• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gay Loong admits Chiam was PAP lackey, and oppos must porlumpar to PAP

Singapore needs an opposition which understands the country's interests and does not seek to undermine them, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said yesterday when giving the S. Rajaratnam Lecture on foreign affairs.

Such political unity is needed for domestic success. And domestic success - which means having economic prosperity, peace, a well-run state and strong defence - is what underpins successful foreign policy, Mr Lee said. "Singapore must continue to succeed as a nation to wield any influence at all."

He stressed that being united politically does not mean having no opposition. Rather, it means that Government and opposition "come together after elections, especially when dealing with other countries".

What is needed is "an opposition that will understand Singapore's fundamental interests in the world and will not seek to undermine them, to court foreign support or to gain political points", he said.

Singapore has had opposition politicians like that, he added, and cited former Member of Parliament Chiam See Tong.

"Whatever our domestic disagreements... when he travels overseas, he stands up for Singapore and closes ranks. And that is really the norm that should prevail in politics in Singapore."

Mr Lee noted that where "politics is fractious", foreign policy changes with the political winds.

This makes cooperation with other countries difficult, as partners cannot be sure that what is agreed with one government will be honoured by the next.

It also makes it easier for other countries to take advantage of the political uncertainty, by simply waiting for governments to change.

It is thus important for Singapore to maintain a clear foreign policy direction and pursue that in the long term, Mr Lee concluded.

Singaporeans must also be united "regardless of race, language and religion", he said, adding that the country's ethnic groups have cultural ties to corresponding groups in India, China and South-east Asia.

This is an asset as it aids cooperation, but also a vulnerability if "external ethnic or religious pulls split us along the primordial fault lines".

"So we have to keep working at our racial and religious harmony, and keep strengthening our shared Singaporean identity," he said.

Mr Lee noted that on the world stage, Singapore is careful to maintain a distinction between ethnicity and Singaporean identity.

When Singapore leaders meet Chinese leaders formally, they speak in English and use interpreters - even if they know Mandarin. "It's an important point of principle."

Mr Lee recalled once explaining the difference between "Singaporean Chinese" and "Chinese Chinese" to a Japanese prime minister - who then asked his interpreter what "Chinese Chinese" meant.

Not everyone might understand the difference, he said. "But the distinction is critical to us in a multiracial society."

There is a difference when a person say he is Singaporean Chinese or Chinese Singaporean. A Singaporean Chinese is an ignorant and insular breed of Chinese, while a Chinese Singaporean is a particularly greedy and short-sighted Singaporean. I do not understand why Loong wishes to emphasize his "Chinese-ness". Only retards do that.

spotter542

Straits born Chinese became a turncoat in WWII , then power hungry , then "gai siao" Lim Chee Siong and many other fellow man ( and woman )
He then open the floodgates for Chinese Chinese with loads of dirty money to be laundered here
These yaya Chinese Chinese came here to lord over the naive and gullible Singapore Chinese

Straits born Chinese became a turncoat in WWII , then power hungry , then "gai siao" Lim Chee Siong and many other fellow man ( and woman )
He then open the floodgates for Chinese Chinese with loads of dirty money to be laundered here
These yaya Chinese Chinese came here to lord over the naive and gullible Singapore Chinese

Which Straits born chinese? U mean Old Fart?

The late Harry , who else

Harry not Straits born lah. His mother was. She was through and through Peranakan. His father was some Chinese FT from Semarang, Indonesia. He got one quarter Malay blood and grew up speaking only Malay in his home. at most you can say he is half straits chinese.

kukubird59

hahaha....you idiot better changed your nick to OPPOsmearer lah....
first u label WP as fake oppo party and traitor dogs....
then you smeared CST as papee lackey...
anybody with half a brain will know that all these OPPO smearing is not going to help the overall OPPO cause???
truly retarded...

hahaha....you idiot better changed your nick to OPPOsmearer lah....
first u label WP as fake oppo party and traitor dogs....
then you smeared CST as papee lackey...
anybody with half a brain will know that all these OPPO smearing is not going to help the overall OPPO cause???
truly retarded...

The opposition did sinkies the greatest favour by showing themselves to be utterly incompetent. Most of us don't think the opposition can be trusted to run a hot dog stand properly, let alone the country. Look at WP's areas. The Aljunied Town Council accounts and management are still in a mess.

SDP has not even come close to winning any elections since Chee took over.

Singapore is far better off under one-party rule, as agreed by the vast majority of voters young and old.