive growth of Singapore population in recent years, SMC is resorting to issuing “temporary registration” for doctors with unaccredited 3rd world medical degrees so as to circumvent the strict criteria for “conditional registration” and “full Registration” (conditionally registered doctors are supervised – they can apply for full registration after they have fulfilled a specified period of service).

Regardless of the “temporary registration” status, these foreign doctors are now practising medicine here in our public hospitals with unaccredited medical degrees.

So, for the parents who have to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to get their children study medicine overseas because they weren’t selected by our local medical schools, it may perhaps be easier and cheaper for them to send their children to those unaccredited 3rd world medical schools like University of Yangon instead.

Time for a Singexit from ASEAN!

LOL! They won't go to Singapore. Especially when they find out how little family doctors earn in Singapore. Not only that. The paymasters are the patient's themselves. Not public health systems you just bill.

Everything you order for the patient in Singapore they will ask "how much?". They will say "wah so expensive", " can I not have that?" "wah this medicine so expensive can I not have that?" "wah you want to increase my diabetes medicine then I have to pay double? dowan lah so expensive".

They will find that trying to do a good job of taking care of patient's in Singapore is like puking blood. Nobody in Singapore wants to pay for healthcare. Not the govt not the patients. So who pays? Doctor pays for patient. Why you think only these doctors from 3rd world countries ever go to Singapore to work?

And those Singapore doctors all stuck in Singapore because it is very difficult to move to another first world country to practice.

I also think so they won't emigrate but this Austrian couple who said they operate a clinic do not seem to be happy about billing the govt for medical bills, instead they were very happy to hear that in Spore all the bills are paid by patients. Anyway their life seems to be good leh saying they keep three horses for riding.