• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$8 Khaw Dung maintains silence on 1.17m corridor issue

Another thing about these new flats and apartments is unlike the retro flats built in the 1980s and earlier, you'll have to walk to a common garbage disposal chute along the corridor to discard your rubbish. That's plenty of traversing along narrow corridors. :biggrin:

How is this poor lady going to get back to her apartment??? :eek:

it would be a problem in america, but in sg, it was designed for the boon keng uncle.

image.jpg

Patriot

Honesty from the PAP, you got to be joking.

Foreign Minister in Parliament used fallacious data to support its attack on WP TC;
Vivian lied about the cleaning of hawker centre fiasco;
Rat epidemic - minister said nothing.
Billions lost by Temasek - PM said nothing.

Please lah ...tell me what honesty is there in the PAP government?

5OPULG5.jpg

sense

...According to the Fire Safety Code administered by SCDF, the minimum width of common corridors needs to be 1.2m. At 1.17m in some places of the corridors of Pasir Ris One, this is clearly a violation of the Fire Safety Code.

In response to the narrow corridor issue, BCA (Building and Construction Authority) states that under its Code on Accessibility, common corridors must also have a minimum of 1.2m width so as to allow unimpeded access for persons on wheelchair.

BCA said that before issuing the Temporary Occupancy Permit (TOP), inspections had been conducted at Pasir Ris One and it found that generally the corridors are 1.2m wide.

As for the current measure of 1.17 m width at some places of Pasir Ris One’s corridors, BCA felt that the 3 cm difference may be due to “error during construction phase”. But, BCA said that this difference does not impact the accessibility of persons on wheelchairs.

BCA has stipulated the 1.2m minimum width requirement of corridors in its 2013 Code on Accessibility. But from April 2014 last year, it updated its code stipulating that corridors would need to have a minimum of 1.5m width.
:
:

If 1.17 is ok, what about 1.16? 1.15? 1.14? ... when is it NOT ok?

What is the real minimum?!

Seee3

You have brought out the essence of Code of Practice. The min figure should be final, no bargaining. They also used the word "generally the corridors are 1.2 m" in their defence for issuing TOP. Very sad that it is like that now. In the past, we don't dare play such game with authority. They were capable of making us hack everything to comply even if it is 1 cm. Too lenient, contractor will shit on their head in no time.

shittypore

You have brought out the essence of Code of Practice. The min figure should be final, no bargaining. They also used the word "generally the corridors are 1.2 m" in their defence for issuing TOP. Very sad that it is like that now. In the past, we don't dare play such game with authority. They were capable of making us hack everything to comply even if it is 1 cm. Too lenient, contractor will shit on their head in no time.

If its HDB its ok, try the private sector, bldg a flat without a fire escape back door.

Seee3

If its HDB its ok, try the private sector, bldg a flat without a fire escape back door.
Agreed. But since bca was the one who has carried out the inspection, I think for dbss, the developer must do all submissions just like as if it is a pte development. As such it is quite surprising that they managed to clear bca.

soIsee

The real minimum is what your 'trusted' papies says so.

So how does it feel like to see the 'true colors' of your pappy master screwing you?

Shiok? LoL

The real minimum is what your 'trusted' papies says so.

So how does it feel like to see the 'true colors' of your pappy master screwing you?

Shiok? LoL

Aiyah, only a difference of 3cm wanna kpkb... You can still be fucked by a penis that is 3cm shorter than the national average, right? So what's the fuss?

soIsee

Aiyah, only a difference of 3cm wanna kpkb... You can still be fucked by a penis that is 3cm shorter than the national average, right? So what's the fuss?

The real fuss here is , the fucktards Sinkie having been promised a brand of housing differing from their usual HDBee slum, but is turning out to a nightmare, is kicking up a fuss which the papies as usual will ignore!

Which is a form of retribution for not being proactive in electing their ruler and since they have been screwed from all fronts, since Lee Con You was running the show, they seem to be 'unaware' that this 1.17m issue was just another screw! LoL

enterprise2

Simple. No fat people allowed in this flat. If u exceed the width and weight limit, u have to go for obese course or Barr from entry!

Honesty from the PAP, you got to be joking.

Foreign Minister in Parliament used fallacious data to support its attack on WP TC;
Vivian lied about the cleaning of hawker centre fiasco;
Rat epidemic - minister said nothing.
Billions lost by Temasek - PM said nothing.

Please lah ...tell me what honesty is there in the PAP government?

When they lament that there is no "natural artistocracy" and imply that they want to fill the void.

Simple. No fat people allowed in this flat. If u exceed the width and weight limit, u have to go for obese course or Barr from entry!

There are reasons for standards.

For example, If there were no standards then how would SCDF personnel know that the stretcher they are using would fit in the corridors of a Spore home:confused: Imagine how inconvenient it would be if wheelchairs didn't't fit or when you buy a bed & find that you can't get it into you home:smile:

We have always taken for granted that things worked in Spore but nowadays we cannot assume so when even our regulators take a chin chye attitude:rolleyes:

There are reasons for standards.

For example, If there were no standards then how would SCDF personnel know that the stretcher they are using would fit in the corridors of a Spore home:confused: Imagine how inconvenient it would be if wheelchairs didn't't fit or when you buy a bed & find that you can't get it into you home:smile:

We have always taken for granted that things worked in Spore but nowadays we cannot assume so when even our regulators take a chin chye attitude:rolleyes:

Now like third world govt with chin chye attitude but not chin chye pay. 1.17m is clearly a breach but also can talk down to like no impact.

micromachine

Lieutenant General
Maybe he might come out and say this: its only 0.03m less. Won't make much of a difference. Live and let live.

Khaw boon wan still said nothing on this? It is easy to be minister in Spore, can take million dollar salary and keep quiet when an authority under his charge did improper job on safety inspection. Even when the breach is found out by public, still can keep quiet and say nothing for days.