• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat No Internet Access for Public Servants from May 2017

xpo2015

Re: Smart Nation, IDA - laughing stock of the World over Internet Closure

To be a smart nation, we stop civil servants from accessing the Internet, which contained the worlds information and craps.

What kind of stupid logic is that?

kryonlight

The design of the Internet is inherently insecure. It is impossible to build something that is 100% secure on top of an insecure infrastructure. I think this is a smart move to separate government databases from the Internet. You remove a major source of insecurity and save up on software, hardware and manpower costs to deflect known forms of attacks. The unknown forms of attacks are not even included in those costs!

No software in this world is secure. There are so many ways to attack with just a simple memory leak. Even a mischievously coded JPEG file can be used to trigger a buffer overrun! The state of the world's software is dismal. And Linux isn't and won't be the savior.

Re: Internet ban for Civil serpents, what is Gay Loong not telling us?

blame it on civil servants who given the benefit and privilege of internet access on their work computers to enhance productivity they instead spend much of their time browsing and clicking on sites and links that are not only suspicious but introduce spam bots, phishing parasites, and trojan horses into their pc's. most of them lie in wait and steal info when the clueless civil servant least expect them to strike. all systems are compromised and infected with web versions of std's, and a total shut down, ethnic cleansing, reformatting, and rebirth of all work systems becum necessary. but the verdict is on the users themselves, the idle, leisurely, bored and undisciplined civil servant who brought this upon themselves. yes, throw them under the bus.

dr.wailing

Re: Why Ah Loong so scared of data leaks?

Angmo garmen dun really cares. Dun tell me he got skeletons in his closet?
A little bird from the West told me that "Buy High Sell Low" total remuneration for the year is about US$45,000,000. How did the little bird know? From the Sinkapore's civil service internet service? NO.

kryonlight

blame it on civil servants who given the benefit and privilege of internet access on their work computers to enhance productivity they instead spend much of their time browsing and clicking on sites and links that are not only suspicious but introduce spam bots, phishing parasites, and trojan horses into their pc's. most of them lie in wait and steal info when the clueless civil servant least expect them to strike. all systems are compromised and infected with web versions of std's, and a total shut down, ethnic cleansing, reformatting, and rebirth of all work systems becum necessary. but the verdict is on the users themselves, the idle, leisurely, bored and undisciplined civil servant who brought this upon themselves. yes, throw them under the bus.

Nonsense! Bullshit! TPX! Our civil servants are the most disciplined in the universe. I heard JohnTan swear on LKY's Red Box the other day.

blame it on civil servants who given the benefit and privilege of internet access on their work computers to enhance productivity they instead spend much of their time browsing and clicking on sites and links that are not only suspicious but introduce spam bots, phishing parasites, and trojan horses into their pc's.

Such matured wisdom! Let's ban all human contact to prevent any transmission of diseases.

Nonsense! Bullshit! TPX! Our civil servants are the most disciplined in the universe. I heard JohnTan swear on LKY's Red Box the other day.

tongue in cheek lah. of course, even if civil servants are all very disciplined and refrain from accessing the internet from the work pc's, hackers will find a way in regardless. the only way, unfortunately, is to implement a totally closed system like an intranet with zero connections to the world wide web. even with a totally closed intranet, there are ways to hack in, e.g. via email relays with stealth bots from an open email system to an own-created closed one. tough to prevent an idiot from forwarding by mistake as civil servants typically are arrow kings and queens.

banning internet is no enuff! ...

dey shud oso ban usb ports, cd drives, etc ...

who noes sum idiot may download a file in2 his thumb drive n connect 2 his wok computerz usd port ...

Nah Beh!!! Stop feeding them ideas already!!!

Only an idiot like LHL would think that there are no spies and espionage going on with these FTs.

Bring it on! We need 15 million folks running amok on this little island! Teehee...

Its very easy for the IT dept to check who is browsing what sites on their govt computers. You need to enter your user name and password to log on. if you then go to a porn website, the IT department can check that for sure. If you download porn movies into your govt computer HD, they will also know. Why don't they simply identify the people that are not clicking on related business websites and call them in for a warning. Continued misuse can result in termination. Instead, they just have a blanket cessation.

Re: Why Ah Loong so scared of data leaks?

A little bird from the West told me that "Buy High Sell Low" total remuneration for the year is about US$45,000,000. How did the little bird know? From the Sinkapore's civil service internet service? NO.

I have been told that Whore Jinx has stock options in Temasek. How the fuck is that possible? I thought 100% of the shares are all owned by MOF.

Its very easy for the IT dept to check who is browsing what sites on their govt computers. You need to enter your user name and password to log on. if you then go to a porn website, the IT department can check that for sure. If you download porn movies into your govt computer HD, they will also know. Why don't they simply identify the people that are not clicking on related business websites and call them in for a warning. Continued misuse can result in termination. Instead, they just have a blanket cessation.

yup, they probably have records of many high up in the civil service watching panda porn and the philly naked bike ride thread on sbf.

Pornsites and many others sites of questionable content is prohibited not only in the Civil Service but most companies. These are blocked off at the firewall. The list of the such sites are made commercially available by IT vendors who typically maintain the list for currency. Also prohibited by most organisations are popular social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter etc. The primary reason is to ensure that work is the focus.

By a vast margin, the common surf sites for employees are newsblogs of mainstream news media such as BBC, and search engines.

Ash007

Apparently no issues with public servants using their own devices to access during office hours. So it does seem like they have lost the confidence tot protect their network which surprised me. I know that there is huge team that was formed couple of years ago to coordinate and provide the all aspects of security.

Typically MNCs and other private companies cripple ports and prevent rogue applications etc plus the mandatory firewalls.

I am sure it will affect productivity as most people for example need to google to help in their work. They also needs to keep track of latest news and development. Asking them to google on their own devices does not seem like progress for the digital world of today.

But they still have internet access!! I think they might have lost the plot on the digital economy. Again, another example of "We don't understand how to get this working properly, lets banned it."

Civil servants will still have internet access you twit. The change is all about disconnecting the majority of terminals on the government intranet from the internet which I feel is a wise and prudent move.

There is no need for every single terminal on the network to be open to the outside world just as there is no need for every room in a home to have a door that leads outside.

Disconnecting work terminals from the internet means removes the need for securing every single computer. Security specialists can then concentrate on the main door and making it as secure as possible.

CaoCao

of course they will. just making it a bottle neck.....

Civil servants will still have internet access you twit. The change is all about disconnecting the majority of terminals on the government intranet from the internet which I feel is a wise and prudent move.

There is no need for every single terminal on the network to be open to the outside world just as there is no need for every room in a home to have a door that leads outside.

Disconnecting work terminals from the internet means removes the need for securing every single computer. Security specialists can then concentrate on the main door and making it as secure as possible.

I though they have been doing this all the while?......back then in my office, the internet access is restricted on the workstations & the browsers are configured to go certain company's approval website & company's website & our subsidiaries & HQ overseas....email from the secured mail server...no external email....phone lines are routed through a recorder....fascimile & print through a secure server...

I delete all OS games from all workstations ( solitaire...) ....including my BOSS workstation, he can't play, no one can....no one dare complain.....my point is, you cannot have too much freedom or it will compromise company's data etc..

They have spoilt the civil servants...& now they want to install discipline....not too late, but, we do not have people in policy making that dare to make firm decisions...like LKY.

p.s......back then, I cannot surf SBF on my office workstation or buy movie tickets or eBay or Amazon or......:biggrin:

Pornsites and many others sites of questionable content is prohibited not only in the Civil Service but most companies. These are blocked off at the firewall. The list of the such sites are made commercially available by IT vendors who typically maintain the list for currency. Also prohibited by most organisations are popular social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter etc. The primary reason is to ensure that work is the focus.

By a vast margin, the common surf sites for employees are newsblogs of mainstream news media such as BBC, and search engines.

I never have a problem downloading porn sites here in singapore. if you know where to go, its not a problem at all.