• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Slowed to a trickle...

Can't help but notice that there are a number of road works to converge two lanes into one, especially at matured estates where the number of elderly are presumably higher.

Much as such designs are good in slowing down vehicles at minor roads and accidents may be prevented. I personally felt that there are better ways in slowing down vehicles at minor roads within the estates.

Good job LTA in slowing down the vehicles, but you'll incur the wrath of the residents around those bottle necks during the morning rush hour for primary and secondary schools. Imagine folks wanting to send their kids to school before heading to work, and couple that with rainy days...

Can't help but notice that there are a number of road works to converge two lanes into one, especially at matured estates where the number of elderly are presumably higher.

Much as such designs are good in slowing down vehicles at minor roads and accidents may be prevented. I personally felt that there are better ways in slowing down vehicles at minor roads within the estates.

Good job LTA in slowing down the vehicles, but you'll incur the wrath of the residents around those bottle necks during the morning rush hour for primary and secondary schools. Imagine folks wanting to send their kids to school before heading to work, and couple that with rainy days...

Someone should tell them that when they are in an economic hole, they should stop digging. :biggrin:

Those people from LTA should really not allow the traffic flow to slow to a trickle. :wink:

... Good job LTA in slowing down the vehicles, but you'll incur the wrath of the residents around those bottle necks during the morning rush hour ...
lta's favorite solution 2 bottle necks r erp gantries ...

kryonlight

You need to read deeper. They are narrowing the roads not for the safety of the old folks. They are narrowing the roads because they are going to phase out private car ownership for the majority of sinkies living in pigeon holes. They only want golden horse carriages on the roads.

Minister Khaw Boon Wan: I see private cars phasing out in Singapore in 20, 25 years’ time

During his speech yesterday (April 12) in Parliament on the Committee of Supply debate, Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan claimed that public transport is making “quantum leap” and that private cars are getting phased out “like horse carriages” in 25 years’ time:

“Changes will be incremental but over 15 years, we shall collectively experience a quantum leap. Private cars will likely start to go the way of horse carriages, if not in 15 years, definitely in 20 or 25 years’ time.”

Minister Khaw Boon Wan avoided talking about the issues of overcrowding and increasing frequency of train breakdowns, and instead implied that Singapore’s public transport is only slightly worse off than Europe:

“Currently, many other cities, like Amsterdam and Copenhagen, do a better job than us. We must close the gap and be better, particularly because we live in the tropics with hotter and wetter weather.”

The Transport Minister then continued to reiterate his point about fronting public transport as the primary mode of transport and reminded Singaporeans to “cherish public transport as an indispensable part of their daily lives”.

No. Bigger lanes means faster vehicles. Less lanes means less traffic, not necessarily slower vehicles.

The Transport Minister then continued to reiterate his point about fronting public transport as the primary mode of transport and reminded Singaporeans to “cherish public transport as an indispensable part of their daily lives”.

Khaw can go commit hara kiri first.

Goodness, can't they just slow down the traffic by installing speed hump or yellow strips? You see JB minor roads have these everywhere to slow down traffic.

No. Bigger lanes means faster vehicles. Less lanes means less traffic, not necessarily slower vehicles.

No. My observation is that some roads have bigger lanes while some roads have smaller lanes with traffic flow slowed to a trickle. :wink:

Goodness, can't they just slow down the traffic by installing speed hump or yellow strips? You see JB minor roads have these everywhere to slow down traffic.

This will make it very inconvenient for our cyclists.They not so silly to sabo their favorite pastime lah.

No. My observation is that some roads have bigger lanes while some roads have smaller lanes with traffic flow slowed to a trickle. :wink:

Yes. Tighter lanes induce anxiety even on straight roads, hence inculcate more cautious driving. In fact we should tighten lanes everywhere so motorists cannot tahan then switch to take mrt.

This will make it very inconvenient for our cyclists.They not so silly to sabo their favorite pastime lah.

I think they should even install speed reducer on the sidewalk for cyclist. That's what Japan do on their sidewalk with speeding cyclists. Lol.

Yes. Tighter lanes induce anxiety even on straight roads, hence inculcate more cautious driving. In fact we should tighten lanes everywhere so motorists cannot tahan then switch to take mrt.

No. This will result in traffic being slowed to a trickle. :wink: