• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat No Internet Access for Public Servants from May 2017

Re: IDA's turn trying very hard to look stupid

i like it,IDA is the new testbed on how to create a stalinist iron curtain or a Dark North Koreaish Singapore which happens to be very bright and have lots of lights or a Great CCP firewall of China.Our civil servants will be the first to be indoctrinated into a world of Utopia where the soothing voice of our great leader is constantly played and only the right things can be heard.this will greatly boost their love for their country and the gross national happiness index.

HTOLAS

Let's see whether traffic on SBF falls or not.

they can easily encourage gov workers to go wireless and mobile with gov-issued laptops and tablets by accessing the wi-fi network and 4g lte in-building system if they truly wish for a "smart nation" kind of work environment. they don't need to be stuck at their desks with a wired connection all the time. all they need is to have employees vpn into work servers via ipsec tunnels and encryption to a security gateway with log-in credentials and synchronized/time-stamped rsa soft-tokens before reaching ott applications on work servers (much like sinkpass onekey token). this is how we allow employees in sillycon valley to telecommute and work securely offsite, at customers' location, from home, airport, cafes, anywhere with an open, unsecured wi-fi or 4g connection. the employee work device carries a client that performs dhcp and establishes an fqdn redirect from public isp dns pool to a work dns pool and forces the traffic flow and end points to go through the security gateway. of course, risks of being hacked are always there, but they also exist on highly secured wired networks with supposedly no "back doors" to the internet. back doors are everywhere. even a supposedly "closed" system can be hacked if it has an oa&m port for telemetry and monitoring. target's supposedly firewalled payment system got hacked into as their weakest link was an open 3rd party telemetry system for monitoring and management of their hvac system. the sinkie gov needs to balance productivity with security knowing full well nothing is guaranteed, and with the latest display of ignorance and desperation, it has swung 30 years backwards to 80s style offline work environment. epic fail.

I reccomend every government building every carpark to be installed with wifi,3g,4g,lte,cellphone,pagers jammers,total lockdown,no communications means no communications,we want the region of singapore to shine as brightly as north korea.

Very insincere. Can ban start tml instead. Dont like sissy vivian talk talk only.

Re: See Surf porn on govt coumpter total ban!!!!

No worries. Soon all the keyboards will b removed as well

SNTCK

Some in public service criticise move to cut Internet access on work computers

SINGAPORE — Some in public service were up in arms over news that they would not be able to access the Internet on their work computer by May next year, saying the move was bound to affect productivity, although the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA) has assured that there would be shared workstations allowing surfing on the Internet.

The announcement came after access to many platforms, such as web chats and cloud services, were already curtailed last month, with employees in some agencies getting a second computer for these functions.

ADVERTISING

inRead invented by Teads
News of the new policy, first reported by The Straits Times, was confirmed by the IDA yesterday, which said a trial is under way to “separate Internet access from the work stations of a selected group of public service officers”.

A memo sent to some staff warned: “With the number of cybersecurity threats on the rise, being attacked is a given ... As long as the Government networks are connected to the Internet, the risks of Government data being stolen and leaked will be heightened.” Employees would still be able send emails and access government network applications through the Intranet. They can also use other computers or mobile devices to surf the web as long as they are not connected to the government network.

Calling the move regressive, civil and public servants TODAY spoke to said cutting off Internet access in such a manner was also disruptive.

“It’s like saying ‘your house could get burgled, but don’t spend money upgrading security features like cameras or locks; just move out’,” said one civil servant, who did not want to be named.

Another civil servant who also wanted to remain anonymous said: “I feel like there are relatively simpler solutions but they just decided to use the nuclear option.”

A public servant said that without Internet access on personal work computers, it would be unfair to expect public servants to have to pay for their own mobile data to carry out the work.

In a comment on Facebook responding to the criticism levelled at the move, Ambassador-at-Large Bilahari Kausikan said the announcement on the move could have been clearer, but pointed out that having work computers linked to the Internet poses a “serious cybersecurity risk” to the Government’s network.

“Some departments have already done so (separate Internet access). From the experience of these departments, officers can still receive and reply to emails from the public,” he said, noting it was so in his case.

From a security standpoint, Mr Anthony Lim, a consultant at cybersecurity firm ISC2, said the move was justified. With a government network of thousands of employees, infiltration needs to start with only one employee, he noted.

Mr Bryce Boland, chief technology officer for Asia Pacific at FireEye, said: “Most malware-based attacks leverage Internet access to work correctly, so measures like this will make it harder to leverage common malware against these organisations.”

However, they noted the inconveniences of such a move. For example, communication may be affected if the network goes down. “If you have Internet, you can still rely on personal email accounts,” said Mr Lim.

Member of Parliament Zaqy Mohamad, who chairs the Government Parliamentary Committee for Communications and Information, suggested putting up a study on how productivity might be affected by the move and how it can be mitigated. “I think if you have quite a lot of knowledge workers in the public service ... what could be done is to look at whether there are other solutions,” added Mr Zaqy.

Responding to media queries, the Cyber Security Agency of Singapore (CSA), said the Government has the responsibility of protecting important data and information, including that of citizens. “Internet surfing separation will prevent attackers from using the Internet to plant malware, to access government computers and to exfiltrate information from government computers,” said CSA chief executive David Koh. “Thus, the specific actions that are prohibited in this instance are actions that attackers want government employees to do, such as clicking on a link in a spear-phishing email, thereby allowing attackers to use the Internet surfing channels to exfiltrate stolen information.”

He added: “This should not be seen as a move backwards as government employees will still have Internet connectivity.”

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...icise-move-cut-internet-access-work-computers

Bigfuck

The public service should have all their communications recorded, logged and monitored. Denying external access is critical.

This was done before the internet, once again......the allowed the 'horses to gallop off with the carriage'....now they want to stop not only the horse 'galloping', but restrict the use of the 'carriage'.....the civil servants deserve it....they voted for these people....don't complain...just comply.

Brightkid

Oh shit!

Now I have to spend all my 'present-at-work' time (9am to 5pm, 5.5 days a week, all excluding tea breaks and lunch as these are MY own time) thinking how to spend those time without access to my favorite Sam's forums and 'Want-To-Get-Laid-Tonight?' sites.

Life sucks in government service with more eat snake avenues shut off.

Smart Nation, IDA - laughing stock of the World over Internet Closure

Truly a bunch of clowns. Surely they must know that it clearly signals their lack of confidence in protecting their network. Read the highly defensive statements. How can this be called a "calibrated" approach. There is nothing to calibrate - its is going to be totally detached, there is no link, bridge etc. This does not qualify even as a risk based approach. No need to monitor, one can even argue there is no need for a firewall.

As I said before, people in the civil service initially thought it was a hoax. Maybe it best to hand this over to the Indian Foreign talent who are all over the foreign banks.

Our PM's son is in IDA and I am not sure how it reflects on him.

Even Mr Miyagi and Mr Brown have taken pot shots of these clowns. Read the last para. I wonder our Minister in charge of the Smart Nation programme must be smarting over this or is it his idea.

===================================================================================================

Singapore Government ‘definitely has not given up’ on cybersecurity: IDA
Mr Chai Chin Loon, Director of Cyber Security Group at IDA, says the move to separate Web access for public sector employees is a “calibrated approach” that aims to close off one big source of cyberattacks - the Internet.

By Kevin Kwang
Posted 09 Jun 2016 13:10 Updated 09 Jun 2016 14:01

SINGAPORE: The Singapore Government “definitely has not given up” on securing its IT infrastructure from cyberattacks, said Mr Chai Chin Loon, Director of Cyber Security Group at the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA), on Thursday (Jan 9).

In fact, the Government is “taking a leap forward” to close off one of the bigger sources of online attacks afflicting governments today - the Internet, explained Mr Chai in an interview with Channel NewsAsia.

His comments follow news that emerged on Wednesday stating that Internet access for civil servants will be hived off from their work computers to dedicated Web-enabled PCs. Officers would still be able to surf the Internet on separate computers or mobile devices - either belonging to the individual or provided by their organisations, according to an IDA circular sent to these employees.

“I would argue that we are not taking a step backward, but adopting a balanced approach” in addressing the increasingly risky online landscape, Mr Chai said.

Elaborating, he said that by practising hardware-based access management, which helps determine the amount of Web access and on which devices, there is a “higher wall” for potential cybercriminals to step through in order to enter Government’s IT infrastructure and steal away important citizens’ data.

The IDA cybersecurity chief said while there are software offerings that offer access management, these are riskier options. “There are inherent weaknesses because of the complexity of the code; I’ve yet to see a piece of software that has no bugs in it,” he explained.

WHY NOW?

Mr Chai said the decision to hive off Internet access for civil servants was taken for a number of reasons: One is that the threat level has reached the point for “drastic actions”.

He cited the example of the 2015 breach of the US Office of Personnel Management, which resulted in the theft of Social Security numbers and other information about current and former government workers, applicants, contractors and spouses of those who underwent background checks for security clearance. The hack affected 22.1 million people, up from the initial 4.2 million when the breach was first reported.

He added that governments are constantly attacked, and for Singapore, “billions of attacks” are detected each year. Furthermore, how-to guides and sophisticated tools to commit hacks are increasingly made available online, which further exacerbates the challenge to secure one’s IT infrastructure.

“These are authoritative data, personal data that were stolen,” said Mr Chai, adding that if this happened in Singapore, “I don’t think we can survive it”.

Secondly, it is a question of whether there are alternatives for Web surfing for civil servants. Mr Chai said with the proliferation of high-speed Internet and mobile devices, people are no longer constrained by dedicated, Web-enabled PCs. He added that for him, it is his smartphone that acts as his main Web surfing tool.

Mr Chai also took the opportunity to address the impact of the move on citizens, saying they will be “minimally impacted”. “The main impact will be on public servants and their workflow,” he added.

The news of the transition towards separating Internet access for public servants whipped up a frenzy online on Wednesday, with some of the public questioning the decision and wondering how such a move will affect e-Government services and its overall Smart Nation vision.

Prominent online personalities such as Mr Miyagi tweeted: "We're with you, civil servants of Singapore. Oh wait, you have no internet to read this tweet", while mrbrown made fun of the news with a picture of a lady searching the library for information and tweeted: "Our civil servants will have the Internet cut off from their computers next year. Because we Smart Nation."

Re: Smart Nation, IDA - laughing stock of the World over Internet Closure

Who is the minister in charge of this?? must be smart too?? ha ha ha

steffychun

Truly a bunch of clowns. Surely they must know that it clearly signals their lack of confidence in protecting their network. Read the highly defensive statements. How can this be called a "calibrated" approach. There is nothing to calibrate - its is going to be totally detached, there is no link, bridge etc. This does not qualify even as a risk based approach. No need to monitor, one can even argue there is no need for a firewall.

As I said before, people in the civil service initially thought it was a hoax. Maybe it best to hand this over to the Indian Foreign talent who are all over the foreign banks.

Our PM's son is in IDA and I am not sure how it reflects on him.

Even Mr Miyagi and Mr Brown have taken pot shots of these clowns. Read the last para. I wonder our Minister in charge of the Smart Nation programme must be smarting over this or is it his idea.

===================================================================================================

Singapore Government ‘definitely has not given up’ on cybersecurity: IDA
Mr Chai Chin Loon, Director of Cyber Security Group at IDA, says the move to separate Web access for public sector employees is a “calibrated approach” that aims to close off one big source of cyberattacks - the Internet.

By Kevin Kwang
Posted 09 Jun 2016 13:10 Updated 09 Jun 2016 14:01

SINGAPORE: The Singapore Government “definitely has not given up” on securing its IT infrastructure from cyberattacks, said Mr Chai Chin Loon, Director of Cyber Security Group at the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA), on Thursday (Jan 9).

In fact, the Government is “taking a leap forward” to close off one of the bigger sources of online attacks afflicting governments today - the Internet, explained Mr Chai in an interview with Channel NewsAsia.

His comments follow news that emerged on Wednesday stating that Internet access for civil servants will be hived off from their work computers to dedicated Web-enabled PCs. Officers would still be able to surf the Internet on separate computers or mobile devices - either belonging to the individual or provided by their organisations, according to an IDA circular sent to these employees.

“I would argue that we are not taking a step backward, but adopting a balanced approach” in addressing the increasingly risky online landscape, Mr Chai said.

Elaborating, he said that by practising hardware-based access management, which helps determine the amount of Web access and on which devices, there is a “higher wall” for potential cybercriminals to step through in order to enter Government’s IT infrastructure and steal away important citizens’ data.

The IDA cybersecurity chief said while there are software offerings that offer access management, these are riskier options. “There are inherent weaknesses because of the complexity of the code; I’ve yet to see a piece of software that has no bugs in it,” he explained.

WHY NOW?

Mr Chai said the decision to hive off Internet access for civil servants was taken for a number of reasons: One is that the threat level has reached the point for “drastic actions”.

He cited the example of the 2015 breach of the US Office of Personnel Management, which resulted in the theft of Social Security numbers and other information about current and former government workers, applicants, contractors and spouses of those who underwent background checks for security clearance. The hack affected 22.1 million people, up from the initial 4.2 million when the breach was first reported.

He added that governments are constantly attacked, and for Singapore, “billions of attacks” are detected each year. Furthermore, how-to guides and sophisticated tools to commit hacks are increasingly made available online, which further exacerbates the challenge to secure one’s IT infrastructure.

“These are authoritative data, personal data that were stolen,” said Mr Chai, adding that if this happened in Singapore, “I don’t think we can survive it”.

Secondly, it is a question of whether there are alternatives for Web surfing for civil servants. Mr Chai said with the proliferation of high-speed Internet and mobile devices, people are no longer constrained by dedicated, Web-enabled PCs. He added that for him, it is his smartphone that acts as his main Web surfing tool.

Mr Chai also took the opportunity to address the impact of the move on citizens, saying they will be “minimally impacted”. “The main impact will be on public servants and their workflow,” he added.

The news of the transition towards separating Internet access for public servants whipped up a frenzy online on Wednesday, with some of the public questioning the decision and wondering how such a move will affect e-Government services and its overall Smart Nation vision.

Prominent online personalities such as Mr Miyagi tweeted: "We're with you, civil servants of Singapore. Oh wait, you have no internet to read this tweet", while mrbrown made fun of the news with a picture of a lady searching the library for information and tweeted: "Our civil servants will have the Internet cut off from their computers next year. Because we Smart Nation."

Dear Scrobal,

Trust me, PSD/PSA whatever name they call themselves employees deserve it. 90% of the time, they send non-related work emails to each other, including Perm Secs and well, Ministers (but hey Mini-stars are not public servants, oh wait are they?)

90% of the time they surf the internet at work for non-work related issues but for enjoyment, sometimes even porn (RA or what guidelines they do not let Sinkies have)

90% of the time the text, whatsapp each other non-work related issues, including stuff like whose panties are cute, who they bunk later

This prevails in all ministries an stat boards

SO THEY DESERVE IT!

I actually think it's a good idea. The devil is in the details.

If I interpret the information correctly what it means is that work computers that are connected to the giant database that contains all the information about us... ie NRIC, car registration, medical records, mindef records etc will be part of an intranet rather than connected to the whole wide world and there is nothing wrong with this.

I'll give you an analogy. I have video monitoring at home. It shows my backyard, frontyard, secluded areas in the garden and so on. It is connected to a small monitoring station but I opted not to connect it to the internet for the simple reason that I don't need to be watching the screens 24 hour a day.

By isolating the video feed from the internet, I don't have to worry about the IP cams being hacked. They're made in China and are notorious for security bugs.

However when I do need to check the videos I have all the information stored in my own personal cloud.

However that does not mean I live in a well. I'm connected to the internet via my Mac computer.

I would estimate that 90% of Civil Service work is email traffic, and use of benign applications such as word processing, spreadsheets, graphic presentation etc.

Access to sensitive applications and links to important databases can be controlled by several means. For instance only designated PCs can access such sensitive applications and front line staff who normally do such work won't even have time to surf the net in the first place. Its no different in banks, military etc. Then you have security protocols such 2 factors authentication over out of band OTPs.

I seriously thought it was a hoax. I was not the only one.

If you go to any bank branch, none of the tellers' terminal is connected to the internet. Its the same with CPF staff handling customer's account. Look at them, they don't even have time to eat a biscuit.

There has to be something else that led to this.

ps. by the way, good move on the video monitoring security. There has been an increase of such hacks.

I actually think it's a good idea. The devil is in the details.

If I interpret the information correctly what it means is that work computers that are connected to the giant database that contains all the information about us... ie NRIC, car registration, medical records, mindef records etc will be part of an intranet rather than connected to the whole wide world and there is nothing wrong with this.

I'll give you an analogy. I have video monitoring at home. It shows my backyard, frontyard, secluded areas in the garden and so on. It is connected to a small monitoring station but I opted not to connect it to the internet for the simple reason that I don't need to be watching the screens 24 hour a day.

By isolating the video feed from the internet, I don't have to worry about the IP cams being hacked. They're made in China and are notorious for security bugs.

However when I do need to check the videos I have all the information stored in my own personal cloud.

However that does not mean I live in a well. I'm connected to the internet via my Mac computer.

There has to be something else that led to this.

You are highly likely to be correct. The Civil Service is not known to be pre-emptive. It has always been reactive.

A 'bomb' is likely to have exploded. It must be so damaging and/or embarrassing that no one is talking about this in the civil service. I am sure the respective Perm Secs and their key officers were consulted along the way.

To prevent further embarrassment, drastic measures had to be taken. Knowing Peter Ong, he won't want to take any risks. Banning access to the internet has to be the best option.

Hans168

Dear Scrobal,

Trust me, PSD/PSA whatever name they call themselves employees deserve it. 90% of the time, they send non-related work emails to each other, including Perm Secs and well, Ministers (but hey Mini-stars are not public servants, oh wait are they?)

90% of the time they surf the internet at work for non-work related issues but for enjoyment, sometimes even porn (RA or what guidelines they do not let Sinkies have)

90% of the time the text, whatsapp each other non-work related issues, including stuff like whose panties are cute, who they bunk later

This prevails in all ministries an stat boards

SO THEY DESERVE IT!

why are they unable to defend a simple system from malware, virus, spy wares........??? too much f trash ah neh and Nishi pundeks taking care of our IT........!!

papigs still dun geddit that cheap is no fucking good

I agree. My curiosity is piqued.

You are highly likely to be correct. The Civil Service is not known to be pre-emptive. It has always been reactive.

A 'bomb' is likely to have exploded. It must be so damaging and/or embarrassing that no one is talking about this in the civil service. I am sure the respective Perm Secs and their key officers were consulted along the way.

To prevent further embarrassment, drastic measures had to be taken. Knowing Peter Ong, he won't want to take any risks. Banning access to the internet has to be the best option.

I am also surprised that they did not have a more credible press release which allowed people to start speculating to this extent and make fun of.