• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

28-year-old President Scholar Complained That Property Prices In Katong Too High!

While the government will continue to help Singaporeans own homes and have put measures in place to protect first-time buyers from a hot housing market, they must have a realistic pathway to achieving their aspirations, said Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam.

During a dialogue session with over 2,000 property agents from ERA Realty on Wednesday (3 Jan), the minister recalled how a 28-year-old Presidents Scholar had lamented to him about not being able to afford a private property in Katong, despite his many achievements.

These are unrealistic aspirations for someone whos only in his 20s, said the minister. He noted that Singaporeans can afford to purchase property based on income levels, and have the option of buying private property, but they need to start somewhere, he said in reference to those eager to move up the property ladder.

Properties in Tanjong Katong are generally more expensive compared to other areas in the East, due to their prime location and accessibility to good amenities.

One of the more recent project launches in the neighbourhood is Amber Skye, a 109-unit condominium which was relaunched in March 2015 at an indicative price range of $1,680 psf to $2,500 psf.

Owning a condominium in Singapore is seen as a dream among many Singaporeans, as it is one of the 5Cs, with the other aspirations being a car, country club membership, cash and credit cards.

Despite this, Eugene Lim, Key Executive Officer at ERA Realty, has observed that fewer HDB dwellers are now jumping straight into buying private property.

Instead, he is now seeing a trend of a fair amount of buyers upgrading to larger flat types since the second half of last year. For instance, there are more four-room HDB flat owners shifting to five-room flats and executive flats.

The trend of moving to larger private properties is constrained by the Total Debt Servicing Ratio (TDSR), he said.

Introduced in June 2013, the TDSR limits the amount of a borrowers gross monthly income that can be spent on debt repayments to 60 percent.

This has severely impacted private property sales in recent years, with transactions down to about 14,000 units in 2015 compared to around 38,000 in 2012 before the measure was introduced, revealed statistics from the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/home-buye...nmugam-054550304--sector.html?linkId=20997489

If a president scholar has this unrealistic view, how did he get the scholarship in the first place? How did the panel choose this chap?

Why is it unrealistic? The President Scholar is the cream of the cohort. It is not unreasonable for the President Scholar to have his or her own private property at Katong or some other posh place. Otherwise, what's the point of studying so hard and doing well in ECA at the same time?

blueRad

More and more of the rich ang moh expats are slowly moving to the HDB heartlands due to high property prices. Sinkies really need to adjust their expectations.

I don't know about the rich angmos but the working class ones are leaving Spore.
Last year my angmo neighbour & his family went back to the US . I also noticed other foreign tenants in my building packing up their stuff to leave.

I think the PAP called an early election because they knew a recession was coming to Spore.

yangtzejiang

I don't know about the rich angmos but the working class ones are leaving Spore.
Last year my angmo neighbour & his family went back to the US . I also noticed other foreign tenants in my building packing up their stuff to leave.

I think the PAP called an early election because they knew a recession was coming to Spore.

no need to think, it is a fact. that's why "bad news" always comes after the elections.

a recession will be good for singapore. knock some wind out of the entitled young men and women like claire.

apogee

Why is it unrealistic? The President Scholar is the cream of the cohort. It is not unreasonable for the President Scholar to have his or her own private property at Katong or some other posh place. Otherwise, what's the point of studying so hard and doing well in ECA at the same time?

I agree with you wholeheartedly. They should have offered each president scholar a house together with the scholarship. That way, he does not have to waste time worrying about a house, but spend all their energy to see how he can make Singapore the best place in the world.

Wunderfool

While the government will continue to help Singaporeans own homes and have put measures in place to protect first-time buyers from a hot housing market, they must have a realistic pathway to achieving their aspirations, said Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam.

During a dialogue session with over 2,000 property agents from ERA Realty on Wednesday (3 Jan), the minister recalled how a 28-year-old Presidents Scholar had lamented to him about not being able to afford a private property in Katong, despite his many achievements.

These are unrealistic aspirations for someone whos only in his 20s, said the minister. He noted that Singaporeans can afford to purchase property based on income levels, and have the option of buying private property, but they need to start somewhere, he said in reference to those eager to move up the property ladder.

Properties in Tanjong Katong are generally more expensive compared to other areas in the East, due to their prime location and accessibility to good amenities.

One of the more recent project launches in the neighbourhood is Amber Skye, a 109-unit condominium which was relaunched in March 2015 at an indicative price range of $1,680 psf to $2,500 psf.

Owning a condominium in Singapore is seen as a dream among many Singaporeans, as it is one of the 5Cs, with the other aspirations being a car, country club membership, cash and credit cards.

Despite this, Eugene Lim, Key Executive Officer at ERA Realty, has observed that fewer HDB dwellers are now jumping straight into buying private property.

Instead, he is now seeing a trend of a fair amount of buyers upgrading to larger flat types since the second half of last year. For instance, there are more four-room HDB flat owners shifting to five-room flats and executive flats.

The trend of moving to larger private properties is constrained by the Total Debt Servicing Ratio (TDSR), he said.

Introduced in June 2013, the TDSR limits the amount of a borrowers gross monthly income that can be spent on debt repayments to 60 percent.

This has severely impacted private property sales in recent years, with transactions down to about 14,000 units in 2015 compared to around 38,000 in 2012 before the measure was introduced, revealed statistics from the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/home-buye...nmugam-054550304--sector.html?linkId=20997489

What 's the use of many accomplishments if they do not translate into value?

How did he even get his President 's scholarship?

Boliao

...the minister recalled how a 28-year-old Presidents Scholar had lamented to him about not being able to afford a private property in Katong, despite his many achievements. These are unrealistic aspirations for someone whos only in his 20s, said the minister...

I bought my first property when I was 27, it was a 1700 sqft landed home and cost less than $600K then. I wasn't even a degree holder. That being said, I think this President Scholar will surpass me very soon. Like doctors, they tend to start slow and accelerate at outrageous pace at later years. Just look at SMRT CEO.

I agree with you wholeheartedly. They should have offered each president scholar a house together with the scholarship. That way, he does not have to waste time worrying about a house, but spend all their energy to see how he can make Singapore the best place in the world.

Oh yes! A GCB for every scholar destined for superscale. After all, that is what meritocracy is all about. You should not be jealous of our fellow sinkies, and strive to work harder in your next life. Teehee!

even president scholar have a peasant mindset,instead of wondering how he can afford the things he cant afford,how to invest,how to own real estate,how to start a business,how to generate passive income that doesnt require manual imput,how to compound his wealth,he instead based his lamentation on his salary and how out of reach the unaffordable is and his stupid achievements like as though the world owes him some shit.

i know a singaporean blogger investor,ASSI with a portfolio of 3 to 5 million,generating more than 160k dividends a year from reits and Schips and hes only 40 years old and his income was never higher than 8k per month and his education level was a bachelor's degree.

even president scholar have a peasant mindset,instead of wondering how he can afford the things he cant afford,how to invest,how to own real estate,how to start a business,how to generate passive income that doesnt require manual imput,how to compound his wealth,he instead based his lamentation on his salary and how out of reach the unaffordable is and his stupid achievements like as though the world owes him some shit.

i know a singaporean blogger investor,ASSI with a portfolio of 3 to 5 million,generating more than 160k dividends a year from reits and Schips and hes only 40 years old and his income was never higher than 8k per month and his education level was a bachelor's degree.

You can't be seeking to emulate some useless guy who got lucky in the stock market or the lottery. Hard work and talent is what makes the scholar who he is today. Work harder in your next life, so you too can have what he has.

STUCK_HERE

katong is posh? diu lei ko si fatt. It's fucking nowhere. Cherbye name is like geylang

You can't be seeking to emulate some useless guy who got lucky in the stock market or the lottery. Hard work and talent is what makes the scholar who he is today. Work harder in your next life, so you too can have what he has.

investing in the stock market for nearly 20 years is not luck,if ur entire premise relies on pure luck and hoping to strike it big one time,then by the law of probabilities and statistics,it is inevitable you will go broke sooner or later,just look at casino gamblers,some of them may have gotten lucky and won a few hundred k or even a million,but they always give it back sooner or later and many times over,i once watched a youtube documentary of a woman slot gambler who won a million bucks and ended up oweing the casinos 14 million dollars six years later. dont belittle a man whose build a fortune thru prudent investment of his hard earned money thru out his life time.....what the fuck does this scholar have?he has to take out a million dollar loan to buy his pathetic condo and spend the rest of his life paying back interest and capital to the bank.

investing in the stock market for nearly 20 years is not luck,if ur entire premise relies on pure luck and hoping to strike it big one time,then by the law of probabilities and statistics,it is inevitable you will go broke sooner or later,just look at casino gamblers,some of them may have gotten lucky and won a few hundred k or even a million,but they always give it back sooner or later and many times over.dont belittle a man whose build a fortune thru prudent investment of his hard earned money thru out his life time.....what the fuck does this scholar have?he has to take out a million dollar loan to buy his pathetic condo and spend the rest of his life paying back interest and capital to the bank.

I do not belittle men of wealth, son. There are scores of wannabes who pretend their money come from talent and hard work, but there is often more than meets the eye. Those middling pretenders and their posse i find most insufferable.

u mean the supposedly justified income of our ministars and mps and paper generals?there there bro,i sympathise with u.us peasants have only our wits and cunning and will and determination to take us out of the cycle of poverty,others are the chosen ones to have the heaven's embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light laid beneath their feets.but i being poor have only my dreams,i spread my dreams beneath your feet.tread softly for you tread on my dreams.

On the contrary, you give your Kah Ch$ng to men of wealth by being their Subservient Family Butler. :rolleyes: