• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why only 100 jobs goes to Singaporeans last year?

tomychua

Article Source: http://goo.gl/6M2LW5

WHY DID ONLY 100 JOBS GO TO SINGAPOREANS LAST YEAR?
Author: Benjamin Chiang

If you’re happily employed, you probably didn’t realise that Singapore is undergoing a metamorphosis. It is an economical evolution and the effects of change will affect the entire country.

The economy had shrunk. By how much? Have a look at this chart:

2016-01-28-11.04.49.jpg

Hiring in 2015 is barely visible.

So when the reports say 31,800 more people here were employed at the end of last year….. but citizens and permanent residents made up only 100 of these, it makes sense. Our pool of workers is so small, businesses have to look elsewhere for essential manpower or cease to exist.

This also means less new jobs are created in Singapore. It is a structural change: our economy is not expanding as fast as before. The slowdown had been observed over the last few years.

Today, the Ministry of Manpower announced that employment growth had been flat. You have probably noticed that the GDP numbers of late hasn’t been fantastic either. All in all, workforce expansion is muted.

This probably doesn’t mean much to employees, but to business owners however the effects are felt very strongly. Businesses have shut because they either cannot get the manpower to do work, or it has become unprofitable to continue doing business because labour costs (amongst other sunken costs) have risen.

You must note though that Salaries have increased by 6% at the median and bottom 20th percentile. This is good news for employees, but for employers this is worrying. If salary trends continue to rise without any real gain for the business, then it is not sustainable.

If you take a walk to your favourite eating and shopping places, you might have noticed some have gone bust. You’ve probably heard of foreign colleagues having to leave the country because their employment passes/permits haven’t been renewed.

All these are results of deliberate action by the government to steer Singapore away from becoming the cold, capitalist society we all fear we’re becoming.

And it is necessary.

If left unmolested, the economy will launch on a trajectory that will take Singapore to a cold, capitalist hell. A millionaire’s underworld where foreigners will outnumber citizens, where there is much wealth but with less heart. Where utility and economic efficiency determine our lives with all the love and care of a washing machine.

We are not yet like that today, far from it.

Employers from all sectors have kept calling for the government to stop tightening the belts on foreign manpower. The common complaint is that there are not enough workers in the Singapore pool to sustain their businesses.

However, there is a limit to how much you can tighten a belt. The country will discover sooner or later that we’ll need to trim the fat off instead. All that unproductiveness and inefficiency from corporate Singapore require more manpower than is necessary. It is necessary now that businesses learn to manage resources, or let natural selection rear its ugly head and let these inefficient businesses die. When these resource hungry businesses cease, manpower is freed up for other more deserving companies.

Brutal?

Perhaps. But this is the world of business – either you run faster or you get eaten.

As long as Singapore is rich with companies and is able to keep the labour market tight and the retrenched can very easily find another job.

stupid sinkies vote for an economy that shrink and continue to lose money from the temasak investment..

stupid sinkies and i am glad that i stay away from such fucktards.

Simple. Foreigner got right skills. Sinkies lousy no skill. That why skill credit give you money upgrade your skill. But still no use because brain dead no cure. :rolleyes:

If Sinkies were more talented they would have no problems getting jobs.

THE_CHANSTER

Can someone please provide and explain why the economy only created 100 local jobs but the unempolyment rate remains at around 3%?

I don't accept the BS explanation put forward by Zorro as labour should be measured by the total available workforce in the economy. This includes local and foreign labour (basically anyone who is contributing to GDP).

The labour maket grew by 96,000 in 2014, this represents a increase of over 1000% over 2015. :confused:

Zorro claims the difference is partly attributably to part-timers working in retail and maybe F&B industry leaving the labour market and becoming intentionally unemployed and also local women and older workers are apparently contributing to full employment and their services become scarce.

What's his logic or is he really talking BS or do the MoM figures really look that flawed?

Leckmichamarsch

Can someone please provide and explain why the economy only created 100 local jobs but the unempolyment rate remains at around 3%?

I don't accept the BS explanation put forward by Zorro as labour should be measured by the total available workforce in the economy. This includes local and foreign labour (basically anyone who is contributing to GDP).

The labour maket grew by 96,000 in 2014, this represents a increase of over 1000% over 2015. :confused:

Zorro claims the difference is partly attributably to part-timers working in retail and maybe F&B industry leaving the labour market and becoming intentionally unemployed and also local women and older workers are apparently contributing to full employment and their services become scarce.

What's his logic or is he really talking BS or do the MoM figures really look that flawed?

Lim swee say is a consummate liar........ I hv lots of experience with him as liar

I love reading these pap ib articles,its like reading children's story book or mother goose nursery rhymes,must be appealing to sinkies intellect.

Too many useless sinkies screaming for good pay and "work-life-fucking-balance" while foreigners who are more skilled are willing to do more for less money.

Obviously, it is shit coming out of his mouth. Ask yourself something. There are thousands of sinkies graduating every year from the 4 Unis, plus Polys, plus coming out of NS ROD, etc. These are all new job seekers. You are telling me that with so many thousands looking, only 100 got jobs? And sinkies voted for this shit?

Aiyo. Of course it is because they went for vacation lah. 3 ringgit for 1 sing dollar leh.

bigboss

Why is that so?

The answer is simple ... pappies love foreigners and the foreigners love pappies like their God who can give them jobs.

bigboss

Too many useless sinkies screaming for good pay and "work-life-fucking-balance" while foreigners who are more skilled are willing to do more for less money.

Truth is pappies issued work permits and passes to foreigners like toilet papers in return for solid cash levies, an excellent source of revenue, pau chiak money, no need pay back to foreigners. CPF money from local workers must pay back with interest.

If you run sinkie land like an MNC, which is your choice of strategy to make more money? LKY had already said .. what is wrong to collect more money ..?

If Sinkies were more talented they would have no problems getting jobs.

How do you know that these foreigners are more talented:confused:

These foreigners can buy fake degrees, attend 3rd world instituitions, make all sorts of fake claims about job experiences,...

bigboss

...while foreigners who are more skilled are willing to do more for less money.

Foreigners are willing to do more for less money are not stupid. Earning strong SGD dollars means they are still many times better off than their counterparts in their own slum land back home. Getting a low pay job in sinkie land is still many times better than remaining jobless in their own slum land.

Today, you can find ang mohs every where in sinkie land, in the kopi tiam, in the heart land housing estate and riding public transport when once upon a time, you could not even find an ang moh taking the public transport or patronising the kopi tiam. They travelled in ahmad driven cars and ate only in Raffles Hotel.

bigboss

How do you know that these foreigners are more talented:confused:

These foreigners can buy fake degrees, attend 3rd world instituitions, make all sorts of fake claims about job experiences,...

The foreigners faked their qualifications and work experiences to get the jobs especially those jobs offered by their own countryman who owns and operates companies in sinkie land. The salary would be marked up high on paper to qualify the foreign worker for S-Pass and ultimately to get the SPR and in return, the worker would pay back the difference in the salary to the employer through a third party. Every one wins but only pappies lose because they are dumb.

even after the government announced the framework for fair employment and all the other pro singaporean core singaporean first policies,employment rate for sinkies only went up a laughable 100.....these shows that not only foreign MNCs and lance armstrong is hooked on cheap steriods,singapore glcs themselves cant get enough of that foreigner shit,they are addicted to it like a sex addict masturbating furiously to some stolen underwear from a 70 year old granny.