• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good news: 600k + sinkies only pay min sum or never for credit card debts.

hbk75

MORE PEOPLE IN CREDIT CARD DEBT

ACCORDING TO THE CREDIT BUREAU SINGAPORE, THE TOTAL NUMBER OF DELINQUENT DEBTORS HIT MORE THAN 101,490 THIS YEAR

He had a good job that paid him $7,500 a month but the way he used his credit cards, you would think he earned a lot more.

The debts snowballed and before Mr Toh knew it, he owed $103,000 to the banks.

His story is typical of many who have been caught up in a credit card debt situation which has spiralled out of control.

In 2011, the total number of delinquent debtors was just over 73,000.

These are people who pay nothing or less than the minimum sum on their credit card debts.

According to the Credit Bureau Singapore, it has hit more than 101,493 this year.

It is the same story with revolving debtors who roll their credit card debts by covering at least the minimum sum.

More people are also turning to debt counsellors for help.

According to Credit Counselling Singapore (CCS), the biggest credit card debt this year is a whopping $1,552,000.

Mr Toh, too, had no choice but to pick up the phone when he realised he had lost all control.

As with everything, it started small.

The 39-year-old, who now works as a sales officer and part-time taxi driver, was a regional sales manager in 2005 and frequently travelled.

He carried several credit cards to cover his travelling expenses, which his employers reimbursed the following month.

Despite the reimbursement, he'd pay only the monthly minimum sum of $2,500 for his five credit cards for about three years.

He says: "I was earning quite a decent sum then, so I thought I could give my family a better life and pay back the following month."

But he lost track of how much he was spending and how much he could claim, he adds.

Besides paying his parents' medical bills of about $1,000 a month, he would also take his family of seven to restaurants and shopping malls twice a week. A night out typically cost $300.

QUIT JOB

It all went downhill after Mr Toh quit his job in 2012.

He then earned only about $3,500 as a part-time sales officer and taxi driver but the debts followed him.

He says: "At that time, I only thought of my family. I didn't have the motivation to pay more than the minimum sum for my debts."

He did not have enough left over to cover the $2,500 minimum payment each month.

Mr Toh took a bank loan of $10,000 to pay off his credit card debts, only to find out that it was not enough and that loan accumulated interest, too.

His credit card debt snowballed to $103,000 and his financial struggles contributed to his divorce in 2012.

Last year, he finally sought help from CCS.

He now follows the Debt Management Programme which will help him clear all his debt in the next three years.

He says he is thankful for the help from CCS. His sisters are also helping by paying for their parents' medical bills.

Mr Toh says: "Without the support from CCS and my family, I don't think I could ever finish paying my debt."

People who need help shouldn't wait, says Ms Tan Huey Min of CCS.

"People with a debt issue have to deal with it as soon as possible before it snowballs into a greater sum every month," she adds.

Debtors must be mindful of economy

Last month, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong warned that Singapore must brace itself for a possible downturn.

Ms Tan Huey Min of Credit Counselling Singapore (CCS) says debtors have to be mindful of the economy and how it will affect their income.

"Once they know that their income is affected, they have to take quick actions to solve the problem before it snowballs into a greater debt," she says.

She adds that while some people gamble their way into debt, the top reason for getting into credit card debt is overspending.

Here's how two individuals found themselves on the slippery slope of credit card debt.

SHOPPING

Mr Nor, 57, often used his credit cards when shopping in Malaysia and Indonesia.

Thinking that he was saving money because of the exchange rate, he used his credit cards to pay for almost everything.

He says: "It was so convenient to keep using my credit cards even in supermarkets."

Mr Nor was earning about $2,000 a month as an administrative officer and an extra $1,000 as a part-time driver.

In 2009, he lost his part-time job and had incurred a debt of about $60,000 from using four credit cards and from four bank loans.

Even though he paid the total minimum sum of $2,000 a month for four years, he still owed $60,000 in 2013 because of interest.

He says: "When the bank warned me about paying immediately, I was so afraid because if I didn't pay up, they said they would take me to court."

He has been on CCS' Debt Management Programme (DMP) for about two years now. In four years' time, he will be debt-free.

GAMBLING

By the time he hit rock bottom in 2012, regional product manager Lee, 44, had a debt of $550,000.

His problem was gambling. He said he would often take foreign visitors to the casinos here but eventually developed an interest in gaming himself.

He says: "The boredom I had after work eventually led to me gambling just for fun.

"As my bets got bigger and bigger, using the credit card became very convenient."

To pay off his credit card debts, he took up three bank loans but continued gambling while paying $1,000 to cover the minimum sum for the three cards he had.

He has been on the DMP for two years and has been paying his debt regularly since then.

Learn to manage your debt

A talk on debt management will be held today at Khoo Teck Puat Hospital.

Jointly organised by National Addictions Management Service, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital and North West Community Development Council, the talk is open to the public.

WHAT 
About National Addictions Awareness Day WHEN
Today, 10am to 3pm WHERE 
Khoo Teck Puat Hospital

BY THE NUMBERS

TOTAL NUMBER OF CREDIT CARD HOLDERS 
IN SINGAPORE

DEBTORS SEEKING HELP

AVERAGE DEBT PER DEBTOR WHO SOUGHT HELP

$99,623.25

$82,940.25

DELINQUENT DEBTORS (PAYING NOTHING OR LESS THAN MINIMUM SUM)

REVOLVING DEBTORS (ROLLING DEBT BY COVERING ONLY MINIMUM SUM)

BIGGEST DEBT AMOUNT$1,552,000

$1,281,042

$1,707,657

All figures are from Credit Bureau Singapore and Credit Counselling Singapore. Figures for this year are as of September.

Helplines

The Association of Banks in Singapore introduced the Repayment Assistance Scheme (RAS) this year to help borrowers reduce their credit card debt and other unsecured credit loans over time.

The RAS is administered by the Credit Counseling Singapore (CCS), which centralises repayment solutions.

To be eligible, your income must be less than $120,000 per annum and your outstanding unsecured debt must be greater than your annual income before June 1 this year.

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-news/more-people-credit-card-debt

That is why the CPF minimum sum scheme is so important.

The PAP is most certainly the best!

Ha1ry Potter

Hahaha those STOOPIG Lawyer Letter of Demand are standard templates prepared by part time $1,200 clerk who just copy and paste and mail to you or by their own courier.
i already ignored them for 5yrs.
To the STOOPIG BANKS - EAT YR HEART OUT hahaha

xebay11

Hahaha those STOOPIG Lawyer Letter of Demand are standard templates prepared by part time $1,200 clerk who just copy and paste and mail to you or by their own courier.
i already ignored them for 5yrs.
To the STOOPIG BANKS - EAT YR HEART OUT hahaha

The next letter you will be receiving is a letter of bankruptcy. Eat your heart out dude.

Life is hard enough without having to support the lifestyle that the Lees & cronies have become used to. Heaven help the 70% because most of them are heading for the Bedok reservoir:eek:

They can come up with all kinds of payment schemes but I think many "lesser mortals" are over comitted e.g. low pay, forced contribution to the PAP's CPFponzi scheme, car loans, mortgage loans, credit card loans, ERP, PAP prices on power & water charges,.... & of course the PAP's gambling dens.

xebay11

Life is hard enough without having to support the lifestyle that the Lees & cronies have become used to. Heaven help the 70% because most of them are heading for the Bedok reservoir:eek:

They can come up with all kinds of payment schemes but I think many "lesser mortals" are over comitted e.g. low pay, forced contribution to the PAP's CPFponzi scheme, car loans, mortgage loans, credit card loans, ERP, PAP prices on power & water charges,.... & of course the PAP's gambling dens.

And Royce Chocolates and Din Tai Fang meals..... So poor thing.

Nowadays I see many stores in Spore selling over priced items. I vote with my $ & avoid these expensive places by buying from online store like Amazon, or visiting stores in JB, KL, LOS, Batam,...

I now don't even bother going out to visit the Spore malls, except to look at items that I intend to buy online for a cheaper price.
I've already made my shopping list for the Black Friday sales in the US:smile:

no_faith

Yes increasing stats from my point of view.
As ppl say banks are licensed loanshark.

When i was younger i went to ccs. Dont be shy or ps. If u really cant pay and exceed ur daily expenses. Go and seek help.
Cos the interest keep snow balling. U need to stop the bleed.
U can lapse for few months and banks terminated ur account, request for composite sum, banks will give slight discount on ur total outstanding for 1 time payment.

Ha1ry Potter

The next letter you will be receiving is a letter of bankruptcy. Eat your heart out dude.

GongKia XeBy, yes, this nic suits u, XeBy.

mai kay kiang hor.

what letter of bankruptcy?
You banker or Lawlan?
Mai kay kiang hor STOOPIG XEBY!!

XEBAY===》》 XEBY.

congo9

Nowadays I see many stores in Spore selling over priced items. I vote with my $ & avoid these expensive places by buying from online store like Amazon, or visiting stores in JB, KL, LOS, Batam,...

I now don't even bother going out to visit the Spore malls, except to look at items that I intend to buy online for a cheaper price.
I've already made my shopping list for the Black Friday sales in the US:smile:

The delivery cost from US to Singapore is really crazy and highly in competitive

If single, very easy to control your costs.
But families will find it difficult as every member has their own needs.
The problems escalate with the number of people in the family.

The delivery cost from US to Singapore is really crazy and highly in competitive

If the PAP are going to keep increasing rentals, the local businesses are in for a tough time because of the competitiion from US companies like Amazon, iHerb, ebay,....

These companies are offering better selection & prices than the local businesses. I've been getting my socks, underwear, t-shirts, shirts, pants, shoes, phone accesories, electric tooth brush, water irrigator, iPhone, health supplements, groceries, ..... from overseas.

I go for the branded stuff so I'm not a budget shopper. I recently bought a Dyson vac & saved $200+ from getting it locally:smile:

Reading this report I feel so proud to be a Singaporean because one has to be rich for bank to lend or give credit to you. Majulla Singapore don't you feel rich?

Sinkies may be rich but I find the majority to be rather dumb and very insular.

yellowarse

Agree. I don't shop at local malls anymore: high prices, no diversity, chain stores everywhere selling the same stuff. I do all my shopping online nowadays from books to CDs to DVDs to kitchen appliances to clothes and mobile phones and computer accessories.

Singapore is fucking expensive owing to the govt's land pricing policies, and the retail scene is dominated by big players crowding out small-time shopkeepers who provide more variety and more competitive pricing.