• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Guess the race: TNP doggy editor sides Ang moh in MRT shirt slogan incident

Are we practising double standards here when it comes to foreigners?

Are we quick to condemn them when they are out of line, but slow to check our own behaviour?

On July 7, a teenager boarded the train at Bishan station around 11pm with a T-shirt proudly proclaiming "I'm F****** Special".

An older man, obviously offended by the T-shirt, loudly berated the youth, challenged him to a fight and threatened to throw him out of the train at Ang Mo Kio station.

Video footage of the incident has him saying: "Are you getting off? If not, I'm going to throw you off."

Yes, his rude and aggressive behaviour cannot be condoned.

T-SHIRT OFFENSIVE?

Section 4 of the Protection from Harassment Act 2014 states that it is an offence to cause harassment, alarm or distress to another person through the use of threatening, abusive or insulting words or make any threatening, abusive or insulting communication.

Yes, the man's threat is an offence under the Act. But so could wearing a T-shirt with a vulgarity in public. Other people could find it offensive and insulting.

So why did most people jump at how the older man reacted and not at what the youth wore?

Is it because they perceive the bully, who is light-skinned and has blond hair, to be a foreigner?

In the video, some passengers could be heard telling him to go back to his country and some of the online criticism also focused on him being a foreigner.

I'm not taking credit away from Mr Muhammad Hanafie, 25, who chided the bully and told him to get off the train. Mr Hanafie, who is unemployed, later told reporters why he intervened.

"It just doesn't make sense. The man kept scolding the victim about his T-shirt," he said.

His girlfriend, Ms Nabilah Nasser, 23, filmed the exchange.

Mr Hanafie said that throughout the incident, the teen kept quiet and avoided eye contact with the aggressor so as to not provoke him further.

But if we are going to label Mr Hanafie a hero and the older man a bully, would the youth be an instigator?

If others are to stand up to bullies, it may be useful to remember that idiocy is also a local affliction.

In June, a commuter uploaded a picture of a South Indian worker who had made himself as small as possible on a train from Jurong East to Marina South Pier.

A minute earlier, an elderly man next to him had yelled vulgarities at the foreigner for brushing against his arm. The older man proudly proclaimed himself a Singaporean and continued shouting at the migrant worker who sat quietly throughout the tirade.

Nobody intervened.

If you put on a T-shirt calling for a reaction, you should expect one - though that's no excuse for the older man's behaviour.

Perhaps an apt punishment would be to parade the two on a train wearing T-shirts saying "I'm with Stupid".

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-news/whos-real-offender

JOKERCHEW

the two of them wearing the teeshirt melvin singh suggested,
should parade with melvin singh in the middle,

right?

xebay11

The writer is an idiot, who does the Ang Mo think he is, he can take the law in his own hands? If he felt offended he should call the police to arrest the boy, Singapore is not a cowboy town, where you can dictate your own law, even western societies recognize that Batman is actually breaking the law by being labeled as a vigilante even though he is protecting society at large.

Yes yes let's not be racist.

Now separately, let's arrest that old man for criminal intimidation. No need to consider his race. Just charge and jail him. The bayis inside there to screw his old arse (I didn't say white arse).

Very poor logic from the reporter. Obviously you can disapprove or disagree with a slogan on somebody's t-shirt, or something someone says or writes.

But if the ang mo reacted in the way he did ONLY because he was unhappy with what he saw on the t-shirt, he was certainly wrong for over-reacting.

People who have been indoctrinated with the pappy mentality since young, still cannot understand the meaning of a Disproportionate Reaction.

stuffycunt

Very poor logic from the reporter. Obviously you can disapprove or disagree with a slogan on somebody's t-shirt, or something someone says or writes.

But if the ang mo reacted in the way he did ONLY because he was unhappy with what he saw on the t-shirt, he was certainly wrong for over-reacting.

People who have been indoctrinated with the pappy mentality since young, still cannot understand the meaning of a Disproportionate Reaction.

bayi sing a song
sing a bayi song
bayi chin buay song
bayi hor kao kan

Brahmadachod

url.jpg

Look at his article carefully, the key words revealing his own psychic: Light skinned - Thats what every Indians like Melvin Singh is obessed with. South Indian Worker - Thats what every singh which is a north indian caste like Melvin Singh desperately wants to differentiate from.

This Shit Skin Indian Melvin Singh is just a normal typical Indian dying to be a European. Thats why the whole world despise and look down on Indians.
2337138958_38847b5479_o.jpg

• url.jpg
    url.jpg
    267.2 KB · Views: 147
  • 2337138958_38847b5479_o.jpg
    2337138958_38847b5479_o.jpg
    116.9 KB · Views: 156

Brahmadachod

Are we practising double standards here when it comes to foreigners?

Are we quick to condemn them when they are out of line, but slow to check our own behaviour?

On July 7, a teenager boarded the train at Bishan station around 11pm with a T-shirt proudly proclaiming "I'm F****** Special".

An older man, obviously offended by the T-shirt, loudly berated the youth, challenged him to a fight and threatened to throw him out of the train at Ang Mo Kio station.

Video footage of the incident has him saying: "Are you getting off? If not, I'm going to throw you off."

Yes, his rude and aggressive behaviour cannot be condoned.

T-SHIRT OFFENSIVE?

Section 4 of the Protection from Harassment Act 2014 states that it is an offence to cause harassment, alarm or distress to another person through the use of threatening, abusive or insulting words or make any threatening, abusive or insulting communication.

Yes, the man's threat is an offence under the Act. But so could wearing a T-shirt with a vulgarity in public. Other people could find it offensive and insulting.

So why did most people jump at how the older man reacted and not at what the youth wore?

Is it because they perceive the bully, who is light-skinned and has blond hair, to be a foreigner?

In the video, some passengers could be heard telling him to go back to his country and some of the online criticism also focused on him being a foreigner.

I'm not taking credit away from Mr Muhammad Hanafie, 25, who chided the bully and told him to get off the train. Mr Hanafie, who is unemployed, later told reporters why he intervened.

"It just doesn't make sense. The man kept scolding the victim about his T-shirt," he said.

His girlfriend, Ms Nabilah Nasser, 23, filmed the exchange.

Mr Hanafie said that throughout the incident, the teen kept quiet and avoided eye contact with the aggressor so as to not provoke him further.

But if we are going to label Mr Hanafie a hero and the older man a bully, would the youth be an instigator?

If others are to stand up to bullies, it may be useful to remember that idiocy is also a local affliction.

In June, a commuter uploaded a picture of a South Indian worker who had made himself as small as possible on a train from Jurong East to Marina South Pier.

A minute earlier, an elderly man next to him had yelled vulgarities at the foreigner for brushing against his arm. The older man proudly proclaimed himself a Singaporean and continued shouting at the migrant worker who sat quietly throughout the tirade.

Nobody intervened.

If you put on a T-shirt calling for a reaction, you should expect one - though that's no excuse for the older man's behaviour.

Perhaps an apt punishment would be to parade the two on a train wearing T-shirts saying "I'm with Stupid".

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-news/whos-real-offender

Look at the phrase "idiocy is also a local affliction" and the Jurong East to Marina South Pier incident this Melvin Singh deliberately brought up to compare. This shit skin Melvin Singh is clearly unhappy that when his idol caucasian bully a chinese teen, the world stands up for the teen and condemn his master. But when the table is turned, no one stands up for his South Indian Worker.

butoh6050

This melvin singh pundek got the wrath of netizens ages ago too for something that he said, which i can't remember now.
I thought then that this bayi must have leant his lesson. Apparently not. He seems to be asking for more ass poking it seems.

bigboss

Walau, wearing a T-shirt with some stupid slogan is a vulgarity? Come on, man. This is the 21st century, age of pornography and lewdness all over the world...People screwing in public in Hong Kong, hookers running wild in sinkie land, naked babes posing in HDB car parks....

If that stupid slogan on the T-shirt is offensive, time to go back into your time tunnel and go back home to 19th century....

bigboss

This Shit Skin Indian Melvin Singh is just a normal typical Indian dying to be a European. Thats why the whole world despise and look down on Indians.

Dying to be an European? No wonder, this bayi got no turban.

A conceited bayi, trying to speak up for white trash while forgetting there are more white scums running like mad dogs in the country, bullying and walloping sinkies in the country for years. Even Minister Sharma could not tahan the white scum bullying the teenager.