• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good news. Pap going to weaken SGD.

dancingshoes

sibor went up because sgd has weaken.

not really if you noticed, sgd was still very strong when sibor went up. it's only this and last month, it started to weaken.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/the-rise-fall-and-rise-again-of-sibor

"Growing strength in the US economy gives the Federal Reserve leeway to hike interest rates, which have been stuck at ultra-low record levels in a bid to spur growth.

The Sibor, in turn, is closely correlated to the US Fed funds rate, so any expectations of a hike there would move interest rates here higher."

hbk75

not really if you noticed, sgd was still very strong when sibor went up. it's only this and last month, it started to weaken.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/the-rise-fall-and-rise-again-of-sibor

"Growing strength in the US economy gives the Federal Reserve leeway to hike interest rates, which have been stuck at ultra-low record levels in a bid to spur growth.

The Sibor, in turn, is closely correlated to the US Fed funds rate, so any expectations of a hike there would move interest rates here higher."

i think the stopping of qe3 has got to do with the rise in sibor. cost of lending will increase. even fed is having zero % rates now. mortgage in usa are still running at 3-4%. fed funds rates for banks only. singapore uses fed fund rates to lend out to end customers.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
This is the truth about the situation. Read the entire article.

Have you woken up yet, Sinkies? :cool:

THE GREAT TOMATO BUBBLE
http://tomatobubble.com/id39.html

I'll quote a relevant excerpt to help the dullards who don't have the habit of reading. :wink:

I think i first read this in a book that was describing how the banks collapse in the last crisis. Can't remember the name of the book though

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
GDP data can be manipulated aka "adjusted", the PAP govt have done it in the past to avoid technical recession, such as in 2012.

USD had risen to 1.43 early this month.

Hope the USD rise significantly on SGD by next year so that I can huat ah!

My money is on the Euros..... let's see....

dancingshoes

that means MAS is going to raise interest rates slowly and hence currency is expected to strengthen slowly

Mas dun care about Interest rates one.

anyway, it's good news, we are so dependent on import, if sgd weaken, things will become more expensive. anyway, my take is that they are taking a wait and see attitude, if fed really raise rate which i doubt so, mas may be forced to raise rate too.

gingerlyn

CNY is expected to soften slowly and SGD is expected to strengthen slowly.
this is the good news for all the single men because more and more chinese chicken (export quality) will flood singapore geylang and night club scene.

hbk75

anyway, it's good news, we are so dependent on import, if sgd weaken, things will become more expensive. anyway, my take is that they are taking a wait and see attitude, if fed really raise rate which i doubt so, mas may be forced to raise rate too.

mas uses exchange rate policy and not interest rate.

http://www.mas.gov.sg/~/media/MAS/M...apores Exchange Ratebased Monetary Policy.pdf

Fourth, the choice of the exchange rate as the intermediate target of monetary policy
implies that MAS gives up control over domestic interest rates (and money supply). In the
context of free capital movements, interest rates in Singapore are largely determined by
foreign interest rates and investor expectations of the future movements in the Singapore
dollar.

dancingshoes

mas uses exchange rate policy and not interest rate.

http://www.mas.gov.sg/~/media/MAS/M...apores Exchange Ratebased Monetary Policy.pdf

Fourth, the choice of the exchange rate as the intermediate target of monetary policy
implies that MAS gives up control over domestic interest rates (and money supply). In the
context of free capital movements, interest rates in Singapore are largely determined by
foreign interest rates and investor expectations of the future movements in the Singapore
dollar.

thanks for the info, good bro.

hbk75

thanks for the info, good bro.

welcome bro. that is why pap created a mess in singapore.

when singapore economy was overheating 4-5 years ago. they followed USA zero % rates and blow up a big bubble now. zero rates should only be applicable to countries experiencing deflation like USA after 2008 subprime.

welcome bro. that is why pap created a mess in singapore.

when singapore economy was overheating 4-5 years ago. they followed USA zero % rates and blow up a big bubble now. zero rates should only be applicable to countries experiencing deflation like USA after 2008 subprime.

The "business cycle" is very simple. When the rate of growth in money supply (debt supply) exceeds the rate of growth in the general economy (GDP), the excess "money" has to go somewhere. It creates an illusion of prosperity. Artificial bubbles will form either in housing, stocks, currency, etc. Eventually the market always corrects for these phony excesses and the bubbles burst.

It is simply capital flight from a small economy linked to emerging market prosperity. No need for complicated theories.

hbk75

when usa started money printing in 2008. china actually printed more. that is why you see so many rich china man buying properties in singapore. some even become developers. china gdp exceeded japan by alot after the subprime in usa. so their growth is induced by speculation and bubbles.

So wheres the bubble in right now?sg housing market?us stock market?china housing and stock market?when is the next 2008 crash coming?looks like it might be a good time to buy some gold and oil.

hbk75

It is simply capital flight from a small economy linked to emerging market prosperity. No need for complicated theories.

emerging economies in asia = phillipines, malaysia, vietnam, Cambodia, indonesia, thailand etc. singapore can be so good recently as a financial center because we serves as a finance hub for these emerging economies.