• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

without degree, what low end job can young Sinkies do?

The university system is failing our young. A culture of irresponsibility within higher education has created conditions where the job market is being flooded with graduates seeking jobs in industries which do not need them.

Salaries for graduates are falling, as the rate of employment for graduates is falling off a cliff.

The culture of irresponsibility in higher education begins with the simple fact that too many people are going to university who probably shouldn't be.

In 1950, one in every 267 Australian adults went to university. Today the figure is one in every 18 adults (including international students). Across Australia, around 1.2 million people are studying for a Bachelor's degree or higher

http://www.smh.com.au/comment/unive...ng--success-and-job-prospects-20150630-gi0d4a

education is big business. Its not the establishment's problem whether graduates can get a job or not. Most staffs are over educated and hence expect high pay for jobs that don't really need degree as a requirement. In the old days, secondary school dropouts can do the same job at an earlier age and start earning a living.

now uni con students to get double degrees?

1 not enough must tah pao another?

Looks like there are more SAF scholars than before and need to throw them out into civil services to save Mindef costs.

The question is. With a degree. What sort of low end jobs can singkie graduates get?

siao leow, more people are finding hard to find right jobs for the qualification.

WW3 is highly recommended to flatten everything to post WW2 period.

education is big business. Its not the establishment's problem whether graduates can get a job or not. Most staffs are over educated and hence expect high pay for jobs that don't really need degree as a requirement. In the old days, secondary school dropouts can do the same job at an earlier age and start earning a living.

for 50 cents per post, no degree like JohnTan can affort to send his son to RI ... not bad lah

I got degree lah. Don't anyhow say I don't have degree. You not scared I behave like Goh Meng Seng, and sue you into submission? You want to end up being forced to make public apology and make $50 donation each to PAP, PA and RI or not?

NoOnEsAwMe

correction: even with a degree, what jobs can native singaporeans get?

The university system is failing our young. A culture of irresponsibility within higher education has created conditions where the job market is being flooded with graduates seeking jobs in industries which do not need them.

Salaries for graduates are falling, as the rate of employment for graduates is falling off a cliff.

The culture of irresponsibility in higher education begins with the simple fact that too many people are going to university who probably shouldn't be.

In 1950, one in every 267 Australian adults went to university. Today the figure is one in every 18 adults (including international students). Across Australia, around 1.2 million people are studying for a Bachelor's degree or higher

http://www.smh.com.au/comment/unive...ng--success-and-job-prospects-20150630-gi0d4a

correction: even with a degree, what jobs can native singaporeans get?

Normally everything, remember, construction workers we have the samsui women, the indians were the road gangs, shipyard workers, many of the shipyard workers were Cantonese or Hainanese too, the coolies, Techews, Hokkiens...the 36 doors organic fertiliser disposal personnels, Chinese & Indians...

Degree one can be Tuan Besar!!:biggrin:

Here's an article I've chanced upon which may be relevant to the topic.

http://www.salon.com/2015/06/28/col..._truth_about_your_bache lors_degree_partner/

College is a con: The savage truth about your bachelor’s degree
Higher education wears the cloak of liberalism, but in policy and practice, it's a cutthroat system of exploitation

Sinkie parents (especially the kiasu ones) should also watch this:

Exam Stress - Don't Worry Kids ... It's All Bollocks

[video=youtube;W4TYLixAtU8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4TYLixAtU8[/video]