• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Confirmed- Real Talented Sinkies chased away by PAP, and doing well in the U.S.

Singaporean couple and 6 kids go on 6-month road trip to US

Couple and their six children spend six months covering 23,000km, without staying in a single hotel or motel

Ong Suwei had grown up watching Sesame Street and dreamt of visiting the United States.

Last June, the 40-year-old and her husband Dan Ong, 45, decided to fulfil that dream by going on a road trip in the US for six months - and with six children in tow.

The chance came when Mr Ong quit his job as a teacher in a local secondary school to take a break.

Mrs Ong, a stay-at-home mother who homeschools her six children, aged three to 16, said: "We didn't want to do it when Dan was employed because the longest we could go was three weeks. We'd have blown $13,000 on airfares for a three-week trip and we weren't willing to do that." Mr Ong added: "Our belief has always been that if we go farther, we stay longer."

The couple bought a nine-seater station wagon and a pop-up camper for $8,000 in the US. From June to December last year, the camper was home for the Christian family as they traversed 43 states in the US and covered some 23,000km, without staying in a single hotel or motel.

The Ongs also set up a Facebook page, "Six kids and a pop-up camper", to chronicle their journey and keep in touch with friends.

On it, they wrote: "We have camped under the amazing moonlit skies of Utah, in the middle of magical Redwood Forests in California, under a pecan tree in South Carolina, on a hillside camp in Yellowstone where elk stomped through."

While they had expected great sights in the US, what they did not expect, however, was the hospitality of Singaporeans - most of whom they had not known beforehand - halfway across the world.

The Facebook page, with more than 4,000 followers, became a contact point for Singaporeans in the US who wanted to meet them.

"I guess it's this sense of belonging and this connection of being tong xiang (Chinese for 'same home town'), " said Mr Ong.

Mr Stanley Leong, who has been working in San Francisco for about two years, was one of many Singaporeans who contacted the Ongs. Mr Leong, in his early 40s, had heard of their trip from socio-political site, Five Stars and a Moon.

He bought them a meal at Shiok, a Singaporean restaurant in California, and introduced them to more Singaporean families in the US.

One family hosted a barbecue in their home for the Ongs and went apple picking with them.

The Ongs also toured Facebook's office in California, thanks to the tech giant's Singaporean staff.

The family of eight reined in their expenditure by visiting only free attractions such as national parks, museums and monuments.

A Singaporean they met at the barbecue turned out to be a Pixar employee and offered them free passes to Disneyland. These would have otherwise cost them about $1,000.

The Ong's eldest son, Asher Ong, 16, says: "I was surprised. I always see Singaporeans looking so 'dead' and cold on the MRT. I didn't know Singaporeans can be so nice."

Ms Perlin Kathmann, 31, a Singaporean who has lived in the US for seven years, met the Ongs in Boise, Idaho, after contacting them on Facebook. The server and marketing associate at a pizzeria bought the family dinner at her workplace where they exchanged stories about their travels in Singlish. She said: "It's like a small slice of home dropped in specially to see me."

Through Singaporean contacts, the Ongs also went on educational tours of the Singapore Embassy in Washington D.C. and the United Nations building in New York City.

The family is now working on a book of their writings, with photos taken by Asher.

While the Ongs may be back in their five-room flat, they still recall the hospitality of the Singaporean community in the US. Said Mrs Ong: "Like what some say: You feel more Singaporean outside of Singapore than in Singapore."

This proof that without the PAP influencing, looking over their shoulders, controlling their lives...& they are HUMAN AGAIN & they found humanity in "Singaporeans' overseas.. who would be monsters if they had remained in Singapore.

I was shocked so many sinkies are in the US, and in some of the most unlikely places like Boise Idaho. They seem to be doing well too. These are the real talents that have left to be replaced by fake talents from PRC, India, etc. Fucking PAP.

should have visited annabel chong. she may literally "open up" everything for a wet and warm welcum.

i really wonder how Americans can put up with the brainlessness and gutlessness of Sinkies...............

Those there are the 30% bravehearts.

I find it funny a school teacher not sending his kids to school. Haha speak volumes of what he really thinks of Sg education system

singaporeans who leave singapore realise theres more to life than whats in singapore,in other ang moh countries u can do shit u cant imagine in singapore.in america or australia i can choose to be homeless,i can live in a tent,i can live in a van or a trailer,i can put up solar panels and get free unlimited electricity from the sun and power my electric volkswagen van,i can build my own hippie house or organic farm,i can live in the cold northern states,i can live in the hot southern states,i can live in las vegas,in a motel,in a apartment or even underground in the sewers where i can play poker night or day at the 11 casinos waiting to serve me,the unlimited free flow of booze,buffet,food,comps waiting for me.....i can be a redneck in texas,turn my house into a weapons depot ammunition bunker doomsday prepper,i can enjoy the never ending southern barbeque festivals and funfairs and the barbeque championships......i can live in california or houstan or new york........i can be a entrepreneur in america,a capitalist or industrialist,or real estate mogul.....in america i can build shit in my garage,i can own 3000 kilowatt electric scooters....i can jack my house up with batteries,converters,generators,wood stove ovens in winter time like its the day after tomorrow and the ice age is here........

in singapore everything is banned and illegal and shit,online gambling banned,u have to pay $100 to go to casino and shit,no grafittie,no titty bars,no sex shops,nothing.wtf can u do besides rot in ur pigeon hole and watch tv and dream?.what else to do beside make money?after u make 200k,300k or 500k or 1.5m what then?

You can find Sporeans almost everywhere. I have met them around my old neighbourhood in Edmonton & Calgary.

Once they have lived outside of Spore for at least a year, they start to become de-Sinkified & start to relax & smell the roses & appreciate that there is more to life than the PAP :smile:

should have visited annabel chong. she may literally "open up" everything for a wet and warm welcum.

Maybe she can de-virginate the oldest boy, and provide first time lesbian experience for the mother...............you know for old countryman's sake.

singaporeans who leave singapore realise theres more to life than whats in singapore,in other ang moh countries u can do shit u cant imagine in singapore.in america or australia i can choose to be homeless,i can live in a tent,i can live in a van or a trailer,i can put up solar panels and get free unlimited electricity from the sun and power my electric volkswagen van,i can build my own hippie house or organic farm,i can live in the cold northern states,i can live in the hot southern states,i can live in las vegas,in a motel,in a apartment or even underground in the sewers where i can play poker night or day at the 11 casinos waiting to serve me,the unlimited free flow of booze,buffet,food,comps waiting for me.....i can be a redneck in texas,turn my house into a weapons depot ammunition bunker doomsday prepper,i can enjoy the never ending southern barbeque festivals and funfairs and the barbeque championships......i can live in california or houstan or new york........i can be a entrepreneur in america,a capitalist or industrialist,or real estate mogul.....in america i can build shit in my garage,i can own 3000 kilowatt electric scooters....i can jack my house up with batteries,converters,generators,wood stove ovens in winter time like its the day after tomorrow and the ice age is here........

in singapore everything is banned and illegal and shit,online gambling banned,u have to pay $100 to go to casino and shit,no grafittie,no titty bars,no sex shops,nothing.wtf can u do besides rot in ur pigeon hole and watch tv and dream?.what else to do beside make money?after u make 200k,300k or 500k or 1.5m what then?

U can do all those things because the govt of those countries don't own 90% of the land like the govt here does.

Kuailan

Once they go to AMerica, they do not become gutless and brainless anymore.

Stinkapore with it's stupid policies that all student pass 2nd language
than can go Uni..what happened the smart boys and girls are ppor in 2nd language but powerful in English language and are very brainy!!

These are the Stingapoor lads study overseas with Honors Degree, PHD etc etc will never return to Stingapoor!! cos they are well taken off and well paid!!

So Stingapoor got to import Foreign Trash (PRC, Ah Neh, Pinoy) with Fake degree to work in Stingapoor...and the real Stingapooorean who voted for this gahmen rather employ Foreign Trash with Fake degree...namely Southern Pacific University, never heard off and a degree mill, producing fake degree for a small fee!!

Nat Geo program showed Pinoy land back lane producing fake degree that look almost authentic for USD$5.00!!

So what do u expect??

You can find Sporeans almost everywhere. I have met them around my old neighbourhood in Edmonton & Calgary.

Once they have lived outside of Spore for at least a year, they start to become de-Sinkified & start to relax & smell the roses & appreciate that there is more to life than the PAP :smile:

after 30 years of absence i find life miserable without the pap.

A high school teacher and a stay-at-home mom. Where is the talent? :confused:

P.S. Just realize this sounded nasty, but the point i was trying to make is that this is an ordinary family wanting to take time off for a long road trip together. They are not leaving the country for good lah. Are they? :confused:

Stinkapore with it's stupid policies that all student pass 2nd language
than can go Uni..what happened the smart boys and girls are ppor in 2nd language but powerful in English language and are very brainy!!

These are the Stingapoor lads study overseas with Honors Degree, PHD etc etc will never return to Stingapoor!! cos they are well taken off and well paid!!

So Stingapoor got to import Foreign Trash (PRC, Ah Neh, Pinoy) with Fake degree to work in Stingapoor...and the real Stingapooorean who voted for this gahmen rather employ Foreign Trash with Fake degree...namely Southern Pacific University, never heard off and a degree mill, producing fake degree for a small fee!!

Nat Geo program showed Pinoy land back lane producing fake degree that look almost authentic for USD$5.00!!

So what do u expect??

The irony is that imported FT trash also cannot pass 2nd language. Ask yourself how many supposed FT PRC uni grads working here can speak english to save their lives? How many NUS scholarships given to FT from Vietnam, China, India, can get even a C in A levels GP?

A high school teacher and a stay-at-home mom. Where is the talent? :confused:

P.S. Just realize this sounded nasty, but the point i was trying to make is that this is an ordinary family wanting to take time off for a long road trip together. They are not leaving the country for good lah. Are they? :confused:

I am referring to the surprising number of sinkies they met along the way in the US that have permanently moved there and seem to be doing well.