• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can a Singapore Family Survive with $2000 Salary? Here is the Maths!

tomychua

A few days back, they published an article, “Hard truth: You must earn this amount to be successful in S’pore”, in which we spoke about a man who is contented with earning $1,400. No doubt some people dismissed that as bullshit, so here’s the maths for you.

Firstly, it must be understood that the man is earning $1,400 per month, but the entire household (including his wife) could be drawing $2,000. So, taking $2,000, let’s see whether one family of four (parents + two kids) can survive in Singapore. Remember this: this man is contented. In other words, he’s fine with spending less without data plan, as long as he has the time to spend with his family.

Do note that for a $2,000 gross salary, the take-home pay is $1,600 after CPF deductions.

Food

Let’s say the entire family all have their three meals at home—if one needs to work or study, they can pack the food to work. Ingredients for a family of four can be around $10 per day—we’re referring to basic ones like chicken and vegetables, and not abalone or organic vegetables.

Monthly expenses: $310

Housing

With CPF, and a small two-room HDB flat, the CPF is able to pay in full for the instalment. In other words, there’s no need to fork out cash. The utilities will be less than $120 if they do not have any air-conditioner. There’s an additional $30 for the toiletries needed in the house.

Monthly expenses: $150

Bills

An Internet connection at home is about $50, and with a router, everyone can share the connection. For handphones, they can opt not for postpaid plans but pre-paid ones, and choose not to have data connection—with that, the most one need to pay is $10 per person. Trust me, one can survive without a data plan—if people want to WhatsApp you, just tell them to SMS you instead.

Monthly: $90

Insurance

Poor man can’t complain: they just need to have MediaShield that will cover any unforeseen hospitalization expenses. MediaShield can be bought with CPF, so cash upfront is nil.

Monthly: $0

Transport

Presuming that each one of the travel often, one person’s expenses without taking any taxi is about $50 or less.

Monthly: $200

Total: $750

Before you go apeshit and wonder whether anyone can survive with this kind of lifestyle, our question to you is this: How do you define “survive” and “lifestyle”?

You see, it has almost become a norm to have a smartphone, a data plan, meals in restaurants, air-conditioning and even taxi rides that we’ve completely redefined the meaning of survival.

The question here shouldn’t be whether one can survive with such an income: the question should be this: can you accept it? What is your definition of “contented”? If this lifestyle brings you happiness, would you want it?

harimau

Piano lessons $200 per month per child.
Swimming lessons $200 per month per child.
Ice skating lessons $200 per month per child.
School fees $400 per month per child

Total $1000 per month per child. Got 2 children $2000 per month!

I hope Maths were so simple.

aerobwala

All these lessons are not necessary:

Piano Lesson - how many of you make a living out of piano other than piano teacher ?

Swimming Lesson - other than professional diver, how many you actually need this skill for 1 in a 50-years event ?

Ice skating - Stinkapoo don't even snowing.

Wunderfool

Piano lessons $200 per month per child.
Swimming lessons $200 per month per child.
Ice skating lessons $200 per month per child.
School fees $400 per month per child

Total $1000 per month per child. Got 2 children $2000 per month!

I hope Maths were so simple.

You don't need all those if you just want to survive.

... so here’s the maths for you ...
u obviously failed ur maths ...

... the question should be this: can you accept it? What is your definition of “contented”? If this lifestyle brings you happiness, would you want it?
wen sinkielan haf highest gdp, y shud peasants b made 2 feel contented wif a $1500 pay? ... wen idiots can gif demselves multi-million $ salaries, y shud peasants take home $1500 n made 2 feel happy? ... y shud peasants haf contentment n lifestyle of a $1500 salary b 4sed upon dem? ...

kryonlight

This man doesn't exist. We know that he can't be a happy family man when his two kids are unhappy because they couldn't get their hands on the latest iPhone and can't go to university.

This man, if he ever exists, will be screwed so hard by the Women's Charter that he would become literally non-existent.

Fucktards pap dogs must have assume clothing, Education, health care and entertainment are free.

Education apply bursary....if smart kids get scholarship. 2nd hand textbooks from ntuc. School uniforms get hand me down. Entertainment get a tv monthly installment from courts. Only need electricity now no more tv license to pay

This is the most cock calculations I have seen in a while. No need to pay property tax? How about personal income tax, conservancy fees, school fees for the kids, school uniform, school supplies, toileteries, household supplies, electricity, water, etc.

whats the point of living in singapore when ur goal is just to survive?u can survive anywhere in the world,if we just want to be happy contented peasants why not move to malaysia or thailand?u can even live like a king on $1000 a month there.

singapore is a miserable shithole to live in,in order to compensate for living in a shithole with millions of daft idiotic morons,if i am to live in this retarded country i want to make every single dollar i can from these fucktards around me.hopefully one day i would have a conglomerate like li ka shing,im going to own 1 million shares each in singtel,smrt,starhub,comfort delgro,keppel,sia,mapletree,st eng,st indu,semb corp,bee wah land,raffles medical,

Leckmichamarsch

A few days back, they published an article, “Hard truth: You must earn this amount to be successful in S’pore”, in which we spoke about a man who is contented with earning $1,400. No doubt some people dismissed that as bullshit, so here’s the maths for you.

Firstly, it must be understood that the man is earning $1,400 per month, but the entire household (including his wife) could be drawing $2,000. So, taking $2,000, let’s see whether one family of four (parents + two kids) can survive in Singapore. Remember this: this man is contented. In other words, he’s fine with spending less without data plan, as long as he has the time to spend with his family.

Do note that for a $2,000 gross salary, the take-home pay is $1,600 after CPF deductions.

Food

Let’s say the entire family all have their three meals at home—if one needs to work or study, they can pack the food to work. Ingredients for a family of four can be around $10 per day—we’re referring to basic ones like chicken and vegetables, and not abalone or organic vegetables.

Monthly expenses: $310

Housing

With CPF, and a small two-room HDB flat, the CPF is able to pay in full for the instalment. In other words, there’s no need to fork out cash. The utilities will be less than $120 if they do not have any air-conditioner. There’s an additional $30 for the toiletries needed in the house.

Monthly expenses: $150

Bills

An Internet connection at home is about $50, and with a router, everyone can share the connection. For handphones, they can opt not for postpaid plans but pre-paid ones, and choose not to have data connection—with that, the most one need to pay is $10 per person. Trust me, one can survive without a data plan—if people want to WhatsApp you, just tell them to SMS you instead.

Monthly: $90

Insurance

Poor man can’t complain: they just need to have MediaShield that will cover any unforeseen hospitalization expenses. MediaShield can be bought with CPF, so cash upfront is nil.

Monthly: $0

Transport

Presuming that each one of the travel often, one person’s expenses without taking any taxi is about $50 or less.

Monthly: $200

Total: $750

Before you go apeshit and wonder whether anyone can survive with this kind of lifestyle, our question to you is this: How do you define “survive” and “lifestyle”?

You see, it has almost become a norm to have a smartphone, a data plan, meals in restaurants, air-conditioning and even taxi rides that we’ve completely redefined the meaning of survival.

The question here shouldn’t be whether one can survive with such an income: the question should be this: can you accept it? What is your definition of “contented”? If this lifestyle brings you happiness, would you want it?

no wonder f trashes laffing the way to the bank with salary of 5k or so/////////////////

if everyone has to live like what the retard who wrote the article said,why not just turn this country into a communist country?everybody eat 3 meals at home,take public transport to work/school,live in HDB flats accordance to ur cpf,never take taxi,masturbate to free porn online.

lets rid our country of the bourgeois intellectual million dollar ministars,the revolution of the workers is at hand!!

Nowadays mee pok is $2.50 to $3.00.

i suppose you miss the update on this thread.

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?219418-Affordable-fishball-noodle-at-only-2-unbelieable

image.jpg

kryonlight

This is the most cock calculations I have seen in a while. No need to pay property tax? How about personal income tax, conservancy fees, school fees for the kids, school uniform, school supplies, toileteries, household supplies, electricity, water, etc.

tomychua must be one of the chua sisters. which one is it?

People still have to travel there to eat the fishball noodle, for those not living nearby the public transport costs will cost more than the $2 noodles.

it's no problem when you're a chiobu hitching a ride in a mercedes benz. :wink: