• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Murali unaware of what is going on in Bt Batok and making promises he can't keep?

This guy aims to find jobs for the unemployed. If he can do it why did the PAP who have looked after this constituency without a break did not do the same. What was David Ong doing? What was Murali doing when he was branch secretary for many years. He seemed to suggest that he was not aware of all these issues and suddenly he eyes opened. Or is it because Chee has been talking about the poor, the unemployed in Bukit Batok etc in the last 2 weeks. All of sudden we hear that residents of Bukit Batok need jobs, toothbrush, haircut etc.

Mr Murali's plans "are based on what we've learnt from Bukit Batok residents over the past few weeks when I was conducting house visits".

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/bukit-batok-election-focused-jobs-help-needy
Bukit Batok by-election: Focused on jobs, help for needy

May 7 is an important date for Bukit Batok residents, as it will be the day they decide who is the best person to represent their interests amid the gloomy economic outlook, lawyer Murali Pillai said yesterday.

Mr Murali, 48, the People's Action Party (PAP) candidate in the by-election, said he will release his plans for the single-member constituency (SMC) "between now and Nomination Day'', which falls on April 27.

He told The Straits Times his visits to the homes of the residents in recent weeks have shown that one of their main worries is adequate help when the slowdown threatens their ricebowl. Many people in the SMC live in rental HDB flats and they are concerned about how the economy could affect their job prospects, he said.

One- to three-room HDB flats make up almost one-third of housing in the SMC, which has about 46,000 residents. About 95 per cent of them live in HDB flats.

Mr Murali's plans "are based on what we've learnt from Bukit Batok residents over the past few weeks when I was conducting house visits".

These will cover such issues as help for needy families in the SMC, support for elderly residents and sprucing up the mature estate by improving connectivity between precincts, for instance, he added.

Mr Murali had previously told reporters that he would focus on giving employment help: both through government-linked agencies like the Employment and Employability Institute (e2i), and at the community level."We have government support like the Social Service Office and e2i, but beyond that, we can galvanise community support as well," he had said.

The gloomy economic climate therefore means this by-election is a crucial one, he added.

He reiterated the point yesterday and said: "Obviously it is something very important for Bukit Batok residents, because they have to decide who should represent them in Parliament, represent their concerns and also look into issues that concern them as well."

Mr Murali also said he would push for the Home Improvement Programme for residents as several HDB blocks, built in the 1980s, have yet to benefit from it.

"Being a mature estate with a number of seniors, (many) residents have asked how seniors can stay healthy," he said.

On his preparations for the by-election, Mr Murali said he would continue to meet and listen to residents.

"This is not a box-ticking exercise in terms of covering the blocks. From my perspective, we need to have conversations with the residents and ask them what their concerns and aspirations are," he said.

Long-time activist

A lawyer and long-time People's Action Party (PAP) activist, Mr Murali Pillai is a familiar face in Bukit Batok.

The 48-year-old got his first taste of grassroots work in the ward when it was part of Bukit Timah GRC.

He was also the ward's branch secretary from 2007 to 2011.

He gave free legal advice to Bukit Batok residents and helmed committees like its Inter-Racial and Religious Confidence Circle.

Mr Murali, married and a father of four, is no stranger to electoral politics. He was in the five-member Aljunied GRC "suicide squad" that is credited with narrowing significantly the gap with the Workers' Party in last year's General Election.

The PAP got 49.04 per cent of the vote to the WP's 50.96 per cent.

Mr Murali , who heads commercial litigation at Big Four law firm Rajah & Tann, was was an assistant superintendent of police before he entered the legal profession.

This article was first published on April 21, 2016.

David was too busy humping away in the CC to know what was going on so Murali is now playing catch up.

gingerlyn

i pity Bukit Batok residents.
being fucked by PAP and now they are willingly to be ass screwed by chow cake leng kia PAP

3_M

Do note that his help comes in the form of helping residents contact govt agencies in-charge of job placements . Something any person can do it themselves.

Yes but many sinkies are not capable of doing things for themselves they need to be spoonfed.

He is certainly not been honest and the press is also negligent in not asking him how he is going do something different besides what is already available.

shittypore

Lhl also promised to take care of the Seniors when he was sworn in as PM, yet Seniors has to work as cleaners and collect Cardboards for a living. Pap pigs nvr change, so do the 70% Sinkies. They are meant for each other till death do em apart.

breaking news ......... rajah&tann to hire 10 workers from BB ....... as drivers and tambies ...... to help BB residents.

borom

Batok Hill (Bukit) is it very ulu?

Why residents never complain of train breakdowns, hospitals overcrowding, sky high property prices ,too many foreigners ect2.
Whatever problems they have is due to the PAP rule-so why complain to the fella from the same party-will he be able to overturn PAP policies?

See. There is a need to address the fear of losing job. The failure of job security for older workers is more pronounced n the uncertainty of getting back a job with equal pay.
CSJ need to address these

blueRad

Chances are many of these so called jobs are low paid entry jobs like security guard, McDonald waiters or selling MyRepublic plan. No wonder one Reform party member got so furious and went to insult Armin Amin on FB when AA offered him a security guard job. Might as well drive for Uber.

i dont understand,didnt PAP made this promise last G.E or did they forget?why do they have reiterate this again 6 months later?do sinkies sign contractual agreements without knowing whats on it?or do they just give their votes away like blank cheques?do sinkies actually understand how powerful their votes is?this is just one By election and PAP is rolling out the red carpets and the goodies.all it takes is one general election,just let opposition rule for 5 years and i guarantee u PAP will be a changed man begging you to come back,they will be willing to sacrifice anything,make any concessions,start cutting budgets and approving more welfare,they might even do some soul searching and kick some jiak liao bees out.a strong government that does not bow to populist policies my ass.how about we kick u out and show you what populist is?holy fucking shit,51 years of this crap,being pushed around by everybody including foreigners....dont fucking sinkies ever get tired of this shit?51 years ago we were a fucking slave colony,51 years later we are still a slave colony,sinkies are machiam like disposable workers imported by the british and then ruled by the PAP dont they realise that?frankly when LKY fought for Singapore democracy 50 odd years ago,i dont think sinkies had any clue what democracy means,they are just fucking daft and stupid coolies back then just like they are today.Sinkies do u think you are a democracy?sinkies do u know what it feels like to own your own country?have u ever had that feeling before?i dont think you do,you guys are just fucking serfs and slaves.

[video=youtube;UUTRTNGS9dk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUTRTNGS9dk[/video]

He is certainly not been honest and the press is also negligent in not asking him how he is going do something different besides what is already available.

I think the PAP has been doing a very good job finding work for low income workers and the unemployed. Security guard is work, janitor is work, dishwasher also work. But the sinkie mind just too choosy. :(

David was too busy humping away in the CC to know what was going on so Murali is now playing catch up.

Murali was the "grassroots" there for many years...what had he being doing? chasing the "tankachit" round the coconut trees?...oops! no more trees...the pillars in the void deck; or he busy humping also?

No wonder they had rattus problems....when the 'cats are away, the rats come out to play"....the cats are busy playing....:p

Semaj2357

Batok Hill (Bukit) is it very ulu?
Why residents never complain of train breakdowns, hospitals overcrowding, sky high property prices ,too many foreigners ect2.Whatever problems they have is due to the PAP rule-so why complain to the fella from the same party-will he be able to overturn PAP policies?
just like their previous mp, they were too busy humping :confused:

garlic

"Being a mature estate with a number of seniors, (many) residents have asked how seniors can stay healthy," he said.

cardboard-collector2.jpeg

That was obviously a dig by BB residents... :p

I think the PAP has been doing a very good job finding work for low income workers and the unemployed. Security guard is work, janitor is work, dishwasher also work. But the sinkie mind just too choosy. :(

How to pay mortgage, medishield, save for children's education and for retirement on a security guard salary?