• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Why don't PM Lee Hsien Loong step in to control F&B rents?

brucelee777

with the rents going out of control, it is the consumers like you and me who will suffer and pay the price. We will pay an increasingly higher price for everyday food and the quality and quantity go downhill. It is an inverse relationship between the price of the food and the quality and quantity.

if this goes on, there will be serious repercussions not only on the local populace as well as on tourism. Just ask how those tourists must have felt after getting conned that tian tian chicken rice is heavenly food. this is adverse publicity for sg's food paradise image.

kiwibird7

with the rents going out of control, it is the consumers like you and me who will suffer and pay the price. We will pay an increasingly higher price for everyday food and the quality and quantity go downhill. It is an inverse relationship between the price of the food and the quality and quantity.

if this goes on, there will be serious repercussions not only on the local populace as well as on tourism. Just ask how those tourists must have felt after getting conned that tian tian chicken rice is heavenly food. this is adverse publicity for sg's food paradise image.
Do you honestly believe that PM LHL cares a hoot about the effects of high rentals on hawkers and consumers?
The biggest landlord is the PAP govt via their GLC/GIC. The high Sing$ makes little red dot uncompetitive in the SEAsian tourist market which makes it unsurprising that many retailers have closed shop in the Orchard Road Malls.

whats wrong with making more money?stop complaining and start loading up on sg reits like first reit,capitaland commercial trust reit,frasers centerpoint trust reit,ireit,ascott reit,keppel reit and ho bee land.by investing in sg reit,u are essentially ensuring ur future is secure along with sinkieland,unless this island happens to go down into the ocean.

kiwibird7

whats wrong with making more money?stop complaining and start loading up on sg reits like first reit,capitaland commercial trust reit,frasers centerpoint trust reit,ireit,ascott reit,keppel reit and ho bee land.by investing in sg reit,u are essentially ensuring ur future is secure along with sinkieland,unless this island happens to go down into the ocean.
There is a right way and a wrong way of making more money. Unfortunately PM LHL and his Jinxed wife seemed to have little business sense of doing it the right way; principally blinded by short sighted greed for instant gratification.
For example, selling a product cheaper thereby generating greater volume of sales yields larger profits than trying to rip off customers with over-priced goods for short term gains and getting a bad reputation.

High rentals may result in short term gains with high profits for the GLC/GIC landlord but in the end widespread closures of retail outlets and vacating anchor tenants eventually kill the golden goose that won't lay golden eggs anymore resulting in ghost-town shopping malls with a few stragglers left trying to survive with a greatly reduced foot traffic (shoppers generally shun a shopping mall with several boarded up shops)

There is a right way and a wrong way of making more money. Unfortunately PM LHL and his Jinxed wife seemed to have little business sense of doing it the right way; principally blinded by short sighted greed for instant gratification.
For example, selling a product cheaper thereby generating greater volume of sales yields larger profits than trying to rip off customers with over-priced goods for short term gains and getting a bad reputation.

High rentals may result in short term gains with high profits for the GLC/GIC landlord but in the end widespread closures of retail outlets and vacating anchor tenants eventually kill the golden goose that won't lay golden eggs anymore resulting in ghost-town shopping malls with a few stragglers left trying to survive with a greatly reduced foot traffic (shoppers generally shun a shopping mall with several boarded up shops)

U know what the main problem is?the main problem i think is we have a government who thinks they know everything and know how to run everything and can control everything,we have a communist state run economy where the government is trying to figure out how to run every aspect of the economy,which results in alot of wastage and incompetence because its impossible for the government to figure out everything and the best solutions for everything and excel at everything at once.most government workers are dumb as a rock as it is.

and also because the government is essentially a group of civil servants and administrators,they are heavily dependant on textbook solutions and rigidity and formality and protocols and systems that have been slowly formed over the decades and as the result find it very hard to innovate and think out of the box and evolve quickly with the competition and the outside business environment which is highly competitive and evolves at a very rapid rate in order for businesses to survive and stay ahead of the curve and stay alive in today's world.......

as a result economies such as singapore's which are controlled by the state remain stale and archaic and inefficient.which is why Singapore economy despite over the years and decades,is unable to evolve and remain in the low and medium value added industries.we are unable to move up to high value chains like south korea and dominate the high tech industries.PAP keep insisting on repeating and rehashing old worn out economic policies like low cost manufacturing and pumping billions and billions into construction,and importing millions of cheaper better faster to drive up domestic consumption and demand.this is highly inefficient and unproductive.

the only solution is to free up the economy,open the market to the masses.let singaporeans take over the economy, create new businesses,compete with each other,innovate,come up with new solutions and ideas,create new products,create new industries,new markets and generate new growth.3.5 million people can come up with better solutions than 100 ministers and glc ceos.that is the only way we can survive into the future.instead of just asking sinkies to study hard and join the workforce,join a mnc or civil service.......give them control of the economy and their own fate.

gahmen wil oways take care of itself 1st ...

it nids 2 pay a bunch of useless burgers astronomical salaries ... where can dat humongous amount of moni 2 cum from? ...

gahmen is involved in 2 many glc's ... dey wil do wateva 2 protect dese coyz existence @ expense of peasants n peasants coys ... gahmen nids places 2 dump useless skolars ...

Brightkid

Do you know how much revenue government is collecting from rentals, tax of rentals income, stamp duties, etc, by way of HDB, markets, food centers and GLCs renting out these shops?

Just in case anyone really think that the government is going to reduce property prices, one may want first to check out the stamp duties collected annually. Is in region of a BILLION hor! Lower transacted prices means lower tax. How to pay their millions of dollars of combines ministers and civil serpents salaries if any tax streams has a big shortfalls?

gahmen wil oways take care of itself 1st ...

it nids 2 pay a bunch of useless burgers astronomical salaries ... where can dat humongous amount of moni 2 cum from? ...

gahmen is involved in 2 many glc's ... dey wil do wateva 2 protect dese coyz existence @ expense of peasants n peasants coys ... gahmen nids places 2 dump useless skolars ...

agreed PAP has too many fingers in too many pies,thats the curse of a communist state run economy.government and business should never mix,but unfortunately in singapore,government is the businessman.

Bigfuck

The rental control act was rescinded in preparation of making the clown prince look like an economic genius. Things started going wrong when he took that helm in 2004 and by 2006, rentals had gone to the dogs. With banks jumping in on government decreed taxes on land, we have created a problem so bad that you cannot even begin to do a haircut. With foreign monies here parked convenient as property, you think they will be happy if rentals dropped? Property prices are correlated to rental incomes. You tell me. F&B die means you are get taxed with rat lotti and funny eggs from that organization that claims to serve union rights.

You are assuming that he is more concerned about the consumers than the landlords and rentseekers. :(