• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat PAP MP ALex Yam ask BCA to check if heavy lift usage cause unreliability. Brilliant!!

Hahahahaah. Now why didn't I think of this before? we pay these brain dead fucks $17K a month to come up with such brilliant directives? Of course everything that is use heavily will breakdown and cause reliability issues. Except, maybe his wife's cheebye. That one even after use, still very reliable.

Alex Yam: "BCA, you go check whether all this unreliability in the HDB lifts is caused by Heavy use of the lifts"
BCA: "What you mean heavy use? Simi si heavy use?"
ALex Yam: "You know, like the lift being used for no reason, people who don't need to go downstairs, but go anyway. You know people who go up and down on the lift just for fun. You know, people who refuse to liftpool and want to go inside by themselves, u know, that kind of people".

Check if heavy use of lifts affects reliability: MPs to BCA
As the Building and Construction Authority (BCA) steps up its audits of lifts islandwide, MPs say the review should take into account factors such as the quality of lifts used and the increasingly heavy use of lifts.

SINGAPORE: Several Members of Parliament (MPs) are calling for authorities to check if the heavy use of lifts affects their reliability and if so, to consider replacing such lifts before they reach the end of their designated 28-year lifespan.

The MPs' calls follow a series of recent lift accidents including one earlier this week, where a lift malfunctioned at a Housing Development Board (HDB) block in Petir Road, leaving a resident injured. This is the fourth such accident in eight months that resulted in injury.

The Building and Construction Authority (BCA) has stepped up audits of lifts islandwide, and is conducting a review of lift regulations. Once this is completed, changes to the law will be proposed later this year.

MPs say the review should take into account factors such as the quality of lifts used and the increasingly heavy use of lifts.

"(It’s) because the number of people who are using (the lifts), the number of stops per hour that the lift is made to go through, (that) may have reduced the life expectancy (due) to the increased mileage,” said Mr Alex Yam, MP for Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC and Government Parliamentary Committee chair for National Development. “So some of this information is important for us to glean even before we modernise or replace lifts."

Some MPs also asked if lifts can be replaced before the end of their 28-year lifespan.

”We are concerned whether lift companies will be able to provide spare parts for 28 years,” Mr Zainal Sapari, MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC. “For commercial buildings, most likely they will do a lift overhaul after 10 to 15 years."

If the BCA review shows that that lifts should be replaced sooner, Mr Yam said the Government should also study whether grants can be given to town councils for the increased cost.

“If you imagine, for an average town (where flats are) built at about the same time, the cost that is involved would really exhaust a lot of the sinking funds of the various town councils across the island," he said.

Others called for more oversight over the training and qualifications of lift technicians, as there is currently no body to oversee these aspects.

Re: PAP MP ALex Yam ask BCA to check if heavy lift usage cause unreliability. Brillia

The dumb fark. New lift also got incident lah.

Re: PAP MP ALex Yam ask BCA to check if heavy lift usage cause unreliability. Brillia

The dumb fark. New lift also got incident lah.

We can be very "sure" that the lifts conform to International & SPRING standard right!....but why don't they check where the lift is being manufactured & how often is it maintained & who is checking the maintenance??

No need check. Cfm from china.

I think if you use any piece of machinery in the world heavily, it will break down more often and have reliability issues, right? Is that not common sense to anyone? If you use your car heavily and drive it alot, your car will eventually break down more often. Is he trying to kaykiang and act like he knows what he is doing by asking BCA to do this and do that? What a dumb shit.

Ralders

This is caused by too much foreign shits.
All freak incident are signs.
Singapore is falling.

This is caused by too much foreign shits.
All freak incident are signs.
Singapore is falling.

This is the exact question that the dumb shit Alex yam should be asking. If the lifts were designed for a HDB block, the designers must have taken into account the number of people living in the block. Maybe 1500 people are supposed to be living in the block, so they put in 4 lifts designed for that number. But if 10-15 FTs are squeezing into many of the flats in the block, as well as more and more people living together in the flats, and end up having 2500 people living in the block, then for sure the lifts will experience heavier usage. But who allowed all these people to move in to singapore?

tyudm

What about MRT? Are the trains overloaded?

sins 2 many pipz using lifts 2 often can coz lift breakdowns, mite as wel oso check staircases ... mayb dey wil oso collapse due 2 excessif usage ...

CB Horse wants to justify his pay by asking some questions and give impression he is working

Alex Yam: "BCA, you go check whether all this unreliability in the HDB lifts is caused by Heavy use of the lifts"
BCA: "What you mean heavy use? Simi si heavy use?"
ALex Yam: "You know, like the lift being used for no reason, people who don't need to go downstairs, but go anyway. You know people who go up and down on the lift just for fun. You know, people who refuse to liftpool and want to go inside by themselves, u know, that kind of people".
bca: no matter how gud our lift system is, if evry hdb dweller chooses 2 board and travel @ ze same time, tis is very difficult for our lift system 2 cope ...

Brightkid

Did someone last couple of days said the increase of lifts accidents actually did. OT increase, but reports of such incidents increased due to awareness?

What this dumbass is saying is all these years, lifts been malfunctioning and killing residents. Just that not many people reported such case at all. The bereaved family just dragged the dead back home and cremate them quietly !! Never Kpkb?

Wonder why voters want to pay $16k for a part time dumbass who ask dumb questions.

This is the exact question that the dumb shit Alex yam should be asking. If the lifts were designed for a HDB block, the designers must have taken into account the number of people living in the block. Maybe 1500 people are supposed to be living in the block, so they put in 4 lifts of that number. But if 10-15 FTs are squeezing into many of the flats in the block, as well as more and more people living together in the flats, and end up having 2500 people living in the block, then for sure the lifts will experience heavier usage. But who allowed all these people to move in to singapore?

As usual.....these PAP people will blame the users for for taxing the lifts for riding it up & down, more often that usual. Of course the engineers would have worked out the load factor, the ridership factor, the design factor the...whatever, before they submit this to BCD for approval....the people there are suppose to check & then approve....

But, 'toe bone is connected to the.....".....this is what you get when you have people who have no other independent body to check on their work...& a government that has no oppositions in parliament except one......we are placing our hard earned savings & our lives in these people hands....for example, CPF..our lives ...MSK under WKS...Little India Riots & lifts that kills or maim...of course all these, are APPROVED STANDARDS.....but who is doing a proper checking??

We have been using lifts in HDB flats for more than 50 years.....years back it was Schliender ( hope I got the spell right) lifts...the old clunky noisy one....but they work, they do break down....but never heard of..it shot up or down, it does misalign when opening, doors open ajar etc.....same with the later days FUJI LIFTS....but how many people, we have reported, being maimed or killed using these lifts?

CHINA made parts lifts...or CHINA LIFTS.....ai chi, ai pi, ai.......you get what you pay for....you vote for what you get....so don't complain, suffer happily or die happily too...

i have a good idea,if i was MP alex yam i would reccomend to MDA to sponsor a new television show,called Lift Crash investigation,based on the hit TV series Air crash investigation.where we will examine various reasons for various lift crashes based on evidence and findings from black boxes and wreckage,like not lubricating lift cables regularly thus cause rust and friction to eat thru the cables,or freezing of pitot tubes causing the lift sensors to malfunction and not stop apporpriately at the right level and causing the lift floor not to be aligned,or allowing children into the cockpit and handling the controls,causing unnecessary pressure and inputs causing autopilot to disengage,lift to jerk up and down suddenly causing massive g forces and lift to crash,or the lift user happen to be suspicious and uttering arabic phrases and saying things like "in allah we trust" or "i rely on god" before an explosion occured.

sins 2 many pipz using lifts 2 often can coz lift breakdowns, mite as wel oso check staircases ... mayb dey wil oso collapse due 2 excessif usage ...

Yes, roads will also break when too many cars, taxis and buses on them. The only thing not heavily overuses is the Minister's exoense accounts. That one can tahan any sort of over use.

As usual.....these PAP people will blame the users for for taxing the lifts for riding it up & down, more often that usual. Of course the engineers would have worked out the load factor, the ridership factor, the design factor the...whatever, before they submit this to BCD for approval....the people there are suppose to check & then approve....

But, 'toe bone is connected to the.....".....this is what you get when you have people who have no other independent body to check on their work...& a government that has no oppositions in parliament except one......we are placing our hard earned savings & our lives in these people hands....for example, CPF..our lives ...MSK under WKS...Little India Riots & lifts that kills or maim...of course all these, are APPROVED STANDARDS.....but who is doing a proper checking??

We have been using lifts in HDB flats for more than 50 years.....years back it was Schliender ( hope I got the spell right) lifts...the old clunky noisy one....but they work, they do break down....but never heard of..it shot up or down, it does misalign when opening, doors open ajar etc.....same with the later days FUJI LIFTS....but how many people, we have reported, being maimed or killed using these lifts?

CHINA made parts lifts...or CHINA LIFTS.....ai chi, ai pi, ai.......you get what you pay for....you vote for what you get....so don't complain, suffer happily or die happily too...

I think more the problem is that these lifts are now being maintained by the cheapest FT they can find. If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. If u wonder why BCA would let this quality of lift be installed in flats and wonder why there were not more stringent and regular inspections, just look for whether the org is headed by a Scholar. In the case of BCA, confirmed got one fucktard Ex scholar BG Lee Fook Sun, who is the Chairman now. Any org touched by a scholar general is condemned, and shit useless.