• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

list of ns fatalities

for sinkie uncles here who are still kicking and screaming, a.k.a. kpkb, consider yourselves lucky that you're not on the list. someone compiled it on kiasuparents but it's not complete. from my own experience and time in the saf, i wish to contribute to the list and salute the deceased. they died in service of the cuntry, both men and women, and we seldom talk about those who perished before 1987 as most cases then were hushed up. i happen to remember them as i was intimately involved with confronting safety issues during training, and the extent that the saf went through to ensure safety of trainees was unparalleled compared to other forces of that time. a life lost during training was not a trivial matter. we took it seriously and constantly improved methods and measures to ensure unnecessary loss. what's the point when an armed force loses personnel at alarming rates before going to war? every life counted. that was the maxim in the saf then despite tragedies and deaths that are avoidable. basically shit happens and the best safety measures will never prevent unfortunate incidents from happening. but at least in terms of effort, measures, supervision, policies, importance and priorities, i can vouch that the saf have attempted their best in prevention of unnecessary deaths.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=69054

from the site in the url.....

List of NS Deaths

Watch out for your children
More than 70 deaths in in NS during NS training so far, and that is only the ones we know.

2012 [Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, Source 5, Source 6]
9.40am 11 January, Mr Li Hong Yang, (CPL, 62 Combat Service Support Battalion), 28 yrs old, collapsed during IPPT training at Kranji Camp 3, cause of death undisclosed
5.30pm 15 March, Mr Amirul Syahmi Bin Kamal, (PTE, 3rd Battalion Guards), 20 yrs old, foundunconscious in a toilet at Bedok Camp, cause of death undisclosed
2.05pm 17 April, Mr Dominique Sarron Lee Rui Feng, (PTE, 3rd Singapore Infantry Regiment), lost unconscious during platoon exercise at Murai Urban Training Facility at Lim Chu Kang
1.56pm 11 May, Mr Tan Mou Sheng (3SG, ?), 20 yrs old, jeep overturned in Marsiling training area
12 August, Mr Muhammad Fahrurrazi Salim, (LCP, ?) 20 yrs old, drowned in a river at Brunei, Temburong training area
11.50am 27 Sep, Mr Tan Tai Seng, (LCP, 63 CSSB) 23 yrs old, hit by a falling tree, Ama Keng training area at Lim Chu Kang

2012 [Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, Source 5, Source 6]
9.40am 11 January, Mr Li Hong Yang, (CPL, 62 Combat Service Support Battalion), 28 yrs old, collapsed during IPPT training at Kranji Camp 3, cause of death undisclosed
5.30pm 15 March, Mr Amirul Syahmi Bin Kamal, (PTE, 3rd Battalion Guards), 20 yrs old, found unconscious in a toilet at Bedok Camp, cause of death undisclosed
2.05pm 17 April, Mr Dominique Sarron Lee Rui Feng, (PTE, 3rd Singapore Infantry Regiment), lost unconscious during platoon exercise at Murai Urban Training Facility at Lim Chu Kang
1.56pm 11 May, Mr Tan Mou Sheng (3SG, ?), 20 yrs old, jeep overturned in Marsiling training area
12 August, Mr Muhammad Fahrurrazi Salim, (LCP, ?) 20 yrs old, drowned in a river at Brunei, Temburong training area
11.50am 27 Sep, Mr Tan Tai Seng, (LCP, 63 CSSB) 23 yrs old, hit by a falling tree, Ama Keng training area at Lim Chu Kang

2009 [Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, Source 5]
9.51am 13 March, Mr Lim Kian Hong (2WO, ?), 52 yrs old, collapsed during 2.4km run
9.49am 17 April, Mr P. Jegathesan (MWO, ?) 45 yrs old, collapsed during 3km run
7.24pm 24 April, Mr Poh Eng Ann, (2WO, RSAF), 36 yrs old, found unconscious in a flight crew room at the Paya Lebar Air Base, cause of death undisclosed
20 May, Mr Tan Poh Eng, (1WO, Commando), 53 yrs old, free-fall training accident
15 June, Mr Ang Joo Pin (1SG), 30 yrs old, found motionless in his bunk at a Taiwanese military facility, cause of death undisclosed
3 July, Mr Nicholas Chan Wei Kit (2LTA, Motor Transport), pinned by reversing Land Rover
15 November, Mr Chee Zhi Hao (LTA, RSAF), 21 yrs old, highway road accident in Florida, USA
21 November, Mr Mar Teng Fong (LCP, Navy), 20 yrs old, trapped in between hydraulic door and door frame on a ship RSS Resistance

2008 [Source 1, Source 2]
Feb 02: Mr Tan Yit Guan (MAJ, Logistics), 41 yrs old, collapsed during run, death undisclosed
June 10: Mr Andrew Cheah Wei Siong (REC, BMTC Mild-Obese), collapsed during 2km route march, death undisclosed
June 12: Mr Clifton Lam Jia Hao (Officer Cadet/pilot trainee, Airforce) collapsed during 2km walk, cause of death undisclosed

2007 [Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4]
May 11: Mr Fan Yao Jin (PTE storeman), 23 yrs old, Taiwan plane crashed into store
May 11: Mr Isz Sazli Bin Sapari (3SG storeman), 19 yrs old, Taiwan plane crashed into store)
May 28: Mr Calvin Chow Han Min (LCP storeman), 19 yrs old, Taiwan plane crashed into store, died from severe burns
June 15: Mr Quek Meng Chua (Senior DXO, Treadmill), cause of death undisclosed
Aug 26, 7am: Mr Ho Si Qiu (Captain, OCS), collapsed during Safra Sheares Bridge Run and Army Half Marathon
Nov 15: Mr Ricky Liu Jun Hong (CPL, RSAF), 20 yrs old, collapsed during 2.4km run, cause of death undisclosed

2006 [Source]
Feb 1: Mr Mohd Sufian Jamil (REC BMTC), 18 yrs old, Liver and organ failure after injection of anti-malaria drug Maloprim
June 21: Mr Lionel Lin Shi Guan (LTA Commandos) Training at pool, cause of death undisclosed
Sept 18: Mr Ambrose Yeo Chang Wen (PTE HQ supply and transport), found unconscious, cause of death undisclosed
Nov 17: Mr Tan Boon Toon (2WO Senior Tech, ?, reported sick for chest pain, cause of death undisclosed

2005 [Source]
June 22: Mr Tek Kok Lian (2WO, ?), 39 yrs old, Routine run, Cardiac Arrest
June 29: Mr Ivan Ong Peng Ghee (3SG BMTC), 19 yrs old, Informal run
July 14: Mr Shiva s/o Mohan (1SG Commandos), 24 yrs old, (Rappelling Instructor Course, fell 20m from heli)

2003 [Source 1, Source 2]
Jan 3: Miss Goh Hui Ling (CPL Navy), 22 yrs old, RSS Courageous collision, death: “lodged in between bunks”
Jan 3: Miss Heng Sock Ling (1SG Navy), 24 yrs old, RSS Courageous collision, death: “mutilated bodies washed up in Bintan”
Jan 3: Miss Seah Ai Leng (1SG Navy), 25 yrs old, RSS Courageous collision, death: “mutilated bodies washed up in Bintan”
Jan 3: Miss Chua Bee Lin (2SG Navy), ?, RSS Courageous collision, MIA: “body never found”
July 21: Mr Hu En Huai (2SG Commandos), 19 yrs old, Combat Survival Training, death: asphyxia, forced water treatment by trainers
Sept 03: Mr Rajagopal Thirukumaran (2SG Commandos), 25 yrs old, 5km run during Ranger Selection Test, (Postulated) Sudden Cardiac Arrhythmia
Sept 23: Mr Andrew Chew Heng Huat (REC BMTC), 20 yrs old, IPPT, (Postulated) Sudden Cardiac Arrhythmia2002 [Source]
Feb 25: Mr Tan Kim Keng (Officer cadet OCS), collapsed during Group Navigation Exercise, cause of death undisclosed
May 15: Mr Mohd Shahlan bin Abdul Rahim (LCP Reservist), 32 yrs old, collapsed during IPPT, cause of death undisclosed
Oct 10: Mr Ivan Ho Yong Hua (REC BMTC), 22 yrs old, found unconscious at training ground, cause of death undisclosed

2002 [Source]
Feb 25: Mr Tan Kim Keng (Officer cadet OCS), collapsed during Group Navigation Exercise, cause of death undisclosed
May 15: Mr Mohd Shahlan bin Abdul Rahim (LCP Reservist), 32 yrs old, collapsed during IPPT, cause of death undisclosed
Oct 10: Mr Ivan Ho Yong Hua (REC BMTC), 22 yrs old, found unconscious at training ground, cause of death undisclosed

2001 [Source]
April 06: Mr Loke Meng (1WO Navy), 49 yrs old, collapsed during 2.4km run, cause of death undisclosed
Oct 29: Mr Kwok Wei Ming (CPL Commandos), collapsed in camp, cause of death undisclosed

1997 [Source]
2 un-named NSFs were killed when their FH-2000 155mm heavy artillery gun blew up in New Zealand because of a defective Made in China fuze. One NSF was killed in Singapore after an unexploded warhead from a misfired Armbrust light anti-tank weapon picked up by infantrymen blew up. Five others were injured, including a Lieutenant who lost his arm.

Jan 1987 [Source]
The SAF’s deadliest accident took place on Jan 24, 1987, when six lives were lost in a helicopter crash. Staff Sergeant Goh Kim Loong, Corporal Ramiya Mohan, Lieutenants Ng Soon Hup, Siow Poh Guan and Wee Tong Leong and Captain Lakbir Singh died after an air force UH-1H Huey crashed 14 nautical miles south-east of Brunei International Airport.

All NS deaths prior to 1997 are largely unreported from the PAP Government, SAF and state-controlled media.

April 1984 [Source]
Three SAF soldiers died over a span of 10 days. Recruit Sim Keat Kee, 19, collapsed after a 2km run. Lieutenant Koh Meah Wan, 23, was killed during an exercise at Sungei Gedong. And Recruit Bak Yow Hock, 17, died at the School of Naval Training.

1985-1986 [Source]
*RSAF accidents (in which pilots ejected): 1986 TA-4 off Tengah, 1986 Hunter Philippines, 1985 A-4 off Tengah, 1985 A-4 in Philippines

1968 [Source]

First reported training death in October 1968. In that incident, Recruit Allen Tan Chong Huat, 19, was stung by hornets in the Chua Chu Kang forest. He was rushed to Taman Jurong Camp but there was no doctor on duty there ( military doctors then clocked an 8am to 5pm shift). What’s more, the garrison’s ambulance was out on another call. So Recruit Tan’s officers rushed him to the main road to flag down a passing vehicle. It took an hour to get him to hospital.

Including NSF, NS Man reservist and ICT.

kryonlight

for sinkie uncles here who are still kicking and screaming, a.k.a. kpkb, consider yourselves lucky that you're not on the list.

That's something I don't agree. I am still alive today because I pro-actively sought to downgrade myself as much as possible. In SAF, there's no such thing as being lucky, because being conscripted is already very suay. You are on the death list whenever you are in a live firing area.

A successful medical board outcome is the only ticket to survival.

what's missing in the list were 2 ncos who jumped down from the back of a 3-tonner clutching in their arms and chests simulation charges or explosive canisters for training loaded with detonators. the impact on the ground after jumping off caused detonators to trigger the charges. their bodies were blown to bits.

there was another case of an officer riding on a land rover in standing position in an overseas cuntry. the opening at the top allowed him to stand up for a better view during the ride. he turned his head around when the rover was going at relatively high speed on a road, and a backhoe with raised hoe was in the way. his head got chopped off as rover ran past backhoe.

armored trainee was crushed by m113. body unrecognizable as it liquefied with m&d underneath.

officer cadet trainee drowned in mandai as he was doing topo alone and attempted to cross reservoir where 2 banks were supposedly linked by shallow bunds on the map. i had the same map and i thought about crossing the same spot as map indicated a possible crossing point. luckily it was day time and i could see a channel running between the marsh banks. a night crossing would be fatal with full combat gear.

will add more if i remember.

kryonlight

officer cadet trainee drowned in mandai as he was doing topo alone and attempted to cross reservoir where 2 banks were supposedly linked by shallow bunds on the map. i had the same map and i thought about crossing the same spot as map indicated a possible crossing point. luckily it was day time and i could see a channel running between the marsh banks. a night crossing would be fatal with full combat gear.

SAF can never be trusted. Not even their maps!

That's something I don't agree. I am still alive today because I pro-actively sought to downgrade myself as much as possible. In SAF, there's no such thing as being lucky, because being conscripted is already very suay. You are on the death list whenever you are in a live firing area.

A successful medical board outcome is the only ticket to survival.

you can agree to disagree and keng all you want but i went through almost 2 years of back to back training and survive unscathed, except for urinating blood during the toughest course in combat engineer tanks. oct after that was a breeze and seemed like a holiday. due to deaths from heat stroke and running, so much emphasis was placed on keeping trainees hydrated the night before and ensuring they were fit to run the next day.

kryonlight

i went through almost 2 years of back to back training and survive unscathed, except for urinating blood during the toughest course in combat engineer tanks.

The fact that you even urinated blood shows that you didn't survive 'unscathed'.

MadrigalWheel

I remember a Super Puma crash and Guardsmen killed when rappelling from a heli due to their harnesses prematurely released. During my NS days, one death from an overturned SM1 from SAR41 and vaguely recall a death too from an overturned APC from SA21.

Is that all you can say? I say to hell with conscription and SAF.

how to do away with conscription when (cheap) manpower is required to stage and secure f1 races in sg to attract billionaires and celebs for entertainment of the elites? sg is after all a playground for higher mortals. lesser mortals need to serve and shut up.

kryonlight

how to do away with conscription when (cheap) manpower is required to stage and secure f1 races in sg to attract billionaires and celebs for entertainment of the elites? sg is after all a playground for higher mortals. lesser mortals need to serve and shut up.

You ask me, I ask who? I am only voicing my own crazy opinions in this crazy forum.

I remember a Super Puma crash and Guardsmen killed when rappelling from a heli due to their harnesses prematurely released. During my NS days, one death from an overturned SM1 from SAR41 and vaguely recall a death too from an overturned APC from SA21.

thanks for remembering. we tend to gloss over their deaths before when they first appeared in the news (tiny sections and scant details albeit) but now with web resources more can be gleaned and dug up. wish to dedicate this thread to their service and demise. at the end of it all, fellow ns enlistees will have to take pride and care of their own veterans and families of those who are part of the sacrifice. if u.s veterans can do it with zero help from uncle sam so can sinkie lao peng. sinkies must not rely on gov for everything per my signature. only then will sg progress with guts and fortitude. otherwise it's the usual soixante neuf.

rurouni

what's missing in the list were 2 ncos who jumped down from the back of a 3-tonner clutching in their arms and chests simulation charges or explosive canisters for training loaded with detonators. the impact on the ground after jumping off caused detonators to trigger the charges. their bodies were blown to bits.

there was another case of an officer riding on a land rover in standing position in an overseas cuntry. the opening at the top allowed him to stand up for a better view during the ride. he turned his head around when the rover was going at relatively high speed on a road, and a backhoe with raised hoe was in the way. his head got chopped off as rover ran past backhoe.

armored trainee was crushed by m113. body unrecognizable as it liquefied with m&d underneath.

All of the above reminds me of:
wikipedia.org/wiki/Live_by_the_sword,_die_by_the_sword
kingjamesbibleonline.org/Matthew-26-52
(“Then said Jesus unto him, Put up again thy sword into his place: for all they that take the sword shall perish with the sword.” )

The fact that you even urinated blood shows that you didn't survive 'unscathed'.

i blamed myself for not hydrating enough before lack-of-sleep, load-carrying exercises that strained my back and stressed my kidneys. my other fellow trainees peed yellow during the same period. yes, we watch each other pee. it was the only form of relief. :p

It is safer to spend 2 years in NS than it is to drive on Singapore roads.