• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JB charging RM20 for foreign car visiting ? Is it confirm ?

rotikok

I was driving alongside another MY car and saw him tapping the same "Touch N Go"........same deduction because that device cannot differentiate foreign/local cars, it is actually an increased toll charge!
But my point is still, many SG plate cars are actually driven by Malaysians or SPRs, hence the cursing and swearing I mentioned earlier.

Oh well, i appreciate your off peak observation. Touch & go issue maybe just individual incident? Anyway, such thing happened you can always complain, everything is recorded for each t&g card. If this thing happen so commonly, by right it will be on news liao...or kena discuss in this forum.
Firstly, those who drive a singapore cars and come to work in singapore....are very constant, they will not enter if they dont have to, and the charges will not decrease their volume. So what the data brought out by the dumb minister imply, is that overall, singaporean driving a singapore cars, come to jb n shopping did not affected by much. Only this group of singapore plate owners responsive to VEP, if the charges is too high, they can choose to not enter.

And who's know...dumb minister made a stupid policy that end up force kiasu singaporean to spend more. Well...we know malaysia minister not that smart...and we also know singaporean well.

snowbird

Oh well, i appreciate your off peak observation. Touch & go issue maybe just individual incident? Anyway, such thing happened you can always complain, everything is recorded for each t&g card. If this thing happen so commonly, by right it will be on news liao...or kena discuss in this forum.
Firstly, those who drive a singapore cars and come to work in singapore....are very constant, they will not enter if they dont have to, and the charges will not decrease their volume. So what the data brought out by the dumb minister imply, is that overall, singaporean driving a singapore cars, come to jb n shopping did not affected by much. Only this group of singapore plate owners responsive to VEP, if the charges is too high, they can choose to not enter.

And who's know...dumb minister made a stupid policy that end up force kiasu singaporean to spend more. Well...we know malaysia minister not that smart...and we also know singaporean well.

Saturday mid afternoon, usually it's heavily jammed from Woodlands Road onwards but now, traffic is quite free, a stark difference from before the RC.

Do you really believe that dumb minister's efficiency that while sitting comfortably in his KL office would have the data and statistics just 2 weeks into the implementation?
SG cars coming out of JB during the morning peak are Malaysians, plus some Singaporeans are going to work and the same car will return in the evening and that are all not shoppers.

snowbird

Many are avoiding coming into Johor because they heard that Bersih 5 may suddenly erupt in Johor city centre.

There will be no big Bersih Rally and especially the Red Shirt Rally in JB because the Sultan had openly "banned" it, people have to respect his wish la.

yellow-tide-at-masjid-jamek-940x580.jpg
Bersih 5.0 in KL "Live" (19/11/2016 16.00hrs)

rotikok

Saturday mid afternoon, usually it's heavily jammed from Woodlands Road onwards but now, traffic is quite free, a stark difference from before the RC.

Do you really believe that dumb minister's efficiency that while sitting comfortably in his KL office would have the data and statistics just 2 weeks into the implementation?
SG cars coming out of JB during the morning peak are Malaysians, plus some Singaporeans are going to work and the same car will return in the evening and that are all not shoppers.
Erm... not cash, pay by card...I think such thing should be computerise, click a button statistic will all shown...unlike stupid RTS study after study, dunno hire how many engineers liao, don't want to build pretend like building 7 wonders. But 2 weeks is too short a period, looking forward for much longer time length. Those working ppl, be it Singaporean or Malaysian driving Singapore plate, kena charge surely unavoidable, Malaysia government makan them mati mati already. If VEP decrease user volume, that crowd can only be come from Singapore shoppers....well at least now Malaysian minister is disagree with your observation. And they will spend more to worth back the ticket price.
There will be no big Bersih Rally and especially the Red Shirt Rally in JB because the Sultan had openly "banned" it, people have to respect his wish la.

View attachment 28966
Bersih 5.0 in KL "Live" (19/11/2016 16.00hrs)

So many minions :p

snowbird

Capture3.PNG
causeway1.PNG

Sunday afternoon at both CIQ towards JB.
A picture says a thousand words, hope that dumb minister take a good look and say it loud again that the traffic is as usual.

snowbird

Erm... not cash, pay by card...I think such thing should be computerise, click a button statistic will all shown...unlike stupid RTS study after study, dunno hire how many engineers liao, don't want to build pretend like building 7 wonders. But 2 weeks is too short a period, looking forward for much longer time length. Those working ppl, be it Singaporean or Malaysian driving Singapore plate, kena charge surely unavoidable, Malaysia government makan them mati mati already. If VEP decrease user volume, that crowd can only be come from Singapore shoppers....well at least now Malaysian minister is disagree with your observation. And they will spend more to worth back the ticket price.

You see, that dumb minister is only good at 弄巧反柮
With that kind of traffic flow, not only they are not getting that extra RM20 per car, they are also not getting the regular toll completely!
And at the same time, he is not only killing the businesses in JB and collecting lesser GST, SG also kena denied the toll collection from their CIQ, 真是害人害己!
The only people are truly delighted are the CIQ officers, whole day nothing much to do, can continue talking on their handphone liao.

congo9

But the point is those super duper dumb minister were so happy and rejoicing that they are collecting millions from foreign cars in which they are trying to say foreigners are paying.
But the fact is a large portion of that collection were actually from Malaysians and SPRs driving in and out of JB which they cannot avoid not paying.
My friend's company several salespeople and another's subcontractors, all Malaysians, are already cursing and swearing at their stupid govt.

That's one of the many points why such toll or road charges is inevitable. Malaysian government knows that these group of Malaysian pay no or minute taxes when they return to Malaysia. Hence, they will want to levy some kind of charges or indirect tax to these group of wealthy Malaysians(who is the PR).

Render what is Caesar to Caesar. Your Malaysian PR friend should pay some taxes la. Don't spoil them . They are already enjoying the best of both World.

congo9

You see, that dumb minister is only good at 弄巧反柮
With that kind of traffic flow, not only they are not getting that extra RM20 per car, they are also not getting the regular toll completely!
And at the same time, he is not only killing the businesses in JB and collecting lesser GST, SG also kena denied the toll collection from their CIQ, 真是害人害己!
The only people are truly delighted are the CIQ officers, whole day nothing much to do, can continue talking on their handphone liao.

I find that after charging RM20 more, traffic becomes much smoother when it is non peak. I wouldn't mind paying more. The businesses has to cope with this changes like shifting their business strategy. Try to do some creative stuff and entice people to spend. already the rental cost is half or 60% cheaper in SIngapore.

snowbird

When that dumb minister see the following pictures, he'll be so happy and even jump up and down and say : " see the long queue, some more at both CIQ, people still don't mind paying RM20 to come to JB for shopping!!"
But he forgot to look at the time of the picture; its about 1800hrs when all his countrymen are coming back from work and many are cursing and swearing at him while at the queue.

jam1.PNG
jam2.PNG

Investor888

I cant wait for the Singapore LTA to impose the VVEP on Foreign-registered vehicles come 1st Dec or 3rd Jan !

Might be 3rd Jan because the LTA is waiting longer to see if Putrajaya is making a U-turn on the VEP. The LTA should be smarter a bit by driving up and down JB. They will know that not only is Malaysia not planning to U-turn on the RM 20 entry fees. They are already planning to charge RM 20 EXIT fee from Malaysia ( The system is up and running at all counters returning to Singapore ) I guess LTA should just charge a flat S$100 per entry VVEP entry fee 24 hours round the clock

To be fair, maybe give FREE timing of 2am to 3am every Sunday ( during the Super Off peak period )

snowbird

Cimb 3.084 higher than most of e MC. Wahaha...

Sharp contrast from those days when the moment RM drops a bit, people were rushing over for shopping spree, causing huge jams at the Causeway and roads leading to it.
Or people are waiting for the RM to go down to at least 3.20 so that the tolls and RC will be covered and also more money to shop?

Anyway, Christmas, followed by the Chinese New Year is just few weeks later and if businesses in JB is still affected with low traffic going in, surely there will be lots of complaints.
Wonder will the person with the most interest in JB's businesses will do something to scrape the new RC and cancel the VEP??

rotikok

Sharp contrast from those days when the moment RM drops a bit, people were rushing over for shopping spree, causing huge jams at the Causeway and roads leading to it.
Or people are waiting for the RM to go down to at least 3.20 so that the tolls and RC will be covered and also more money to shop?

Anyway, Christmas, followed by the Chinese New Year is just few weeks later and if businesses in JB is still affected with low traffic going in, surely there will be lots of complaints.
Wonder will the person with the most interest in JB's businesses will do something to scrape the new RC and cancel the VEP??

Haha you seem to be very concern about JB businesses. You are a very good malaysian. Self contradicting? On one hand complaining ppl not shopping in sg, bad for singapore...on the other hand so concern about jb businesses turn bad.ok la, good singaporean as well.

snowbird

Haha you seem to be very concern about JB businesses. You are a very good malaysian. Self contradicting? On one hand complaining ppl not shopping in sg, bad for singapore...on the other hand so concern about jb businesses turn bad.ok la, good singaporean as well.

Haha, you are wrong, I don't really care about the businesses, they should know their risks involved but if many massage shops have to close, then I might have fewer choices.

Investor888

I agree that RM 20 is too cheap to make traffic jams a thing of the past. If you see the AYE cam near Tuas every peak evening at 6pm to 8pm, the jam from Tuas checkpoint is 3-5 km back into AYE exit there. Its not any difference at all. The jam is still as bad as before.

I guess we should wait till the VVEP is imposed by the LTA before we can give a fairer comment. VVEP is estimated to be S$6.60 and certain perks of the existing VEP such as weekend free and after 5pm on weekday frees might be taken out. Things aren't concrete yet because LTA is afraid the Malaysia side might revise up or down the existing RM 20 VEP.

But one thing for sure, VVEP will be implemented before CNY 2017

Singapore Drivers Going to Malaysia versus Malaysian Drivers Coming to Singapore – Who Pays More?
http://www.msn.com/en-sg/money/tops...ays-more/ar-AAkBNzb?li=AA54rX&ocid=spartandhp

enjoylife77

Singapore to match Malaysia's road charge: Khaw Boon Wan- Channelnewsasia

SINGAPORE: Singapore will match Malaysia’s RM20 (S$6.50) road charge which was rolled out on Nov 1 last year, Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan announced on Monday (Jan 9).

Speaking in Parliament, Mr Khaw said Malaysia collected about RM13.9 million (S$4.47 million) in road charges from Singapore vehicles between Nov 1 and Dec 20 last year.

“We have a long-standing policy of matching any levy, tolls or fees charged by Malaysia for using the road links between Singapore and Malaysia,” said Mr Khaw. “This is to ensure that Malaysia takes into consideration our response whenever they raise their tolls or introduce a new levy.”

The road charge is collected each time motorists enter Malaysia via Touch n’ Go cards at the two land entry points in Johor - the Causeway and the Second Link.

More details of the matching charge will be announced soon, Mr Khaw said.

- CNA/jq

snowbird

Singaporeans can mostly decide selectively when and how many times to drive to JB in order to avoid paying excessively on the road tolls. Many will cut number of trips for sure while some may even forgo driving to JB.
On the other hand, Malaysians driving into SG for work or business have no choice but to pay whatever charges.
They need to thanks their smart government for this.