• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP high standard of governance!!!

kopiOuncle

12039372_980582518671121_3769799607006037945_n.jpg

I sent all People's Action Party MPs a letter today, spelling out how they should conduct themselves. I send out such a letter after each general election, to stress the rigorous standards I expect every MP to uphold. This was also the practice of my predecessors, Mr Goh Chok Tong and Mr Lee Kuan Yew.

The PAP’s reputation for being a clean, incorruptible Government is one of our most precious assets. It is fundamental to us, and I am determined to keep it that way. Any MP who breaks the rules will have to answer to the party and the law, without exceptions.

I am releasing the letter to the media so that Singaporeans know the high standards we demand of PAP MPs. You can view the full letter here: http://bit.Iy/1P3mpqj...LHL

All PAP MPs

RULES OF PRUDENCE

BEYOND SG50

It is a tradition for the Prime Minister to send a letter on “Rules of Prudence” to all the PAP MPs after an election. The context each time may be different but the subject remains constant, because integrity, honesty and incorruptibility are fundamental to our Party. We must never tire of reminding ourselves of their importance.

2. Our Party has won 83 out of 89 seats in the just concluded General Election, with all seats contested. Overall, the PAP won 69.9% of the votes.

3. The people have endorsed what we have done in the previous term, and given us a clear mandate to take Singapore forward beyond SG50. Now we must fulfil what we have promised to do in our manifesto. We must never break faith with the people, but must always carry out our duties to them responsibly, address their worries and advance theirinterests.

4. Be humble in victory. As MPs, always remember we are servants of the people, not masters. Do not mistake the strong election result to mean that our efforts have succeeded, and that we can afford to slacken. Much work remains to be done tackling issues which concern Singaporeans, and finding new ways to improve people’s lives. Listen hard to voter concerns, help them to tackle pressing needs, and convey their worries and aspirations to the Government. Persuade them to support policies which are in their own long term benefit, while helping the Government to formulate good policies and stay in close touch with the people.

UPHOLDING OUR REPUTATION AND INTEGRITY

5. One vital factor that has enabled the PAP to retain the trust of Singaporeans all these years is honesty and integrity. The PAP’s reputation for clean, incorruptible government is one of our most preciousassets. As PAP MPs, your personal standing reflects this high standing of the Party as a whole. I cannot stress strongly enough that every MP must uphold the rigorous standards that we have set for ourselves, and do nothing to compromise them. Never give cause for allegations that you are misusing your position, especially your access to Ministers. That would discredit both you and the Party.

6. As MPs, you will come across many different sorts of people. Many altruistic, public spirited individuals will help you without wanting anything in return, spending time and money to get communityprojects going and to serve residents. But a few will cultivate you to obtain benefits for them-selves or their companies, to gain respectability by association with you, or to get you to influence ministries and statutory boards to make decisions in their favour. Gift hampers on festive occasions, entertainment, and personal favours big and small are just a few of countless social lubricants which such people use to ingratiate themselves to MPs and make you obligated to them.

7. You must distinguish between these two groups of people, and be shrewd in assessing the motives of those who seek to get close to you. At all times be seen to be beyond the influence of gifts or favours.

8. Be scrupulously proper in your contacts with government departments or public officers. Do not lobby any ministry or statutory board on behalf of anyone who is not your constituent or grassroots activist. Do not raise matters with public officers on behalf of friends, clients, contractors, employers, or financiers to advance theirbusiness interests. Conductbusiness with government agencies in writing and avoid making telephone requests. If you have to speak, follow up in writing to put your requests on record.

9. MPs are often approached by friends, grassroots leaders or proprietors and businessmen to officiate at the openings of their new shops or otherbusiness events. They usually offer a gesture, such as a donation to a charity or constituency welfare fund. Though it may be awkward to refuse such requests, once you accept one, you will be hard-pressed to draw a line. As a rule, you should decline invitations to such business events. If you feel you should attend, please obtain prior approval from the Whip.

SEPARATING BUSINESS AND POLITICS

10. Separate your public political position from your private, professional or business interests. MPs who are in business, who occupy seniormanagement positions in companies, or who sit on company boards should be especially vigilant. You must not exploit your public position as Government MPs, your close contacts with the Ministers, or your access to government departments and civil servants, for your personal interest or the benefit of your employers. Your conduct must always be above board.

11. MPs who are employed by companies or industry associations may at times have to make public statements on behalf of their company or industry association. If you have to do so, make it clear that you are not speaking as an MP, but in your private, professional or business capacity.

12. Do not use Parliamentary questions as a means to lobby the Government on behalf of your businesses or clients. When you raise questions in Parliament related to your own businesses or your clients, be careful to first declare your pecuniary interest in the issue.

13. You may, however, speak freely to Cabinet Ministers, who are your Parliamentary colleagues. Ministers will listen carefully to arguments on principles, especially when they relate to the general policy of their Ministries. But Ministers will not exercise their discretion to change individual decisions without very good reasons which they can justify publicly. Parliamentary Secretaries and Ministers of State who intervene in their Ministries to reverse or alter decisions should promptly report the matter to their Ministers to protect themselves against possible accusations of misconduct. The Government must always base decisions on the merits of the issues, and cannot yield to pressure from interested parties.

DIRECTORSHIPS

14. MPs are often invited to serve on the Boards of private and publicly listed companies. This is a sign that the private sector values PAP MPs’ integrity and experience, and reflects the high standing of the Party and of PAP MPs in general. The Party permits MPs to serve as directors, provided you keep your private and public responsibilities rigorously separate, and your private appointments do not compromise your duties and performance as an MP.

15. The public will closely scrutinise your involvement in companies, because you are a PAP MP. Conduct your business activities so as to bring credit to yourself and to the Party. Adverse publicity on your performance as a director, or lapses in the companies you are associated with, will tarnish your reputation as an MP and lower the public’s regard for the Party.

16. You should not solicit for Directorships in any companies, lest you appear to be exploiting your political position to benefit yourself.

17. You should not accept directorships where your role is just to dress up the board with a PAP MP or two, in order to make the company look more respectable.

18. Some grassroots leaders are businessmen who own or manage companies. You should not sit on any boards of companies owned or chaired by grassroots leaders appointed by you, so as to avoid the perception that you are obligated to them or advancing their business interests.

19. If you are offered a Directorship, you have to decide for yourself whether to accept. The Party is not in a position to vet or approve such decisions.

20. Before accepting, consider the possible impact of the Directorship on your political life. Ensure that the company understands that you are doing so strictly in your private capacity, and will not use your public position to champion the interests of the company, or lobby the government on its behalf.

21. Make every effort to familiarise yourself with the business, track record and background of the key promoters of the company. Satisfy yourself that the company is reputable, and that you are able to make a meaningful contribution. Specifically, just like anyone else contemplating a Directorship, you should ask yourself:

a. How well do you know the company, its business strategy, financial status, shareholding structure and the underlying industry?

b. Do you know your fellow directors, the way the Board and its committees fulfil their responsibilities, the reporting structure between Board and Management and the relationship between shareholders and the company?

c. Do you have sufficient industry, financial or professional expertise to fulfil your expected role and responsibilities as a Director? Do you understand your obligations under the law and the Code of Corporate Governance? Will you be able to discharge your fiduciary duties properly and without fear or favour?

d. Will you face any conflicts of interest, and if so can you manage them?

If in any doubt, you should decline.

22. Once you have decided to take up a Directorship, please inform the Whip. Detailed reporting requirements are listed in the Annex.

PARLIAMENT

23. MPs are expected to attend all sittings of Parliament. If you have to be absent from any sitting, seek permission from the Government Whip. Please inform the Whip if you have to leave the Parliament premises while a sitting is on.

24. If you travel abroad, or need to be absent from Parliament for any reason, you must apply to the Speaker for leave, with copies to the Leader of the House and the Government Whip. You should also inform the Whip where you can be reached while abroad.

25. I have asked the Speaker to give all MPs, particularly new MPs, ample opportunity and latitude to speak in Parliament. Your first opportunity will be during the debate on the President’s Address at the opening of Parliament in January 2016. Following that, at the Budget Debate, all MPs should speak up. Script your speeches or put your key points in note form to structure your presentation and help the media.

26. The public expects PAP MPs to express their views frankly, whether for or against Government policies. During debates, speak freely and with conviction. Press your points vigorously, and do not shy away from robust debate. However, please exercise judgement when putting your points across, and do not get carried away playing to the gallery.

27. Bring out questions and issues that Singaporeans and your constituents have concerns about, and grapevine talk for the Government to rebut, but avoid unwittingly lending credence to baseless gossip. This will show that you and the Party are in touch with the ground, and speaking up for Singaporeans. Bringing up pertinent issues and questions in a timely manner helps ministers to put across the facts, explain the reasons for policies and decisions, and maintain public confidence in the openness and integrity of our actions.

28. Your honest, informed views are an important political input to Ministers when they formulate and review policies. Ministers will accept valid, constructive suggestions, but they have to challenge inaccurate or mistaken views. Over time, the public will see that PAP backbenchers are as effective as opposition MPs, if not better, at holding ministers to account, getting issues fully debated, and influencing policies for the better.

IMPORTANT PUBLIC OCCASIONS

29. On certain occasions, like the National Day Parade and the Investiture Ceremony for National Day Awards, the whole Establishment, i.e. the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary, will be there. Those who cannot attend must have very good reasons. Those who have accepted the invitation must attend, otherwise they leave empty seats, which does no credit to them or to the Party.

30. At all public functions and constituency events, punctuality is of paramount importance.

GIFTS

31. You should not accept gifts which might place you under obligations which conflict with your public duties. If you receive any gifts other than from close personal friends or relatives, you must declare them to the Clerk of Parliament who will have the gifts valued. If you wish to keep the gifts, you must pay the Government for them at the valuation price.

FUND-RAISING

32. Party Branches should not raise funds on their own without permission, for example by soliciting advertisements for a souvenir magazine or a carnival. If you intend to raise funds, please clear it beforehand with the Organising Secretary. When your branch embarks on a collective fund-raising activity, e.g. a Family Day or Walk-A-Jog, you must follow the rules strictly.

FINANCIAL PRUDENCE

33. As MPs, you should manage your personal financial affairs prudently. Do not over-extend yourself or become financially embarrassed. This would be not only a potential source of personal embarrassment, but also a weakness which may expose you to pressure or blackmail.

34. In particular, be careful about making major financial commitments assuming that you will continue to receive your MP’s allowance. While MPs typically serve several terms, you cannot assume that you will automatically be fielded in future General Elections, or that if fielded you will definitely be re-elected. There is neither tenure nor job security in politics.

DECLARATION OF INCOME

35. For your own protection, every MP should disclose to me, in confidence, your business and professional interests, your present employment and monthly pay, all retainers and fees that you are receiving, and whether your job requires you to get in touch with officers of Government Ministries or statutory boards on behalf of employers or clients. Office holders need not do so because you will be subject to the reporting requirements of the Code of Conduct for ministers. This should be done by 31 October 2015.

GENERAL BEHAVIOUR

36. The PAP has held our position in successive elections because our integrity has never been in doubt, and because we are sensitive to the views and attitudes of the people we represent. MPs must always uphold the high standards of the Party and not have lifestyles or personal conduct which will embarrass themselves and the Party. Any slackening of standards, or show of arrogance or indifference by any MP, will erode confidence in him, and ultimately in the Party and Government. New MPs can pick up the dos and don’ts from older MPs. You should conduct yourselves always with modesty, decorum and dignity, particularly in the media. You must win respect, not popularity, to stay the course.

MEDIA PUBLICITY

37. I am releasing a copy of this letter to the media so that the public knows the high standards we demand of our MPs.

LEE HSIEN LOONG

cc: Government Whip

xpo2015

Most incompetence Ministry..the PM office!!

need so many people to run it..ah Loong get the most pay but did the least job!

PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE
Mr Lee Hsien Loong - Prime Minister
Mr Teo Chee Hean - Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security
Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam - Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies
Mr Chan Chun Sing - Minister, PMO
Mr Heng Chee How, Mrs Josephine Teo - Senior Minister of State
Mr Sam Tan - Minister of State

kopiOuncle

pap_mps.jpg

leehsienloong-rules-of-prudence-singapore-mp-servants-people-not-masters.jpg

“Be humble in victory. As MPs, always remember we are servants of the people, not masters. Do not mistake the strong election result to mean that our efforts have succeeded, and that we can afford to slacken.” - PM Lee Hsien Loong to PAP MPs.

Majulah Singapura!!!

kopiOuncle

SINGAPORE - As he announced his new Cabinet on Monday (Sept 28), Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong made the point that he would aggressively prepare a new team to take Singapore forward.

Monday's shake-up did not just see key changes to the leadership of nine of the 15 ministries. It went much deeper to expose a broader group of fourth-generation leaders to vastly differentportfolios, many for the first time, to stretch and test them for higher office.

It is exposure that many current ministers had, including Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen andincoming Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan.
But this time round, the newer office-holders will be helped by a key shift - the appointment of three coordinating ministers - which is set to radically restructure how the Government deals with a more complex landscape ahead.

One consideration why PM Lee moved, as he put it, "more boldly" on leadership renewal this round was the presence of coordinating ministers - Deputy Prime Ministers Teo Chee Hean and Tharman Shanmugaratnam as well as Mr Khaw Boon Wan - in the new Cabinet.

"They will play an important role, pulling the pieces together and mentoring the younger ones," Mr Lee said at the press conference.

These younger ministers include two of the four fourth-generation leaders who entered politics in 2011 who will take on two key portfolios: outgoing Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, 54, goes to Finance; and outgoing Culture, Community and Youth Minister Lawrence Wong, 42, goes to National Development.

Their peers, labour chief Chan Chun Sing, 45, and Social and Family Development Minister Tan Chuan-Jin, 46, took on their posts in a Cabinet reshuffle in April and will not be moved yet.

But they have been given additional key responsibilities: Mr Chan will take over the deputy chairmanship of the People's Association from Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say, and as Party Whip from Health Minister Gan Kim Yong. And Mr Tan will assist Mr Chan on Community Development Council matters.

Two core members of the fourth-generation leadership who entered politics in 2006 will also helm their own ministries.

Ministers in the Prime Minister's Office Grace Fu, 51, and Masagos Zulkifli, 52, will lead the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth, and the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources respectively.

They, too, are being given key roles: Ms Fu will take over from Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen as Leader of the House, and Mr Masagos will assist Communications and Information Minister Yaacob Ibrahim in handling Muslim Affairs.

Much of the attention in the months ahead will likely fall on how well the two newly elected Acting Ministers for Education perform in their roles - former defence chief Ng Chee Meng, 47, in charge of schools, and former senior civil servant Ong Ye Kung, 45, in charge of higher education and skills.

Crucially, Mr Ng will also be Senior Minister of State for Transport and Mr Ong, Senior Minister of State for Defence.

While these eight individuals will be a key part of the fourth- generation leadership, together, they make up less than half of the 20 Cabinet ministers who will assume their new posts on Thursday.

The answer to who else from among their peers might join their ranks will come from among the 17 other office-holders PM Lee named yesterday. It is, he noted, a larger than usual team because it is a transition team. But it is also a team where promising backbenchers have been moved up the ranks and into new areas of work to test their abilities.

Senior Minister of State Indranee Rajah, 52, will move from Education to Finance, and remain at the Law Ministry, while Senior Minister of State Josephine Teo, 47, will move from Finance to Foreign Affairs, and remain at Transport.

Mrs Teo will also join the Prime Minister's Office, where she will assist Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean in population matters.

Three ministers of state are being promoted to senior ministers of state and given new portfolios this round: Dr Maliki Osman, 50, Mr Desmond Lee, 39, and Ms Sim Ann, 40.

Also set to join their ranks are three new ministers of state: former second permanent secretary Chee Hong Tat, 41, who has been touted for higher office, as well as second-term MP Janil Puthucheary, 42, and newcomer Koh Poh Koon, 43, both of whom will take up office on Jan 1 next year.

These moves are meant to help prepare the next generation of leaders, and PM Lee expects to do a review midway through the term.

Two years, or slightly more, may not be time enough for a clear leader from the core fourth- generation team to emerge. But hopefully by then, Singaporeans will get a clearer picture of who can make it to the fourth-generation Cabinet and, more importantly, how well their fourth- generation leaders are able to work together and inspire confidence.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on September 29, 2015, with the headline 'Bold move to prepare new team for the future'. Print Edition | Subscribe

kopiOuncle

file6j78bc5wu0hp5qaw50j.jpg

SINGAPORE — Ensuring the safety of the country in the face of a shrinking workforce is one of the key challenges Mr K Shanmugam will be tackling as he returns to the helm of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

While still too early to elaborate on his immediate plans, Mr Shanmugam, who is also Law Minister, said the fundamental issue of delivering security remains the same: To make sure Singaporeans feel safe with the law and order situation within the Republic, and from terrorism.

Given our size, the external environment impacts on us disproportionately, on our economy, on our security, even on our politics.

Mr K Shanmugam

Newly appointed law, home affairs minister
“Home Affairs deals with a broad range of issues. Law and order is one, immigration, customs, border checkpoints, (the Singapore Civil Defence Force), internal security, prison — a wide variety of issues. … So I’ve got to get into (the ministry), and get to grips with (the issues),” he told reporters at Chong Pang Community Club today (Sept 29) before his Meet-The-People session.

Mr Shanmugam previously spent three years at the MHA as its Second Minister from 2008, and as its Minister for eight months after succeeding former Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng in 2010.

bigboss

....Any MP who breaks the rules will have to answer to the party and the law, without exceptions....

This Rules of Prudence is just a piece of political gimmick. Pappies do not have an internal Disciplinary Board to censure, expel or demote pappies who are guilty of misconduct by speech or action deemed prejudicial to the good name and reputation of the party. In commies China, they have it but in sinkie land, where is it?

Woody could only boast ownself check ownself but is he going to do it?

To have the bite, LHL must publicise action taken against pappies for misconduct on complaints made by shitizens. For starter, how about disciplinary action against following pappies for insulting or bullying or trampling shitizens:

1. Bala - how many meals you wanted a day?

2. Lim Wee Kiat - pappies must be highly paid to speak on same level with CEO of MNC.

3. Amy Khor - Sinkies can fuck off from sinkie land if unhappy.

4. Grace Fu - If pay cut, she would resign as if she is an indispensable species to sinkies.

PM should walk the talk, if not, he is just talking cock.

bigboss

....To make sure Singaporeans feel safe with the law and order situation within the Republic, and from terrorism...Given our size, the external environment impacts on us disproportionately, on our economy, on our security, even on our politics...

For starter to see ground zero for better understanding on crime in sinkie land, this kek lang kia Minister should go undercover incognito in disguise, sit at coffeeshops in Geylang, Serangoon Rd, Geylang Serai, Beach Road, open his eyes and ears. Depending on feedback from yes-men is not the way to keep informed on situation in the real world.

Please, Minister. Be smarter than your yes-men. They will feed you nothing but rosy reports until one day, your own balls will get roasted too.

Ambulance

1. Bala - how many meals you wanted a day?

2. Lim Wee Kiat - pappies must be highly paid to speak on same level with CEO of MNC.

3. Amy Khor - Sinkies can fuck off from sinkie land if unhappy.

4. Grace Fu - If pay cut, she would resign as if she is an indispensable species to sinkies.

halo jit kwan lee tau pio eh mai kao peh leow lah

To govern a peesai, we have to spend more than a $100 million annually on a cabinet (ministars, junior ministers, parliamentary secretaries etc)! Two or three ministers per ministry! Why are they so incompetent that one person can't do the job?

Then there are the mayors who also make close to a $1 million! What does the mayor do? Only LHL and God know.

Asterix

Much fear, alarm and shock has been caused by the remarks of Zhang Xiaoming, director of the central government's liaison office, about a transcendent position of the chief executive supposedly above the judiciary and the legislature.

As the chief justice has pointed out, Zhang is obviously wrong in law. Articles 2, 19, 25 and 85 make it clear that the Hong Kong courts have independent judicial power, and everyone (including chief executives) is equal before the law. This being so, there is no way that the chief executive can be above the courts. The positions of the chief executive and the legislature are also defined in the Basic Law, and it is equally wrong to suggest that the chief executive is in a transcendent position above the legislature.

In addition, Article 8 of the Basic Law provides that the common law, as previously in force in Hong Kong, continues to apply, and it is a fundamental principle of the common law that everyone, including the head of government, is equal before the law.

Zhang's provocative remarks carry strange echoes of statements by English kings in past centuries that the king was above the law and the courts. This year is the 800th anniversary of King John's reluctant signature of Magna Carta. In the years after Magna Carta, the principle which it enshrined, that everyone is equal before the law, became generally accepted as the common law of England, and was put into a famous maxim by 14th-century scholar Henry Bracton: "The king is below no man, but below God and the law."

This principle, universally accepted in England, did not reach Scotland until 1603, when James VI of Scotland became James I of England. When the chief justice, Sir Edward Coke, explained it to the king, "His Majesty fell into that high indignation as the like was never known in him, looking and speaking fiercely with bended fist, offering to strike him, etc."

Sir Edward fell to all fours and humbly beseeched the king "to take compassion on him and to pardon him if he thought zeale had gone beyond his duty and allegiance. His Majesty, not herewith contented, continued his indignation".

James claimed the principle was treason, but Sir Edward did not give way to the king's demand that he be placed above the law. The confrontation was the start of the great constitutional struggle between the Stuarts and Parliament.

James' son, Charles I, claimed the right to arrest and imprison citizens by his own decision, with no right for the imprisoned to challenge their detention in court. Timid judges agreed with him in the "Five Knights case" in 1627. This caused such concern that Parliament forced Charles to sign a document called the Petition of Right in 1628, promising that no one would be imprisoned save by lawful order of a court. The Petition of Right remains an important precedent in all common law countries, and the Five Knights case was referred to as recently as 2008 by the United States Supreme Court in Boumediene vs Bush, when it struck down laws providing for indefinite detention without trial.

The struggle to prevent the king placing himself above the law resulted in the loss of 500,000 lives in the English, Scottish and Irish civil wars of the 1640s, and was only resolved with England's Bill of Rights in 1688. Since then, in the words of Dr Thomas Fuller in 1733, "Be you never so high, the law is above you." Those words came into the law of Hong Kong with the reception of English common law in 1843. [In Sinkieland common law was imported by the Second Charter of Justice 1825 - I think :biggrin:] Let us hope they never leave it.

Paul Harris SC is a barrister and founder of Hong Kong Human Rights Monitor. His latest book is Raising Freedom's Banner: how peaceful demonstrations have changed the world

http://www.scmp.com/comment/insight-opinion/article/1862295/struggle-rule-law-old-magna-carta

[video=youtube;PmDejdKFRP0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmDejdKFRP0[/video]

kopiOuncle

12027379_981164418612931_768151731212195331_o.jpg

LHL:With my team before our last meeting.

The NEW Team that will have to work hard to lead Singaporeans into the next 50 years.

12039372_980582518671121_3769799607006037945_n.jpg

It's not going to be easy but The Team will have to do the job.

Two prevailing winds blowing into our direction:

The North Wind of rising Racism and the South Wind of hard-balled robust diplomacy. Both are difficult issues which we have to deal with
with great sensitivity, great restraint, great diplomacy and great tact and skill.

They are two thorns in our butt. Two very dangerous and poisonous thorns stuck in our hide.

kopiOuncle

12052377_989993814376727_4813659148247914406_o.jpg

the old giving way to the new for more challenges , for more achievements and for more progress, peace and prosperity!!!

majulah singapura!!!!!!!!

kopiOuncle

12087036_935610913152106_8639366041858791751_o.jpg

honesty,integrity, commitment, dedication and innovation.
the New Team will help to build a more united, a more vibrant and a more peaceful and prosperous Singapore!!!

kopiOuncle

11226181_849618975116280_4557677415837057941_n.jpg

I am deeply honoured by this evening’s Home Team Farewell Parade.

Thanks to our HT officers, Singaporeans can go about our daily lives, free from anxiety about our safety and security. We enjoy communal harmony and social stability, free from inter-communal strife. Our sovereignty is protected, free from subversion and espionage. Singaporeans, young and old, can walk through our streets, day or night, free from the fear of crime. Our children can go to school, free from the temptation of drugs. And Singapore is free to chart our own future.

I place my trust in our HT officers to carry on serving with Honour and Unity, to protect our safety, lives, and liberty.

Thank you, and all the best to you and your families...

12096212_849620555116122_881452145373348145_n.jpg

enterprise2

One thing we do know is that any violations will be swept under the carpet. The most the MPs or office holders will be quietly dropped and redeployed in some GLCs. Unless it's a major case that it will be released to the press.

kopiOuncle

12120197_942289469182312_8198106037249485023_o.jpg

PM Lee Hsien Loong: "With my Ang Mo Kio Town Council (AMK GRC + Sengkang West) team – Darryl David, Intan Mokhtar, Koh Poh Koon - 许宝琨, Lam Pin Min, Ang Hin Kee, Gan Thiam Poh – last night. We held a dinner to thank our activists who worked so hard in the recent general election campaign, and long before. Deeply appreciate their commitment and dedication, helping our residents and supporting the PAP.

We have much to do. All our branches have started work. Look forward to working with residents to improve lives." – LHL

(Photo by Tee Wee Lee)

kopiOuncle

12022534_973295192729701_2713668730459675881_o.jpg

Minister Khaw Boon Wan shared that Founding PM Lee Kuan Yew once remarked to NParks: “While birds can fly, most can’t fly very far.”

"Hence we plant trees to create “nature ways”, to allow native birds and butterflies to fly and perch as they cover longer distances and explore larger areas. Haze improved sufficiently this morning to allow Sembawang GRC activists to plant some 250 trees to create a green corridor linking Sembawang and Yishun Parks. Not just any tree, but a variety of trees, including durian bujor, buah Sembawang, saga hutan, putat laut, seashore mangosteen, katong laut, meranti and many others. With birds and butterflies, we beautify our surrounding and enhance our quality of life, and that of fellow living things too!"

kopiOuncle

coordinating-ministers-data.jpg

Coordinating Ministers during the Swearing-in Ceremony on Thursday (Oct 1). (Photo: Justin Ong)

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam has been appointed as Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies and Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan takes on the additional portfolio of Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure.

CONCEPT OF COORDINATING MINISTER NOT UNIQUE TO SINGAPORE: PM LEE

In announcing the new Cabinet, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had said that the concept of Coordinating Minister is not unique to Singapore. Indonesia, for example, has a Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs. It was a position created in 1966 to manage the country's floundering economy back then.

Since then, three other Coordinating Minister positions have been created, covering areas such as Political, Legal and Security Affairs, Human Development and Cultural Affairs, as well as Maritime Affairs.

Said Dr Deas Simandjuntak, Visiting Fellow, Institute of Southeast Asian Studies Yusof Ishak Institute: “It actually helps the President quite substantially because when the President would like to see a bigger picture of the impact of a policy implementation, for example, of a certain policy area, he would not need to summon all of the involved ministries. Without the Coordinating Ministry it will be harder to have a synchronised policy and regulation making.”

In Singapore's case, creating the position of Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social policies reinforces the Government’s fundamental principle – that the country’s economic and social policies are very much intertwined.

“Looking at the economic policy, for example, (shows) the need to ensure that Singapore's economy continues to be vibrant; the need to ensure that economic restructuring goes up to speed , particularly in terms of productivity levels and improving the innovation ability of this nation,” said Associate Professor Eugene Tan, School of Law, Singapore Management University.

“So it is really in the end the need for Singapore to remain as a competitive economy. If you look at the social dimension, it is really about looking at the social landscape, whether it's demographics, in terms of the social changes affecting Singapore. How does that impact upon the economic landscape. So if the economy is growing, how do we ensure that we do have sufficient people for the different needs of the economy to be able to service the economy. But bringing in more manpower will also generate social consequences as well.”

WHAT ELSE WILL A COORDINATING MINISTER NEED TO LOOK OUT FOR?

With a bird’s eye view on policy, observers said the Coordinating Minister will also be tasked with ensuring that future problems are nipped in the bud.

“When members of the public look back at our performance over the last decade or so, I think they have seen some occasions where they feel that there were some policy missteps, perhaps because ministries or agencies did not communicate as effectively with each other as they could have,” said Dr Walter Theseira, Senior Lecturer at SIM University.

“The most prominent example people can think of is immigration in Singapore and how it seemed as if for a couple of years, our infrastructure hadn't caught up with our rapid increase in population. Our train system, our public transport infrastructure, our housing infrastructure hadn't quite caught up to that.”

“I think one of the reasons why the Prime Minister made this move, to appoint two senior, well trusted, well-recognised ministers in charge of coordination, I think is to assure the public that the ball will not be dropped again,” he added.

Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan is seen as "Mr Fix-It", after clearing the backlog of long queues for public housing. He is also credited for stabilising the housing market.

“He is a minister with a vast amount of experience. His most recent position was as Minister of National Development. His role is really to try to make sure that our infrastructure is in place to handle our planned economic growth needs. To make sure that our infrastructure is future-ready. So besides looking at our public transport infrastructure, besides bringing in his MND experience in terms of looking at housing, our hospitals and so on are in place, I suspect he will also be looking a lot at whether Singapore is ready for the economy of the future,” said Dr Theseira.

As policy-making becomes more complex in an increasingly challenging environment, observers said the role of Coordinating Ministers may just become part of Singapore’s governance landscape in the years ahead.

- CNA/dl