• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Bureaucracy more bloated with the formation of 2 new Stat Boards

More room to park their future ex SAF scholar generals. What is this talk of productivity when the PAP is getting more and more unproductive with more and more layers of bureaucracy.

New statutory boards to change how Singapore views education: Ong Ye Kung
The two new statutory boards will "make us look at education differently - that it is no longer just confined to schools and institutes of higher learning, but it is a personal lifelong pursuit for mastery and excellence", says the Acting Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills).

SINGAPORE: The formation of two new statutory boards to drive the national focus on skills and employment is a "timely move" that will change how Singapore looks at education, said Acting Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills) Ong Ye Kung on Wednesday (Jan 13).

“Education and lifelong learning will be integrated as one. This will make us look at education differently - that it is no longer just confined to schools and institutes of higher learning, but it is a personal lifelong pursuit for mastery and excellence.

"So whatever foundation we have laid for ourselves in the education system, lifelong learning takes it a step and many steps further, so that we keep building upon it until we achieve personal mastery."

The two statutory boards will also help to increase the "synergies in the development of manpower and skills”, he added.

The SkillsFuture Singapore (SSG) statutory board will take over some functions of the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) and absorb the Council for Private Education statutory board, which oversees private schools.

Mr Ong said the board hopes to leverage Singapore's higher education system to boost lifelong learning. It will also seek to integrate the qualification frameworks across the various institutions.

"Where it's practical and sensible, now that the system is together, we should look at mutual recognition, so that what you learn under one qualification can possibly be recognised by another qualification," he said. "That will widen the choices for students, for workers, for learners to progress as you learn."

Meanwhile, WDA will be reconstituted into Workforce Singapore (WSG), which remains under the Manpower Ministry, and will focus on jobs and helping companies become manpower-lean while staying competitive.

NEW INITIATIVES TO BOOST POWER SECTOR

Mr Ong was speaking at the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between 17 companies and four educational institutions - Nanyang Polytechnic, Ngee Ann Polytechnic (NP), Singapore Polytechnic (SP) and the Institute of Technical Education (ITE) - as part of a move to boost the power sector. Two new initiatives were launched - the SkillsFuture: Enhanced Internships and Earn and Learn Programme (ELP).

Under the enhanced internships, more than 800 polytechnic and ITE electrical engineering students will spend six months gaining practical working experience in the power engineering sector. From March, a new structure will be put in place, and the programme also aims to make “good mentorship and guidance a norm”, said Mr Ong. This programme currently comes under the purview of MOE.

On the other hand, the ELP will cater to polytechnic graduates who are ready to step into the workforce. Polytechnics will match graduates with jobs in the relevant sectors, following which the graduates will build their skills and knowledge through on-the-job training and institution-based learning.

Under the ELP, SP will offer the 18-month Advanced Diploma in Power Engineering from April, while NP will kickstart a new 12-month Specialist Diploma in Electrical Design and Operation in October. The ELP will be managed by WDA under the Manpower Ministry.

Moving forward, both the enhanced internships and ELPs will be handled by the SSG, as MOE will be overseeing all SkillsFuture functions. Mr Ong added that these two new initiatives must be managed in a “coherent manner in the interest of students and industry”.

“With this change, we can pursue skills development and support lifelong learning in a more holistic and coherent fashion, gradually erasing the lines drawn between Pre-Employment Training and Continuing Education and Training. At the same time with this structure, we will begin to bridge qualification systems in the academic and work skills development domains," he said.

Reddog

The problem with the pap is to keep cronies in good paying jobs hence the large number of stat boards, community services, civil service, etc. Visit any community centres / clubs and you will see thousands of pap supporters at work. Ditto at town councils, safra, librarys, etc. It really is not easy to stay in power.

No problem is too big when you got the money to throw at it. Teehee!

blueRad

Totally agreed. The number of MPs in Parliament needs to be reduced. The G must show an example and the lead the way for productivity by starting with themselves. We can save a lot of money this way.

Another scheme to pay out million dollar salaries to cronies.

Sinkapore government is one of the most inefficient one in the world.

PAP is good at copycat angmoh countries ideas. No talent PAP are wayang pretend to do something which they are NOT allowed to do. Follow and take instruction top down.

Angmoh already source IT talents from India. Let the stupid India do the training. Training is a waste of money and resources.

This stat board could have been set up five years ago if sinkies voted for PAP instead of stupidly voting in the opposition. The opposition that they don't have what it takes to run their town council competently. I wouldn't trust Low Thia Khiang to run a kid's lemonade stand, let alone a town council. Have you seen how shabby Hougang SMC is?

greedy and cunning

what is the point when Ft with a cert/degree obtained from their countries
are allowed in easily.
are they saying sillypoore uni and polytechnic are of lower standard ?

Hans168

after Leo Yip got promoted WDA went downhil......... now with new status of Stat Board will things get better?
Bascically doing same shit but DS now Big boss of a Stat Board - free promotion for doing same old shit. This PAP style & PeeM wonders why productivity din improve since 1990..!!!!!!!!!!!!! Any idiot can see why but these papig fools see no evil, hear no evil & speak no evil. No hope lah!!

after Leo Yip got promoted WDA went downhil......... now with new status of Stat Board will things get better?
Bascically doing same shit but DS now Big boss of a Stat Board - free promotion for doing same old shit. This PAP style & PeeM wonders why productivity din improve since 1990..!!!!!!!!!!!!! Any idiot can see why but these papig fools see no evil, hear no evil & speak no evil. No hope lah!!

Look at how many ministers need to assist him in his PMO, you can already see that its bloated and unproductive.

Got 2 DPM, Tharm and Teo.
Then got Minister without portfolio KeeChiu
2 senior Minister of States Josephine Teo and Heng Chee How
And Khaw Boon Wan.

This stat board could have been set up five years ago if sinkies voted for PAP instead of stupidly voting in the opposition would have proven that they don't have what it takes to run their town council competently. I wouldn't trust Low Thia Khiang to run a kid's lemonade stand, let alone a town council. Have you seen how shabby Hougang SMC is?

I am not aware that the oppo won. What shit u talking?