• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singaporeans are now forced to give up their Citizenship because of Medishield Life

Re: Singaporeans are now forced to give up their Citizenship because of Medishield Li

Ah Loong is not stupid.
He probably gotten a dozen case studies and scenarios done.
The agenda is to remain in power just long enough to plunder as much as possible before the ship sink. And things are going exactly to plan if not better (GE 15 LKY effect)

You are precisely right. What has happened in this scenario with the letters being send for Medishield payments to overseas sinkies is that the PAP have correctly assessed the situation and know that these people have nothing left even in their CPF accounts. Their biggest fear is that if they force overseas sinkies to make a choice and either renounce the sinkie passport or renounce their new countries, most will do the former. If they did that, then all CPF monies will be withdrawn by these sinkies. The PAP can't let that happen or they will lose billions $. The PAP knows that these overseas sinkies who have no money in their CPF will have to make a decision. They will likely renounce or continue to rack up bills on their Medishield which they are not using. The PAP couldn't care less, since these people have no money in their accounts.

Re: Singaporeans are now forced to give up their Citizenship because of Medishield Li

Good post. People who have internal issues will struggle no matter where they are. It will be no different to the guy who moves from one job to another and gives excuses each time.

Also agree that many people struggle to handle a much quieter life in the more advanced countries. If you are into nightlife big time in Singapore or Hong Kong, you would struggle moving to a western country.

Generally the Western 1st world countries outstrip any country including Singapore for the quality of life, education and career opportunities especially for the second generation of migrants. It will take a different mindset, the ability to adapt and adopt and learn to be creative to get the best out of life.

I am sure many more Singaporeans will make the journey if they qualify and do not have to worry about dependents.

If you had problems when living as a Sinkie, your problems wont be solved when you move to other countries. One must be willing to change to solve their problems, shifting to another country solves nothing actually. Reservist? spend a few hundred to downgrade permanently, solved. Even amos yee can do it. Fed up with high-stress, high-pressure lifestyle in SG? Can you get use to the slower pace elsewhere? Work-life balance in other countries mean for everyone, shops close early, either you go to casinoes or stay at home watch netflix with family, no such thing as night-operating shopping centres and theme parks.

On the other hand, if you are one who enjoys outdoor life, swimming, hiking jogging, likes seas activites, then you are definitely better-served elsewhere and not SG. If you recount the last six weekends, you have been spending time at shopping centers from day to night and not a single day at the beach or cycling and totally zero outdoor sports, then please do not kid yourself into moving to OZ or Kiwiland.

nayr69sg

Staff member

This is why countries like Canada are shit. They take the power away from the innovative, the hardworking, the enterprising and the trailblazing only to hand it over to the salaried class who are nothing more than digits that just go with the flow.

Modern Western societies like Canada have twisted basic human values to the point where they are no longer recognizable. For thousands of years societies moved forward by rewarding hard work, thrift and creativity while penalising sloth but in a short span of half a century many nations now do the exact opposite..

Sam, I think you meant Quebec lah. LOL! Alberta is the most right wing and capitalistic. Hard work does pay off here in Alberta. But of course we are vulnerable to oil prices. Rest of Canada.....well.....

nayr69sg

Staff member

I know many Singaporeans support the government's plan in asking overseas Singapore citizens to pay up for Medishield Life. The line of thought is if you cannot afford to pay a few hundred a year then renounce your citizenship and be done with Singapore. Cannot have your cake and eat it.

Fine.

Now I want to know what Singaporeans think of this situation. Both parents have gotten another citizenship. Kids are also citizens of the new country. Both parents renounced their Singapore citizenships. Withdrew all their CPF from OA,SA and Medisave. Both parents are no longer entitled to Medishield Life and thus do not have to pay anything anymore. But the children are below 21 years of age. The Singapore government does not allow children below the age of 21 to renounce their Singapore citizenships. At the same time they want the kids to pay for Medishield Life because they are still Singapore citizens.

What do Singaporeans think about this? Singapore should let the kids renounce their Singapore citizenships before the age of 21? Force the children to pay even though they have no use of the Medishield Life and no choice in renouncing their Singapore citizenships?

What do Singaporeans think?

This is why countries like Canada are shit. They take the power away from the innovative, the hardworking, the enterprising and the trailblazing only to hand it over to the salaried class who are nothing more than digits that just go with the flow.

Modern Western societies like Canada have twisted basic human values to the point where they are no longer recognizable. For thousands of years societies moved forward by rewarding hard work, thrift and creativity while penalising sloth but in a short span of half a century many nations now do the exact opposite.

Singapore on the other hand is shining example of achieving the right balance between employer and employee. With its low tax regime and emphasis on employer rights rather than those of the employee, it has achieved spectacular growth and is the envy of the world because the entrepreneurs know their hard work and innovation will be amply rewarded.

At the same time employees that are dedicated and hardworking get their just rewards too in the form of hefty bonuses for a job well done while the lazy and unproductive ones face their just dues in the form retrenchments and sackings.

If more countries were like Singapore, the world would be a much better place for all except those who are undeserving and that is the way it should be.

I have to disagree with you. Canadians can think & work for themselves.
Many don't see the importance of paper degrees. They only get a degree if they are interested in that field. They also have many educational options e.g. community colleges, polytechnics, ....

I met an oil man who in his younger days drilled for oil in the Middle east. He set up his own business designing drills & is doing pretty well. He only had a BA but smart enough to own and run a Sun SPARC computer, which was state of the art in those days, which he used to design drills. He is no dummy because he refuses to sell to the PRC chinese because he knows they will copy his drills:smile:

I heard he used to make a couple of hundred thousand working in the middle east as a driller.

So tell me which "lesser mortal" in Spore has ever been paid US$400,000+/year :confused: Of course this is peanuts to the PAP who pay themselves multi-millions $.
You will find many self-employed business owners in Edmonton. Unlike in Spore which is dominated by Temasek & the various GLCs .

lifeafter41

I know many Singaporeans support the government's plan in asking overseas Singapore citizens to pay up for Medishield Life. The line of thought is if you cannot afford to pay a few hundred a year then renounce your citizenship and be done with Singapore. Cannot have your cake and eat it.

Fine.

Now I want to know what Singaporeans think of this situation. Both parents have gotten another citizenship. Kids are also citizens of the new country. Both parents renounced their Singapore citizenships. Withdrew all their CPF from OA,SA and Medisave. Both parents are no longer entitled to Medishield Life and thus do not have to pay anything anymore. But the children are below 21 years of age. The Singapore government does not allow children below the age of 21 to renounce their Singapore citizenships. At the same time they want the kids to pay for Medishield Life because they are still Singapore citizens.

What do Singaporeans think about this? Singapore should let the kids renounce their Singapore citizenships before the age of 21? Force the children to pay even though they have no use of the Medishield Life and no choice in renouncing their Singapore citizenships?

What do Singaporeans think?

Maybe we can look at it this way......
Will it impact their children in any way if they were to hold on to their citizenship and pay the medishield life.

Will they want their children to serve ns, for boys.....

For the price of an air ticket, to renounce citizenship, really does not make any sense.

no loss for sg. tell your sister not to have her cake and eat it too. too many sinkie women who emigrated are freeloaders, self-centered, full of themselves, and penny-wise calculative. the type who bring tupperware to a party hoping to siphon off food.

No need to renounce in person, online and mail.

Maybe we can look at it this way......
Will it impact their children in any way if they were to hold on to their citizenship and pay the medishield life.

Will they want their children to serve ns, for boys.....

For the price of an air ticket, to renounce citizenship, really does not make any sense.

bigboss

....I would not be surprised if it would be in the tens of thousands. I would not be surprised if Pinky's balls would shrink when this happens .....

His balls shrink? To the contrary, his balls will enlarge like balloons. He will just import more foreign shits to replace sinkies who run road and it gives him reasons to import more shits.

bigboss

no loss for sg. tell your sister not to have her cake and eat it too. too many sinkie women who emigrated are freeloaders, self-centered, full of themselves, and penny-wise calculative. the type who bring tupperware to a party hoping to siphon off food.

Similar to many foreign imported shits who took up shitizenship in sinkie land, standing with two legs on two boats, the homeland boat and the squatting boat, to see which boat is better. Easy to jump boat when either one does not give the best benefits. If no love for the country, might as well sayonara.

bigboss

... But the children are below 21 years of age. The Singapore government does not allow children below the age of 21 to renounce their Singapore citizenships. At the same time they want the kids to pay for Medishield Life because they are still Singapore citizens.

What do Singaporeans think about this? Singapore should let the kids renounce their Singapore citizenships before the age of 21? Force the children to pay even though they have no use of the Medishield Life and no choice in renouncing their Singapore citizenships?.. What do Singaporeans think?

Nothing to think about ... just tell the kids to serve NS and then renounce shitizenship or avoid serving NS and stay away from sinkie land for life to escape jail.

Pappies will not allow sinkies to renounce shitizenship before serving NS or below age 21. If allowed, half the population in sinkie land will renounce it and flee to the birth land of their parents.

bigboss

.... For the price of an air ticket, to renounce citizenship, really does not make any sense.

It shows how much love these sinkies have for their birth land ... they stand ready to flee even in peace time. What will they do when sinkie land is attacked? Sinkie land is not even worth the price of paying for Medishield Life.

bigboss

... Generally the Western 1st world countries outstrip any country including Singapore for the quality of life, education and career opportunities especially for the second generation of migrants. It will take a different mindset, the ability to adapt and adopt and learn to be creative to get the best out of life...

The soaring crime rate and uncontrollable crime sprees, where criminals often use the guns to rob and kill, make living in these Western countries a big risk to personal safety for family especially the kids who are also exposed to illicit drugs in schools and neighbourhood.

Sinkie land may not be ideal place to live but it is many times safer. This is one of the reasons why foreigners flock to sinkie land like flies being drawn to rotting food.

bigboss

.. If they did that, then all CPF monies will be withdrawn by these sinkies. The PAP can't let that happen or they will lose billions $....

Not true, lah. Pappies will simply import 100 more foreign shits to replace every single sinkie who surrendered red IC to run road. Pappies have no problem importing foreigners. There are millions waiting at the doorstep.

For every new foreign imported shit admitted into the island, that shit has to contribute CPF and the cycle goes on. Pappies will never lose out mathematically but the natives will lose out ... the loss of their country through front gate invasion by foreigners.

Scorn

foreign properties are so cheap so it's worth giving your shitty shitizenship up.

Not true, lah. Pappies will simply import 100 more foreign shits to replace every single sinkie who surrendered red IC to run road. Pappies have no problem importing foreigners. There are millions waiting at the doorstep.

For every new foreign imported shit admitted into the island, that shit has to contribute CPF and the cycle goes on. Pappies will never lose out mathematically but the natives will lose out ... the loss of their country through front gate invasion by foreigners.

The PAP may want to replace all home grown Sporean, but there are costs & risks involved. A Sporean is more likely to be obedient, law abiding, educated,.... than his foreign counterpart. They have under gone decades of brainwashing & so know how to behave.

Just look at the riots in little India & the trouble that PRC chinese have caused. We will not know the full extent of the problems because these problems are being covered up by the local media. These people have no loyalty to Spore & probably have plans to leave Spore with their CPF.

Many of the 1st world countries are looking for educated people who can integrate & function in their societies & Sporeans have no problems doing that.
I know many Sporeans who have successully emigrated & they are doing well in countries like Australia, Canada, & the USA. They represent a lost to Spore but a gain to these countries.

There are many sinkies who worked abroad and hope benefit instantly from our superb healthcare the moment they return back to Singapore. Why should they get a free ride? They should be made to pay their premiums regardless where they reside, just as US citizens pay taxes to Uncle Sam regardless where they work.

nayr69sg

Staff member

There are many sinkies who worked abroad and hope benefit instantly from our superb healthcare the moment they return back to Singapore. Why should they get a free ride? They should be made to pay their premiums regardless where they reside, just as US citizens pay taxes to Uncle Sam regardless where they work.

I do not want the Medishield Life. I have no need for it. I renounced my Singapore citizenship not because of Medishield Life but I am glad that I do not have to be burdened with the Medishield Life.

However, my children who similarly do not need Medishield Life are asked to pay for the premiums by virtue that they continue to be Singapore citizens (not by choice) because Singapore would only allow citizens >21 years of age to renounce their citizenships. In essence, the children are forced to continue being citizens and the parents are forced to pay their Medishield Life premiums. Unlike adults who can have a choice to renounce, the children do not.

I suppose one could say that we do not have to pay anything and just forget about Singapore. Perhaps that is what we will do.

I can see that Singaporeans continue to be small minded, kiasu kiasi, think the world of Singapore and are angry with "quitters". I have long said that the problems in Singapore have much less to do with the PAP than Singaporeans themselves. All the PAP does is give Singaporeans what they want. I think this continues to hold true.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Pappies will not allow sinkies to renounce shitizenship before serving NS or below age 21. If allowed, half the population in sinkie land will renounce it and flee to the birth land of their parents.

You need to have a citizenship in another country in order to be allowed to renounce your Singapore citizenship. Half the population in sinkie land have a citizenship in another foreign country eh? Where did you read that?

Singaporeans like to talk very big about migrating and leaving and all that. All talk. If it is so easy there will be many more who would have left.

Anyway, it's the same old story. Good luck to you guys in Singapore.

what is with ogawa ryuju these days? is he stateless or is he still in sg?

image.jpgimage.jpg

http://news.asiaone.com/News/The+New+Paper/Story/A1Story20101108-246249.html

I served NS, but now I'm Stateless

By Gan Ling Kai

HAVING served his National Service (NS) and lived here most of his life, he thought he was a true-blue Singaporean.

Mr Ogawa Ryuju, 22, who has been a permanent resident since he was a minor, had received his pink IC while he was in the army, in 2008, and was issued a Singapore passport.

He had also renounced his Japanese citizenship in July this year.

But he was in for a rude shock.

Two months after he received his National Service (reservist) posting as a rifleman in August, Mr Ogawa went to renew his passport at the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) office because he wanted to go to Hong Kong for a holiday.

Mr Ogawa, who was born in Japan to a Singaporean mother and Japanese father, was told by an ICA officer that he was no longer a Singaporean.

The reason: Despite having a pink IC, he had to complete the Oath of Renunciation, Allegiance and Loyalty before he turned 22.

The formal procedure is usually held at the ICA headquarters and the person has to produce documents showing he has renounced his previous citizenship, sign a form to pledge his allegiance to Singapore and recite the national pledge before the commissioner of oaths.

Mr Ogawa claims he did not know he had to do this before he turned 22.

"I was shocked when they told me that I am no longer a Singapore citizen," he said. "How can that be? I have even been notified of my reservist unit.How can I not be a Singaporean?"

He added: "My mum has taken care of me all by herself for more than 20 years. Her family is here, and this is our home. I want to remain here to repay her kindness.