• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious vain LCB BRAT Nancy Gan killed for demanding to eat on silver plate

SeeFartLoong

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/mobile/singapore/indonesian-maid-jailed-18/2833164.html

Indonesian maid jailed 18 years for killing employer, socialite Nancy Gan
By Vanessa Paige Chelvan
POSTED: 31 May 2016 18:46 **UPDATED: 31 May 2016 19:02

File photo of the late*socialite and philanthropist Nancy Gan's home*at Victoria Park Road. (Photo: Xabryna Kek)

A
A
SINGAPORE: Twenty-year-old Indonesian maid Dewi Sukowati was sentenced to 18 years’ jail on Tuesday (May 31) for killing her employer, socialite Nancy Gan.

Madam Gan’s body was found face down in the swimming pool of her Victoria Park Road bungalow on Mar 19, 2014, six days after Dewi began working for her.

The High Court heard that on the day of the crime, Mdm Gan had scolded Dewi and threatened to slash her pay for serving her using a plastic tray, instead of a silver tray.

Dewi, then 18, “lost control” after Mdm Gan splashed a glass of water on the maid’s face and hit her head with a plastic tray, prosecutors told the court on Tuesday. She grabbed hold of Mdm Gan’s hair, swinging the 69-year-old’s head against the wall, and Mdm Gan collapsed, unconscious and bleeding profusely from the back of her head.*

When the maid turned Mdm Gan's body over and placed her ear on the latter's chest, she heard a faint heartbeat. Worried that her employer would wake up and call the police, Dewi dragged the body by the hair to the swimming pool, slamming Mdm Gan’s head against a step along the way. She flipped Mdm Gan’s body face down into the pool and threw the woman’s sandals in as well, to make it seem as though Mdm Gan had committed suicide.

To cover up evidence of the crime, Dewi cleaned up the trail of blood by mopping the floor several times and changed out of her blood-soaked clothes.

She then walked next door to the neighbour’s house, intending to ask for help, but flagged down a passing dispatch rider instead. “Help me, my employer is in the swimming pool," she told him. The man, upon seeing Mdm Gan’s bloodied body in the pool, called the police.

An autopsy found Mdm Gan had sustained multiple external and internal injuries, including skull fractures, consistent with blunt force trauma. Her cause of death was recorded as “drowning contributed by contused brain due to fractured skull”.

“SENSELESS BRUTALITY, MINDLESS VIOLENCE”: PROSECUTION

The prosecution urged the court to impose a sentence of 20 years’ jail on Dewi, citing the “senseless brutality and mindless violence” with which she killed Mdm Gan and arguing that the maid’s actions were “manifestly disproportionate” to any degree of resentment towards her employer that might have been built up over six days.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Chee Min Ping added that although Dewi may have acted in “hot blood” in swinging Mdm Gan’s head against the wall, she had 10 minutes to “compose herself and calm down”, before she realised Mdm Gan was still alive, albeit unconscious.

The maid then “decided to finish her off” by drowning Mdm Gan in the swimming pool and staging a suicide. This clearly shows Dewi’s subsequent actions were deliberate, and that she “had the presence of mind to engage in some thought and planning”, DPP Chee said.

EMPLOYER ABUSED DEWI: DEFENCE

After her arrest, Dewi was diagnosed with Acute Stress Reaction by an Institute of Mental Health psychiatrist. The psychiatrist said Dewi’s “young age … sudden dispatch to a vastly different culture … (and) her past history of abuse (which) enhanced (her) sensitivity to further abuse at the hands of a perfectionistic employer” had caused the maid to “react instantaneously without heed of the consequences”, a report stated.

Dewi’s lawyer Mohamed Muzammil Mohamed contended that Mdm Gan – “fussy and (a) perfectionist” – had provoked the maid by making insulting and demeaning remarks.*

On Dewi’s first day, Mdm Gan allegedly hit her with a broomstick, kicked the maid and hit her fingers with a plate, the lawyer said, adding that Mdm Gan had similarly abused her previous maids.

Mdm Gan’s handyman, who was interviewed by an IMH psychiatrist after her death, described his former employer as a “perfectionist”, and said she would “nag and scold” employees often.

In addition, Mr Muzammil said Dewi had been physically abused by her father in Indonesia, and at the age of 18 lied about her age to work in Singapore and get away from her abusive father, he told the court.

However, an Indonesian recruiter sent her to Singapore to work as a maid without any preparation or training, Mr Muzammil said.

He added that though more than two years have passed, Dewi still cries when she relates the events of Mar 19, 2014. The lawyer suggested that 10 to 12 years’ jail would be an appropriate sentence for her crime.

Dewi, originally charged for murder, pleaded guilty on Tuesday to a reduced charge of culpable homicide not amounting to murder. For the reduced charge, she could have received up to 20 years’ jail and a fine, or life imprisonment.*
- CNA/mz

fupikee

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/mobile/singapore/indonesian-maid-jailed-18/2833164.html

Indonesian maid jailed 18 years for killing employer, socialite Nancy Gan
By Vanessa Paige Chelvan
POSTED: 31 May 2016 18:46 **UPDATED: 31 May 2016 19:02

File photo of the late*socialite and philanthropist Nancy Gan's home*at Victoria Park Road. (Photo: Xabryna Kek)

A
A
SINGAPORE: Twenty-year-old Indonesian maid Dewi Sukowati was sentenced to 18 years’ jail on Tuesday (May 31) for killing her employer, socialite Nancy Gan.

Madam Gan’s body was found face down in the swimming pool of her Victoria Park Road bungalow on Mar 19, 2014, six days after Dewi began working for her.

The High Court heard that on the day of the crime, Mdm Gan had scolded Dewi and threatened to slash her pay for serving her using a plastic tray, instead of a silver tray.

Dewi, then 18, “lost control” after Mdm Gan splashed a glass of water on the maid’s face and hit her head with a plastic tray, prosecutors told the court on Tuesday. She grabbed hold of Mdm Gan’s hair, swinging the 69-year-old’s head against the wall, and Mdm Gan collapsed, unconscious and bleeding profusely from the back of her head.*

When the maid turned Mdm Gan's body over and placed her ear on the latter's chest, she heard a faint heartbeat. Worried that her employer would wake up and call the police, Dewi dragged the body by the hair to the swimming pool, slamming Mdm Gan’s head against a step along the way. She flipped Mdm Gan’s body face down into the pool and threw the woman’s sandals in as well, to make it seem as though Mdm Gan had committed suicide.

To cover up evidence of the crime, Dewi cleaned up the trail of blood by mopping the floor several times and changed out of her blood-soaked clothes.

She then walked next door to the neighbour’s house, intending to ask for help, but flagged down a passing dispatch rider instead. “Help me, my employer is in the swimming pool," she told him. The man, upon seeing Mdm Gan’s bloodied body in the pool, called the police.

An autopsy found Mdm Gan had sustained multiple external and internal injuries, including skull fractures, consistent with blunt force trauma. Her cause of death was recorded as “drowning contributed by contused brain due to fractured skull”.

“SENSELESS BRUTALITY, MINDLESS VIOLENCE”: PROSECUTION

The prosecution urged the court to impose a sentence of 20 years’ jail on Dewi, citing the “senseless brutality and mindless violence” with which she killed Mdm Gan and arguing that the maid’s actions were “manifestly disproportionate” to any degree of resentment towards her employer that might have been built up over six days.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Chee Min Ping added that although Dewi may have acted in “hot blood” in swinging Mdm Gan’s head against the wall, she had 10 minutes to “compose herself and calm down”, before she realised Mdm Gan was still alive, albeit unconscious.

The maid then “decided to finish her off” by drowning Mdm Gan in the swimming pool and staging a suicide. This clearly shows Dewi’s subsequent actions were deliberate, and that she “had the presence of mind to engage in some thought and planning”, DPP Chee said.

EMPLOYER ABUSED DEWI: DEFENCE

After her arrest, Dewi was diagnosed with Acute Stress Reaction by an Institute of Mental Health psychiatrist. The psychiatrist said Dewi’s “young age … sudden dispatch to a vastly different culture … (and) her past history of abuse (which) enhanced (her) sensitivity to further abuse at the hands of a perfectionistic employer” had caused the maid to “react instantaneously without heed of the consequences”, a report stated.

Dewi’s lawyer Mohamed Muzammil Mohamed contended that Mdm Gan – “fussy and (a) perfectionist” – had provoked the maid by making insulting and demeaning remarks.*

On Dewi’s first day, Mdm Gan allegedly hit her with a broomstick, kicked the maid and hit her fingers with a plate, the lawyer said, adding that Mdm Gan had similarly abused her previous maids.

Mdm Gan’s handyman, who was interviewed by an IMH psychiatrist after her death, described his former employer as a “perfectionist”, and said she would “nag and scold” employees often.

In addition, Mr Muzammil said Dewi had been physically abused by her father in Indonesia, and at the age of 18 lied about her age to work in Singapore and get away from her abusive father, he told the court.

However, an Indonesian recruiter sent her to Singapore to work as a maid without any preparation or training, Mr Muzammil said.

He added that though more than two years have passed, Dewi still cries when she relates the events of Mar 19, 2014. The lawyer suggested that 10 to 12 years’ jail would be an appropriate sentence for her crime.

Dewi, originally charged for murder, pleaded guilty on Tuesday to a reduced charge of culpable homicide not amounting to murder. For the reduced charge, she could have received up to 20 years’ jail and a fine, or life imprisonment.*
- CNA/mz

The conclusion is forgone the moment a planned murder charged is reduced to homicide.....because murderess suffering from depression, same, same M O every time a pinoy, indo, or kerling kill a Singapore employer.....

What 18 years jails?????:confused:

You can bet your last dollar, just after a couple of years in jail, she will be released....again because "she not used to prison life and having a depression"???...Then she will be repatriated back to indo and there she goes.....FREE AS A BIRD.....cheep cheep cheep.....:mad:

The life of a Singaporean is indeed cheep cheep cheep.....(this warning especially goes out to all the sia lan tai tais who waddle around with big bottoms and perfumed bodies, and who think they can lord over, scold, beat, starve any poor thing pinoy, indo, minyma, kerling maid....:smile: )

Reddog

silverplate, porcelain plate, paper plate, plastic plate, banana leaf 'plate', lotus leaf 'plate', ..... wtf !! Thank Allah for the removal of one old idiot.

I don't think the maid gained anything from killing her employer. In fact she would be in a worse off position. The only difference is that she took the law into her own hands. There is no reason to treat anyone in this manner including an employee.

I have no doubt as well that the authorities are ultra cautious when it comes to foreigners facing a death penalty based on the past experience of hanging a maid. I know it not fair but in this case, it does look like a heavy price - 18 years. Our local gangsters armed to the teeth with unmentionable weapons and hacking their victim after planning the meet seemed to only get 7 years is something I still cannot resolve. And in these cases there are multiple and grotesque injuries.

The conclusion is forgone the moment a planned murder charged is reduced to homicide.....because murderess suffering from depression, same, same M O every time a pinoy, indo, or kerling kill a Singapore employer.....

What 18 years jails?????:confused:

You can bet your last dollar, just after a couple of years in jail, she will be released....again because "she not used to prison life and having a depression"???...Then she will be repatriated back to indo and there she goes.....FREE AS A BIRD.....cheep cheep cheep.....:mad:

The life of a Singaporean is indeed cheep cheep cheep.....(this warning especially goes out to all the sia lan tai tais who waddle around with big bottoms and perfumed bodies, and who think they can lord over, scold, beat, starve any poor thing pinoy, indo, minyma, kerling maid....:smile: )

gingerlyn

It is better off for indonesian maids to live in Singapore jails than living in their country in Indonesia.
this is because Indonesian people treat these maids like animal and they do not have proper shelter and health care.

Brightkid

Serious questions:

What is a 'socialite'?

What do they do or how they qualify to attain 'socialite' status?

At 69 years of age, which level or category do they belong to ?

Any other info in general of 'socialite' will be very informative.

Serious questions hor. Am sure many of you also don't know but like to know too.

There are 2 types, self proclaimed and those classified by society. Both however are not employed in an meaningful way but may still have occupational titles. You are a socialite when you are in wealth and participate in every tier 1 social event. Education or your past is not a factor but fashion sense is. Believe me this lady is indeed a socialite. At 69 years of age, as along as your body frame can handle the weight of the required jewellery you are still one. For the Indonesians, the hairstyle is first requirement.

You are also expected to host social functions in your home which is a must to get on the ladder. HDB and Condo don't qualify, penthouse and certainly landed property.

There is also the expectation to contribute to charity or host an event even in the name of charity.

And you have to appear in Tatler in the annual roundup.

Serious questions:

What is a 'socialite'?

What do they do or how they qualify to attain 'socialite' status?

At 69 years of age, which level or category do they belong to ?

Any other info in general of 'socialite' will be very informative.

Serious questions hor. Am sure many of you also don't know but like to know too.

fupikee

I don't think the maid gained anything from killing her employer. In fact she would be in a worse off position. The only difference is that she took the law into her own hands. There is no reason to treat anyone in this manner including an employee.

I have no doubt as well that the authorities are ultra cautious when it comes to foreigners facing a death penalty based on the past experience of hanging a maid. I know it not fair but in this case, it does look like a heavy price - 18 years. Our local gangsters armed to the teeth with unmentionable weapons and hacking their victim after planning the meet seemed to only get 7 years is something I still cannot resolve. And in these cases there are multiple and grotesque injuries.

I beg to differ (but please correct me if I am wrong).

1 As mentioned, although she has been sentenced to 18 years' jail, very unlikely she is going to serve the full, or even half or one third. More likely after just a couple of years, indo embassy will come around to ask for her to be repatriated back to indo, supposedly to serve the rest of her sentence. That's where she will then fly off free as a cheep cheep cheepie.

2 It was said by the maid that Nancy scolded, abused her and threw water on her. When it is a matter of life and death for the indo, all lies and any lies will do to serve her purpose to show that she was abused. That is inclusive of the writing of daily dairies with embellishments of ill treatments, etc, standard M O as taught to the indo maids by their handlers back there in indo. So that, should such cases arise (because they are very known to run 'amok'), there would be proof that they were 'depressed' or 'homesick'.

But was there a witness to these acts of abuse by the employer? None that we know of. So far, also no collaboration of such abuse in evidence presented, inclusive of other maid murderess cases.

The long and short, and the bottom line are - maids murder their employers, children, just have to plead depression. Murder charge would be changed to homicide. Sentence the most 10 years, only in cases like these when the murder(s) was/were committed with extreme acts of cruelty that the sentence would be more than 10 years. Remember maid who murdered female employer and her child, then go buy petrol at station to burn down office in an attempt to destroy evidence? This was not planned murder? - yet she was only sentenced to 10 years or less in prison. Now out and flying free as a bird....for all of what we know....maybe she is back in Singapore, with another name and another identity.....LOL

Reason - pappies scared to hang maids for fear of big reactions from indos, both their govt and their indo citizens in Singapore. This is no longer the time of the old man where he just needed to give a call to Suharto and things would be controlled from the other end.

Same, same goes for pinoys or kerlings - how many of them ever get hanged for murders committed in Singapore, on Singaporeans, on their own country men or other foreigners, in the last 15 to 20 years???? If yes, please cite cases....

The life of a Singaporean is cheep cheep cheep........:mad:

I see where you are coming from. I did note the emergence of depression as a recurring theme when it comes to maids and murder. Sadly these excuses or mitigants were never offered for locals in the past. And we do know that it becomes very sensitive when it involves Indonesia.

I also struggled with what I see on other cases involving foreigners.

I beg to differ (but please correct me if I am wrong).

1 As mentioned, although she has been sentenced to 18 years' jail, very unlikely she is going to serve the full, or even half or one third. More likely after just a couple of years, indo embassy will come around to ask for her to be repatriated back to indo, supposedly to serve the rest of her sentence. That's where she will then fly off free as a cheep cheep cheepie.

The life of a Singaporean is cheep cheep cheep........:mad:

It's funny how people are fucking stupid to always believe the words of the crooks. Why are people blind to the fact that this maid only worked for 6 days for this old woman before she murdered her? How much bullying can an old woman do to the maid in 6 days? Unlike those maid abuse cases where you see the maid face swollen, lost teeth, become blinded , raped etc then this can be good defence for such brutal murder. But in this case the maid is young and strong and working only 6 days. She was extremely brutal to pull the old woman by her hair and knocking her head in the process to the pool. This clearly is the reverse case of maid abusing employer. She should be hanged.

Anyway always be polite and talk nicely to people serving you water and food. If not they will add ingredients to your water and food. You can confirm this with people who have worked as waiter and waitress before, even those working in 5 star hotel. This includes air hostess, secretary and maids too. If you cannot be nice like when they are shit, then don't take their food and drinks like my ex colleague who dare not even drink the water served by her secretary.

RandomNexus

I don't think the maid gained anything from killing her employer. In fact she would be in a worse off position.

I have no doubt as well that the authorities are ultra cautious when it comes to foreigners facing a death penalty based on the past experience of hanging a maid. I know it not fair but in this case, it does look like a heavy price - 18 years.

In this case, there is a possible mitigating factor - ill-treatment by employer although truly, one cannot ascertain for sure.

Agree maid to be sentenced to death is a very sensitive political issue - which is why if there is a reason to downgrade charge, they will do it. The last thing is another diplomatic row which is stirred nothing more than the perception that the more successful lot is seen "bullying" the less successful. It is a hot potatoe to avoid as far as possible.

My experience with third world people is they will bully you if they can. You think no maids bullying old people that they taking care of? I have seen before maids buying food for elderly in food court and you can see themselves eating drumstick while the elderly eat little or no ingredients. Maybe the elderly no appetite that's why the maid only bought one portion and sharing while taking the ingredients, or is she keeping the meal money for herself and abusing the elderly who are often wheel chair bound? Heaven knows.

Truly Singapore is not the same without LKY. It is but a lowlife. We are not buying any favours from Indonesia for being soft on hardcore criminals. If the deceased was a foreigner, we would have hanged her like that brutal Malaysian criminal Kho and that is that.