• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Outgoing CEO: Many MAS employees were doing nothing, some sleeping

RandomNexus

Outgoing Malaysian Airlines Bhd (MAS) CEO Christoph Muller said he had to cut 6,000 jobs because many of the 20,000 employees were “doing nothing”.

He said when he first took over MAS, he was not impressed with the state that the Malaysian flag carrier was in. "Despite all the announcements by the government, a turnaround wasn't initiated by the time I became CEO. Many of the 20,000 employees who worked for the airline had nothing to do. In fact, when I walked through the hangars, people were sleeping. That's why I had to radically cut 6,000 jobs," Muller told German broadcaster Deutsche Welle (DW) on its web portal.

He said the reasons MAS was in dire straits before he took over was because of poor personnel management and a bloated workforce.

He said that was why he laid off 6,000 workers and streamlined the firm's operations.
Muller said MAS also suffered from a bloated and overpriced supply chain, partly because the airline bought products from suppliers at prices 20 to 25 percent higher than the market value.

"Everything from pens to US$200-million aircraft were purchased at these rates. I am not saying that we were bad negotiators, and in any case corruption is punishable also in Malaysia," he told DW, delicately explaining the matter.

Muller also pointed out that MAS had about 20,000 suppliers and, as a result, the glut made it difficult for the airline to get a volume discount from anyone. "Since I took over, we have managed to downsize the number to about 4,000 suppliers. But our goal is to cut it further to some 2,000. By doing this, we've reduced our procurement costs," he said.

He noted that the airline has had a spate of bad luck in recent years – the disappearance of MH370 and shooting down of MH17 that gave it bad press – but expressed incredulity that the carrier could have been in the red at all.

"Malaysia Airlines has a proud heritage. It's known as the epitome of Asian customer service. Given the country's macroeconomic conditions, with economic growth averaging over five percent for 55 years now, it's difficult not to make money with this airline," he said.

He observed that the previous so-called turnaround plans announced for the airline were half-hearted at best.

However, Muller is confident that with the management reforms he has put in place, MAS will be in the black again by 2018.

The German will officially step down in September this year – well ahead of his initial three-year contract, citing personal reasons.

RandomNexus

Typically Mats. Sacking workers and removing suppliers for a national carrier is not good politics. All have long tentacles to UMNO.

Brave Angmo. He won't last long there. Makes too many enemies. True enough, he is leaving soon.

I think the PAP gov't has the same problem, too many of the civil servants have "family" connections. Making major changes will be very hard because of too many have vested interests in maintaining the status quo.

Corruption is a sin in Islam. As Malaysia is an Islamic country, most of the m&ds would be strongly against unislamic behaviour like corruption.

congo9

Typically Mats. Sacking workers and removing suppliers for a national carrier is not good politics. All have long tentacles to UMNO.

Brave Angmo. He won't last long there. Makes too many enemies. True enough, he is leaving soon.

Brave Ang mo Do the correct thing to rescue the ailing Airline. But the rot is too much even the best ANG MO.

I think the PAP gov't has the same problem, too many of the civil servants have "family" connections. Making major changes will be very hard because of too many have vested interests in maintaining the status quo.

To be precise, not civil servants, but senior civil servants. The fat in the public service is there. The family connections enable these fat cats to suck us dry.

Not just in the civil service ...also business. Town councils were introduced so that all these PAP supported business can survive by sucking us more. We once had economies of scale in procurement when the HDB was managing the HDB estates. The PAP did away with that, preferring to spend extra billions so that many PAP business can get a piece of the pie. We are stuck with town councils run by so many cronies. The MP is part-time, even though he is supposedly the 'CEO' of the town council.

Sinkee business are failures because they depend on the PAP, using our tax dollars, to feed them.

Brave Ang mo Do the correct thing to rescue the ailing Airline. But the rot is too much even the best ANG MO.

It is the UMNO culture. First Taijuddin raped the airline to bankruptcy. After that, another UMNO crony came along and continue to rape it. When MAS is raped, it is Khazanah, the country's investment arm, that is the victim.

I thought it our MAS. Money laundryshop right under their noses only ang moh take action then they wayang.

Corruption is a sin in Islam. As Malaysia is an Islamic country, most of the m&ds would be strongly against unislamic behaviour like corruption.

Yes, corruption is a sin....but, abang, kawan...etc.."share-share" mah!.....if not, you don't have abang or kawan...

Not corruption sir. If you let your friend make more money from your employer, it is not corruption if you dun receive money in return. Remember Brompton bike procurement? Civil servant not guilty of corruption, only not charged for not telling the truth la. haha. It is Asian values. We have a lot of that in Singapore too, no?

songsongjurong

MAS buys nasi lemak at RM100.00 per serving for MH inflight meal. NOL ????any insider on above market rate suppliers,vendor???

ckmpd

Dont point your fingers at others. Look at SG and the PAP before you laugh at Malaysia and UMNO

jinjiaho

NajibAsean_10052014.jpg

ckmpd

Not corruption sir. If you let your friend make more money from your employer, it is not corruption if you dun receive money in return. Remember Brompton bike procurement? Civil servant not guilty of corruption, only not charged for not telling the truth la. haha. It is Asian values. We have a lot of that in Singapore too, no?

good that you brought up Brompton's case

Bonut

If received NO money in return, but blow jobs in car park leh ?

No money in return....but makan outside can?....or free Compton bike..don't tell people! ok! ...

doesnt he know that is abang culture?hire 6000 of ur family members and stand around and do nothing but chit chat with one another?give 20 to 30 percent discount to friends and family or 20 to 30 percent "extra" if they are suppliers,cut 20,000 suppliers to 4,000?wah lao how many mats and their families are going to go hungry and starving?this greedy ang moh cina babi jew is fucking up the culture and spirit of malaysia and now hes going to be public enemy number one.