• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

http://sgfuck.org/mybb/Thread-41-year-old-ex-SAF-PMET-finding-it-tough-to-re-enter-th

Today 9:37 PM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
forum456 http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif
Elite Junior

http://www.transitioning.org/2015/0...t-finding-it-tough-to-re-enter-the-workforce/

My name is Gerald. I am a 41-year-old Singaporean and have been jobless since December 2014.

I have also just graduated from my Bachelors in Business studies.

I have approached a few head hunters who have told me upfront that I am too old. http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/smilies/sad.gif I have even approached CDC but the lady whom I am assigned to help me find a job says she can’t help me because there are no vacancies on her list.

I have applied hundreds of jobs in Job banks, job street, careers at gov, etc, all of which till today no reply at all.

I am looking for an admin job as I specialise in that and have more than 10 years experience in it. I am also open to new jobs and skills.

I was with the SAF since I finished my O levels in 1992 and 17 years later, I came out in 2009.

Since then finding a job was tough as I had only O levels.

I went on to do a diploma, advanced diploma and now a degree so that I can stay relevant in the market, all using my own savings but unfortunately till today, my diploma, advanced diploma have not found me a job.

Most of the jobs I had in the past were recommended by friends of friends and they were all part-time or short contract.

Please advise me. Thank you.

PS: Enclosed is my resume.

garlic

Re: http://sgfuck.org/mybb/Thread-41-year-old-ex-SAF-PMET-finding-it-tough-to-re-ente

Today 9:37 PM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
forum456 http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif
Elite Junior

http://www.transitioning.org/2015/0...t-finding-it-tough-to-re-enter-the-workforce/

My name is Gerald. I am a 41-year-old Singaporean and have been jobless since December 2014.

I have also just graduated from my Bachelors in Business studies.

I have approached a few head hunters who have told me upfront that I am too old. http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/smilies/sad.gif I have even approached CDC but the lady whom I am assigned to help me find a job says she can’t help me because there are no vacancies on her list.

I have applied hundreds of jobs in Job banks, job street, careers at gov, etc, all of which till today no reply at all.

I am looking for an admin job as I specialise in that and have more than 10 years experience in it. I am also open to new jobs and skills.

I was with the SAF since I finished my O levels in 1992 and 17 years later, I came out in 2009.

Since then finding a job was tough as I had only O levels.

I went on to do a diploma, advanced diploma and now a degree so that I can stay relevant in the market, all using my own savings but unfortunately till today, my diploma, advanced diploma have not found me a job.

Most of the jobs I had in the past were recommended by friends of friends and they were all part-time or short contract.

Please advise me. Thank you.

PS: Enclosed is my resume.

I wonder why he feels the need to emphasize that he paid for his studies using his own savings. Is a 30+ guy paying for his own studies so rare that it is worth the bytes he writes his "ordeal" on?

Re: http://sgfuck.org/mybb/Thread-41-year-old-ex-SAF-PMET-finding-it-tough-to-re-ente

A CV with a lengthy period of time under 'SAF' is not a desirable thing.

If you're not a SAF scholar, it's better to serve and fuck off. Otherwise, you better make sure you can stay in the SAF till you retire.

Should have known this when you signed on. :rolleyes:

NanoSpeed

I wonder why he feels the need to emphasize that he paid for his studies using his own savings. Is a 30+ guy paying for his own studies so rare that it is worth the bytes he writes his "ordeal" on?

He is indirectly blaming the government for exhausting his savings because he couldn't land a job despite re-training to obtain higher and relevant qualifications.

And there goes the myth of "upgrade yo skillz!" to secure gainful employment. :rolleyes:

All it does is make those people who conduct the courses richer... part of the ever-lucrative education sector. :wink:

Wunderfool

Wonder what job was he doing in the 5 years between 2009 and 2014 ?

Why was he made "jobless" in 2014 ?

Was there any referees in his resume that can testify to his performance in his last job ?

A degree doesn't equate automatically to a job. It is a basic requisite for most PMET job.

Attitude, experience and good record can make the difference if you are vying for the job with others.

SAFmen arent worth anything in the real world. Their ex-number 1 is screwing up big time in SMRT while another piece of shit messes up NOL.

lifeafter41

A CV with a lengthy period of time under 'SAF' is not a desirable thing.

If you're not a SAF scholar, it's better to serve and fuck off. Otherwise, you better make sure you can stay in the SAF till you retire.

Should have known this when you signed on. :rolleyes:

Ironically in the private sector, any cv under the saf is not viewed positively. Just a gut feel though.
Perhaps the perception is that whatever learnt is not applicable in the real world. Unless one is parachuted into those glcs for ceo or vp. Other than that, I don't think there is any chances of them heading in any mNCs, what more in those Singapore private company.

Sad but seems to ring true.

NanoSpeed

And there goes the myth of "upgrade yo skillz!" to secure gainful employment. :rolleyes:

All it does is make those people who conduct the courses richer... part of the ever-lucrative education sector. :wink:

And guess who gets the training contract to conduct courses ? Got proper tender ?

no but it emphasises that he is another sinkie useless shit who squandered his precious and much needed savings to sustain his sorry ass on education qualifications thinking it will somehow make him employable and more redeemable and less useless in the eyes of the employers but it didnt so now he is about to be a starving sinkie shit.

iv seen this phenomenon in much of the middle age generation and my mother and fathers generation,they thought they could go out after 20 years of slogging and pursue their academic dreams and look for a new line of work but often times it just ends up in nought and they end up working the same job they always did except they be a few years older and 30 to 70k more broke.looks like the education industry is a good way on selling sinkies on pipe dreams

NanoSpeed

Attitude, experience and good record can make the difference if you are vying for the job with others.

It boils down to networking, knowing the right person.

The whole thing about writing letters to apply for jobs is a red herring. Pulling the right strings is all it takes.

NanoSpeed

SAFmen arent worth anything in the real world. Their ex-number 1 is screwing up big time in SMRT while another piece of shit messes up NOL.

Don't go so high up the rank mah. Say Capt level lah. GMS doing quite well. PM elect leh.

stuffycunt

wat about ndp parade commander or funpack distribution ic

i agree,unless u are a elite scholar or top 1 to 5 percentile of your age cohort and genuinely smart,education is more or less wasted on the general population.even being above average in your studies or the top 10 or 20 percentile does not quite cut it.either your the best or you are a nobody.dunno why sinkies or 80 percent of the general population waste so much time on education,for most of them an adequate education is good enough,they are better off focusing on economic activities and work.stop wasting so much time and inflicting so much pain and suffering on your children,they are never going to be the next rhodes scholar or presidential scholar.it is counter productive and not cost effective.