• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Tharman threaten middle class: I need to raise taxes if you want welfare

http://statestimesreview.com/2015/0...ss-i-need-to-raise-taxes-if-you-want-welfare/

[h=1]PAP Tharman threaten middle class: I need to raise taxes if you want welfare[/h]admin / 19 hours ago September 5, 2015

Former Finance Minister and PAP candidate for Jurong GRC Tharman Shanmugaratnam threatened the middle class saying that there is no way to have welfare benefits like free education, healthcare and pension system for everyone without raising their taxes.
“So, when you think of free healthcare and free social services, you must realise it is not free. The average citizen is paying for it big time in these countries… because everybody, including the rich, is benefiting. It is a complete myth to think they are egalitarian systems.”
Photo of Tharman Shamugaratnam from channelnewsasia shushan lam

Currently, Singaporeans are facing an increasing cost of living and this is especially affecting the low and middle income because the growth of their salaries have been affected by the influx of foreigners. Just earlier this year in 2015, The Economist ranked Singapore as the most expensive city in the world. However, purchasing power of Singaporeans is ranked in the far flung 42nd position in a UBS report in 2011.

PAP candidate Tharman went on to claim that the middle class are getting great return for every dollar of taxes they pay, even greater value than the system in Finland. He however did not provide evidence behind the claims he made.
“In Singapore, for every S$1 that a middle-income family pays in tax in one form or another, they get back S$2 in subsidies – such as for education, healthcare and in retirement.
Compare that to Finland where for every $1 the middle-income group pays, they get back $1.30.
As for the bottom 10 per cent in Singapore, they get back S$6 in subsidies for every S$1 of tax – mainly GST – that they pay, he added. The top 10 per cent, meanwhile, get back 20 cents for every S$1 paid. “That’s what I call a fair system.”
In Singapore, the GST was increased multiple times to lower income taxes. Unlike other countries, Singapore charge GST for all items including necessities like utility bills and staple food. The poor has to go through mean testing before they are entitled to welfare benefits. If you have a HDB flat, the government will not help.

Tharman also resisted increasing taxes on the 1% richest saying that they “know how to move their money around the world.”
“I’ve been studying it for years. You can’t do it by just taxing the top 1 per cent. That’s a bluff. First, because the top 1 per cent know how to move money around the world. But secondly, you can’t jack up the tax rate for the top 1 per cent without affecting the next 5 or 10 per cent.”

[h=3]Comments[/h]

Raise taxes to 50 percent ...in return, we want free childcare, healthcare (with NO deductibles), unemployment insurance covering 70 percent income for 2 years, free education from K to Post Phd an stipend of $700 per month provided for university students, and pension from age 60 at $2k a month.

The Scandinavian countries can provide that.

PAP talk big only lah.

Raise taxes to 50 percent ...in return, we want free childcare, healthcare (with NO deductibles), unemployment insurance covering 70 percent income for 2 years, free education from K to Post Phd an stipend of $700 per month provided for university students, and pension from age 60 at $2k a month.

PAP talk big only lah.

Talking about unemployment insurance, have spoken to some Union Officials before, just after we went into the "GREAT DEPRESSION" ( caused by, YOU KNOW WHO) of 1984. My argument was that, the world economy in years to come, will see saw wildly, there will be people, who will be, one time or the other UNEMPLOYED due to the economic situation & these people, will have critical bills to pay, children to clothe, feed & schooled. ( never mind, expensive government to feed). We need to have some form of unemployment insurance, to tide these people over for at least a year, many here would not even last 2 months.

The response...typical of their arrogant, pompous way, by the way I pointed out there, we will in future come to a situation where they GDP will be, - minus GDP.....the response, " WE WILL NEVER SEE A NEGATIVE GDP ( how true), the 1984 recession was just an "one off thing" ( how true) & I have since then, don't bother talking to these people & these was in 1985...

Their solutions after we recovered from 1984, "importing " cheap labourers from Malaysia to keep the cost down & to depress local wages from rising & later...we all know....truckloads of foreigners ....& that is your UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE they practiced.

They make sure, till this day...that the Filipinos, the Indians, the Bengalis, the Chinese, the Indonesians, the Burmese, etc..are insured from being unemployment....

Is that what you want....vote wisely!!:mad:

Im curious,if these richest 1% pack up their bags and leave,what would be the impact on this country?will we sink into the ocean?stop barking,u sonofabitch black dog under the paymaster of ur jewish imf masters.

Why would the 1% leave when theres a whole island of daft and estupido for them to suck and fuck?

If the oppos start sprouting this shit..the will definitely lose their deposit. ..

PAP talk big only lah.

http://statestimesreview.com/2015/0...ss-i-need-to-raise-taxes-if-you-want-welfare/

Tharman also resisted increasing taxes on the 1% richest saying that they “know how to move their money around the world.”
“I’ve been studying it for years. You can’t do it by just taxing the top 1 per cent. That’s a bluff. First, because the top 1 per cent know how to move money around the world. But secondly, you can’t jack up the tax rate for the top 1 per cent without affecting the next 5 or 10 per cent.”

[h=3]Comments[/h]

Of course this guy knows best how the top 1% move money around the world.we are the number one parking destination in the world for billionaires to park.just recite a pledge and ur billions are safely parked.

Welfare is just getting back what we had already paid in taxes, fees, fares, fines and levies. It like retrieving a stolen item.

He won't need to raise taxes, just fire him and the PAP gang.

They don't serve sinkees but their comrades in India. How could a loyal sinkee sign a treaty to allow unlimited foreigners to work in our land, robbing sinkee of good paying jobs? He is traitor.

Im curious,if these richest 1% pack up their bags and leave,what would be the impact on this country?will we sink into the ocean?stop barking,u sonofabitch black dog under the paymaster of ur jewish imf masters.

Why would the 1% leave when theres a whole island of daft and estupido for them to suck and fuck?

Even if the wealthy park their money here, it generally doesn't affect the majority of the population, unless one is directly in charge of managing their assets.

Trickle-down economics (of Reagan, Thatcher and LKY) does not work, and will never work. Get that into your thick skulls. :rolleyes:

Screen%20Shot%202014-09-18%20at%2012.13.17%20am.png

If the oppos start sprouting this shit..the will definitely lose their deposit. ..

Happiest people are from the Scandinavian countries. And the reason is obvious. Sinkees need education. Unadulterated capitalism, like that practised in sinkapore, hurts the masses.

steffychun

PAP talk big only lah.

freedom from NS

escher

Please be statesmen
Keep your eye on the ball.
The worse enemy of Singaporeans is the corrupt rotten PAPs trying to create their Stinkapore
We are in the battle of our life and your family lifes and for Singapore.
Regardless which party affiliation, WP, SDP, RP, NSP ,SPP or any other party or Independent
Do not run down any oppositions
Keep your eye on the ball
Support ALL OPPOSITIONS
Attack the PAP and only the PAP as they are the rotten bastards
Fight for Singaporeans Singapore

Singaporeans man your battle stations!
Singapore needs you now!

Put your support for Singapore on Facebook
Twitter to your friends
WhatsApp to your friends
Get a tsunami of support for Singapore Singaporeans

OPPOSITIONS ARE THE DIFFERENT FACES OF THE TRUE SINGAPORE
PAP IS THE FACE OF SEPTIC OVERFLOWING TOILET BOWLS AND CORRUPTIONS AND OF STINKAPORE

Cleanse PAP Stinkapore into Singaporeans Singapore.
Vote only opposition
Vote out all the fucking corrupt PAPs

This fight is not just your voting for opposition, any opposition against the PAP
Singaporeans must do much more than just relying on their single vote.
Give them the money to support them in the fight.
Give them your time and energy to support them in the fight
They fight for you Singaporeans
They fight our common enemy
They fight the PAP and cronies, corrupt and rotten to the core, who stole over 180 billions from Singaporeans, and intent on stealing even more from us.

Support Opposition, any Opposition, all Opposition
Regardless if they have primary school, or O levels or A levels or PhD
Regardless if they wear singlets, or tuxedos
Regardless if they wear slippers, or wear sneakers or shoes
Even if a rat crawl out of a sewer and stand as Opposition
Even if a cockroach with 6 legs and 2 long feelers at the head become Opposition
They will be much better for Singaporeans than the fucking corrupt perverted PAPs who only think of laughing all the way to their banks and back from the banks
Under the fucking PAP, Singaporeans are the 4th class citizens in their own land stolen from them by PAP
PAPs are the 2nd class citizens with the Lee family as the first class aristocrazies
Fts are taken in as the 3rd class citizens kicking singaporeans into the 4th class and sinkies good only to go head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked and tiewed by PAPs laughing all the way to their banks.

rusty

Go ahead Tharman, raise the taxes after our reserves touch the minimum level. Meanwhile let us know what our reserves are so we can proceed to debate on the minimum level needed for the next 5 years.