• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smaller GRCs and more SMCs in coming Election???

kopiOuncle

........................Mr Han from SPH...

The truth of the matter is that tinkering with different GRC sizes isn't a productive exercise for any party any more.

The only consideration worth retaining is that of ensuring adequate minority representation, and the best way to do this is to revert to how it was first conceived in 1988, with a combination of SMCs and three-member GRCs.

Making all GRCs one size is good for limiting the number of changes that can be made and ensuring that every voter in a GRC faces the same choice of choosing a three-member team. Adjacent GRCs can be combined to form town councils, thus retaining the advantage of size present in existing large GRCs.

With three MPs in every GRC, and with at least one of them from a minority race, the number of GRCs will be determined, not arbitrarily, but by deciding the required minimum number of minority MPs in Parliament.

Hence, if it is thought Singapore should have at least a quarter of them, or 22 in a House of 87 elected representatives, that would mean 22 three-member GRCs and 21 SMCs. This way, the number of GRCs is precisely determined, and not subject to extraneous considerations.

Such a transparent system has a better chance of enduring.............

airplug

2a3jutv

doesnt matter what pattern is he going to come out with....

Microsoft

Pinky last time like to buy system 7...now he buying $1 quick pick...hoping more chance to kena...doesn't matter wat he buy...its game over...:biggrin::biggrin:

they're just splitting off those wards from GRC so that a single ward won't threaten the whole GRC............no big changes lah.............GRC system still working for PAP..........

Capano2121

Total domination of parliament will force them to come out with either a super GRC with unthinkable number of representatives or they will break down all GRC and have one MP representing 200 residents. Just a matter of time before they will adopt worst hare brain ideas just to keep themselves afloat.

iamhere

FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP.........
MAY PAPEES, CRONIES N FAMILIES BURN ETERNALLY IN HELLS.........
MAJULLAH SINGAPURA.........
GOD BLESS SINGAPORE..............
REMEMBER to

VOTE papees OUT

do yrself, yr forefathers and yr generations to come, a favor, a service and a long-awaited justice

:wink::wink::wink::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::wink::wink::wink:

iamhere says a lot about this:"The democracy shall cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those LEECHES who would not.”

For many years, opposition complained that large GRCs were unfair and discouraged opposition from contesting due to lack of resources. Now, P m Lee has heard you and promised smaller GRCs ands more SMCs. U still not happy?

Kuailan

For many years, opposition complained that large GRCs were unfair and discouraged opposition from contesting due to lack of resources. Now, P m Lee has heard you and promised smaller GRCs ands more SMCs. U still not happy?

PAP is afraid of the down fall, e.g. Aljunied!!
that's why they reduce the number of casualties in GRC in the coming
Erection!!

Admit it! during the early days PAP was strong they increase the number in GRC
even to 10 with a lot of Free loaders/parachute-rs/back door whatever u want to call it!

Today scenerio has changed PAP is reducing the numbers in GRC for fear of being KO by opposition!

kopiOuncle

No matter what, PAP will come out stronger, smarter and better.

The OPPO is a goner. Nothing to shut about. Only come alive during erections.

blur sotong

FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP.........
MAY PAPEES, CRONIES N FAMILIES BURN ETERNALLY IN HELLS.........
MAJULLAH SINGAPURA.........
GOD BLESS SINGAPORE..............
REMEMBER to

VOTE papees OUT

do yrself, yr forefathers and yr generations to come, a favor, a service and a long-awaited justice

:wink::wink::wink::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::wink::wink::wink:

iamhere says a lot about this:"The democracy shall cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those LEECHES who would not.”

Well said Bro iamhere!! :smile:

MIW will be doomed in the next election. :wink::wink:

All the skeleton will be out. They will have no where to hide. DIE... DIE :mad::mad::mad:

kopiOuncle

Where erection you guys said die die
Where go die
PAP in fact grows stronger and stronger
while the OPPO has gone weaker and weaker

PAP is afraid of the down fall, e.g. Aljunied!!
that's why they reduce the number of casualties in GRC in the coming
Erection!!

Admit it! during the early days PAP was strong they increase the number in GRC
even to 10 with a lot of Free loaders/parachute-rs/back door whatever u want to call it!

Today scenerio has changed PAP is reducing the numbers in GRC for fear of being KO by opposition!

Well, PAP had conducted a lot of National Conversation since GE2011. It is clear from the ground that most sinkies want more political contests. So, we now have a few new political parties, smaller GRCs and more SMCs. PAP has already done what it could, against its own best interests to accommodate the national aspirations of sinkie voters. It is now up to the opposition to show that they deserve to win on their own merit, and not simply win because they can blow hot air about how bad PAP has been.

Poomer

Well, PAP had conducted a lot of National Conversation since GE2011. It is clear from the ground that most sinkies want more political contests. So, we now have a few new political parties, smaller GRCs and more SMCs. PAP has already done what it could, against its own best interests to accommodate the national aspirations of sinkie voters. It is now up to the opposition to show that they deserve to win on their own merit, and not simply win because they can blow hot air about how bad PAP has been.

It's times like this when I don't know you are a PAP IB or a troll...