• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Did Lee Hsien Loong ever really earn his father’s respect?

I ask this question because some things are becoming evident to me. I refer once again to the feud between the siblings Lee Wei Ling and Lee Hsien Loong.

The open criticism of LWL of her brother indicates a profound lack of respect for the brother. I have brought this up before. Let’s remember that LWL worships her father, and that in all probability, there is not man on earth that is ever going to impress her the way her father did. Fair enough. I accept that her respect for her own brother will never be the same as the respect for her own father. But we are not talking about her respect here of LHL being a little or a lot less then Papa. We are talking about outright disrespect here. How did this come about? After all, it’s her own older brother.
It occurs to me that because she is so close to her father (In many ways, closer then even LHL), she might mirror his personality and opinions on many things. Even her own father said she was the closest in temperament to him, but without the self control. She travelled with him extensively and certainly spent more personal time with him then the other siblings.

This raised the point to me: If Lee Kuan Yew was truly impressed, and proud of his son’s political achievements and ruling of Singapore, surely he would have brought this up to LWL. Would he not have communicated to LWL about some accomplishment that Gay Loong brought forth? If he had tremendous respect for his son’s achievement, surely, LWL would also have the same respect for her brother. I cannot see how she would be disrespectful of a person that her father was very respectful of, especially if it was her own brother.

But what if LKY was never impressed by his own son’s political term in office or his son’s performance in Govt.? I searched for articles and quotes from LKY praising his son for something or other and was shocked at the paucity of such articles. In fact, according to Gay Loong, it was Wooden who asked him to run for office, not his own father. But why not? I personally believe this story to be BS, it’s more likely that his own mother talked him into politics and Wooden might have joked about it. In any case, there are to my knowledge, no anecdotes of how good his son was as a politician by LKY. Nor are there any short stories or analogies about why he thought his son would make a good Prime Minister.

How is this possible? Wouldn’t a father naturally praise his son for a job well done, or for some innovation, or some task done well? Especially if the son was relatively new to political office and would need as many endorsements from his own father as possible. Yet, this was lacking and not forthcoming at all.

Lee Hsien Loong’s first occasion to shine on a solo basis was the Sentosa Cable car incident. In my opinion, he came within a hair’s breadth of screwing that up big time. His proposal to order the Commandoes to go down the cables and enter the cars to rescue the occupants was borderline Marvel Comics like. If the New Zealand helo instructor pilot had not save those people by rescuing them via helicopter, it would have ended very badly. After this incident, LHL was never publicly given a job/task/action where he was the known person in charge.

It’s very hard to follow the footsteps of LKY. Pretty much impossible. But Even though he did come from a family of some means, LKY in many ways was a self made man. A self made man usually despises people who were born with a silver spoon in their mouth and got to where they are by buying their way there or through family connections. LKY is never going to say that his son is not fit for politics or that he is doing just an average to poor job. If the mother had not advanced the son into politics, LKY might have been perfectly happy letting his son be a maths professor in NUS. Also, LKY is proud of his accomplishments and he might not want a less then stellar son to succeed him and ruin his legacy.

People might say that LKY was autocratic. Yes he was. But he also surrounded himself with people who were good at their jobs, people like Goh Keng Swee and Hon Sui Sen, and he let them alone to do their jobs. LHL instead has surrounded himself with SAF Scholar Generals like George Yeo, Lim Hng Kiang, and Teo Chee Hean, who poor copies of Goh and Hon. How can a father respect this sort of leadership?

LHL has mentioned many interactions between him and his father. For example:

PM Lee recalled how, several years ago, the Istana staff wanted to remove a few trees to improve visibility for security. "I was going to agree. And he sent me a note to say, are you sure you need to do this? Why don't you leave it be? This place is green and we've made a point of making this place green. And you've got birds, you've got the wildlife and you want to keep it like that. So in the end, I didn't cut the trees down."

Seriously? Old Fart had to counter command his son’s decisions to cut down a few trees in the Istana? Such a minor item and he has to be involved? And notes were passed? What happened to picking up the phone and calling. Writing a note sounds so impersonal when it comes to communication between father and son. I mean how many people do that? Also, I look at this remark from LHL:

Asked how they dealt with each other and what advice his father gave him when he became Prime Minister, PM Lee said: "I can't remember anything specific which he said but I think it gave him a lot of satisfaction that the system of transition, of renewal, was working, that not only had he managed to hand over to a successor but his successor had done, had worked up in a job, succeeded. And another transition had taken place to a third generation.

Your own father did not give you some pearls of wisdom on the eve of you becoming PM? Nor any advice or words to live by? Seriously? Nothing specific? Wow. I seriously think that Old Fart never considered his own son to be in the same league as himself. On this I have to agree. And as such, he never accorded his son the same respect that others accorded him. Somehow, this rubbed off on LWL and today, we are where we are in her relationship with her brother. If his own family does not respect him, why should I, an ordinary citizen do so? Just my 2 cents.

Yes everything makes sense now,LKY had no respect for LHL but he was afraid to name a outsider as the successor to his throne,like chan chun sing or shamugan the dog,and so do the right thing for rome I mean singapore,he feared his first born son will be outraged and slip a dagger into his back,and usurp the throne.for someone who has so little respect for his successors,he sure loves surrounding himself with weak spineless cowards,first goh chok tong,then lee hsien loong,lets face it for all of his dictatorial demeanor.lky is pretty much a coward himself,who like to surround himself with sissies that pose no threat to him.and u are right lwl had no respect for her brother,the emperor of rome would have had a incestuous relationship with his sister and forced himself upon her,although between her and ho jinx I dunno which is a scarier fuck.

LHL is just a extension of LKY's ego,a empty shell of a man eunuch,if he has any accomplishment of his own u think LKY would have him fast tracked thru the army to bridgadier general and thru the ministries as dual minister minister of finance and minister of defence?and mp at age 32?

as for LWL she is just a two dime whore who wants nothing but to lick daddy's balls and guzzle his hot creamy alfresco man sauce.the japanese calls this the "father complex" or "otosan complex".i suspect they had some nasty sex training when LWL was a little girl to condition her into a sex slave.

this is some seriously fucked up psychologically twisted arrested development family,i feel sorry for LHL and LWL for growing up in such circumstances.

a bit of a contradiction there,if LKY despises people who were born with a silver spoon in their mouth and got to where they are by buying their way or thru connections he sure didnt look like it.in fact LKY epitomize the word NEPOTISM itself.corrupting every branch of civil service and government administration.he sure as hell didnt believe in fair play and rather in stacking the deck every way possible.have u ever seen LKY fight a fair honourable fight lol?i have many entrepreneur idols who believes in a fair competition in a fair fight,a challenge,Richard branson,chuck feeney and mark cuban,LKY sure as hell doesnt look that way even from the early days of barisan socialist....LKY is good friends with Suharto for christsake,they mirror each other in everyway even down to the corruption,nepotism,anti communist policies and pseudo democracy.

and i didnt know LHL's role in politics was due to Gecko.......

It’s very hard to follow the footsteps of LKY. Pretty much impossible. But Even though he did come from a family of some means, LKY in many ways was a self made man. A self made man usually despises people who were born with a silver spoon in their mouth and got to where they are by buying their way there or through family connections. LKY is never going to say that his son is not fit for politics or that he is doing just an average to poor job. If the mother had not advanced the son into politics, LKY might have been perfectly happy letting his son be a maths professor in NUS. Also, LKY is proud of his accomplishments and he might not want a less then stellar son to succeed him and ruin his legacy.

kryonlight

Also, LKY is proud of his accomplishments and he might not want a less then stellar son to succeed him and ruin his legacy.

Wrong! Old Fart was a henpecked husband. Without the intellect of Gecko, he wouldn't have achieved anything. Look at how he whimpered away after GE 2011 when the GRC barrier (probably invented by Gecko) was broken by WP.

well analyse Gecko is the one 最毒妇人心 woman heart is the most venomous.

Wrong! Old Fart was a henpecked husband. Without the intellect of Gecko, he wouldn't have achieved anything. Look at how he whimpered away after GE 2011 when the GRC barrier (probably invented by Gecko) was broken by WP.

Only his papa would know the answer to this question. Even pinky himself may not know. But imo, it would be difficult to earn someone's respect when that person carved out a smooth path for you. :wink:

harimau

No! Ah Loong is a weak leader!

His dad despise him!

LKY knows that!

Furthermore LKY was using him to prolonged his power!

So why the fish is Ah Loong still there?

For gawd sake his papa is already dead!

He can quit politics and seek out his own dreams!

Singaporeans won't miss Ah Loong!

steffychun

I ask this question because some things are becoming evident to me. I refer once again to the feud between the siblings Lee Wei Ling and Lee Hsien Loong.

The open criticism of LWL of her brother indicates a profound lack of respect for the brother. I have brought this up before. Let’s remember that LWL worships her father, and that in all probability, there is not man on earth that is ever going to impress her the way her father did. Fair enough. I accept that her respect for her own brother will never be the same as the respect for her own father. But we are not talking about her respect here of LHL being a little or a lot less then Papa. We are talking about outright disrespect here. How did this come about? After all, it’s her own older brother.
It occurs to me that because she is so close to her father (In many ways, closer then even LHL), she might mirror his personality and opinions on many things. Even her own father said she was the closest in temperament to him, but without the self control. She travelled with him extensively and certainly spent more personal time with him then the other siblings.

This raised the point to me: If Lee Kuan Yew was truly impressed, and proud of his son’s political achievements and ruling of Singapore, surely he would have brought this up to LWL. Would he not have communicated to LWL about some accomplishment that Gay Loong brought forth? If he had tremendous respect for his son’s achievement, surely, LWL would also have the same respect for her brother. I cannot see how she would be disrespectful of a person that her father was very respectful of, especially if it was her own brother.

But what if LKY was never impressed by his own son’s political term in office or his son’s performance in Govt.? I searched for articles and quotes from LKY praising his son for something or other and was shocked at the paucity of such articles. In fact, according to Gay Loong, it was Wooden who asked him to run for office, not his own father. But why not? I personally believe this story to be BS, it’s more likely that his own mother talked him into politics and Wooden might have joked about it. In any case, there are to my knowledge, no anecdotes of how good his son was as a politician by LKY. Nor are there any short stories or analogies about why he thought his son would make a good Prime Minister.

How is this possible? Wouldn’t a father naturally praise his son for a job well done, or for some innovation, or some task done well? Especially if the son was relatively new to political office and would need as many endorsements from his own father as possible. Yet, this was lacking and not forthcoming at all.

Lee Hsien Loong’s first occasion to shine on a solo basis was the Sentosa Cable car incident. In my opinion, he came within a hair’s breadth of screwing that up big time. His proposal to order the Commandoes to go down the cables and enter the cars to rescue the occupants was borderline Marvel Comics like. If the New Zealand helo instructor pilot had not save those people by rescuing them via helicopter, it would have ended very badly. After this incident, LHL was never publicly given a job/task/action where he was the known person in charge.

People might say that LKY was autocratic. Yes he was. But he also surrounded himself with people who were good at their jobs, people like Goh Keng Swee and Hon Sui Sen, and he let them alone to do their jobs. LHL instead has surrounded himself with SAF Scholar Generals like George Yeo, Lim Hng Kiang, and Teo Chee Hean, who poor copies of Goh and Hon. How can a father respect this sort of leadership?

LHL has mentioned many interactions between him and his father. For example:

PM Lee recalled how, several years ago, the Istana staff wanted to remove a few trees to improve visibility for security. "I was going to agree. And he sent me a note to say, are you sure you need to do this? Why don't you leave it be? This place is green and we've made a point of making this place green. And you've got birds, you've got the wildlife and you want to keep it like that. So in the end, I didn't cut the trees down."

Seriously? Old Fart had to counter command his son’s decisions to cut down a few trees in the Istana? Such a minor item and he has to be involved? And notes were passed? What happened to picking up the phone and calling. Writing a note sounds so impersonal when it comes to communication between father and son. I mean how many people do that? Also, I look at this remark from LHL:

Asked how they dealt with each other and what advice his father gave him when he became Prime Minister, PM Lee said: "I can't remember anything specific which he said but I think it gave him a lot of satisfaction that the system of transition, of renewal, was working, that not only had he managed to hand over to a successor but his successor had done, had worked up in a job, succeeded. And another transition had taken place to a third generation.

Your own father did not give you some pearls of wisdom on the eve of you becoming PM? Nor any advice or words to live by? Seriously? Nothing specific? Wow. I seriously think that Old Fart never considered his own son to be in the same league as himself. On this I have to agree. And as such, he never accorded his son the same respect that others accorded him. Somehow, this rubbed off on LWL and today, we are where we are in her relationship with her brother. If his own family does not respect him, why should I, an ordinary citizen do so? Just my 2 cents.

So LWL is the true Brigadier General and LHL is the ah qua

No! Ah Loong is a weak leader!

His dad despise him!

LKY knows that!

Furthermore LKY was using him to prolonged his power!

So why the fish is Ah Loong still there?

For gawd sake his papa is already dead!

He can quit politics and seek out his own dreams!

Singaporeans won't miss Ah Loong!

the more important question is,he got the power to do what he wants now so why dont he change singapore for the better?or is he just a clown puppet like Puyi installed by the regime with no original ideas of his own?

seriously just relinquish the crown,i think even goh chok tong can do a better job then him now that old fart is gone.or give it to someone more capable like tharman shamugan the dog someone with a little more spine and less preocuppied with licking dead fart's balls.

batman1

This pinky CAQ cannot even do his job properly,he is weak,he is not confident and he is not competent.So he need a MM and a SM to carry his balls.This weak leader increased greatly the costs of governing singapore.Usually,a country need a PM to govern a country.In Singapore,we have a PM + SM + MM to govern a country.And he is paid millions per annum just to do one-third the work of a PM.Shamelessly Singapore !

thats why we need a gordon gekko to rescue this country from stagnation and bankruptcy!!!this country has become a fat whale behemoth of a bloated economy filled with layers and layers of worthless jiak liao bees and bureaucratic fat cats,sitting in their cushy jobs with no real responsiblity,no real targets and zero accountability doing nothing except passing worthless emails along all day and issueing motherhood statements and leeching taxpayers monies!!!!!we have over 90 mps and 20 ministers each being paid hundreds of thousands and millions of dollars with no clue exactly of what they do or what value they provide to the country.we have worthless ministers with zero expertise in the area they are governing!!!!singapore's economy is being bogged down by ineffective,inefficient,monopolistic blood sucking GLCs and enterprises that constantly provide less and less value and services at higher and higher prices with no competition and no free market!!!!and the endless hordes of cronies and familee members whose only goal is rentseeking and leeching on taxpayers dollars!!!the cost of management in this country is too high and the shareholders are paying a dearly price for it!!!!it is time to liberate this country,free our markets and regain ownership of our economy!!!!only then will Sinkies stop being slaves and serfs to the usurpers and false prophets of free capitalism!!!!!GREED IS GOOD!!!!every sinkie shareholder and citizen should embrace that!!!!

[video=youtube;PF_iorX_MAw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PF_iorX_MAw[/video]