• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore’s very high household debt

knowwhatyouwantinlife

On the surface yes in reality no...let's say biggest debt is in housing and it's a condo...downpay for one mil condo is 200k for first property 400k for second...as long as you borrow but the property can be sold at par than there is no actual debt becos u can always downgrade to punggol hdb almost fully paid

yahoo55

Several years of extremely low interest rates have resulted in a credit surge for Singapore, and some households have taken on a significant amount of debt in order to catch up with the country’s housing boom.

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/heres-silver-lining-behind-singapore-041000982.html

Residential property demand have crashed because the market is very overpriced. Mortgage rates are climbing and will be returning back to the normal 4% level, and the economy is heading for a recession.

Many highly indebted Sinkie households will be unable to pay their mortgages and other debts within the next few years.

I dun see how young couple can afford a 5-room 600K BTO flat unless they topup with cash every month.

The HDB prices should be at its peak hampered by CPF ceiling and low income of the average sinkies.

zeebjii

On the surface yes in reality no...let's say biggest debt is in housing and it's a condo...downpay for one mil condo is 200k for first property 400k for second...as long as you borrow but the property can be sold at par than there is no actual debt becos u can always downgrade to punggol hdb almost fully paid

What if you cant sell the property at par? What if have to sell at a loss of 200k?

rushifa666

As in right now, when private property is worth shit? Who can sell? You want to take the losses? Bank interest is only set to increase.

garlic

lol... most absurd ever heard to explain away debt. So, if one guy pays full cash on a $1m condo, and one guy borrows $800k after 20% downpayment for same condo, you can say that both have no debts? You are property agent is it?

Don't worry ...we have the world's most expensive government ...they are all super brains and will tackle this issue headon if it is a problem. That they are doing nothing indicates that it is not a problem.

Keep borrowing and live like your ministar.

don't worry. sinkies are rich and have much time to waste waiting in long lines for expensive dim sum. mortgage payment can wait too.

image.jpg

sinkies are rich now,iv read salary.sg.hundreds of pages full of sinkies with high six and seven figures networths,many of them with children,many of them with wives,many of them with 2nd and 3rd properties after their hdb flat.

maybe this country is doomed,but we must do our part to plunder it as much as we can and join the ranks of the first class passengers onboard the titanic lifeboats before the ship goes down.

xebay11

sinkies are rich now,iv read salary.sg.hundreds of pages full of sinkies with high six and seven figures networths,many of them with children,many of them with wives,many of them with 2nd and 3rd properties after their hdb flat.

maybe this country is doomed,but we must do our part to plunder it as much as we can and join the ranks of the first class passengers onboard the titanic lifeboats before the ship goes down.

Yah sinkies are rich.

my hdb also expensive...

Holey cow $8 says it is affordable, with a $1,000 salary you can own one...why complain, why worry...now he is going to say $8 a month, you can afford to travel by bus & train....affordable!...why complain, you have been given your wishes recently & did you wish for PAP..well!....'your wish is their command'....don't complain! enjoy!

No point buying all 2nd or 3rd property in Singapore. When market crash, all down together.

Black Swan

No point buying all 2nd or 3rd property in Singapore. When market crash, all down together.

I came across IRAS stat that less than 4% of S'pore pop (income and/or prop tax paying) owns a 2nd property (including commercial prop). The perception that many singaporean has a 2nd property as investment is misplaced.