• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Provides Opportunities for Citizens to Succeed

Charlie99

From Channelnewsasia:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/singapore-provides/2036468.html

[[ The video starts off with a boy asking what he would be when he grows up, to which his father responds: “In Singapore, you can be anything you want to be.”

But the boy later asks: “What if my dreams don’t come true?”

“As long as you don’t give up and take care of your dreams, Singapore will take care of you,” his father replies.

Mr Shanmugam added: “I'm certain he will achieve his dreams if he gives his best in Singapore.”
]]

With respect, I disagree that "Singapore will take care of you"
I believe that Singapore is reluctant to implement and provide financial assistance to the poor senior citizens, mentally and physically challenged, and those whose health made them dependent on medical and surgical interventions as well as reliance on medical prescription drugs.

At the risk of being considered unreasonable, I believe that in Singapore, an individual may not realize his dream to be an astronaut, test pilot, and someone who wishes to speak his mind.

What a load of crock. I see campaigning for the PAP has already begun, albeit unofficially. :rolleyes:

Earlier today there was a PAP grassroots National Day event/dinner near by place. I was passing by and I heard the MP talk. Two lines stood out:

(It's not verbatim but I think it's faithful to the gist.)

1) "Our country has achieved more than many other countries in the past 50 years."

2) "Our country has achieved much more than what our leaders have been given credit for."

Later on, 5-year and 10-year awards were given out on stage to the various grassroots people.

Amos Yee was spot on, the pappies will exploit SG50 (and LKY's death) to capture more votes.
I hope Sinkies wake up and make the PAP's cunning plan backfire. :wink:

Dark Knight

Many of us local sinkie's dream in getting a job which can allow us to earn enough to get married and have kids have already been taken away.
What sort of dreams are they talking about when we can't even put enough food on the table?

greedy and cunning

What a load of crock. I see campaigning for the PAP has already begun, albeit unofficially. :rolleyes:

Earlier today there was a PAP grassroots National Day event/dinner near by place. I was passing by and I heard the MP talk. Two lines stood out:

(It's not verbatim but I think it's faithful to the gist.)

1) "Our country has achieved more than many other countries in the past 50 years."

2) "Our country has achieved much more than what our leaders have been given credit for."

Later on, 5-year and 10-year awards were given out on stage to the various grassroots people.

Amos Yee was spot on, the pappies will exploit SG50 (and LKY's death) to capture more votes.
I hope Sinkies wake up and make the PAP's cunning plan backfire. :wink:

u nevber shout " take it with a double pinch of salt " ah ??

Many of us local sinkie's dream in getting a job which can allow us to earn enough to get married and have kids have already been taken away.
What sort of dreams are they talking about when we can't even put enough food on the table?

If you are capable there is absolutely no reason why you cannot secure the job of your dreams.

However if you're lazy and expected to be spoonfed, it goes without saying that you're not going to achieve much.

Life is what you make of it. The PAP provides you with all the tools needed to make a success of your life. However, it is up to you learn to use the tools proficiently. The government cannot do that for you.

Dark Knight

If you are capable there is absolutely no reason why you cannot secure the job of your dreams.

However if you're lazy and expected to be spoonfed, it goes without saying that you're not going to achieve much.

Life is what you make of it. The PAP provides you with all the tools needed to make a success of your life. However, it is up to you learn to use the tools proficiently. The government cannot do that for you.

Yeah, you are right. Gahbrament provide us with all the "tools needed" by signing the FTA with ah neh land which allows them to take away jobs from local sinkie.
Plus even their spouse is also allowed to move over to live here and get a job. Is that what you called "the gahbrament cannot do that for you"?

nayr69sg

Staff member
They forgot to mention you need to go for tuition classes! On my recent trip back to Singapore, all my friends send their kids to tuition. Everyone goes for tuition. Learning lab is the big brand. The kids all learn 3 months in advance of what the school curriculum covers. So if you don't go for tuition you fall back in class.

Singapore is a small city state. There are certain fields that Singapore will never need or will never be able to pay a living wage for. This whole thing about "dreams" is nebulous to me. Someone has to do the job as they say. What about firemen? Septic tank cleaners? Construction workers? Dreams of young Singapore children? I think they discourage them from thinking about that.

Subliminally the end message was "I know you will" take care of Singapore. Those who do indeed chase their dreams will realize Singapore is too small for them and will leave.

After our trip back to Singapore we realize how much we have grown, and how much we have outgrown Singapore.

borom

opportunities to succeed include?
-being sweepers,table cleaners ,taxi drivers and cardboard collectors in your 60's
-paying ridiculous prices for public housing
-waiting 6 months to see a dentist/specialist in public hospitals
-trains breakdowns frequently
-dengue epidemics and haze yearly
-20% of places in education reserved for foreigners mostly on scholarships
-teenagers being jailed for making "offensive" videos
ect2 ect2

Not everyone can secure dream jobs.someone has to cook the food,drive the buses and wait tables in order for civilization to function.

In australia,the government has still ensured u can still live the Australian dream even if u are a roadsweeper

opportunities to succeed include?
-being sweepers,table cleaners ,taxi drivers and cardboard collectors in your 60's
-paying ridiculous prices for public housing
-waiting 6 months to see a dentist/specialist in public hospitals
-trains breakdowns frequently
-dengue epidemics and haze yearly
-20% of places in education reserved for foreigners mostly on scholarships
-teenagers being jailed for making "offensive" videos ...
set up agency provider 4 sweepers, cleaners or taxi coy ...
b a property developer ...
b a dentist/specialist ...
set up train malfunction fixing coy ...
set up factory 2 manufacture or b a distributor 4 mosquito repellent ...
set up learning institute, tuition centre ...
set up factory 2 manufacture or b a distributor 4 video making devices ...

c? ... gahmen provide opportunities evrywhere! ...

Sure, lots of opportunities exist. No need license, not yet maybe, to sell tissue paper. Collecting old stuff off the road is also opportunity.

Charlie99

They forgot to mention you need to go for tuition classes! On my recent trip back to Singapore, all my friends send their kids to tuition. Everyone goes for tuition. Learning lab is the big brand. The kids all learn 3 months in advance of what the school curriculum covers. So if you don't go for tuition you fall back in class.

Singapore is a small city state. There are certain fields that Singapore will never need or will never be able to pay a living wage for. This whole thing about "dreams" is nebulous to me. Someone has to do the job as they say. What about firemen? Septic tank cleaners? Construction workers? Dreams of young Singapore children? I think they discourage them from thinking about that.

Subliminally the end message was "I know you will" take care of Singapore. Those who do indeed chase their dreams will realize Singapore is too small for them and will leave.

After our trip back to Singapore we realize how much we have grown, and how much we have outgrown Singapore.

Good for you and your family.
It is "funny" you mentioned about "firemen", because throughout my time in Toronto, I have seen and heard many children talked about their "dreams" of becoming a police constable and a fire fighter, when they grow up.
Realistically, a first class police constable and a fire fighter in Toronto earns about Cdn $90,000 a year, plus benefits and a very generous defined benefit pension plan.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes you are right Charlie99.

You see in the video when they talked about "dreams" I know most Singaporeans would think of achievements in sports, academics, career etc.

Dreams can be many things. I can dream of going to Easter Island one day. It has nothing to do with studying really really hard or running very fast.

I have met several patients who are new immigrants. Former engineers, accountants now starting off in Calgary as supermarket cashiers, factory workers, housekeeping workers, cleaners etc. They all find jobs quickly despite the poor current economy. And they get by. I share with them that when I first came to Canada my first job was as a factory worker in a PVC windows manufacturer. Minimum wage however helps us get started. I think the income divide being not so wide in Canada gives people a better chance of living their dreams than Singapore.

So very very glad we left Singapore and indeed chased our dreams. While some of my friends lined up for 3.5 hours to get free admission into the ArtsScience museum, my family and I spent the day hiking with out dogs at Grotto Canyon, looking at ancient petroglyphs, climbing up to caves, enjoying a sandwich lunch by a waterfall.

soIsee

You talk to a bunch of losers here, you are wasting your time lah...Charlie99.

You seem to be a rational person compared to the dime to a dozen of losers here but if you think you got your message across...you will be disappointed.

I am not saying the PAP is perfect but they had lead the way to what Sinkie are today. That much you have to give them credit. It's these losers own forefathers, who had not lead the way and laid the stone for their subsequent gen, that they are what they are today.

Instead of blaming that, they blame the current system for their plight and thinks voting out the PAP, IS THEIR SOLUTION.

Cheers.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I agree with soIsee to some extent. However I would add that it is also not exactly all just the fault of the people. Singapore is a tiny tiny tiny little island. All it has it people and paper money. There's only so much you can do with that. For sure Singapore has overachieved, and because of that people in Singapore have difficulty accepting the truth and reality. It is far more interesting watching Singapore from the outside than thinking hard about the country when you are a Singapore citizen and have real concerns and worries about the long term future.

Charlie99

You seem to be a rational person compared to the dime to a dozen of losers here but if you think you got your message across...you will be disappointed.

I am not saying the PAP is perfect but they had lead the way to what Sinkie are today. That much you have to give them credit. It's these losers own forefathers, who had not lead the way and laid the stone for their subsequent gen, that they are what they are today.

Instead of blaming that, they blame the current system for their plight and thinks voting out the PAP, IS THEIR SOLUTION.

Cheers.

To some people, I am a "loser" because:
1. I am in my 50's, and not working full time, and our children are relatively young (not old enough for university);
2. I am not financially successful, but without a mortgage for a small principal residence, since 1995;
3. I do not own any fancy motor vehicle;
4. I cannot afford to send our children for "tuition", except for piano lessons;
5. I do not take our children to foreign countries during their school holidays.

Cheers.

Singaporeans are not a race of leaders,they are a race of coolies and farmers.lead what way?

Go to any ang moh countries and u will be surprised to see how independent and aggressive and outspoken and dominant ang mohs are,they are the alpha race.sinkies are meek,pusssies,submissive,weak willed and afraid of confrontations.