• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dogs as pet.........in space crammed Singapore

lifeafter41

Was at marine parade estate visiting a friend when notice that there is quite a number of dogs owner in Singapore, not only in marine parade , but in other estate as well.
Some are small ones, mostly are quite big in size and have seen quite a few that are pretty big dogs....

Interestingly I have also noticed, quite a number of owners are young couples, no kids, but dogs.....
There are other that are also retired, children already grown up and now own dogs......

Question is are Singaporeans now so affluent that owning/keeping dogs is now the in thing?
Already way past bread and butter issues, got time to rear dogs as companions rather than having kids as noted in the young couples.

Having kids but you cannot ignore them and they even talk bad to you, having dogs, you can ignore them when you are not happy from work......which is the better choice?

It better to have kids than have dogs period. Getting a dog to behave is not easy like Milan Caesar TV show. Dog food not exactly cheap. A ok brand can set u back $20 for a couple of kilos. A trip to the vet is in hundreds. Unlike a kid where u can ask your parents to help u look after a few days while u bring wife to chia hong. A dog owner can only go holidays by paying a pet hotel at least $100 per day to look after the dog. Worse thing of having a dog is dog die in 10-15 years. An elderly dog is a pain in the arse, seriously health issue, a trip to the vet once every couple of months, no longer can walk so has to be carry around, shred all of its hairs, pass motions all over itself etc etc..... It a bloody commitment. My in law mutt just die yesterday morning, wife has to take leave to settle the body, cost time and money. Main thing emotion drain. I had dog in kampong but not as pet. A mutt roam into house for food and never leave. It become our guard dog for couple of years before tio poison by unknown neighbours. Come back from outside and found the dog dead with foam in its mouth.

Asterix

Humons are such idiots. Always fail to clean up after their pets. Got dog latrine don't know how to use. Got CCTV and other high tech security stuff, still keep primitive animal for fuck. Lonely, go and masturbate lah. Lots of exciting stuff on the internet. A psychologist who dares to tell the truth may well say that the Bowen Road dog poisoner actually wanted to poison the dog owners and their domestic staff but since that is not possible he has to make do with poisoning the dogs.

:oIo::kma:

An animal welfare group has raised the reward for the notorious Bowen Road dog poisoner after what appeared to be pieces of poisoned meat were found scattered along the Mid-Levels road on Sunday.

Hong Kong’s Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCAHK) raised the reward for information that would lead to the arrest of the culprit or culprits to HK$200,000 (US$25,800) from HK$160,000 previously, Ming Pao Daily reported.

The move came after SPCAHK inspectors found slices of meat covered with purple powder along the popular walking trail from Bowen Road in Mid-Levels to Black’s Link at the Peak on Sunday morning. They reported the case to the police.

In its latest post on Facebook, the society said the risk of dogs being poisoned while walking along the route remains high. It called on citizens to report any relevant information through its 24-hour hotline 2711 1000 or report it to the police as well as spread the message online.

Over the past 20 years, around 200 dogs and one cat had died from poisoning after being walked along Bowen Road. The serial dog killer, who has yet to be caught, has not struck for quite a while, until Sunday.

The SPCAHK urged dog owners to keep pets on a short leash when walking them along the area and stop them from eating anything on the ground. It would be better to put a muzzle on the dog to prevent it from ingesting anything, it said.

http://www.ejinsight.com/20140908-reward-raised-after-bowen-road-dog-poisoner-strikes-again/

lifeafter41

It better to have kids than have dogs period. Getting a dog to behave is not easy like Milan Caesar TV show. Dog food not exactly cheap. A ok brand can set u back $20 for a couple of kilos. A trip to the vet is in hundreds. Unlike a kid where u can ask your parents to help u look after a few days while u bring wife to chia hong. A dog owner can only go holidays by paying a pet hotel at least $100 per day to look after the dog. Worse thing of having a dog is dog die in 10-15 years. An elderly dog is a pain in the arse, seriously health issue, a trip to the vet once every couple of months, no longer can walk so has to be carry around, shred all of its hairs, pass motions all over itself etc etc..... It a bloody commitment. My in law mutt just die yesterday morning, wife has to take leave to settle the body, cost time and money. Main thing emotion drain. I had dog in kampong but not as pet. A mutt roam into house for food and never leave. It become our guard dog for couple of years before tio poison by unknown neighbours. Come back from outside and found the dog dead with foam in its mouth.

I was wondering what would be the cost of rearing a dog in Singapore?. Apart from the food, vet visit, the occasional vet visit etc.......just to hazard a guess maybe a thousand dollars or it's too much?

Agoraphobic

Both are good choice. When one has had a shitty day at work, come home can kick the dog or smack the kid. Dog is unlikely to retaliate to its master. Will still be loyal after a solid beating. Kid might run away from home, become delinquent, become a menace to society after repeated beatings. Dog will always be loyal and faithful, come back begging for scraps after being locked outside the house too! Do that to a kid. police will come and arrest you!

I think better get dog,

..............................which is the better choice?

Both are good choice. When one has had a shitty day at work, come home can kick the dog or smack the kid. Dog is unlikely to retaliate to its master. Will still be loyal after a solid beating. Kid might run away from home, become delinquent, become a menace to society after repeated beatings. Dog will always be loyal and faithful, come back begging for scraps after being locked outside the house too! Do that to a kid. police will come and arrest you!

I think better get dog,

dogs dont commit suicide too.

lifeafter41

I think better get dog,

Kick the dog and smack the kid...... Interesting.....hmmmmmmm

babuSingh

Raising a dog n a kid is about the same. Both get separation anxiety, whining/crying, feed every couple hours for pups, trach them manners and what not to do.

The only difference is that you get unconditional love from your pet dog and it will b there for you until the day it passes away

Thick Face Black Heart

A dog will be loyal forever even if you do nothing but just feed it and walk it once a day. If you show care and spend time exercising and playing with it, it will be your best friends.

A kid however will grow up to covet your estate, back stab siblings over inheritance, and throw dirty linen in public because of it. Some daughters even known to call their brothers "dishonourable son".

A dog will be loyal forever even if you do nothing but just feed it and walk it once a day. If you show care and spend time exercising and playing with it, it will be your best friends.

A kid however will grow up to covet your estate, back stab siblings over inheritance, and throw dirty linen in public because of it. Some daughters even known to call their brothers "dishonourable son".

Best of all, dogs aren't racists! Between a stray or chigger, better to euthanised latter.

Singapore is not a very conducive place for dogs,singapore is already a boring place for humans let alone dogs.imagine being cooped up in the hdb flat for 18 hours a day.sinkies lead busy active lifestyles,parents are out first thing in morning and busy at work while kids are at school and extra cirricula activities.this leaves the dog cooped up in the flat with absolutely nothing to do except sleep and lick their balls and sleep somemore,if u strap a gopro camera to ur dog,u will get 16 hours footage of your dog everyday doing nothing except sleeping and licking their balls and their eyes looking dead and unresponsive and bored and defeated like the will to live has departed from their body long ago.I liken it to serving ns,it is excessive and cruel punishment.