• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malay should be ASEAN’s lingua franca, says M’sian minister - Do you agree?

Malay should be ASEAN’s lingua franca, says M’sian minister

images

SERDANG (Selangor) — A Malaysian minister called today (Nov 3) for ASEAN to use Malay as the language of communication although the multi-ethnic region’s official language is English.

Communications and Multimedia Minister Salleh Said Keruak said there are over 400 million people in ASEAN who can speak Malay, noting that there are about 300 million people in Malaysia and Indonesia alone whose first language is Malay.

“Malaysia should take this opportunity to promote Malay as one of the main characteristics of the ASEAN community,” Mr Salleh Said said in a speech at a seminar on the Malay language at Universiti Putra Malaysia here, noting that Malaysia is currently ASEAN chair.

He added that to form a community, ASEAN should use a homogenous language.

“We need to show that the Malay language is a relevant and dynamic language that can act as the ASEAN language.

At the same time, the Malay language corpus needs to be built up by taking into account the Malay language used in Malaysia, Indonesia, Brunei, Singapore, south Thailand and south Philippines,” the UMNO minister added. THE MALAY MAIL ONLINE

kryonlight

ASEAN's lingua franca should be Arabic so that we can better communicate with Allah. The Malay language just can't make it.

garlic

Just when you think they cant get any more stupid.... next suggestion will be RM as the de factor trade currency...

ASEAN's lingua franca should be Arabic so that we can better communicate with Allah. The Malay language just can't make it.

psst!..."A" only hears & answer in ARABIC... that's why they have many Islamic believers of different races...but they can't pray in their own tongue..."A" don't understand...

I think English is a better and default choice instead of Malay or Chinese.

Ah Kong's lingua franca was malay. Why not good enough for you ah? He never even learn chinese until he was in his 40s. And english was he second language. U better watch what you say here. How to collect your PAP IB pittance if u are fucking Ah Kong all the time? If he was alive, he will agree with this.

makes sense completely.after all within a 300km radius of singapore,among a population of 300 million plus human beings,how many people doesnt speak bahasa melayu or indonesia?even the failipinos are a offshoot of malays.

less than 10 mil people speak mandarin or masala aloo tikki.so clearly melayu should be the language of the region.

just like in south america everyone speak spanish or portugese or know it as a second language.

Ah Kong's lingua franca was malay. Why not good enough for you ah? He never even learn chinese until he was in his 40s. And english was he second language. U better watch what you say here. How to collect your PAP IB pittance if u are fucking Ah Kong all the time? If he was alive, he will agree with this.

Fucktard, your beloved Ah gong mati liao and you still talking about him? You missed him already?

Why dun join him in the other world and continue complaining about him in the other world?? They may not have internet, but could have UNDERnet.

Knn.

Yes I agree wholeheartedly. Malay is the predominent language of the region. Everyone should be able to speak Bahasa.

tun_dr_m

Question little cunt Loong weather his Bahasa Malayu is SERIOUSLY STILL The Republic of Singapore NATIONAL OFFICIAL LANGUAGE or fucking not.

That Stupid National Anthem which fucking 90% of Citizens only sings bindly without comprehension of ANY FUCKING MEANING.

Replaced by Hokkien as National Language more meaningful. Even Malays n Indians understanding what is KNNCCB, those who don't know this are FTs that we want badly to shoot dead.

Overthrow PAP ablolish constitution and change everything RIGHT for Real Singaporeans ONLY!

Victory2016

Mono-lingual Malay speakers can work as farmers and Indon/Malaysian civil servants only.

Totally unable to survive in a global environment.

Will get EVEN lost in INTERNATIONAL AIRPORTS......

rodent2005

Malay should be ASEAN’s lingua franca, says M’sian minister

A Malaysian minister called today (Nov 3) for ASEAN to use Malay as the language of communication although the multi-ethnic region’s official language is English.

Communications and Multimedia Minister Salleh Said Keruak said there are over 400 million people in ASEAN who can speak Malay, noting that there are about 300 million people in Malaysia and Indonesia alone whose first language is Malay.

China alone is bigger than the whole of ASEAN. So learn Chinese is better and more beneficial.

Hans168

children from malay family sent to chinese medium school or to sg normal school............ want to remain backward, learn melayu lah

EVEN THE CROWN PRINCE OF JOHOR STUDIED HERE IN ENGLISH MEDIUM SCHOOL.............

makes sense completely.after all within a 300km radius of singapore,among a population of 300 million plus human beings,how many people doesnt speak bahasa melayu or indonesia?even the failipinos are a offshoot of malays.

less than 10 mil people speak mandarin or masala aloo tikki.so clearly melayu should be the language of the region.

just like in south america everyone speak spanish or portugese or know it as a second language.

fuck u la chinese dog. Do you know what asean means? It includes all south east asian nations obviously so that includes vietnam, thailand, burma etc etc and the mudlay minister wants everyone of them to learn his mudlay language which is fucking stupid why not they learn thai instead.

GramStroker

Invoking a dead man? If it's up to Ah Gone, he'll say nihongo ichiban!

belnibone

Level the field for everyone and make Hebrew the official ASEAN language. Everyone starts from scratch.