• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Landlords Boh Song!

Pinkieslut

Ultra-demanding tenants reign supreme as home rents crash

Demands are getting ridiculous, landlords say.

Gone are the days when property owners and investors ruled the market as tenants today have the choice of being picky given the influx of new units, reported The Straits Times.

In the case of Celine Tan, her potential tenant wanted the unit to be fully furnished, have new bath towels and cutlery, a bigger TV set and free servicing of air-conditioners.

“It’s quite ridiculous. I never had this experience in the last 10 to 15 years of renting, but everyone in the market is so competitive… (that I) have to accede to most of their requests,” she said.

Although Tan did not provide new bath towels and cutlery, she gave in to the other demands, which included refurbishing the dining room and bedroom, with the tenants selecting the new furniture. “They took a picture at Ikea and showed me the model they wanted,” she added.

With that, she was able to rent her three-bedroom apartment at Robertson 100 in Robertson Quay last year for $4,600 per month, down from $5,200 previously.

Aside from lower rents, tenants are also demanding shorter leases of six months to one year, noted PropNex agent Anthea Yeo. “Rental is coming down; nobody wants to commit to two years because they know next year, it could be cheaper.”

She revealed that the lacklustre market also saw her income drop by $200,000 in 2015 from the year before.

According to data from the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA), private residential rents dropped by 4.6 percent last year. The suburbs registered the biggest decline, with rents falling 5.6 percent, followed by the city fringe and city area at 4.9 percent and 3.8 percent respectively.

Analysts expect rents to continue sliding this year amid the weaker economy, tight immigration policies and a flood of 26,467 new private homes and executive condominiums.

In fact, rents may fall by more than eight percent this year, said Century 21 Singapore Chief Executive Ku Swee Yong. Private home rents in suburban areas are expected to face more pressure as the bulk of new homes are found there.

Cushman & Wakefield Research Head Christine Li expects the vacancy rate for private homes to increase from 8.1 percent in Q4 2015 to a “critical point” of nine to 10 percent this year.

“At that level, it shows that the market is correcting in a big way, and owners may be a bit jittery, so they may rush to offload their units,” noted Li.
- See more at: http://sbr.com.sg/source/propertygu...supreme-home-rents-crash#sthash.pWW03DS4.dpuf

Bloody hell ! Got money to collect still boh song. Of course is the tenant 说了算 they are the customer. Of she boh song don't sell to customer lo.

NanoSpeed

Bloody hell ! Got money to collect still boh song. Of course is the tenant 说了算 they are the customer. Of she boh song don't sell to customer lo.

Limpeh provide free breakfast and capsule coffee machine plus digital safe. Now considering a tie up with social escort agency. Got tenant Mori cow peh liao la.

Investing in property for rental is non profitable. After tenant left, refurbishment itself is damaging. Of course , landed property is different. The amount you collect is like a months salary, but must invest and take loans, increasing risk of default and financial catastrophe.

Limpeh provide free breakfast and capsule coffee machine plus digital safe. Now considering a tie up with social escort agency. Got tenant Mori cow peh liao la.

Make sure u top up the capsule regularly else I will still kaw peh

congo9

You can ask the tenants to go for 2 year lease by lowering the rental again. You don't waste time doing all the unproductive stuff like adding more furniture, pay more air conditioning cleaning, broker's fee. These landlord are really landlord. No business skills to talk about.

My tenants don't dare to pull such a stunt with me. Landlords can make more money when they stuff 20-30 tenants into a single room. They would be grateful for a roof over their head and a double-decker bunk bed instead of self-centred tenants who demand expensive furnishing and aircon.

SkinTrade

Supply exceeds demand.........you think what.......like the good old days? Mai lor if not happy with this tenant................ wait for others...... wait long long............LOL