• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

jehovah witness no NS, another group no need jailtime..lagi bestest!!

songsongjurong

http://rilek1corner.com/2016/04/08/nizam-ismail-discriminatory-practice-and-distrust-of-malays
If the issue is still one of distrust of a Malay Singaporean son in defending his country, then say it as it is. The fact remains that there is an under-representation of Malay NSmen in several “sensitive” positions of the SAF, RSAF and RSN. And an over-representation of Malay NSmen in the SCDF and SPF.

And a significant portion of Madrasah boys are not called up for NS.

it's discriminatory against non madrasah boys!!!!

chongpangchixwings

Come crunchtime, where will their allegiences lie? On a personal level you can see their tendencies. You can be great friends with them but if you happen to get into an argument or fight with another different group of Malays, initially they will try to mediate but if that fails they will usually side with the other Malays and turn against you.

Nizam Ismail: Discriminatory Practice and Distrust Of Malays

Navy-956x531.jpg

Nizam Ismail: Discriminatory Practice and Distrust Of Malays
Rilek1Corner.com > Agama > Nizam Ismail: Discriminatory Practice and Distrust Of MalaysNavy
Author: Rilek1Corner April 8, 2016 0 Comments
Agama, Komentar, Politik, Singapuraku, Sosialhalal, Islam, Malays, Muslims, PAP, race, religion
It gets tenuous when the justification for what is essentially a discriminatory practice is on the non availability of a halal kitchen.

Please, there are many ways to resolve this. It’s not rocket science.

If the issue is still one of distrust of a Malay Singaporean son in defending his country, then say it as it is. The fact remains that there is an under-representation of Malay NSmen in several “sensitive” positions of the SAF, RSAF and RSN. And an over-representation of Malay NSmen in the SCDF and SPF. And a significant portion of Madrasah boys are not called up for NS.

This has nothing to do with food. Or space for halal kitchen. It’s tragic that we are still debating this after 50 years of independence.

If you truly believe in multiculturalism, there must be no space for discrimination. If you truly believe in multiculturalism, there must be inclusivity and equal opportunity. For all.

When will there be a level playing field?

Source: Nizam Ismail via Suara Melayu Singapura FB

http://rilek1corner.com/2016/04/08/nizam-ismail-discriminatory-practice-and-distrust-of-malays/

I feel sorry for our Malay friends.

However, no choice. Honestly, if one fine day, Singapore and Malaysia were to go for war. Can we be 50% sure (dun even need 100%), that they will fight against their Muslims brothers north and instead kill those infidel Chinese?

Come on!!

http://rilek1corner.com/2016/04/08/nizam-ismail-discriminatory-practice-and-distrust-of-malays
If the issue is still one of distrust of a Malay Singaporean son in defending his country, then say it as it is. The fact remains that there is an under-representation of Malay NSmen in several “sensitive” positions of the SAF, RSAF and RSN. And an over-representation of Malay NSmen in the SCDF and SPF.

JW need not serve army? Sure!!! They dun serve if you look at it literally. But they fucking stay in SAF Detention Barracks for 2 years!! Hello 2 years!!

This "malay" thing in N.S. & the Hahal cook house thing, was a very sensitive issues, since they started National Slavery......I really do not know, who is beng discriminated?? who?......during my National Slavery days....my neighbours ( a few of them) who were Chekgu's ( Malay Language teachers), their N.S. going children never enlisted..I asked one of boys, whose name was "Z"...why he never did N.S......I repeat this again he said, "they were bumiputra's"...

So, who is being sensitive over this??? Yes, there were many of their kind, doing N.S. over the last 2 decades, but sensitivity over this, still remain & still will!

The Malays loyalty will lie some where else n not to singkieland. Anyway FTs r not loyal...so NS is a privilege as said by a pappie

Don't we already have Malay commandos and pilots? Her we even have fucking mat generals and colonels no? If not happy surly can bring it up to their generals why kpkb in cyberspace to incite racial disharmony?

However, no choice. Honestly, if one fine day, Singapore and Malaysia were to go for war. Can we be 50% sure (dun even need 100%), that they will fight against their Muslims brothers north and instead kill those infidel Chinese?

Come on!!

I feel envious of our malay frens..get to do all the sinang n easy stuff in NS..no need to risk life n limb in frontline sensitive units.

yellowarse

This Malay soldier died for Singapore. He is still regarded as one of our greatest war heroes. Enough said.

Lieutenant Adnan Saidi

3873492.jpg

Adnan Saidi (b. 1915, Selangor, Malaysia - d. 1942, Singapore), a lieutenant of the Malay Regiment's 1st Battalion, died fighting the Japanese in one of the fiercest battles in Singapore during WW II. A war hero, he led his men in the Battle of Opium Hill (Bukit Chandu), off Pasir Panjang, giving the Japanese a bitter taste of real combat so much so that when they captured him, they tortured him as revenge before killing him and burning his body. Adnan received medals posthumously for his courage while a memorial plaque was erected at Kent Ridge to commemorate the bravery of Adnan and his men. The memory of this brave soldier also lives on at Kranji War Memorial where his name is etched on the main memorial column wall of the Kranji War Cemetery.

Early life
Adnan Saidi was the eldest of six children and was one of three male siblings to join the military. He studied at Pekan Sungei Ramal School in the English medium and was said to be bright and diligent. Upon graduating, he became a trainee teacher and taught at his old school for over a year. However, the military calling was stronger and he left teaching for the Malay Regiment in 1933 at the young age of 18. Within four years, he rose through the ranks to become 2nd Lieutenant and leader of the 7th Platoon, 'C' Coy, of the Malay Regiment. His rapid promotions were indicative of a highly dedicated and disciplined soldier.

World War II
When he was 23 years old, Adnan married Sophia Pakih Muda, a school teacher from his village. The couple had three children, two sons and a daughter. Adnan did not live to see his daughter being born and she died at infancy shortly after the fall of Singapore in 1942. Combining the hectic life of a career soldier and that of a father, Adnan was remembered by one of his son, Mokhtar, as "serious and fierce...yet had a good heart". Time with his sons was spent on walks or rugged games as he wanted them to grow up tough.

In late 1941, Adnan was posted to Singapore. He brought his family with him and they lived in a big house off Pasir Panjang, an area reserved for officers in the Malay Regiment. When war became imminent, Adnan sent his family back to their hometown in Kajang, Selangor, in December 1941. It was a trying time for him as his wife was pregnant with their third child. When they bade him goodbye, it was the last time that his family set eyes on him.

Adnan was entrusted with the defence of Pasir Panjang Ridge, the last British bastion before Alexandra, where their main ammunition and supplies,
military hospital and other key installations were located. In an epic battle, the Battle for Pasir Panjang (13 to 14 February 1942) or the "Battle of Opium Hill" as it is better known, Adnan's leadership qualities - patriotism, bravery, courage, incisiveness - took his troop's fighting spirit to its highest fervour, fending off the Japanese though the Malay Regiment's troops were grossly outnumbered and undersupplied. They frustrated the Japanese efforts to take over the ridge and had to yield the ridge only in the late evening of 13 February because the fighting by then had strained Adnan's troops. As they retreated to Opium Hill, they rose to the occasion again against the persistent and heightened assault of the Japanese, even taking up hand-to-hand combat with the enemy when their ammunition ran out. But the sheer force of Japanese attack on the second and final afternoon of fighting overpowered Adnan and his men, leading them to their grisly death.

Adnan's gruesome death
Adnan's fierce resistance and refusal to surrender even after being mortally wounded proved damaging to his ending at Japanese hands. Not satisfied with capturing him, the Japanese, angered over the casualties they suffered, dragged Adnan and hung him by his legs to a tree and repeatedly bayoneted him. The brutal torture, which also included repeatedly slitting his throat and leaving his mutilated body to hang and some said eventually burning it, was witnessed by one survivor of the Opium Hill battle, Corporal Yaakob. He escaped death by laying motionless amongst the layer of dead bodies.

In his passing, Adnan's undying valour exemplified his strong belief in the Malay motto: "Biar putih tulang, jangan putih mata" - death before dishonour. Adnan's body was never found. The Japanese continued to hunt down the rest of his family. To foil their attempts, Adnan's brother gave away his belongings and photographs. No one wanted or dared to keep Adnan's belongings for fear of being killed by the Japanese. Today, the fiery spirit of Adnan and his men is remembered by a war memorial plaque in Kent Ridge Park erected in their honour, and the etching on the main memorial column wall of the Kranji War Cemetery No. 385 bearing the words "Lt. Adnan Saidi". A telemovie about his life and the battle at Opium Hill, titled Bukit Candu, was also made.

Timeline
1933 : Joined the Malay Regiment
1934 : Best recruit of the Malay Regiment
1936 : Promoted to rank of Sergeant
1937 : Chosen to represent his platoon in a military ceremonial parade in London to honour the ascension of King George IV to the throne
1937 : Married to Sophia Pakih Muda, a teacher
1937 : Promoted to Company-sergeant-major and left for Singapore for an officer's conversion course
193? : Graduated as 2nd Lieutenant, leader of the 7th Platoon, 'C' Coy, Malay Regiment
1941 : Posted to Singapore
14 Feb 1942 : Killed by Japanese Army in Battle of Opium Hill, off Pasir Panjang, Singapore
1995 : War memorial plaque at Vigilante Drive, Kent Ridge Park, erected in honour of Adnan and his Malay Brigade
17 Feb 2002 : Reflections at Bukit Chandu, World War II Interpretative Centre opened at Pasir Panjang Ridge

Posthumous Awards (by the British Government)
Star Medal
Defence Medal
War Medal

Family
Eldest of six siblings.
Two younger brothers : Amarullah Saidi and the late Ahmad Saidi, also officers in the British military forces.
Wife : Madam.Sophia Pakih Muda, a.k.a. Sophia Pakir (d. 1949), school teacher.
Children : Sons, Mokhtar and Zainudin, and a daughter who died at infancy.

Author
Nureza Ahmad & Nor-Afidah A Rahman

References
Bhalla, S. T. (1991, December 8). Death before dishonour. The Straits Times, Sunday Plus, p. 2.

yellowarse

Agreed that he is a hero but this was a fight against a non Muslim entity. If against Muslims then he may have had a problem deciding whether he should side for his fellow Muslims or for his no Muslim country.

What if Malaysia went to war with Indonesia? Would a Malay Malaysian only kill Christian Indonesians (Timorese) or Hindu Indonesians (e.g. Balinese) but spare Muslim Indonesians?

I think if Malays felt that Singapore were their home, then they'd have no qualms killing Muslims from another country to defend their home. The way Christian Europeans have been killing one another for a few thousand years in epic wars. Catholic vs Catholic, Prostestant vs Protestant, Catholic vs Protestant, Orthodox vs Catholic.

When your home and family are at stake, religion takes second place. Survival comes first.

steffychun

Last time, I served and they made all non-Halal NSF eat oily lousy stinky Halal food.

Come crunchtime, where will their allegiences lie? On a personal level you can see their tendencies. You can be great friends with them but if you happen to get into an argument or fight with another different group of Malays, initially they will try to mediate but if that fails they will usually side with the other Malays and turn against you.

so it means that they side with people of the same racial group rather than their good friends of a different race and religion especially chinese.

This shows how racially aware you are while there are so many stupid chinese who are so kawan kawan with them and will kiss their ass and protect them to the death while they wouldn't hesitate to kill those dumb chinese even their good friends if the time comes for them to choose sides.

Contrast that to Chinese where some of them are chinese dogs and hate their own race and culture and protect and kiss the asses of non chinese like m&ds then when they get betrayed will they ask other chinese for help. :rolleyes:

Come on!!

So far i never ever heard a m&d try to convince ppl that he won't do that and will help his fellow sinkies over other m&ds.

This "malay" thing in N.S. & the Hahal cook house thing, was a very sensitive issues, since they started National Slavery......I really do not know, who is beng discriminated?? who?......during my National Slavery days....my neighbours ( a few of them) who were Chekgu's ( Malay Language teachers), their N.S. going children never enlisted..I asked one of boys, whose name was "Z"...why he never did N.S......I repeat this again he said, "they were bumiputra's"...

So, who is being sensitive over this??? Yes, there were many of their kind, doing N.S. over the last 2 decades, but sensitivity over this, still remain & still will!

Do you think those m&ds want to serve in siong units? They only complain cos they are not allowed in.

harimau

Would you like Najib to be your platoon mate? Or you defence Minister?

Sekali he goes buy some overpriced subs and let your buddies sink in them.

I trust Jehovah Witness or Mormons more than any Allah Akbar's mats.