• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinke queue 10hrs to take free cable car

zeroo

SINGAPORE: Long queues were seen at cable car stations on the Mount Faber line on Monday (Aug 10), on the last day of free rides being offered to Singaporeans and Permanent Residents.

According to a post by Singapore Cable Car on Facebook at about 1.15pm, the wait for free rides was expected to be at least 10 hours.

“We will not be able to accept more guests on the cable cars today. Please do not join the queue at mount Faber, Harbourfront and Sentosa stations,” it wrote.

Facebook user Ronald sent photos to Channel NewsAsia and said he had been in the queue for more than 2 hours at Mount Faber and the queue “was not moving at all”.

babuSingh

For your info $49 per pax get u unlimited rides both in island and outside island cable rides plus two free attractions...i rather pay than to stand for 10 hours and then another few hours to get back to sg island
Dont understand sinkies....can afford to eat at posh restaurants on weekends but not willing to pay for cable car rides

Buckethead

Yesterday was the day most people are out on the street due to free rides on mrt and bus...super crowded everywhere....

For your info $49 per pax get u unlimited rides both in island and outside island cable rides plus two free attractions...i rather pay than to stand for 10 hours and then another few hours to get back to sg island
Dont understand sinkies....can afford to eat at posh restaurants on weekends but not willing to pay for cable car rides

Treat rides and museum admissions etc as you would treat a prostitute: you aren't really paying for her services as you are paying for her to go away after the deed is done.

Free rides and free entries eliminate the barrier to entry (price) attracting undesirable crowds and spoiling the enjoyment for everyone else.

But knowing gian png Sinkies, I'm sure plenty of them have been sufficiently bribed to vote for the PAP. :wink:

xebay11

The average peasant sinkie can't afford the $49 lah.

Personally I don't know any Sporeans who took up all these free this & that. They either stayed at home or were overseas holidaying

The crowds that people are seeing are probably "guests" of the PAP.

Dark Knight

Personally I don't know any Sporeans who took up all these free this & that. They either stayed at home or were overseas holidaying

The crowds that people are seeing are probably "guests" of the PAP.

If we think local sinkies are "Gian Pung" (greedy), wait till you are see how ah neh and ah tiong behaves.

Ah Tiongs are spendthrifts, at least those from the big cities such as Shanghai.

Tiongs‘ problem is that they think money is everything, money makes them a big fuck. 财大气粗

There's also the question of getting your money's worth. For $49 you can do quite a lot of things instead of splurging on a very short cable car ride.

SINGAPORE: Long queues were seen at cable car stations on the Mount Faber line on Monday (Aug 10), on the last day of free rides being offered to Singaporeans and Permanent Residents.

According to a post by Singapore Cable Car on Facebook at about 1.15pm, the wait for free rides was expected to be at least 10 hours.

“We will not be able to accept more guests on the cable cars today. Please do not join the queue at mount Faber, Harbourfront and Sentosa stations,” it wrote.

Facebook user Ronald sent photos to Channel NewsAsia and said he had been in the queue for more than 2 hours at Mount Faber and the queue “was not moving at all”.

cannot blame them seriously cable tickets are quite expensive for the unemployed. :wink:

borom

"There ain't no such thing as a free lunch" ( TANSTAAFL)

In economics, TANSTAAFL demonstrates opportunity cost...... "You can only get something for nothing if you have previously gotten nothing for something." If one individual or group gets something at no cost, somebody else ends up paying for it. If there appears to be no direct cost to any single individual, there is a social cost. Similarly, someone can benefit for "free" from an externality or from a public good, but someone has to pay the cost of producing these benefits.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/There_ain't_no_such_thing_as_a_free_lunch

When foreigners get the free ride, local taxpayers end up paying for it-and that free rides include scholarships/jobs and exemption from NS for PR's(first generation).HDB says it operates at a " deficit " subsidising public housing in which foreigners(PR's) are also eligible to apply. If PR's cannot apply for HDB, locals should by right get better subsidies-so vote wisely.

This whole debacle shows you that PAP did the right thing to make sinkies pay market rates minus subsidy for medical services and other core essential services and goods. If it was given free, sinkies will hoard as much as possible and make life miserable for everyone else, especially for those who genuinely need it.

You do realize that PAP is going to win GE2015 with around 95% of the parliamentary seats, do you?

This whole debacle shows you that PAP did the right thing to make sinkies pay market rates minus subsidy for medical services and other core essential services and goods. If it was given free, sinkies will hoard as much as possible and make life miserable for everyone else, especially for those who genuinely need it.

You do realize that PAP is going to win GE2015 with around 95% of the parliamentary seats, do you?

How many sinkees have disposable income to ride the cable cars? After paying for essentials, tuition, transportation ...they can only afford to go window shopping, watch TV and occasional treats of eating at food court.
That's why freebies like this get so much demand. Sinkees are so poor lah and the PAP plays them like dogs.