• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the voters

hsienloong

Re: Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the vote

NCMP and having ambition to form Government are two separate thing.
When there are enough Workers' Party candidates voted into parliament by Singaporeans
naturally Workers' Party would have to form the Government, just like PAP when they were still an opposition party.

Onitsuka

Re: Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the vote

NCMP and having ambition to form Government are two separate thing.

You are absolutely spot on !

NCMP and having ambition to form the next government are indeed two separate things.

However, NCMP and having NO ambition to form the next government are the same.

hsienloong

When I ask my son what his ambitions were at the age of 5.
He said he wanted to be Superman.
At 16, he wanted to be like BIGBANG.

Ambition changes.

The NCMP scheme was inspired by WP, not PAP. WP's public admission that they are not interested in forming the next government has come back to haunt them.

If you don't have the ambition to form the next government, and you are contented with being a co-driver, steering clear of hard questions in Parliament, always voting "with" the governing party. Why would WP need to vote in Parliament in the first place ? The NCMP scheme fits WP's ideology - play safe, non-confrontational, ask side issues and stay away from hard topics.

Very exciting. To see WP having to eat their own words.

THE_CHANSTER

Lee Li Lian couldn't accept the 13k pay cut from MP to NCMP. A selfish attitude - the bottom line is that it's all about the $$$

Article Source: https://goo.gl/D4bWCI

12661882_1703000236579127_1657284403860286342_n.jpg

Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the voters.

If that is the case, Daniel Goh who "volunteered" for the vacant NCMP seat, is respecting or not respecting his voters leh?

Source: http://www.zaobao.com.sg/node/576596

PAP supporters are really dumb. Like that also don't understand. Must we explain something that even a kid can figure out?

Lee Li Lian couldn't accept the 13k pay cut from MP to NCMP. A selfish attitude - the bottom line is that it's all about the $$$

Ask the PAP ministers to give up their pay lah. Don't point the finger at the opposition when the PAP MPs are the greediest pigs in town.

Very exciting. To see WP having to eat their own words.

The WP MPs should do something about it. Self-immolation in Parliament would be the ideal protest ...one per month. When all the WP MPs are gone, WP supporters could continue the ritual until the PAP regime is toppled.

Manager

Don't mess with me

cobblers..

why did they push for that loser Daniel boy then and who was the incumbent in PE before the result?

You didn't understand what he meant.

The incumbent being offered NCMP after she lost in the Election is different from the challenger being offered an NCMP seat.

I think Low has a point, and it's a pretty good one. That is to say, if Png Eng Huat the incumbent at Hougang loses in the next GE, but nevertheless remains the best loser even with 49.99% votes, he must reject the NCMP seat.

The voters rejecting an incumbent is different from voters rejecting the challenger. An incumbent has been given the chance to serve, and if he is rejected the majority it means he is not up to scratch. But a challenger has never been given the chance to serve.

Manager

Don't mess with me

only fools believe everything a politician says.
Cow and the whole WP are full of cobblers

gg by $8 cow dung logic, the fap would have been the down in hell with the ah goon to set up their fap.

All it needs here is one big crack in PAP to change all that.

There need to have one big power struggle inside PAP that will inspire other people to form new gahment.

So far the corrupted PAP managed to corrupt their executives with $M salaries so have to wait for that big crack power struggle inside PAP.

The NCMP scheme was inspired by WP, not PAP. WP's public admission that they are not interested in forming the next government has come back to haunt them.

If you don't have the ambition to form the next government, and you are contented with being a co-driver, steering clear of hard questions in Parliament, always voting "with" the governing party. Why would WP need to vote in Parliament in the first place ? The NCMP scheme fits WP's ideology - play safe, non-confrontational, ask side issues and stay away from hard topics.

yahoo55

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singap...seat-are-personal-attack#sthash.72BKXdq6.dpuf

WP's Lee Li Lian: Amendments in motion to vacate NCMP seat are a personal attack

Saturday, Jan 30, 2016

After a five-day debate on filling the third Non-Constituency MP (NCMP) seat, Ms Lee Li Lian of the Workers' Party (WP) gave her thoughts on the issue.

In a Facebook post on Saturday afternoon (Jan 30), Ms Lee said the motion that was passed in Parliament yesterday with amendments by the People's Action Party (PAP) were "both unfair to the (Workers' Party) and an attack on (her) personally.

"PAP MPs yesterday unanimously voted to support a motion proposed by WP chief Low Thia Khiang to fill the third NCMP seat.

WP MPs, however, abstained from the vote.

Mr Charles Chong, who defeated Ms Lee at the polls last September, said in Parliament that she had let down the voters who supported her.

Ms Lee said in her Facebook post: "To clarify, I did not contest the General Elections to be an NCMP, but an elected member of the house with the full responsibilities involved in representing my constituents.

"Having lost my MP seat to Mr Charles Chong, I stepped aside in line with what the voters had expressed. Mr Chong suggested in Parliament that I should have respected the 'decision of the minority' who voted for me, by taking up the NCMP seat."

According to a My Paper report on Sept 17 last year, an Elections Department (ELD) spokesman had responded to queries by stating that the Attorney-General's view is that if any elected NCMP who "fails to take and subscribe before Parliament the Oath of Allegiance under Article 61 of the Constitution" at the first or second sitting of Parliament after the General Election, "then Parliament may at its discretion declare that seat vacant".

The decision to fill the seat rests with Parliament.

Along with her Facebook post, Ms Lee also attached an image screengrab of an email response from Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council that showed her rejected application for the usage of a Housing Board void deck.

She explained that she had tried to apply to the PAP-managed Town Council to hold a charity food distribution event in Punggol East on Jan 30 but was rejected as the Town Council "do not approve applications made by political parties".

The NCMP-elect then recalled how she "was never successful" in her applications during her time as an MP to hold events within areas managed by the Housing Board.

She ended her post by saying that she will continue her "outreach and grassroots activities" and her "mission to make a difference to the lives of people in (her) own way".

http://www.straitstimes.com/politic...ncmp-scheme-does-not-make-debates-more-robust

WP chief Low Thia Khiang: NCMP scheme does not make debates more robust

Published Jan 30, 2016

The Workers' Party (WP) has long disagreed with the principle of the Non-Constituency MP (NCMP) scheme because, contrary to its objective, it does not make parliamentary debates more robust, said its chief Low Thia Khiang.

It also goes against the fundamental meaning of Parliament, which is only for politicians who have obtained the people's mandate.

Still, WP members have taken up the seats offered to them over the years as they "understand that the struggle for a functional democracy... must be fought from within the existing system", he said.

So, while the WP may oppose the scheme, it "does not oppose individual members who are willing to sacrifice their time and energy to contribute to the national debate in Parliament'', said Mr Low (Aljunied GRC).

"Hence if one member who is declared as NCMP is unable to take up the seat, it is my duty as the leader of the WP to nominate the next best volunteer."

He gave the WP's reasoning for moving a motion yesterday to get East Coast GRC candidate Daniel Goh to fill the NCMP seat its Punggol East candidate Lee Li Lian had turned down.

The NCMP scheme offers a seat in the House to the losing opposition candidate with the best showing in the election.

Mr Low also said the scheme "is a distraction of the fundamental meaning of Parliament".

"Any politician who aspires to enter Parliament must seek and obtain the mandate from the people to represent them, so as to seek and effect positive change for the people," he said.

Still, the WP will "work within the system", he said, in the same way it contested several GRCs despite not supporting such electoral division.

He also said his party recognises that having one more NCMP in the House would add to the debate, which may result in better policy outcomes.

In rebutting Mr Charles Chong (Punggol East), he said it was illogical to argue that Ms Lee's rejection of the NCMP seat meant she did not respect the group of Punggol East voters who had voted for her in the general election.

An NCMP is by definition without a constituency, said Mr Low, and even if Ms Lee had accepted the post, she"cannot represent the minority who (had) voted for her in this House".

It is out of respect for the voters' decision that Ms Lee declined to accept the NCMP offer, he said. "She decided, having been their elected MP for over two years, their rejection meant she has no legitimacy to be in Parliament."

WP chairman Sylvia Lim (Aljunied GRC), who was an NCMP from 2006 to 2011, added that had she been in Ms Lee's position, she would have rejected the offer too.

"If an incumbent MP who had served the constituency was just defeated and yet returned to Parliament as an NCMP, it might be deemed undemocratic," she said.

The WP's proposal to let Dr Goh fill the third NCMP seat is allowed under the Constitution, and Ms Lim noted that Parliament had previously permitted a similar motion.

In 1985, after WP candidate M. P. D. Nair, who had contested Jalan Kayu in the 1984 election, declined the NCMP seat, then Leader of the House S. Dhanabalan moved a motion to offer it to Singapore United Front candidate Tan Chee Kien. He declined.The seat was left empty.

In rebutting Ms Lee Bee Wah (Nee Soon GRC), Ms Lim said her remark that the scheme was "overall supportable'' was taken out of context. "What I had said was the scheme was overall supportable in the context of GRCs, and the gerrymandering that has been taking place in our political system."

Similarly, Mr Png Eng Huat (Hougang) said there is no need for an NCMP scheme "if we adhere to our original Constitution and revert to a democracy comprising only single-member constituencies".

Mr Leon Perera, one of two NCMPs in the House, said the intent of the PAP MPs' speeches was simply to paint WP in a bad light.

"It's a narrative that has been frequently heard: the WP is shifty; somehow untrustworthy; our motives are to be questioned; our integrity is to be questioned... we are contradicting ourselves," he said.

Explaining why he took up the NCMP seat, he said: "It was a very difficult decision to make. But I decided that on balance... I could make a constructive contribution that would help in the longer-term cause of political balance in this country."

Last night, the WP said on Facebook it had abstained from voting on the motion as it did not want to endorse the ruling party's amendment.

Mr Perera added on his Facebook page that the WP needs to work within "a flawed system" as it wants to do what it can to build a democratic society.

borom

" You can't have your cake and eat it (too) "-if the WP is against the NCMP scheme-they should reject it in totality.

To even nominate their members for it smacks of hypocrisy and makes them no better than some double talking "white horse ".

70% reject WP why bother to play PAP fake MPs game.

" You can't have your cake and eat it (too) "-if the WP is against the NCMP scheme-they should reject it in totality.

To even nominate their members for it smacks of hypocrisy and makes them no better than some double talking "white horse ".

Sideswipe

it's so humiliating for LLL, the defeated MP to take the NCMP seat. people never spare a thought for her lah, and NCMP is paid only $2K compared to MP $15K.

kryonlight

Only fools like LTK continue to harass the PAP in Parliament like they have a mandate from heaven to do so.

LTK will get his retribution in GE 2020.

I tell you what is the contradiction. WP decided to nominated Daniel Goh to be NCMP for the good of the nation but then backed down when the PAP made an amendment to the nomination because of loss of "face". Ultimately it was a miscalculation on their part and they should have just voted for the amendment while voicing the move as a personal attack. Anyone can see that.

Admit it, they have been outdone by the PAP yet again and this time it is in full view. If sinkies cannot survivea little loss of face and a curveball every now and then, how to take on the big bad world like that?

pardon me but why they make so much of a hoo haa when LLL reject the NMCP post..

i thought she has the right to reject that, what is the fucking big deal?

I tell you what is the contradiction. WP decided to nominated Daniel Goh to be NCMP for the good of the nation but then backed down when the PAP made an amendment to the nomination because of loss of "face". Ultimately it was a miscalculation on their part and they should have just voted for the amendment while voicing the move as a personal attack. Anyone can see that.

Admit it, they have been outdone by the PAP yet again and this time it is in full view. If sinkies cannot survivea little loss of face and a curveball every now and then, how to take on the big bad world like that?

for your sinkie record, PAP is unable to take on the world.. just look at the MRT. what big world are you talking about, just your pathetic shithole sinkie-reddot-land?

I am simply articulating a general lack of foresight and inflexibility in dealing with unexpected situations as a sinkie trait. Surely you can understand that.