• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wisdom Tooth Extraction

Dark Knight

Those who had extracted your wisdom tooth before:
1) how much of inconvenience did it caused after the extraction?
2) how many did you pay for the surgery?
3) Can you pay in full using medisafe or you need to pay cash?

gingerlyn

if surgery, no need to pay, 100% use medisave.

u need ct scan to see if you need surgery or normal extraction.
you cannot use cpf for ct scan.

why u need surgery?
the root of your wisdom tooth is like a fishing hook, dentist needs to cut your tooth into few pieces and pull them up one by one.

a little discomfort after surgery.
you need to take painkiller and antibiotic.

after surgery, please refrain from giving oral sex!

1) It's okay. Just avoid spicy/solid foods, take your antibiotics and use the given chlorhexidine mouthwash to gargle every now and then. After some time, you'll visit your dentist to get the stitches removed.

2) Company had a generous dental allowance. It's about $1k, but I visited a boutique dental clinic at Clarke Quay, no waiting required. There's also a cool 3D x-ray imaging done of your jaws. :wink:

3) Yes, you can use medisave, but you'll need to fill up a form.

loneshark

What is a reasonable price for surgical removal of 2 wisdom teeth under local anesthetic in a private clinic?

1. I am considered lucky as pain was not a problem for me after surgery on bottom two wisdom teeth and two corresponding on top. Doc advised me to have the top extracted as over time it may over grow can cause future problem. I'm other words I had all four removed at one go. In convenience was only couldn't eat hard stuff for only 3 days so it's chicken and fish porridge all the way. Follow instruction on antibiotics and rinse mouth regularly.

2. Did it in Bangkok where I live about 6 years ago, I believe I paid only close to S$800 including local anesthesia

3. No idea

xpo2015

You go to dental schools or university dental institutes you can do it for free.

But there will be many students standing there to watch while the professor crack them away.

Only discomfort. Not painful.

Root canals are more CBs.

JHolmesJr

Fuck this shit...singo dentists are crooks plain and simple....i would say head to bangkok....there are lots of shit dentists there but also some damn fine ones ....do a diligent search online...prices about a third of singapore....plus they pick u up from hotel and drop you back every visit....where got this standard in our money obsessed dot....

Dark Knight

$900 all in.

$900 include the following fees:
1) Consultations
2) X-ray
3) Medications

Some of the dental clinics I've asked generally charge around $1150 to $1250 which include everything as a package.
It's not cheap but those that charge below $900 may have additional hidden charges which I'm not sure.

Fuck this shit...singo dentists are crooks plain and simple....i would say head to bangkok....there are lots of shit dentists there but also some damn fine ones ....do a diligent search online...prices about a third of singapore....plus they pick u up from hotel and drop you back every visit....where got this standard in our money obsessed dot....

As soon as my wisdom teeth grows back I'll be sure to go try the services of dentists in Thailand. :wink:

I know a woman who got her Lasik surgery done in JB. Same transport and hotel escort package stuff.

da dick

surgery can pay medisave? i phoned gahmen polyclinic they say cannot leh because it's "optional".

from what i heard ,removal of one wisdom tooth can be from 900-1000. you might find a better price in private clinic compared to gahmen hospitals who say must use dental specialist to pull teeth so more expense.

Dark Knight

surgery can pay medisave? i phoned gahmen polyclinic they say cannot leh because it's "optional".

from what i heard ,removal of one wisdom tooth can be from 900-1000. you might find a better price in private clinic compared to gahmen hospitals who say must use dental specialist to pull teeth so more expense.

Not all dental clinic can use medisave, some only allowed "70% medisave usage + 30% cash top up", while others allowed 100% usage.
If I'm not wrong, there's a few types of dental specialist, not all of them can perform dental surgery.

Agoraphobic

I visited the dentist to remove my wisdom teeth (top and bottom) after passing the age of 40. It was causing me pain and discomfort then.

The dentist took X-ray of my teeth, then told me that if I can put up with the pain, it will go away. It may or may not come back in future, and if it does, will only last two or three days each time. He discouraged me from extracting them. Reason - at my age, calcium replacement is not good, and if my teeth/gums weren't infected, there is no need to resort to surgery, which can be complicated. So my wisdom teeth are still there. They have since grown out from under the gum covering, and are fully exposed now. There is no more pain. Am glad the dentist advised to keep them. That's my story.

I visited the dentist to remove my wisdom teeth (top and bottom) after passing the age of 40. It was causing me pain and discomfort then.

The dentist took X-ray of my teeth, then told me that if I can put up with the pain, it will go away. It may or may not come back in future, and if it does, will only last two or three days each time. He discouraged me from extracting them. Reason - at my age, calcium replacement is not good, and if my teeth/gums weren't infected, there is no need to resort to surgery, which can be complicated. So my wisdom teeth are still there. They have since grown out from under the gum covering, and are fully exposed now. There is no more pain. Am glad the dentist advised to keep them. That's my story.

It will fine if you have space. Some no space.