• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CNN: S'pore has the smartest kids in the world, but the dumbest fucked up Voters

Why Singapore has the smartest kids in the world

Singapore (CNN)It's a world-class teacher's pet -- a straight-A student that's top of the class: Singapore is officially the country with the smartest high-school kids in the world.

The country's academic success has helped it become a thriving economy, and the way it has built its education system could hold lessons for the rest of the world.

"Singapore is a fascinating case," said Marc Tucker, the president of the U.S. National Center on Education and the Economy. "[It] was a major British port before the Second World War. When Britain got out and closed its base Singapore was in terrible shape.

"Now today they are one of the best performing economies in the entire world. They did it largely with education and training."

Read: This man's blood has saved the lives of two million babies

If Singapore's rags-to-riches transition was built on education, the secret of its education system is the quality of its teachers. "They source their teachers from among the best kids coming out of their high schools," explained Tucker.

'Creative use of knowledge'

In the post-war years, Singapore had a low-cost, low-skill labor market, and it was enough for its education system to aim for universal literacy. But starting in the 1970s, Singapore's economic needs shifted. It was quickly moving toward high tech, white collar jobs and the education system needed to keep up. Soon, the aim was for a world-class education for every single child, and that meant moving on from rote learning to encouraging creativity.

"They had a drilling system when that was the only option -- they had to expand education quickly," said the OECD's education director, Andreas Schleicher. "But as they had achieved this, they were the first to think about, what is it that our children need to be successful ... (in) tomorrow's economy?

"One thing that's been clear to them is that the world economy no longer rewards people just for what they know. Google knows everything. The world economy rewards people for what they can do with what they know.

"The emphasis on the application, the creative use of knowledge is very, very strong in Singapore and other Asian countries."

The importance of education is instilled at a young age -- before children even get to primary school.

"I think for us as preschool educators, we are the foundation years," said Diana Ong, principal at Pat's Schoolhouse Sembawang Country Club, a preschool in the north of Singapore. "We form the basic foundation.

"I think the first years of a child's life is very important. So when you have a very confident child, that child's confidence will carry him or her through primary school as well. Not only do you want a child that is smart, you want a child who is resilient."

Schleicher says it's part of the culture of many Asian countries for parents to prioritize their children's education.

"It starts with resources, the priority they assign to education," he explained. "In these countries, parents and grandparents are going to invest their last resources, their last money into ... the education of their children.

"This is sort of a question of priorities. You can see in all tiers of public policy, education comes first. That's your future."

http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/05/asia/singapore-smartest-kids/

gingerlyn

knn, drchee already mentioned this, if singapore kids are so smart, why do we need so many foreign talents?

look at nus ntu, how many ah neh?

SOmewhere along the way, these smart kids turned into kiasu stockholm syndrome losers who keep repeatedly voting for the PAP. That is the PAP's greatest performance.

The 30% thinks that the 70% are fucktards while thr 70% thinks that the 30% are gong chee byes.

knn, drchee already mentioned this, if singapore kids are so smart, why do we need so many foreign talents?

look at nus ntu, how many ah neh?

Hahahaha, yeah, should ask the CNN reporter why she don't check on education system of Vietnam, China, Myanmar, India, Pinoyland, etc. because apparently, their students just as smart, all can come here and become PR and citizens very easily.

Our Pride and Joy, Ho Ching no one can replace her, smart or not?

She is the smartest of all, It takes a special talent and intellect to lose $billions a year. Even Bill Gates and Stephen Hawkings cannot do that.

bigboss

SOmewhere along the way, these smart kids turned into kiasu stockholm syndrome losers who keep repeatedly voting for the PAP. That is the PAP's greatest performance.

Smart kids today but brain dead sinkies tomorrow when voting for pappies in GE.

bigboss

Hahahaha, yeah, should ask the CNN reporter why she don't check on education system of Vietnam, China, Myanmar, India, Pinoyland, etc. because apparently, their students just as smart, all can come here and become PR and citizens very easily.

They are here to vote for pappies as shown in big win by pappies in GE2015...this is the ultimate secret weapon of pappies election strategy. They need pappies and pappies need them. As for locals, you die your business.

bigboss

The 30% thinks that the 70% are fucktards while thr 70% thinks that the 30% are gong chee byes.

Those 30% are likely locals, cannot tahan screwing by pappies, the other 70% are new imported shits, know nothing about how pappies can screw, and the rest are the elites, the rich and porlumpars with rhino skin, pappies screwing is just like needle prick, no big deal.

smartest kids in the world why need so many tuition centers?billion dollar tuition industry close them all down lah.

kiwibird7

There is a VERY BIG difference between BOOK SMART & STREET SMART. Smartest kids produced by the best educational system become PMETs who are replaced by FTs from 3rd world countries shows that something is not right.

SINKIE voters are risk averse, kiasi, myopic greedy people who go for short term gains in getting election goodies. In the long run, SG is doomed for future generations born there.

A very confident student normally get expelled and when he grows up, probably end up detained under ISA.
If sinkie kids are the smartest, that should translate into innovation and inventions in all fields. Let us see if this happens, or students are just trained to be subservient.

There is a VERY BIG difference between BOOK SMART & STREET SMART. Smartest kids produced by the best educational system become PMETs who are replaced by FTs from 3rd world countries shows that something is not right.

SINKIE voters are risk averse, kiasi, myopic greedy people who go for short term gains in getting election goodies. In the long run, SG is doomed for future generations born there.

singapore was doomed long ago,i got article written in 2010 to prove it.

singaporeans are only smart up to about the high school age after which the sinkie genes take over and we become blithering idiots.

If we have such smart people, then there should be world-class sinkee companies. And Nobel Prize winners. We have none. So, this is pure PAP propaganda.

Yar lor, old fart tulan like shit no one thought to nominate him for Nobel prize for economics. After all, the old fart transformed a sleepy fishing village into an Asian tiger. Surely worthy of a Nobel, no?