• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GE2015: 'Just keep going, don't give up', Chee Soon Juan's 13-year-old daughter tells

GE2015: 'Just keep going, don't give up', Chee Soon Juan's 13-year-old daughter tells SDP chief

chee1.jpg

(THE NEW PAPER) - When Dr Chee Soon Juan’s daughter E Lyn returned home one day with a poor score in her mathematics test, she was afraid to show her father the results.

E Lyn, now 13, says she was fearful her father would scold her.

On Friday, the tables were turned.

It was Dr Chee, the secretary-general of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), who had returned with a less-than-satisfactory report card.

The SDP candidates, led by Dr Chee, lost to the People’s Action Party (PAP) team in the Holland-Bukit Timah GRC.

The margin of defeat - 33.38 per cent of valid votes won - was well below the 39.92 per cent obtained in the 2011 General Election.
This despite great expectations from pundits and indications on the ground.

Sitting in a room with other candidates at the SDP office in Ang Mo Kio, E Lyn and her sister An Lyn, 16, and brother Shaw Hur, 11, sensed their father’s disappointment.

“Maybe it’s not the time. (But) there will be a time in the future,” An Lyn tells The New Paper on Sunday early yesterday morning.

chee2.jpg

Dr Chee Soon Juan's two daughters (from left) An Lyn, 16, E Lyn, 13 and son Shaw Hur, 11. PHOTO: THE NEW PAPER

MINOR SETBACK

The defeat is a minor setback, adds E Lyn, reflecting a maturity beyond her years.

So no, you are not likely to see the last of Dr Chee.

“Just keep going and don’t give up,” she says of the future.

“This time it doesn’t matter because next time he can work harder.”

Recently, the siblings and their mother made a video clip to wish Dr Chee, 53, luck in the General Election.

In that video, E Lyn says that despite her poor maths results, her father comforted her and told her not to care about the results as long as she had put in the effort.

Son Shaw Hur had tried to comfort his father during those tense moments when the bad news filtered into the room at the SDP office.

A tired-looking Dr Chee, a former psychology lecturer at the National University of Singapore, sat at the end of a table staring at a laptop screen.

Shaw Hur, a cherubic teen who occasionally stepped outside the room with E Lyn to study the results that were projected on a wall, noticed his father “was kind of quiet in the room”.

Shaw Hur says: “I feel proud of him that he didn’t get so down about not winning this time in the election.”

Without a doubt, most of the opposition parties were caught off guard on Friday night.

The major vote swing - 69.86 per cent - has given the PAP a strong mandate. The strong support was attributed to the PAP playing “a masterful campaign in terms of the timing, the use of the state resources and infrastructure”, says SDP’s Prof Paul Tambyah.

SDP failed to secure any foothold in the two GRCs and three SMCs it contested.

Says Dr Chee at a press conference: “Well, I won’t deny that it has been hugely disappointing. But then again...

“There has been a swing against the opposition. People have made their decision. The only thing we can do is to continue to look forward.”

There were mixed signals previously. Online chatter suggested that a more acceptable, newly minted Dr Chee had been impressive in his comeback after 15 years in the political wilderness.

He was absent from the political arena after being declared a bankrupt in 2006. He had lost two hefty defamation suits to former prime ministers Goh Chok Tong and Lee Kuan Yew.

At this General Election, packed crowds greeted his return at his rallies.

Says Dr Tambyah: “I think the image that sticks to my mind from this election is the line of people waiting to get Soon Juan’s signature stretching past midnight on Tuesday night.”

VISIBLE

Among the listeners at the rallies were his children and wife.

They were highly visible — online and in person — throughout Dr Chee’s campaign.

“I feel quite proud when he (Dr Chee) goes on stage. The crowd always cheers very loudly. And I feel very happy for him because he has gone so far,” says E Lyn.

Dr Chee’s children seem grounded, with no sign of envy at not having the creature comforts or the latest gadgets of their peers.

E Lyn adds: “Well, my friends will have expensive mobile phones or cars or stuff like that.

“But I think I’m just okay with it because I’m used to it.”

The Chee family had shuffled quietly into the SDP office on Friday and left pretty much the same way, though they looked a little drained from all the campaigning.

Says Dr Chee’s wife, Dr Huang Chihmei: “When you’re tired, you take a break. You rest for a while but you continue.”

They left for their home in Toa Payoh in the family’s old maroon Nissan Presea.

Like its battered owner, the car had a few dents. But it remained worthy enough to continue its journey

http://www.straitstimes.com/politic...year-old-daughter-tells-sdp-chief#xtor=CS1-10

Re: GE2015: 'Just keep going, don't give up', Chee Soon Juan's 13-year-old daughter t

It is no secret that I have never been a fan of Dr Chee since the 90s.

At the end of the day, I must salute Dr Chee for standing up for what he believes in and the sacrifice. Maybe he did not do it the way acceptable by most voters including me. I heard his recent speech and it seems that he has changed for the better.

But let's not take away that courage and sacrifices (he and his family made), conviction and passion to fight for what he believes in.

At this very moment, I sincerely feel that he deserves more.

The person behind this nick eErotica69 salutes Dr Chee and thank him for being part of this democratic process, the courage, passion, conviction and sacrifices. Dr Chee, you are a great Singaporean.

Re: GE2015: 'Just keep going, don't give up', Chee Soon Juan's 13-year-old daughter t

..eErotica69 salutes Dr Chee and thank him for being part of this democratic process, the courage and sacrifies.

Same here. I used to have a not so favourable opinion of him due to various reasons (his fake accent whenever on-camera/stage being one of them).

Now i realise he had been 10 years ahead of his time. Activism seems like the most effective way to put non-pap views across in the unfair electoral process. Pity it's a very high price to pay.

NanoSpeed

An Lyn and E Lyn, remember when you grow up, don't marry a ball less Sinkie guy.

Same here. I used to have a not so favourable opinion of him due to various reasons (his fake accent whenever on-camera/stage being one of them).

Now i realise he had been 10 years ahead of his time. Activism seems like the most effective way to put non-pap views across in the unfair electoral process. Pity it's a very high price to pay.

Being ahead of time is no use. He has to understand what the voters wants.

Maybe he should engage a "Sales and Marketing" Manager to help him do branding.

Is all about selling a product (himself as an MP) to his customers (voters). Even if he has a good product, he needs branding.

LordElrond

The loss is not his. It is Sinkies' loss. I don't believe in playing a masterful chess game to win an election. Chee presented his true self, his ideals, his visions... but it is 对牛弹琴.

I wonder why Chee is so eager to 'save' sinkies. He has some obsession with martyrdom? Or jerking off every night to a photo of Nelson Mandela?

dredd

I wonder why Chee is so eager to 'save' sinkies. He has some obsession with martyrdom? Or jerking off every night to a photo of Nelson Mandela?

I also wonder why the MIWs are so desperate to hold on to power to the point of killing off anyone opposing them and importing votes to prop themselves up. Strange isn't it?

[video=youtube;6J0b4nDrQL0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6J0b4nDrQL0[/video]

LordElrond

That is not something you can remotely relate to. Nothing about martyrdom. If he was born in any other country he would have risen to become a successful leader. Except in the uniquely Singapore environment, the closest he got was some kinder words from social media. In any other country VB would have lost his pants and Sim Ann her panties.

The loss is not his. It is Sinkies' loss. I don't believe in playing a masterful chess game to win an election. Chee presented his true self, his ideals, his visions... but it is 对牛弹琴.

His daughter says he got to work harder.
He's already done more than enough.
It's the 70% voters who rejected him. They dun deserve him.
Maybe it's time he becomes selfish like them and think of himself. No one will begrudge him if he decides to throw in the towel.
Like my football idol Johan Cryuff who is the best player never to have won the World Cup.....perhaps Dr Chee is the best politician who can't win an unfair election.
For all his sacrifices and commitment I can only say thank you and salute him.
It was a great campaign and I am hearten to see finally many now can see thru the vile pap lies against this patriotic Singapore son.
I always said he will be vindicated one day though final vindication of getting into parliament was not realized.
No shame in that. Shame on the 70% instead. He'll always be my hero and the hero for many others.

His daughter says he got to work harder.
He's already done more than enough.
It's the 70% voters who rejected him. They dun deserve him.
Maybe it's time he becomes selfish like them and think of himself. No one will begrudge him if he decides to throw in the towel.
Like my football idol Johan Cryuff who is the best player never to have won the World Cup.....perhaps Dr Chee is the best politician who can't win an unfair election.
For all his sacrifices and commitment I can only say thank you and salute him.
It was a great campaign and I am hearten to see finally many now can see thru the vile pap lies against this patriotic Singapore son.
I always said he will be vindicated one day though final vindication of getting into parliament was not realized.
No shame in that. Shame on the 70% instead. He'll always be my hero and the hero for many others.

He is good politician but in order to win the game, he has to sell his idea to the voters. If WP can do it, CSJ can do it too.

For course is easier said than done. But hope he can win the next time.

SgGoneWrong

Chee should migrate with his family to give them a better future. Time for him to call it quits and focus on improving the lives of his family. There's no need for him to make everyone so tired when all he did is unappreciated. Over 60% of sinkies will be happier if Chee just fuck off and this percentage will only increase with the coming elections.

Thank you Dr Chee for trying your best, but enough is enough. Kenneth from rp sums it up the best, sinkies deserve the government they vote for.

By the same conviction that the late Lee Kuan Yew & his Colleagues & that included the Basrisan Socialis has..to build a better society for all & to remove the 'yoke of oppression' of the imperialist. Maybe you can say that old fart, jerk off the photo of Mahatma Gandhi..?? no??

We are still not ready .... many due to money which is understandably a Chinese trait, you give them money, 'they will even sell their..." & that is what had happened, they are angry, they want a change, but when they saw money coming...they forget the pain for today..just like a dog, whose mentality is to live & & eat for the day..their brain do not have the processing power for the future...that is the PAP voters....sad!..our future is bleak!...those can & have the ability..get out & go!....:mad:

looneytan

Or jerking off every night to a photo of Nelson Mandela?

Huh! you still do that with your Ah Gong photo? Do you use younger or older Ah Gong photo?

congo9

Chee should migrate with his family to give them a better future. Time for him to call it quits and focus on improving the lives of his family. There's no need for him to make everyone so tired when all he did is unappreciated. Over 60% of sinkies will be happier if Chee just fuck off and this percentage will only increase with the coming elections.

Thank you Dr Chee for trying your best, but enough is enough. Kenneth from rp sums it up the best, sinkies deserve the government they vote for.

I hope her 2 daughters do not marry any balless Singkies. That will be tough on her 2 beloved daughters.

soIsee

How can Ah Chee afford to raise a family with 3 kids and a wife in Stinkland HIGH COST of living?

soIsee

A picture says a thousand words

• No complain.jpg
    No complain.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 6,263

You cannot win elections debating minor issues. You have to come up with a signature issues that will open up the minds of licals . Issues even PAP has not thought of.

It is the selfishness and stupidity of sinkies.. it has nothing to do with issues..

PAP mandate means sinkies ok with this

samui-yip.jpg

I also know a sinkie who vote the PAP because he only care about his CPF.. i can never mixed with people who is stupid and selfish..

Many sinkies do not understand what is called self sufficiency.. their whole livelihood depend too much on the PAP.. They cannot survived without the PAP govt giving them businesses. and forget the whole issue about being a human being. No difference to those who suck PAP cocks daily to earn their salary.

Sinkies are 3rd world sub-human.

in case you dunno what is subhuman:

Thesaurus:
Adj. 1. subhuman - less than human or not worthy of a human being; "treated natives as subhuman"; "a subhuman spectacle"; "the subhuman primates"
superhuman - above or beyond the human or demanding more than human power or endurance; "superhuman beings"; "superhuman strength"; "soldiers driven mad by superhuman misery"

2. subhuman - unfit for human beings; "subhuman conditions of life"
unfit - below the required standards for a purpose; "an unfit parent"; "unfit for human consumption"