• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singaporeans are now forced to give up their Citizenship because of Medishield Life

no_faith

Re: Singaporeans are now forced to give up their Citizenship because of Medishield Li

When you give up citizenship, sg govt will tax all your assets before allowing you to leave.

Re: Singaporeans are now forced to give up their Citizenship because of Medishield Li

No different if a bankrupt attempts to leave a country. They still have to follow procedures. There will be numerous letters, they will plead with you etc.

"The Government will only consider premium recovery measures if sustained outreach to the individual has been wilfully ignored over a significant period of time. One of these measures is the imposition of travel restrictions out of Singapore for wilful defaulters. Such a restriction may be imposed on wilful defaulters as a last resort. If an individual who has been imposed with travel restriction tries to violate such restrictions and flee, he can be arrested."

"Non-payment of premiums in itself is not an offence that will lead to imprisonment"

Yup....no one will be arrested.....you try to flee & don't pay....YOU WILL BE ARRESTED....can they say, you flee to Australia for 20 years to avoid paying the fees....ha ha ha ok! lah!....5 months , since the payment only started on Jan 2016...

Just throw the stinktothecore citizenship is you can.....

Thick Face Black Heart

Thanks to the PAP, Singapore will now lose a citizen while Australia will now gain a new one - one with tertiary qualifications and running a clinic with her husband, giving employment to Aussies ....

This is very sad as it pretty much sums up what has gone wrong with SG.

At the same time we are letting in cheap PMETs from abroad who merely duplicate skills that we already have and depress wages.

Thanks to the PAP, Singapore will now lose a citizen while Australia will now gain a new one - one with tertiary qualifications and running a clinic with her husband, giving employment to Aussies ....

I beg to differ. Singapore has already lost your sister as a citizen by simple virtue she does not live in singapore. Just because she retains a sinkie passport means nothing. She contributes to the aussie economy by buying goods and services there, and she funds the aussie govt by paying taxes. In other words, she has done nothing for singapore. Tell your sister to stop being a typical sinkie kiasu bitch. U cannot be married to 2 spouses just like you cannot be the citizen of 2 countries. Pledge your loyalty to one, don't be 2 timer slut.

Its automatic deduction. If no money in Medisave, no coverage in Medishield Life. They will keep ending letters. You can go in and out of Singapore freely. To stop you leaving they must go thru the process similar to bankrupts.

I thought they took it out of your CPF when the money in the Medisave account runs out for the Medishield payments?

lifeafter41

I beg to differ. Singapore has already lost your sister as a citizen by simple virtue she does not live in singapore. Just because she retains a sinkie passport means nothing. She contributes to the aussie economy by buying goods and services there, and she funds the aussie govt by paying taxes. In other words, she has done nothing for singapore. Tell your sister to stop being a typical sinkie kiasu bitch. U cannot be married to 2 spouses just like you cannot be the citizen of 2 countries. Pledge your loyalty to one, don't be 2 timer slut.

Agree papsmearer. If she feels that singapore citizenship is worth that couple of hundred bucks, so be it.

I would go as far to say that a Sporean citizenship is now a liability:(

There is no free lunch lah. Otherwise you would have other gov'ts doing the same. When you allow foreigners in you also bring in "problems"

Ah Loon is probably too stupid to realise this but foreigners bring along other baggage with them e.g. racial discrimination, terrorism, resistance against the authorities, crime, ... etc We have already seen riots in little india, illegal strikes by PRC chinese, murders committed by foreigners, traffic accidents by careless foreigners, beggars, prostitutes, ...etc

The authorities are probably hiding many problems. You will notice that when the official media reports a crime they will hide the background of the culprits if foreigners are involved :rolleyes:

Ah Loong is not stupid.
He probably gotten a dozen case studies and scenarios done.
The agenda is to remain in power just long enough to plunder as much as possible before the ship sink. And things are going exactly to plan if not better (GE 15 LKY effect)

Yes you are right, when medisave is exhausted.

I thought they took it out of your CPF when the money in the Medisave account runs out for the Medishield payments?

The govt elite generally stay in good class bungalows(GCB). No foreigner can buy landed property within approval from the Commissioner of Land and the application is specific to the address. They can't be bothered if FTs in Tampines or in a Condo bring their bad habits. They and their family shop overseas. They dine in private rooms. The only time they eat at hawker centres is for political opportunities. They know full well the rubbish the FTs bring in. They also know that rich FTs bring in money even if it ill gotten. They know that the less well off FTs shop at NTUC and spend most of their income here.

There is no free lunch lah. Otherwise you would have other gov'ts doing the same. When you allow foreigners in you also bring in "problems"

Ah Loon is probably too stupid to realise this but foreigners bring along other baggage with them e.g. racial discrimination, terrorism, resistance against the authorities, crime, ... etc We have already seen riots in little india, illegal strikes by PRC chinese, murders committed by foreigners, traffic accidents by careless foreigners, beggars, prostitutes, ...etc

The authorities are probably hiding many problems. You will notice that when the official media reports a crime they will hide the background of the culprits if foreigners are involved :rolleyes:

yeah sure.....

Country of Birth - One passport.

Singapore citizenship at 21 - 2nd passport.

Emigrated to OZ and acquired citizenship after 5 years of PR. - 3rd passport.

Moved from OZ to NZ - obtained NZ citizenship because all OZ citizens are entitled to PR in NZ and I took one more step of getting citizenship after 7 years of living here. 4th passport.

And Singaporeans still think that dual citizenship is a crime.

My Singapore passport expired a long time ago though and it would be interesting to find out what would happen if I applied for renewal and listed all my current passports in the application as I am supposed to do.

garlic

If you had problems when living as a Sinkie, your problems wont be solved when you move to other countries. One must be willing to change to solve their problems, shifting to another country solves nothing actually. Reservist? spend a few hundred to downgrade permanently, solved. Even amos yee can do it. Fed up with high-stress, high-pressure lifestyle in SG? Can you get use to the slower pace elsewhere? Work-life balance in other countries mean for everyone, shops close early, either you go to casinoes or stay at home watch netflix with family, no such thing as night-operating shopping centres and theme parks.

On the other hand, if you are one who enjoys outdoor life, swimming, hiking jogging, likes seas activites, then you are definitely better-served elsewhere and not SG. If you recount the last six weekends, you have been spending time at shopping centers from day to night and not a single day at the beach or cycling and totally zero outdoor sports, then please do not kid yourself into moving to OZ or Kiwiland.

These are the questions that are asked of expired passport holders. Note the details. Only this missing is the type of coffee preferred - latte, cap, or espresso.

1.When did you leave Singapore to take up residence in a foreign country? ___________________________________
2.When was your last trip to Singapore and on what type of passport? _______________________________________
3.Have you been granted citizenship of another country? *Yes / No
(i) If Yes, state the country: ________________________________________________
(ii) If No, on what basis are you permitted to remain in the country where you are residing? ________________________

Don't bother as it would not be renewed. In fact you will receive a polite letter asking you give up the other Citizenship. There is also no threat in it. As it you already have a number of travel documents, you do not need a Singapore passport. Your NRIC does everything that is required of a citizen from validation to buying cigarettes and booze. And even applying for NDP tickets.

My Singapore passport expired a long time ago though and it would be interesting to find out what would happen if I applied for renewal and listed all my current passports in the application as I am supposed to do.

If you had problems when living as a Sinkie, your problems wont be solved when you move to other countries. One must be willing to change to solve their problems, shifting to another country solves nothing actually. Reservist? spend a few hundred to downgrade permanently, solved. Even amos yee can do it. Fed up with high-stress, high-pressure lifestyle in SG? Can you get use to the slower pace elsewhere? Work-life balance in other countries mean for everyone, shops close early, either you go to casinoes or stay at home watch netflix with family, no such thing as night-operating shopping centres and theme parks.

On the other hand, if you are one who enjoys outdoor life, swimming, hiking jogging, likes seas activites, then you are definitely better-served elsewhere and not SG. If you recount the last six weekends, you have been spending time at shopping centers from day to night and not a single day at the beach or cycling and totally zero outdoor sports, then please do not kid yourself into moving to OZ or Kiwiland.

In places like Canada you have a choice whether to work in a high pressure environment. Your boss can't pressure you to work long hours because you can complain to HR & because there are laws in place HR has to take complains seriously. Over there the boss can't even tell you to do something that is outside of the scope of your job:eek:

If he wants you to do something extra, he can only request & it's up to you to decide whether or not to do it. This is why better relations exist between the boss & underlings because bosses understand that they need the goodwill & cooperation in the office to get things done:smile:

You can of course join a more challenging company with longer hours. Had a friend who did that because he enjoyed working long hours & the extra perks of higher pay. However after a few years he had a nervous breakdown & had to change his job.

I know someone who got their degree in Oz. This person decided to return to Spore because Spore is livelier. However after working here few years working here I think this person is ready to move back to Oz:biggrin:

I have relatives who are now Australians & their children who are also Aussies are working in places in Hong Kong. Having an Aussie passport does not mean that you are only limited to working in Australia. The Australian gov't has agreements with other governments to make it easier for their citizens to work in these countries.

I think you are mistaken here. I have talked to many friends and relatives that have emigrated overseas. Not one of them mentioned reservist obligations as even one of the reasons. High stress and high pressure was mentioned in some instances. Even work life balance means nothing as most sinkies who are used to working 60 hrs a week in singapore just carrying on doing that in their new countries. But mostly, they don't want their sons to do NS and they want a better life for their kids with more opportunities. i.e. better chance of getting into a uni, and not having to deal with the flood of FTs given free uni spots and scholarships. As well, they know its a dictatorship with arbitrary laws and you have to live in fear for speaking your minds. Its more for mental well being than anything else for them personally and then for the family and children as the concurrent reason.

In places like Canada you have a choice whether to work in a high pressure environment. Your boss can't pressure you to work long hours because you can complain to HR & because there are laws in place HR has to take complains seriously. Over there the boss can't even tell you to do something that is outside of the scope of your job:eek:

If he wants you to do something extra, he can only request & it's up to you to decide whether or not to do it. This is why better relations exist between the boss & underlings because bosses understand that they need the goodwill & cooperation in the office to get things done:smile:

This is why countries like Canada are shit. They take the power away from the innovative, the hardworking, the enterprising and the trailblazing only to hand it over to the salaried class who are nothing more than digits that just go with the flow.

Modern Western societies like Canada have twisted basic human values to the point where they are no longer recognizable. For thousands of years societies moved forward by rewarding hard work, thrift and creativity while penalising sloth but in a short span of half a century many nations now do the exact opposite.

Singapore on the other hand is shining example of achieving the right balance between employer and employee. With its low tax regime and emphasis on employer rights rather than those of the employee, it has achieved spectacular growth and is the envy of the world because the entrepreneurs know their hard work and innovation will be amply rewarded.

At the same time employees that are dedicated and hardworking get their just rewards too in the form of hefty bonuses for a job well done while the lazy and unproductive ones face their just dues in the form retrenchments and sackings.

If more countries were like Singapore, the world would be a much better place for all except those who are undeserving and that is the way it should be.