• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Confession of a clerk in the SAF

zeroo

Mark Farha Kon
November 27 at 11:59am · Edited ·

I'm no warfighter. I think many of us serving our two years in the army aren't. But I know of a good number of people who, at moment's notice, are more than willing to get up, put on their Full Battle Order, and defend Singapore.

Because we know what is at stake. Because we know that the peace we enjoy is not free. Because we know how much blood sweat and tears was poured into the building of this miracle nation.

When we leave home everyday and tell our family we love them, we look in their eyes and we know what we fight for, what we defend. We know we have the luxury of coming back home to a house intact, a family intact. Many people in war torn zones don't get this chance we take for granted.

When we walk past a mosque next to a temple next to a church, we know this is something completely inorganic. That it took and still takes effort, understanding, racial harmony, to enjoy such things as non-event.

You type from your office chair in your 8-5 job in your air conditioned room, which you drove to in your air conditioned car, and mock the preparedness of the SAF in the event an incursion occurs.

But you forget, not everybody passed out a lance corporal like you, unfulfilled and bitter that the government "stole" two years of your life. And whilst everybody counted down to their ORD the same way you did, they didn't waste their two years lamenting the fact.

They learnt to accustom themselves to communal living, they lost their hair, wore the same number 4 as everyone else, ran in the same PT kit as everyone else, and learnt that in the army, there was no strata. The bungalow kid and the HDB kid all slept on the same beds, ate the same food, got punished all the same. Army was and still is the great equalizer.

Then some went on to go through 9 months of vigorous training, many attritioning throughout the course. Those that made it, we call them officers. Others went on to don three chevrons, spending 6 months in the grueling hell they call Specialist Cadet School. Most get sent to the Infantry Regiments, 1 to 9 SIR as riflemen, and as they say, life for them is 2 years of Tekong. Not to forget those that got sent to commandos, guards, naval diver unit. They all became more comfortable in the humid forest, drenched in perspiration, long 4 covered in m&d, than you ever will be in your crisp white shirt and business pants.

And they all learned things you complainers and naysayers of the SAF never will : purpose, camaraderie, drive, determination, grit, sacrifice.

You pay 200 a month for a manicured gym to go to with towels provided, protein shake bars, steam and shower rooms. The jungle is their gym. Flipping tyres, running in the full heat of the sun.

You haven't seen the Master Warrant Officers who have badges so plentiful, they run out of space on their uniform to sew it on. The ones with ranger and guard tabs. The ones who went to America, trained as navy seals, and passed out navy seals. Yes, we have navy seals in Singapore, and they are Singaporean.

The ones who everyday, hold themselves to the highest standards in the execution of their jobs, because they know, they're not just doing a job for a pay : they're keeping Singapore safe.

So that naysayers like you who passed out lance corporal with neither testimony nor combat skills badge can mock the very system and organization that allows you the safety and peace of mind to even think of mocking them.

I know these soldiers, I know these men, I've seen these enciks. They might drink beer and talk nonsense while off duty, and you dismiss and discount them, but inside they possess the grit you never will. They are proud to be part of the SAF, and their stories, scars and experiences they will forever carry with them as badges of honor. They've done much and gone through much worth remembering, i can't say the same for you complainers.

A Master Warrant Officer who is a special ops commando once told me this : "why 国家 and not 家国? Because if there is no country, can you even have a home?"

These people who do, and not just talk, have all my respect.

Yours sincerely, a clerk in the SAF.

It is totally useless to defend a country full of ball-less stupid cowards.. I would gladly give the weapon to the enemy to have them exterminated..starting with PAP low life ball-less losers, grassroots members and RC members.

Poomer

As the saying goes, if cock can talk, cheebye can sing.

The fella is singing like a canary.

It is totally useless to defend a country full of ball-less stupid cowards.. I would gladly give the weapon to the enemy to have them exterminated..starting with PAP low life ball-less losers, grassroots members and RC members.

no need to fight lah..............just do a Lee Kuan Yew and be a translator for the enemy lor..............

real war come.............all the generals AWOL or take MC liao lor..............soldiers also same lah

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The Master Warrant talking cock. What rubbish 国家and家国stupid interpretation.

(礼记-大学) 修身齐家治国平天下。 修身为首。

Has the makings of a grassroots leader.

In the event of war, the SAF will fare no better than the SPF when it came to handling a small bunch of drunk banglas.

They'll all be running around like headless chickens because although there are good men in the SAF, it is not a cohesive fighting force and it is being lead by clowns.

Has the makings of a grassroots leader.

In the event of war, the SAF will fare no better than the SPF when it came to handling a small bunch of drunk banglas.

They'll all be running around like headless chickens because although there are good men in the SAF, it is not a cohesive fighting force and it is being lead by clowns.

Boss, tell us your days in the service of the nation how you lead your men into battle or at least simulated battles.

As the saying goes, if cock can talk, cheebye can sing.

The fella is singing like a canary.

A canary sings, at least it is melodic & pleasant, but , when you are not in the mood, damn irritating..but still pleasant. But this one, is a CB crowing like a COCK..wah!..that's downright, torture!.

All these are paid 'script writers' done by the SAF...all we who had been 'shanghaied' for N.S.....will want only to, go in, serve & get the f%$%&&%k out of there....:p

greedy and cunning

Definition of psychological manipulation
Psychological manipulation is a type of social influence that aims to change the perception or behavior of others through underhanded, deceptive, or abusive tactics.[1] By advancing the interests of the manipulator, often at another's expense, such methods could be considered exploitative, abusive, devious, and deceptive. Social influence is not necessarily negative

Eight Ways to Spot Emotional Manipulation

http://www.cassiopaea.com/cassiopaea/emotional_manipulation.htm

Boss, tell us your days in the service of the nation how you lead your men into battle or at least simulated battles.

I was one of the clowns that was absolutely incapable of leading my men anywhere except downhill towards oblivion.

yeah boy, that is what PAP is good at and sinkie kanna manipulated daily.

Another human being who is good in this evil art is......WOMAN

CABcommander

The Master Warrant talking cock. What rubbish 国家and家国stupid interpretation.

(礼记-大学) 修身齐家治国平天下。 修身为首。

More to this.

格物,致知,诚意,正心,修身,齐家,治国,平天下

格物,就是要求人们亲历其事,亲操其物,即物穷理,增长见识。在读书中求知,在实践中求知,而后明辩事物,尽事物之理。
致知,就是求为真知。从推致事物之理中,探明本心之知。如一面镜子,本来全体通明,只被事物昏蔽,暗淡不清,现在逐渐擦去灰尘,使恢复光明,有了真知。所谓知,指道德意识而言,知既至,则能明是非、善恶之辨,闻见所及,胸中了然。物格而后知至。
诚意,就是要意念诚实。知既尽,则意可得而实,发于心之自然,非有所矫饰,自然能做到不欺人,亦不自欺,在“慎独”上下功夫,严格要求自己,修养德性,知至而后意诚。
正心,就是要除去各种不安的情绪,不为物欲所蔽,保持心灵的安静。意不自欺,则心之本体,物不能动,而无不正。心得其正,则公正诚明,不涉感情,无所偏倚。故意诚而后心正。
修身,就是要不断提高自己的品德修养。只有自身的品德端正,无偏见,无邪念,才能为人民所拥护。修身是格物、致知、诚意、正心功夫的落脚点,又是齐家、治国、平天下的始发点。心正而后身修,身修而后家齐。
齐家,就是要整齐好自己的家庭,只有教育好自己的家庭成员,才能教化人民。
治国,就是要为政以德,实行德治,布仁政于国中。君主要像保护初生的小孩那样保护人民,以至善之德教化人民,使人民除旧布新,日新又新。统治者要使仁、敬、孝、慈、信的仁爱之风充满全国,国治而后天下平。
平天下,就是要布仁政于天下,使天下太平。平天下最重要的是要求君主具有“洁矩之道”,即以度己之心度人的高尚崇高品质,作为人民的榜样。由于平天下是多方面的,这就要求君主尊老兴孝,敬长兴悌,恤孤爱民,布行仁政。君主要实行恕道(己所不欲,勿施于人),坦诚至公,以德为本,举拔贤臣,提倡忠信,开源节流,以义为利,如此则能臻天下太平的境界。

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
More to this.

格物,致知,诚意,正心,修身,齐家,治国,平天下

格物,就是要求人们亲历其事,亲操其物,即物穷理,增长见识。在读书中求知,在实践中求知,而后明辩事物,尽事物之理。
致知,就是求为真知。从推致事物之理中,探明本心之知。如一面镜子,本来全体通明,只被事物昏蔽,暗淡不清,现在逐渐擦去灰尘,使恢复光明,有了真知。所谓知,指道德意识而言,知既至,则能明是非、善恶之辨,闻见所及,胸中了然。物格而后知至。
诚意,就是要意念诚实。知既尽,则意可得而实,发于心之自然,非有所矫饰,自然能做到不欺人,亦不自欺,在“慎独”上下功夫,严格要求自己,修养德性,知至而后意诚。
正心,就是要除去各种不安的情绪,不为物欲所蔽,保持心灵的安静。意不自欺,则心之本体,物不能动,而无不正。心得其正,则公正诚明,不涉感情,无所偏倚。故意诚而后心正。
修身,就是要不断提高自己的品德修养。只有自身的品德端正,无偏见,无邪念,才能为人民所拥护。修身是格物、致知、诚意、正心功夫的落脚点,又是齐家、治国、平天下的始发点。心正而后身修,身修而后家齐。
齐家,就是要整齐好自己的家庭,只有教育好自己的家庭成员,才能教化人民。
治国,就是要为政以德,实行德治,布仁政于国中。君主要像保护初生的小孩那样保护人民,以至善之德教化人民,使人民除旧布新,日新又新。统治者要使仁、敬、孝、慈、信的仁爱之风充满全国,国治而后天下平。
平天下,就是要布仁政于天下,使天下太平。平天下最重要的是要求君主具有“洁矩之道”,即以度己之心度人的高尚崇高品质,作为人民的榜样。由于平天下是多方面的,这就要求君主尊老兴孝,敬长兴悌,恤孤爱民,布行仁政。君主要实行恕道(己所不欲,勿施于人),坦诚至公,以德为本,举拔贤臣,提倡忠信,开源节流,以义为利,如此则能臻天下太平的境界。

Aiyah. Very hard to copy and paste from my phone. I usually surf using phone. Thanks for the extended version. Wonder how many here truly understands it :smile:

Edited: just read it carefully. Did not know there were the earlier 3 parts. Was it added on later? The orginal text did not have the earlier parts.