• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Brilliant group of citizens and parents expresses concern to PM Lee

Today 9:45 AM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
forum456 http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif
Elite Junior

http://tinyurI.com/pynbeym

In a letter to the Prime Minister on Saturday, a group of members of the public, which include parents and prominent members of the community, have expressed concerns over the “harsh treatment” of 16-year old video-blogger Amos Yee.

“We are writing to register our deep concern as citizens and as parents, teachers and other adults who work with children and young people, over the State’s prosecution of Amos Yee,” the letter, endorsed by 77 signatories, said.

“Besides the negative impact on his well-being and that of his family, the harsh treatment he has faced creates a negative environment for all younger members of our society.”

They also urged Mr Lee “to honour Singapore’s commitments under the Convention on the Rights of the Child to always act with the best interests of the child as a primary consideration in all actions undertaken by public institutions.”

“We are aware of the negative aspects of Amos’ communications,” the letter said. “Nonetheless, we are troubled by the State’s harsh reactions to them, including the prosecution’s request for reformative training lasting at least 18 months.”

The group said it hopes the letter “will be received in good faith – as a demonstration of our commitment to just and reasonable processes, and our shared concern with the State toward the safe-guarding and nurturing of our young.”

The letter is also copied to Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs Teo Chee Hean, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, and Attorney General VK Rajah.

The letter is the latest to join in the call for the release of the teenager or to express concerns about his treatment by the State. The United Nations, Human Rights Watch and Amnesty International have all called for the youth to be released immediately, and protests in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Malaysia have also taken place in support of the boy.

Singaporeans will also be taking to Hong Lim Park tomorrow (Sunday, 5 July) at 4pm to lend their voices to the call to free Amos Yee. (See here.)

The teenager would have been in remand for a total of 55 days by the time of his next appearance in court on 6 July. It is expected that he will be sentenced then.
(This post

http://sgfuck.org/mybb/Thread-Brilliant-group-of-citizens-and-parents-expresses-concern-to-PM-Lee

Today 9:46 AM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #2
forum456 http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif
Elite Junior

http://tinyurI.com/pynbeym

Here is the letter to PM Lee in full:

The Prime Minister

Mr Lee Hsien Loong

Republic of Singapore

CC: The Minister for Home Affairs

The Minister for Education

Attorney General

04 July 2015

Dear Prime Minister,

We are writing to register our deep concern as citizens and as parents, teachers and other adults who work with children and young people, over the State’s prosecution of Amos Yee. Besides the negative impact on his wellbeing and that of his family, the harsh treatment he has faced creates a negative environment for all younger members of our society.

We trust and hope that this statement of our concerns will be received in good faith – as a demonstration of our commitment to just and reasonable processes, and our shared concern with the State toward the safe-guarding and nurturing of our young.

In considering our letter, we also urge you to honour Singapore’s commitments under the Convention on the Rights of the Child to always act with the best interests of the child as a primary consideration in all actions undertaken by public institutions.

We are aware of the negative aspects of Amos’ communications. Nonetheless, we are troubled by the State’s harsh reactions to them, including the prosecution’s request for reformative training lasting at least 18 months.

Many of us have been working to nurture our young to take ownership of and participate in matters concerning the wellbeing of Singapore society. As reflected in changes in our education system and programmes targeted at young people in recent years, we want young Singaporeans to be empowered to articulate their thoughts and to present and defend their ideas, even if we disagree with them. As you said only this week, “You want people to stand up, not scrape and bow.”

To learn to conduct themselves, including to forge norms around mutual respect and civil disagreements, young people need to feel safe. Likewise, to continue to encourage our children or students to think creatively, to be active participants in their learning journeys, to enthusiastically stake their claims on social matters, we too have to be assured that such parenting and pedagogical practices will not bring them harm.

The prosecution of Amos Yee has already undone some of the progress we have witnessed among young people, and the prosecution’s call for reformative training threatens to undo even more. Growing up with access to rich sources of information as well as outlets for expression, young people have great potential for being engaged citizens. While we may not agree with everything that they say or do, we must ensure that they continue to feel safe in venturing out, and that making mistakes will not mean they will be punished in ways that compromise their well-being and/or stigmatise their futures.

We are deeply concerned by information circulating in social media that Amos has been shackled and subjected to treatment that is generally meant for mature offenders charged with more serious offences.

Moreover, whether or not Amos Yee has mental illness and/or autism, we are concerned that the use of physical restraint and institutionalisation in response to his alleged condition(s) will contribute to the stigmatisation of young people with mental illness and/or autism. Mental health and autism-related needs should be met on a welfare-centred basis, not treated as inherently threatening or violent.

As Amos’ sentencing is due to take place imminently, we ask that the State discharge its prosecutorial functions with caution, sensitivity and generosity in its position and treatment of the child.

While all persons, including young people and children, should learn to respect other members of society, prosecution and detention is not the best way to teach/learn. Witnessing the severe consequences faced by Amos and his parents, many young people will hold back from genuine engagement and exploration; parents, teachers, and other adults who work with our youth will be wary of encouraging young people to be courageous and unafraid of making mistakes. We can make every claim to encourage independence of thought and creativity, but if our actions reveal an inability to tolerate non-conformists, young people will view our exhortations to speak up as mere platitudes. This will be a deep loss not just for Amos and his family, but also for the future of Singapore society.

Yours Faithfully,

Adlina Maulod

Aishah Othman

Alfian Bin Sa’at

Alvin Tan Cheong Kheng

Andre Goh

Annamalai Kokila Parvathi

Audrey Wong

Aw Yang Xun

Bernard Lim Chee Guan

Braema Mathi

Carlyn Law

Catherine Lim Suat Hong

Chan Wei-Yin Jaclyn

Cheng Seow Wee Michael

Cheng U Wen Lena

Cherian George

Chong Ja Ian

Chiong Ai Ni Irene

Chng Nai Rui

Chng WeiJie, Ivan

Choo Zheng Xi

Christina Lee

Colin Goh Yong Ping

Constance Singam

Damien Chng

Dana Lam Yoke Kiew

Denvy Lo

Dickson Su

Elaine Ee

Elia Corina Dorine

Eng Kai Er

Faeza Sirajudin

Foo Jong Soon

Georgina Lee

Goh Li Sian

Indira Arumugam

Jialiang LIm

Jolene Tan

Jolovan Wham

Kevin Chua

Lim Siauw Chong

Little Ong

Lau Seok Yee

Liew Kai Khiun

Lo Dening

Low Peter Cuthbert

Lynn Lee

Mandakini Arora

Malvina Tan

Ngiam Su-Lin

Ong Keng Sen

Prashant Somosundram

Priscilla Chia

Rachel Zeng

Ranjana Raghunathan

Shelley Thio

Sheena Kanwar

Siew Kum Hong

Siew Meng Ee

Soh Seok Keim Shirley

Stephanie Chok

Sun Koh Boon Luang

Sudhir Vadaketh

Tan Joo Hymn

Tan Pin Pin

Tan Tarn How

Teng Qian Xi

Teo Liak Theng

Teo You Yenn

Thiagarajan Kanaga Sabapathy

Thirunalan Sasitharan

Thum Ping Tjin

Wee Sheila Moira nee Wilson

Wong Pei Chi

Woon Tien Wei

Yogeswari

Zubaida Ali

Go protest lah.. write letter for fuck.. a bunch of sinkie ball-less losers.. I am so right to stay away from sinkies.