• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Story of an unemployed PMET, lessons for all PMETs - And All Voters!

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/08/07/story-of-an-unemployed-pmet-lessons-to-all-pmets/

[h=2]Story of an unemployed PMET, lessons for all PMETs[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png

August 7th, 2015 |
PostAuthorIcon.png

Author: Contributions

I had worked many years in APAC, holding middle and senior positions. In
2011, I was invited to help a Japanese MNC start its operations in China. By
2014, they had relocated to Taiwan and asked me to move. I decided to resign and
come back to my kind of town (Mr Chiam’s slogan). My parents were getting old
and I couldn’t be based overseas forever.

I returned in May 2014 and sent out a few hundred applications and got not a
single interview. F
or your information, I have a good masters and bachelors
degree. My job experience is quite extensive, in many areas, and I had worked
for the same company for many years (never job-hopped).

foreign_vs_local.jpg
It
has been 14 months since I came back and still, I have not got a single call
from any company. I did a lot of research and found many of the companies I
applied to are headed by foreigners. And a lot are from Malaysia and third world
countries like India.
I don’t think they are better or more experienced than
myself. To rub salt into my wound, a China company then called me and offered me
a senior executive job!!!
They said they prefer Singaporeans who are more
professional and hardworking and don’t understand why Singapore companies are
not hiring me. They would never hire those third world PMETs in China.

Lim Swee Say said that FTs need to impart skills to locals. In the first
place, Singapore achieved first world status without these third world FTs.

These FTs can’t even improve their own countries, and yet our government tells
us to learn from them? Come again? I believe this is all propaganda to justify
their massive import of foreigners to eventually convert them to new citizens.
Most of these third world FTs I know are new citizens. But strangely, only one
person in the family would convert! You probably understand why.

At 5.5M, I am one of the unlucky PMETs with a wealth of experience who are
discriminated against by our government and the companies. We are heading to 7M
and there is another 1.5M to import, how many other local PMETs will be
displaced?
If you have a job, do you believe that sometime in the future, you
might end up like me? If senior PMET positions are held by foreigners aka new
citizens, do you think they might discriminate against locals?
My dad works for
a Fortune 50 oil and gas company, it was 60% locals and the rest foreigners just
a few years ago, now it is 70% India Indians, and only less than 10% locals.

Most of the locals are fired in the name of restructuring!!! Never trust what
the Ministry of Manpower tells you, they don’t practise what they preach. The
company writes any sort of excuse to hire FTs and they are approved immediately
without any question, this is why it is now 70% India Indians.

I believe the government wants foreigners to control or manage locals,
therefore they keep telling you not to send your kids to university while they
spend a whopping $500M to sponsor the education of foreigners
. More than 50% of
our workforce are foreigners (PRs and new citizens are not considered local
core), and they are in middle and senior positions, which means they are
managing locals.
This sinister plot is really evil, don’t you agree? I have seen
a Pinoy supervisor screaming at our local auntie at Macdonald’s. How pathetic
have we become that now these foreigners are managing us and we look like their
servants in our own backyard.

For a lot of locals with a job, think carefully, another few more years,
another 1.5M foreigners, what might happen? Will you end up like me? When your
kids finish university or poly, are they going to find a good job or be
discriminated against by these FTs (PRs or new citizens) who prefer to hire
their own. Are you going to listen to Chan Chun Sing’s bullshit and go and work
overseas and come back jobless like me???

Anyway, my options:
1. Be a taxi driver
2. Be a property/insurance agent
3. Migrate

All PMETs, think long-term, for our people’s survival, this election, you
need to tell them how you feel. If not, sometime in the future, you might end up
like me or your kids will be
impacted.

龙的主人

Submitted by TRE reader.

Chris Kuan:

August
7, 2015 at 5:00 pm
Chris
Kuan(Quote)

Yep, knew it was going to happen to me too so I chose retirement than to be
interviewed by some FT MD whose job I knew better than him. All the extensive
overseas experience in places more advanced than Singapore, holding positions
more challenging and gathering experience not found in Singapore, at the end of
the day, means nought in this crazy country which is supposed to be our own
country.

Bottom line is not what you know and what extensive skills and experience you
have, it is a matter of cheapness and a matter of FTs hiring their own kind. All
the crap about skilled FTs – that’s jackshit from the elites who’s never worked
in private sector.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+103 (from 103 votes)

Smash the PAPayas:
August 7, 2015 at 5:11 pm Smash the PAPayas(Quote)
First they bring in the FTs to replace local athletes (under the Foreign Sports Talents scheme), and many did not speak out – because they’re not sportsmen.
Then they bring in the FWs to replace locals in the service sector (insisting sgreans don’t want those jobs), and many did not speak out – because they’re not the service people.
Then they bring in the PMETs (claiming sgreans don’t have the required skills), and many did not speak out – because they’re not the PMETs.
Then they bring in 7 millions foreigners – and there were no more local voices to be heard – because we’re already outnumbered.
Lessons not only to all PMETS but to all singaporeans. In the coming GE, let’s show our pap govt that we’ve learnt our lessons and become wise. We don’t need any more lessons.

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating: +82 (from 82 votes)

slacker:
August 7, 2015 at 5:18 pm slacker(Quote)
Sorry to hear about your situation.
As you said, there is no way out now.. PAP is determined to wipe us locals out.
Too bad 60.1% daft voters still wanna vote PAP to ensure our doom.
Vote Dr Amy Khor, so she can welcome more FTs in Hong Kah North!
Vote Darryl David, so he can convert Yang Yin into a new citizen!
Vote PM Lee, so he can import 10 million FTs and PRs to replace us!
Vote PAP for a lifetime of misery!

Rating: +60 (from 60 votes)

When will the lynching begin? If sinkees don't fight back, then they deserve to be treated like dogs by their government and foreigners.

bigboss

When will the lynching begin? If sinkees don't fight back, then they deserve to be treated like dogs by their government and foreigners.

...surely the local sinaporans affected by the pappies' screwed up policies will fight back at the ballot box but as for the imported sinkies, they may want to preserve the pappies in power as form of gratitude for giving them a nice place to live, a good job and a place in school for their children which they cannot find in their home land.

So, how to lynch the pappies if the rope is not strong enough?

Silly man. You think the rest of those sheeple sinkies crowing ah gong ah gong during ndp will stand up for your injustice?

PAP Supporters:
August 7, 2015 at 5:36 pm PAP Supporters(Quote)
PAP supporters, do not think the pap government will look after you forever.
Until you are replaced by foreigners, then you would know the truth about the pap government.

Rating: +42 (from 42 votes)

thebastardPAPparty:

August
7, 2015 at 5:51 pm
thebastardPAPparty(Quote)

this is the PAP monopoly

where they control every thing and hide everything that is working against
them.

they lies about FT policies are just gettting dumbass cheap stupid Foreign
labour and not imparting any knowledge to us

but this polices help the PAP to siphon off millions into their
accounts

Rating:
+26 (from 26 votes)

rotiprata

voters in east coast GRC.... please read and remember... or remind your children to remind you; when you make your way to the ballot box next month...

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/08/07/story-of-an-unemployed-pmet-lessons-to-all-pmets/

Lim Swee Say said that FTs need to impart skills to locals. In the first
place, Singapore achieved first world status without these third world FTs.

These FTs can’t even improve their own countries, and yet our government tells
us to learn from them? Come again? I believe this is all propaganda to justify
their massive import of foreigners to eventually convert them to new citizens.
Most of these third world FTs I know are new citizens. But strangely, only one
person in the family would convert! You probably understand why.

All PMETs, think long-term, for our people’s survival, this election, you
need to tell them how you feel. If not, sometime in the future, you might end up like me
or your kids will be impacted

龙的主人
Submitted by TRE reader.

batman1

Truthfully,If this GE 2015 PAP won again,true-blue Singaporeans will become a minority or extinct.Honestly,The powers that be do not care whether the sinkees have a job or not .U die is your business.Forget about all the SG50 propaganda bullshit.GE 2015 is coming .
They are only obsessed with increasing annual GDP growth rates to increase their salaries and bonuses.
Sincerely,The vast and great disparity of wealth between the rich/elite/the powers that be and the ordinary sinkees is very dangerous and do not contribute to national harmony.Practically, sinkees are a practical and materialistic lot and they do not care about injustices unless and until they are affected adversely and by that time it is too late as there is nobody to speak up for u.

Microsoft

why de writer never try cleaner n security guard? Security guard most likely can get...cleaner no garantee coz most sinkie won't be able to work 15 hrs a day...365 days a yr...for 1.2k. But ah tiong willing leh...sori...our paper general call this globalisation...fuck off from sinkieland if chiu cannot match. :biggrin:

security guard can work, I do before .not bad job

rotiprata

fren: suggest you look at cisco, CAAS airport security.... you be surprise how many at FT
cleaners?... same same story

looneytan

.......holding positions more challenging and gathering experience not found in Singapore ...

Then why would some one want to hire you when your experience is not relevant to local context?

.. want to comprain then word it carefully lah

Microsoft

fren: suggest you look at cisco, CAAS airport security.... you be surprise how many at FT
cleaners?... same same story

dey are out source to cronies companies..
In rtn employ tons of ft...moi once ask a boss of such co...dun chiu hav certain quota of sinkie and ft mix? he say...Microsoft...chiu eat shit grow up huan izit? such regulations can b easily "bypass"...moi ask him how? lucky he not tat dumb else moi post here big big...:biggrin: