• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Spore economy is running out of steam!

Agoraphobic

Being here in Singapore, one cannot help but live (and obey) the rules of the nation. In many ways, it is crafted by the policy-makers here. But if one cann get in, the combined markets of South-East Asia is huge, and a growing middle-class is setting the pace in Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand, all much larger than little Peesai. For example, many US Oil suppliers/engineering contractors are based in Singapore, but operate in Indonesia (there is nothing for them in Sg, other than communications, stable laws, and a generally competent staff).

So in other words the success & the failures of Spore is due to the strangle hold that the PAP has on Spore & Sporeans.

Don't forget about the population policies of LKY. When you have some individual trying to force everyone to follow, you will have many problems.

congo9

the current team of pap ministars will lead sinkies to no where. face it, this is the hard truth. let's wait and see with MAS depreciation of SGD will help the economy. i have my doubts cos' sinkieland is very overpriced, many think that way too.

With a high cost and high wage structure, things will tank .

enterprise2

If I remember correctly the PAP ministers pay is influence by the performance of the economy. Anyone know if they are taking a pay cut ?
U r mistaken! If the economy booms, they get supersonic pay raises and promotion. If it tanks, they will .. get supersonic pay raise and promotion... After a year's delay!

Being here in Singapore, one cannot help but live (and obey) the rules of the nation. In many ways, it is crafted by the policy-makers here. But if one cann get in, the combined markets of South-East Asia is huge, and a growing middle-class is setting the pace in Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand, all much larger than little Peesai. For example, many US Oil suppliers/engineering contractors are based in Singapore, but operate in Indonesia (there is nothing for them in Sg, other than communications, stable laws, and a generally competent staff).

Sinkapore needs SEA more than the latter needs it. Sinkapore needs to be nice to Abangs. The only country that sinkapore is close to is Brunei, which is an insignificant state in SEA. Sinkapore is generally not liked in the region, thanks to the PAP policy.

THE_CHANSTER

Symptomatic of what's going on in the global economy.

The MSM is going to have a hard time sweet talking the public over large redundancies and lay-offs. Probably a master stroke by the PAP to hold the GE in 2015 instead of this year.

Structural unemployment is coming.

U r mistaken! If the economy booms, they get supersonic pay raises and promotion. If it tanks, they will .. get supersonic pay raise and promotion... After a year's delay!

PAP could of course increase their pay because no one can stop them. However, Sporeans are a selfish lot. How do you think they would feel if they loose their jobs while the PAP give themselves pay hikes & bonuses?

We are just at the beginning of a bad recession. It is definitely going to get uglier. By the next GE many will be unemployed & people will want to blame someone.

Even Sporeans have their breaking point & I'm curious to know just how much more they can tahan:wink:

There's increasing instability around the world. Singapore Technologies and its subsidiaries could help boost our exports by exporting more firearms and military hardware around the world. There are lots of ready buyers and it would help boost the local economy.

Isn't the year's delay only if there is a mishap? :eek:

hbk75

looks like its never good to grow ur economy too fast on chicken steriods and bovine growth hormones.looks like the economy is hemorrhaging out of its ass from all the unhealthy chemicals and processes we force it to go thru.....whatever happened to foreigners will create jobs for sinkies?the economy is literally shrinking,looks like there wont even be jobs for fts let alone sinkies........a good recession might even bring singapore's population down to 5 million....so much for population 6.9 white paper......looks like there are some forces in the universe that even PAP cannot defy.......i hope a recession hoots singapore jialat jialat,once the foreigners start going home cause lack of job opportunities,the housing bubble is going to burst along with shopping,retail and rental,prices is going to come crashing down.

u see how are the rental at ulu shopping malls?

stalls rental at koufu west mall cost 12-18k per month. stall have to sell from morning until 3-4 pm just to pay for rental.

i actually hope that s'pore sustain it's currency strength but to my dismay, they chose to depreciate. what a bunch of losers at MAS!:rolleyes:

seemingly, they use this depreciation tool to fight for s'pore survival at the expense of many below average and poor in s'pore.:oIo:

s'pore forever is a money talks bullshit walks kind of country.:oIo:

if sinkie dun slog like a dog, he will die a church mouse.:(

just curious how much money did you spend to buy your freedom?how many hundred k u need to fuck off from singapore forever?100k enough to survive in ozland?

There's increasing instability around the world. Singapore Technologies and its subsidiaries could help boost our exports by exporting more firearms and military hardware around the world. There are lots of ready buyers and it would help boost the local economy.

ISIS, Taliban, Al-Qaida are long-term customers of ST!

coming from ST before, one better dun depend on ST to come out with anything good. they are a bunch of jiak liao bees. their strength depends on ho jinx, its one of her toys.

Agoraphobic

It is obvious that Sg needs others more than they need Sg - Sg has nothing. Has come to a point that even labour needs to be imported. As for Sg's neighbour's sentiments towards Sg, I think it is mixed. Because Sg is small and compact, many from the rural areas see Sg as a "developed" and "advanced" modern city, and consider coming to Singapore as prestigious. Not living here, they don't feel the cost of living in Singapore. On a visit, a few days stay and travel in Singapore, the impression is - efficient, clean, convenient, things work, low (almost no) crime, little poverty, good food, and depending on where one hangs out - even "fashionable!" I remember my earlier working years, speaking to a Swiss expat after he worked in Singapore for a couple of years - he said, "Singapore isn't as clean as it first appears to be!" So, first impressions are different from those who have been here for some time. Locals who grew up in Singapore don't see Singapore as anything exceptional or fantastic, to most of them, it is just a place where they were born and have to live. So they make the best of the situation and live the best they could, which is the same anywhere else in the world if they were born there! On the political side, the PAP is doing what it can to run the country the best it can, within the physical limits. Non-Singaporeans do not have any ill-sentiments against the PAP, if there are any ill-feelings towards them, it is the locals, who mostly voted for them!

Sinkapore needs SEA more than the latter needs it. Sinkapore needs to be nice to Abangs. The only country that sinkapore is close to is Brunei, which is an insignificant state in SEA. Sinkapore is generally not liked in the region, thanks to the PAP policy.

... Non-Singaporeans do not have any ill-sentiments against the PAP, if there are any ill-feelings towards them, it is the locals, who mostly voted for them!

Can you blame Sporeans:confused:

They are the one's paying for the PAP policies: NS, reservists requirements, multi-million salaries of the MPs, CPF, freebies given to foreigners, ...
Now that many of them are old & tired, the PAP wants to replace them.

However the foreigners are not as dumb as Sporeans who voted for the PAP.

Asterix

I think they are wanted and loved. Even Republics can have royalty!

Sinkies will do well to read Machiavelli's Discourses. If they had, then LKY would have been royally punished for accepting extra eggs with his char kway teow. Those who don't understand this deserve to live under a tyranny, karma is working just fine, by punishing those who made it possible for the tyrant to become one.

CHAPTER XXIV

WELL ORGANIZED REPUBLICS ESTABLISH REWARDS AND PENALTIES FOR THEIR CITIZENS, BUT NEVER COMPENSATE ONE (AT THE EXPENSE) OF THE OTHER

The merits of Horatius had been very great, having by his virtu conquered the Curatii. None the less such a homicide displeased the Romans so much, that he was brought to trial for his life, notwithstanding that his merits were so great and so recent. Which thing, to whoever should consider it only superficially, would seem to be an example of the ingratitude of the people.

None the less, whoever should examine it closer, and with better consideration will look for what the orders of the Republic ought to be, will blame that people rather for having absolved him than for having wanted to condemn him: and the reason is this, that no well-ordered Republic ever cancels the misbehavior of its citizens by their merits; and having rewarded one for having acted well, if that same one afterwards acts badly, it castigates him without having regard to any of his good actions.

And if these orders are well observed, a City will exist free for a long time; if otherwise, it will quickly be ruined. For if to a citizen who has done some eminent work for the City, there is added to his reputation of that which he acquired, and audacity and confidence of being able to do some wrong without fear of punishment, he will in a short time become so insolent as to put an end to all civil law.

http://constitution.org/mac/disclivy.pdf

Can you blame Sporeans:confused:

They are the one's paying for the PAP policies: NS, reservists requirements, multi-million salaries of the MPs, CPF, freebies given to foreigners, ...
Now that many of them are old & tired, the PAP wants to replace them.

However the foreigners are not as dumb as Sporeans who voted for the PAP.

like i say before, it's always the 1st circle of cronies knitted close to the lee family get the most perks. others play 2nd fiddle, and then the average ordinary sinkies get paid peanuts and they feel indebted to lee family. sinkies really need to have their brains checked out. i am at a loss of words of what IQ sinkies possess!:eek:

congo9

Well, they bring in all these workers and they bring their money out of Singapore. They aren't spending. The only one who make it are the developer and land owners.