• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MOE Warns Students And Schools To Cooperate With Police, Not Play Punk With Them!

The Ministry of Education (MOE) said on Tuesday that schools in Singapore have the obligation to cooperate with the police and “not stand in the way of law”, but will seek to ensure the well-being of its students if they assist with police investigations.

This is in response to media queries about the case of Benjamin Lim, a 14-year-old boy who was found dead at the foot of the block of his family flat in Yishun after being questioned by the police, unaccompanied over a case of alleged outrage of modesty. The mother had told TOC that the police had denied access to her son, Benjamin throughout the course of interview.

MOE said through its spokeperson that the schools have a set of guidelines “which corresponds to the police’s guidelines on working with minors”

“This includes ascertaining the identities of the police officers who approach our schools,” MOE said. The ministry also explained that the school would speak to its student before the police speaks with him or her.

“The student’s parent or appointed guardian is also contacted before the student leaves with the police to assist in investigations. We will also ensure that our student is not hungry and has something to eat before leaving with the police,”

MOE added that its schools will keep the student’s identity and the nature of the case strictly confidential to protect the student’s privacy and dignity.

“While the student is assisting in police investigations, the school will continue to keep in contact with the student and the parent/guardian to render the necessary support,” MOE said.

To understand more about the case, you can read the interview that TOC conducted with the family.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/201...-with-police-and-not-stand-in-the-way-of-law/

congo9

Teachers and Principal must have the initiative to accompany their students to Police station in the first place. Why are we paying so much $$$ to these school leaders who can't use their brain for some small initiative ?

Simple....it is who you know, whom you know, who & whom are you connected to.....their brain usage is to make money out of us, not for initiative.....name one leader, education etc...uses initiative to serve us?...???

If you brought your kids up right, they wouldn't even be in the police station for the wrong reasons.

congo9

Simple....it is who you know, whom you know, who & whom are you connected to.....their brain usage is to make money out of us, not for initiative.....name one leader, education etc...uses initiative to serve us?...???

If you brought your kids up right, they wouldn't even be in the police station for the wrong reasons.

It's still does not answer the question. Why are the school leaders still so careless and lack initiative ?

You will be disappointed in knowing that a serving mnister not too long ago witnessed his child being hauled to a police div. This minister is quite lau chiao and takes charge of an important ministry.

it only proves that sg is trying to stem the "princeling" tide pervasive in tiongland where cops are afraid to offend sensitivities of elites, unless they are part of the royal, oops i mean loyal, familee. there can only be a few true blue princelings in sg. :p

Agoraphobic

It is up to the cops to believe that a teen would help them in their work(????) When I was in that age group, the last thing I'd do is be honest to a cop (or pig as we'd call them!!) Cooperate with the fuzz? NO FUCKING WAY!!!

numero uno

The Ministry of Education (MOE) said on Tuesday that schools in Singapore have the obligation to cooperate with the police and “not stand in the way of law”, but will seek to ensure the well-being of its students if they assist with police investigations.

This is in response to media queries about the case of Benjamin Lim, a 14-year-old boy who was found dead at the foot of the block of his family flat in Yishun after being questioned by the police, unaccompanied over a case of alleged outrage of modesty. The mother had told TOC that the police had denied access to her son, Benjamin throughout the course of interview.

MOE said through its spokeperson that the schools have a set of guidelines “which corresponds to the police’s guidelines on working with minors”

“This includes ascertaining the identities of the police officers who approach our schools,” MOE said. The ministry also explained that the school would speak to its student before the police speaks with him or her.

“The student’s parent or appointed guardian is also contacted before the student leaves with the police to assist in investigations. We will also ensure that our student is not hungry and has something to eat before leaving with the police,”

MOE added that its schools will keep the student’s identity and the nature of the case strictly confidential to protect the student’s privacy and dignity.

“While the student is assisting in police investigations, the school will continue to keep in contact with the student and the parent/guardian to render the necessary support,” MOE said.

To understand more about the case, you can read the interview that TOC conducted with the family.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/201...-with-police-and-not-stand-in-the-way-of-law/

this statement from MOE is most uncalled for and damn insensitive to issue it even when that kid has not been buried yet and their parents are still in mourning!!!!! bastard MOE officials. can't they wait at least for a few more days or weeks. what is the urgency here?????? thier reputation to salvage??? assholes
ALL these bastards have ABSOLUTELY NO COMPASSION and it shows in their huuriedly released press statements after the death which is basically issued to imply they follow SOP procedures and absolve themselves of blame ie they did not use their farking common sense or show some compassion (because they are basically heartless and farking cowards, MOE, police and the principal). They did NOT even bother to wait for the 7 days mourning period to be over to quickly issue such statements which i I am sure further aggravate the grief of the parents. THIS IS MOST INSENSITIVE and basically cover backside.
in the first place the police does NOT have the power to arrest the boy from school. Was there a warrant of arrest??? if there isn't they can only ask the boy or his parents to turn up at the police station for an interview. their arrest was too high handed. you cannot arrest someone on the spot just based on suspicions or CCTV footage as in this case. unless the crime was done at the same time on the spot and the police witness it or there is eyewitness or an immediate life is in danger none of the situation of which exists in this case. their version of interview sounds more like an interrogation. that arrests was high handed based on their suspicions but they are not AG chambers and no definite charge was levied yet.
see reference:
http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/forPublic/YoutheLaw/InvestigationYou.aspx
http://singaporelegaladvice.com/law-articles/police-arrest-procedure-in-singapore/

an investigating officer are as follows:
To order a person to go to a police station or other place for questioning and for taking of a statement; etc
,Only in serious crime can an arrest be made without a warrant i.e. an arrest can be made without the need for a warrant when the police officer reasonably suspects a man of committing a serious offence. Such offences include rape, robbery, theft, drug consumption or causing serious hurt. molest is not calssified as serious crime here
For non-arrestable offences however, warrants will have to be made out to allow the police to make an arrest. For example, when a police report is made regarding a case of voluntarily causing hurt, the police will conduct investigations first before deciding whether to issue a warrant of arrest.

there is no mention of arrest warrant for this boy when they go to the school to establish the identity of the suspected molester and arrest him on the spot based on some CCTV photos of someone who bear his similarity. It could jolly well be anyone else who bear a similarity or resemblance. who knows it could be a acse of mmistaken identity as the boy seems so fed up taht he mentioned" since you say I did it, so be it" . those words seemed to be a sign of resignation of a depressed person after being hounded many times to confess to his guilt.

according to legal laws stated in websites: quote
"Upon arrival at the police station or detention centre, the accused is allowed to consult a lawyer while under police custody within a reasonable time, in accordance with Article 9 of the Constitution. Family members may also be contacted through reasonable means. However, these requests may be refused if they interfere with investigations. The accused will usually be detained for 48 hours at most, but police can obtain a Magistrate’s order to extend the custody.

The police may require the person to make either a witness statement or a notice statement. A notice statement is required when police have decided to press charges against the accused. Before the police requests for a notice statement, a notice regarding the charge will be given to the accused in writing and read out to him: this is what I belived happened in the police station and probably what terrified the kid till he decide to kill himself out of fear.

this boy was denied access to a lawyer in contravening Article 9 of the Constitution and made to sign a statement in the absence of legal guidance. what does a 14 yr old kid know about Article 9 of the Constitution? I bet 99.9999% of all adults does not even know such a right exists, more so a school kid!!!!!
farking bastard high handed cops and useless MOE
if any of you forumers have any conscience, please contact the parents or his relatives or highlight this fact it in other forums till someone sits up and take notice and let them know that the 5 cops have made a huge huge blunder and they should seek legal redress and clear the boy's name/honour.

farking useless cops and MOE teachers/principal hope karma strikes soon. mark my words
this whole episode is nothing but highlights how stupid, heartless, and selfish the mindset of alot of these cops and teachers/principal/MOE officials. hope the kid come back and haunt them

It's still does not answer the question. Why are the school leaders still so careless and lack initiative ?

They are not paid to have initiative, it was not in the MOE directive, the one & only answer, THEY HAVE NO BALLS.

Asterix

Representing the overseas Unsinkified, I hereby encourage Sinkie parents to train their children NOT to co-operate with the Police and teach their children to simply say "I don't answer questions" until the parent arrives. To complete the training, Sinkie parents should personally do a trial run in a locked room in their super expensive HDB "subsidised" housing to ensure that the kid is toughened up.

[video=youtube;ugyzs7jlIw0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugyzs7jlIw0[/video]

you are right... the worst part is ending up as a model policeman or NSF who either murder someone else or rape them.

never be in the police station for wrong reason.

Asterix

Teach your kid to know his/her rights ......... and fuck the Sinkie police :oIo:

[video=youtube;pPJqxsqKgiA]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPJqxsqKgiA[/video]

greedy and cunning

moe don't have an SOP for
the kind of situation leh.

silver serpents like to play it safe
when handling unusual incident.