• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lim Swee Say: Our employment situation is one of the best in the world. For Who?

[h=1]Lim Swee Say: Our employment situation is one of the best in the world[/h]admin / 11 hours ago July 30, 2015
In the latest employment figures released by the Ministry of Manpower today (July 30), the unemployment rate for Singapore citizens have risen by 0.3% to 2.9%. Employment growth declined 6,100 in the first quarter of 2015 and bounced back a little to 15,700 in the second quarter. The employment growth figures for 2015, compared to the same quarter in 2014, is a decline of more than 40%.

Photo from Ministry of Manpower

Photo of Lim Swee Say from thestraitstimes

The Manpower Minister, Lim Swee Say, in his Facebook page, commented that the unemployment rate is still low despite the “tight” labour market and that it is “one of the best in the world”:
“It is still low but has crept up from 2.6% to 2.9% for citizens even though the labour market is still tight…
Our employment situation is by no means perfect, but it is one of the best in the world. Our employment rate is one of the highest globally while our unemployment rate is one of the lowest.”
The new Manpower Minister seems to be unaware of the oxymoron in his public statements because if the labour market is seeing a shortage of manpower, how could the unemployment rate be rising?
[h=3]Comments[/h]3 comments

The guy is the orignal Moron and the original

Oxy, as in Bull Shit.

The stupid things that this guy and the likes of Chuan Jin, Kee Chiu are really incredible.

Dark Knight

This toothpick thief think that local sinkies after job hunting and going for so many job interview will not spread the reality thru word of mouth.
He still think his artificially inflated figures speaks more weight than those who got first hand experience.

We have more second and third ministers of state now than ever before. Quite simply, we can expect to see more ministers in a PAP government.

greedy and cunning

Oxy, as in Bull Shit.

The stupid things that this guy and the likes of Chuan Jin, Kee Chiu are really incredible.

these scums are not hired for their brain power.
main criteria is being obedient.
those with brain power use it to devise schemes to suck more $ from the sillypootians.
sillypoore is lumpar one , the bestest , unequal in the ease and ways of making payments.

Hans168

Oxy, as in Bull Shit.

INCREDULOUS to rub salt into jobless PMEs

Unable or unwilling to help still want to bullshit thru his nonsenses!! He is in my GRC so he will be VO

airplug

He should axed out!!!

[h=1]Lim Swee Say: Our employment situation is one of the best in the world[/h]admin / 11 hours ago July 30, 2015
In the latest employment figures released by the Ministry of Manpower today (July 30), the unemployment rate for Singapore citizens have risen by 0.3% to 2.9%. Employment growth declined 6,100 in the first quarter of 2015 and bounced back a little to 15,700 in the second quarter. The employment growth figures for 2015, compared to the same quarter in 2014, is a decline of more than 40%.

Photo from Ministry of Manpower

Photo of Lim Swee Say from thestraitstimes

The Manpower Minister, Lim Swee Say, in his Facebook page, commented that the unemployment rate is still low despite the “tight” labour market and that it is “one of the best in the world”:
“It is still low but has crept up from 2.6% to 2.9% for citizens even though the labour market is still tight…
Our employment situation is by no means perfect, but it is one of the best in the world. Our employment rate is one of the highest globally while our unemployment rate is one of the lowest.”
The new Manpower Minister seems to be unaware of the oxymoron in his public statements because if the labour market is seeing a shortage of manpower, how could the unemployment rate be rising?
[h=3]Comments[/h]3 comments

The toothpick thief has no sense of reality. I wonder if he ever reads his briefing papers.

PMET being replaced by foreigners ...he says PAP government is creating jobs.
Good paying jobs going to foreigners leaving sinkees with low paying jobs ....he says PAP government is looking after sinkees.

One wonder if he smokes marijuana every night.

CABcommander

the way PAP manipulate the employment stats is disgraceful.

1) if you work part-time even say for 10 hrs a week, you are considered 'employed'.

2) if you are out of work for more than 6 months, you are deemed as 'not actively seeking employment' and will be counted out of the unemployed stats.:oIo:

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The toothpick thief has no sense of reality. I wonder if he ever reads his briefing papers.

PMET being replaced by foreigners ...he says PAP government is creating jobs.
Good paying jobs going to foreigners leaving sinkees with low paying jobs ....he says PAP government is looking after sinkees.

One wonder if he smokes marijuana every night.

You really think he don't know meh. Japanese occupation got a lot of these

bigboss

...situation is one of the best in the world...the unemployment rate for Singapore citizens have risen by 0.3% to 2.9%. The employment growth figures for 2015, compared to the same quarter in 2014, is a decline of more than 40%....“It is still low but has crept up from 2.6% to 2.9% for citizens even though the labour market is still tight…Our employment situation is by no means perfect, but it is one of the best in the world. Our employment rate is one of the highest globally while our unemployment rate is one of the lowest.”

This Minister does not seem to know what he is talking about. There are also unemployed SPRs floating around in the country. They are not told to FO to their homeland. So, are these SPRs included in the statistics of unemployed sinaporans?

If there are more foreigner employed in the country while more sinaporans are jobless, what is there to glorify about "our employment rate is one of the highest globally...?"

When there are still foreign employers like the Swiss company openly seeking only pinoys and indonesians to fill vacancies, sinaporans are still screwed.

bigboss

...PMET being replaced by foreigners ...he says PAP government is creating jobs.
Good paying jobs going to foreigners leaving sinkees with low paying jobs ....he says PAP government is looking after sinkees...

This Minister never go sit at kopi tiam to drink kopi...he will see foreigners like PRC tiong bu working as supervisors to boss around locals working as kopi kias. Are there no locals better than PRC tiongs to be supervisors?

Employers like to exploit loopholes to screw locals for whatever reasons but it is up to MOM to stop their nonsense.

This guy spent many years on a scholarship at our expense in the UK - and he is talking cock at us.

And don't get me started about how many zeros he has in his CPF statement.

The FT policy and biased hiring practices caused limpeh to lose my job 3 years ago. I have been doing all I can to make sure some of the MIW will lose their jobs too after the next GE.

Dark Knight

Age discrimination is getting more serious in MNC and even some of the local SME and GLCs.
The first concern that the HR has is "how old are you"?
Some of them will wayang wayang and ask you for interview but the end result is that you won't get the job even if you fit the bill.

The FT policy and biased hiring practices caused limpeh to lose my job 3 years ago. I have been doing all I can to make sure some of the MIW will lose their jobs too after the next GE.

You cannot read? Our situation is best in the world. Be thankful you got a job! No FT means no jobs created for you. You want to lose your job again? You better think twice eh! That why i say sinkies alot of hot air and bravado. Come elections still kuai kuai vote in the PAP.