• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ST's disgraceful reporting of train breakdowns

Trains break down but the PAP Government was more concerned about putting on a good front than addressing the real problem.

Look at the way last Tuesday’s unprecedented breakdown of train services was reported in the PAP-controlled MSM versus the reports carried by online independent sites.

The contrast in which the news was presented in the MSM and in the online media could not have been more glaring than day is to night.

While the online new sites reported the breakdown in an unvarnished manner, the same could be said about the MSM which tried to put on a spin – emphasizing how tough the night was for the recovery staff who had worked overnight to try to solve the problems.

To top it off, Lui was even “spotted” at Ang Mo Kio Station and Lee Hsien Loong was photographed sporting a sombre look expressing “concern”.

The MSM did not see it necessary to question LTA and SMRT over why it didn’t commit more night staff to make regular checks so that such last minute and disruptive works could be avoided.

Why didn’t Lee Hsien Loong express concern when the breakdowns were occurring with alarmingly increasing frequency in 2014?

It was very painful to read and hear that the SMRT chief saw nothing wrong with its maintenance schedule when he said checks were made at 6 monthly intervals?

Six-monthly interval for an aging and deteriorating public transport system that ferries hundreds of thousands of passengers a day?

It was also painful to read some PAP ministers suggesting that the breakdown is part and parcel of life and “that it happens everywhere in other countries”.

We would bet my last dollar that the eventual official reasoning would be along these lines:

1. The trains did not break down.

2. Rather, they were immobilized by the safety feature to safeguard the commuters.

During the press conference, Lui Tuck Yew was in a hurry to announce that a COI was not needed.

PAP cronies understandably echoed, claiming that the process would be too costly.

Can you believe this?

A COI is not necessary despite this being the worst breakdown in SMRT’s history?

Well, the only reason we would agree that a COI is not necessary is that it would be a carefully orchestrated exercise to turn only the stones that need to be turned, so as not to hurt the credibility of the PAP and its paper generals and Ivory Tower scholars all aiming for that million dollar ministerial pie.

Lee Hsien Loong said after the incident that he was “very concerned” that the root cause had not been found, which meant that the breakdown may happen again.

Now we have a word of advice for him: convene a truly independent COI led by independent professional experts.

We don’t need any retired judges. We certainly don’t need another bootlicking Gerard Ee.

Our fellow Singaporeans, we cannot and must not allow such incidence to pass with the PAP government manipulating the incident and controlling the media so we only “read the right things”.

Let’s think about it.

There have been 60 over breakdowns and delays over the past two years.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/07/11/60-over-mrt-breakdowns-and-delays-over-past-2-yrs/

Patriot

11201171_929930377068295_3474895150397072505_n.jpg

While the online new sites reported the breakdown in an unvarnished manner, the same could be said about the MSM which tried to put on a spin – emphasizing how tough the night was for the recovery staff who had worked overnight to try to solve the problems.

That's precisely why I call them PRESSTITUTES... because that's exactly what they are: prostitutes of the press.

Singapore used to have a fairly free and open press, until LKY came along and bent it to his will, had it within his dark grip. This is one of the most permanently damaging legacies your beloved ah gong had brought to this country, one we have yet to shake off. :rolleyes:

xpo2015

There is no motivation to correct the problems if nobody is admitting the problems and accepting responsibility! The state press acts like Japanese sanitizing WW2 textbooks!

Nothing will change when the sense of guilt and redemption is not there!

Don't talk so much cock lah. What can u do?

i can help him to spend his $2.2 mil since he is probably so farking busy entertaining everyone else.

if his maid or dotter chio i dont mind helping to bonk them also.

i'm the helpful type..